DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 10/27/25 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13, 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0321243 A1), herein Patil and Jo et al. (Pub. No.: 2015/0110071), herein Jo.
As to claim 1, Patil teaches a method of determining timing synchronization information for a wireless link of a multi-link device (MLD) operating in a wireless network, the method comprising:
transmitting a first frame over a primary wireless link of the wireless network for receipt by a non-AP MLD, wherein the first frame comprises a time synchronization function (TSF) offset value for determining transmission timing of a secondary wireless link of the wireless network (Patil [0261] AP1 transmits the frame to the STA over the first communication link. In some implementations, the frame may be a beacon frame and Fig 15 TSF offset and [0245] In some aspects, the values in the TSF Offset field 1558 or the Beacon Interval field 1559 may facilitate faster link switching for certain types of non-AP entities, such as a STA MLD with a single radio. In some implementations, the first device D1 may indicate that beacons will not be sent on one or more links. For example, the first device D1 may indicate that it is capable of communicating on the second communication link and that the second communication link is dedicated as a data-only channel. In this way, the first device D1 may indicate that the second device D2 may utilize the second communication link but that the first device D1 will not broadcast beacons on the second communication link.); and
Patil does not teach
transmitting a second frame to the non-AP MLD over the secondary wireless link according to the TSF offset value.
However Jo does teach
transmitting a second frame to the non-AP MLD over the secondary wireless link according to the TSF offset value (Jo [0066] Before performing a handover, the terminal may synchronize in advance with the target AP)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patil and Jo, because Jo teaches us [0066] Therefore, the serving AP provides the terminal with the TSF offset which is a difference between the TSF value of the target AP and the TSF value of the serving AP. Since the TSF of the target AP and the TSF of the serving AP are increased uniformly, the TSF offset is always a constant value. The terminal has already synchronized with the serving AP and thus presumably manages the same TSF value with the serving AP. Therefore, the terminal can know the TSF value of the target AP by using only the TSF offset.
As to claim 13, Patil teaches a method of determining timing synchronization information for a wireless link of a multi-link device (MLD) operating in a wireless network, the method comprising: receiving a first frame over a primary wireless link of the wireless network from an AP MLD, wherein the first frame comprises a time synchronization function (TSF) offset value for determining transmission timing of a secondary wireless link of the wireless network (Patil [0261] AP1 transmits the frame to the STA over the first communication link. In some implementations, the frame may be a beacon frame and Fig 15 TSF offset and [0245] In some aspects, the values in the TSF Offset field 1558 or the Beacon Interval field 1559 may facilitate faster link switching for certain types of non-AP entities, such as a STA MLD with a single radio. In some implementations, the first device D1 may indicate that beacons will not be sent on one or more links. For example, the first device D1 may indicate that it is capable of communicating on the second communication link and that the second communication link is dedicated as a data-only channel. In this way, the first device D1 may indicate that the second device D2 may utilize the second communication link but that the first device D1 will not broadcast beacons on the second communication link.);
Patil does not teach
receiving a second frame from the AP MLD over the secondary wireless link according to the TSF offset value.
However Jo does teach
receiving a second frame from the AP MLD over the secondary wireless link according to the TSF offset value (Jo [0066] Before performing a handover, the terminal may synchronize in advance with the target AP)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patil and Jo for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 17, Patil teaches an apparatus for wireless data transmission, the apparatus comprising: a processor; a memory coupled to the processor operable to store data; and a plurality of radios under control of said processor and operable to perform synchronous wireless transmission, and wherein the processor is operable to (Patil Fig. 6A):
transmit a first frame over a primary wireless link of the wireless network for receipt by a non-AP MLD, wherein the first frame comprises a time synchronization function (TSF) offset value for determining transmission timing of a secondary wireless link of the wireless network (Patil [0261] AP1 transmits the frame to the STA over the first communication link. In some implementations, the frame may be a beacon frame and Fig 15 TSF offset and [0245] In some aspects, the values in the TSF Offset field 1558 or the Beacon Interval field 1559 may facilitate faster link switching for certain types of non-AP entities, such as a STA MLD with a single radio. In some implementations, the first device D1 may indicate that beacons will not be sent on one or more links. For example, the first device D1 may indicate that it is capable of communicating on the second communication link and that the second communication link is dedicated as a data-only channel. In this way, the first device D1 may indicate that the second device D2 may utilize the second communication link but that the first device D1 will not broadcast beacons on the second communication link.)
Pail does not teach
transmit a second frame to the non-A P MILD over the secondary wireless link according to the TSF offset value.
However Jo does teach
transmit a second frame to the non-A P MILD over the secondary wireless link according to the TSF offset value (Jo [0066] Before performing a handover, the terminal may synchronize in advance with the target AP)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patil and Jo for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 2, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the first frame comprises one of: a beacon frame and a probe response frame, and association response frame (Patil [0261] AP1 transmits the frame to the STA over the first communication link. In some implementations, the frame may be a beacon frame)
As to claim 3, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 2, wherein the TSF offset value is transmitted within a reduced neighbor report (RNR) element (Patil [0012] In some implementations, the frame may also include a reduced neighbor report (RNR) element carrying one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields carrying the unique link ID of a corresponding secondary AP of the one or more secondary APs of the first AP MLD. In some instances, the frame may further include an MLD common element or field carrying common attributes shared by each secondary AP of the one or more secondary APs of the AP MLD, and the RNR element may also include a control field indicating a presence or absence of one or more of the common attributes in the MLD common element or field)
As to claim 4, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 3, wherein the TSF offset value is transmitted within in a basic service set (BSS) parameters subfield of the RNR element (Patil Fig. 15)
As to claim 5, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the transmitting a second frame to the non-AP MLD is performed according to a timestamp corresponding to the primary link carried in a beacon frame ((Jo [0066] Before performing a handover, the terminal may synchronize in advance with the target AP)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patil and Jo for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 6, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 5, further comprising the non-AP MLD synchronizing a transmission clock corresponding to the secondary wireless link according to the timestamp and the TSF offset value (Jo [0066] Before performing a handover, the terminal may synchronize in advance with the target AP)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patil and Jo for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 9, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 8, wherein the first frame is transmitted without the TSF offset value. (Patil [0151] the TSF Offset field 1058 may be 0 (without) or 2 octets long)
As to claim 10, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 1, further comprising the non-AP MLD adjusting a TSF timer of the secondary wireless link according to the TSF offset value (Jo [0066] Before performing a handover, the terminal may synchronize in advance with the target AP)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patil and Jo for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 11, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the first frame comprises an association response frame, and wherein the TSF offset value is transmitted within in an STA profile subelement of a multi-link element in the association response frame (Patil [0148] FIG. 10 shows an example frame 1000 including a Link Attribute Element 1010 and a Multiple Link Attribute Element 1020 usable for communications between wireless communication devices. In some implementations, the frame 1000 may be a beacon frame, a probe response frame, an association response frame, or some other appropriate frame.)
As to claim 12, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the first frame comprises a multi-link response frame, and wherein the TSF offset value is transmitted within an STA profile subelement of a multi-link element in the multi-link response frame. (Patil [0148] FIG. 10 shows an example frame 1000 including a Link Attribute Element 1010 and a Multiple Link Attribute Element 1020 usable for communications between wireless communication devices. In some implementations, the frame 1000 may be a beacon frame, a probe response frame, an association response frame, or some other appropriate frame)
As to claim 16, the combination of Patil and Jo teach the method of Claim 13, wherein the TSF offset value is an integer, and wherein the receiving a second frame from the AP MLD over the secondary wireless link comprises adjusting a TSF timer of the secondary wireless link according to the TSF offset value (Patil [0151] a value of 0 in the TSF Offset field and Jo [0066] Before performing a handover, the terminal may synchronize in advance with the target AP
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 14, 15, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claim 1, the application states one skilled in the art would not arrive at the claimed invention in view of the cited references, because the Patil reference describes a multi-link device (MLD) framework where the primary and secondary links are collocated within the wireless device and the other reference Jo describes a handover between physically separate, non-collocated Aps (page 2). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Patil teaches the framework for a MLD and the Jo as the secondary reference teaches a specific portion which when combined into the larger framework of Patil provides an advantage (obtaining synchronization information from a first link and using it to synchronize on a second link). The fact that Jo is for a handover (for non-collocated APs) is irrelevant and the core teaching is essentially the act of using a first link (with a serving AP) to obtain synchronization information and using this to sync on a second (with a target AP) link. Overall, The terminal has already synchronized with the serving AP (first link) and thus presumably manages the same TSF value with the serving AP. Therefore, the terminal can know the TSF value of the target AP (second link) by using only the TSF offset. For these reasons the examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467