DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Applicant Response filed 01 December 2022 for application 18/073,308 filed 01 December 2022.
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5, 10-11 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 5, larger that the first layer should read “wherein the second layer is larger than the first layer”
Claim 10, line 5, larger that the first layer should read “wherein the second layer is larger than the first layer”
Claim 11, line 2, configured to acquires should read “configured to acquire”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an acquisition unit configured to acquires … (Claim 11)
a generation unit configured to generate ... (Claim 11)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites to the another module included in the second block while failing to provide a proper antecedent basis for “the another module.” It is suggested that the phrase be amended to recite “to the one module included in the second block.” Clarification or correction is required.
Claim 4 recites an input to the one module of a first layer in the first block is connected as an input to the another module of a second layer in the second block while failing to provide a proper antecedent basis for “the one module” or “the another module” of a given layer as no previous mention of layers has been recited in the claims. Clarification or correction is required.
Examiner’s Note: It is suggested that the claim be amended to either recite that the previously identified modules are included in layers which are included in the previously recited blocks or that these are new modules which are included in layers which are included in the blocks. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the limitation as reciting “an input to one module of a first layer in the first block is connected as an input to one module of a second layer in the second block.”
Claim 5 recites an input to the one module is connected as an input to the another module of the second layer while failing to provide proper antecedent basis for “the one module” or “the another module.” There are two references to “the one module” as recited in claim 1 an it is unclear to which module the term refers. Further, in light of the proposed interpretation of all previous claims, including claim 4, there is no proper antecedent basis for “the another module.” It is suggested that the limitation be amended to recite “an input to the one module of the first layer is connected as an input to the one module of the second layer.” Clarification or correction is required.
Claim 8 recites an input to the another module included in the first block while failing to provide a proper antecedent basis for the term “the another module.” It is suggested that the phrase be amended to recite “an input to another module included in the first block.” Clarification or correction is required.
Claim 9 recites an input to the one module of a first layer in the first block is connected as an input to the another module of a second layer in the first block while failing to provide a proper antecedent basis for “the one module” or “the another module” of a given layer as no previous mention of layers has been recited in the claims. Clarification or correction is required.
Examiner’s Note: It is suggested that the claim be amended to either recite that the previously identified modules are included in layers which are included in the previously recited first block or that these are new modules which are included in layers which are included in the first block. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the limitation as reciting “an input to one module of a first layer in the first block is connected as an input to one module of a second layer in the first block.”
Claim 10 recites an input to the one module is connected as an input to the another module of the second layer while failing to provide proper antecedent basis for “the one module” or “the another module.” There are two references to “the one module” as recited in claim 1 an it is unclear to which module the term refers. Further, in light of the proposed interpretation of all previous claims, including claim 9, there is no proper antecedent basis for “the another module.” It is suggested that the limitation be amended to recite “an input to the one module of the first layer is connected as an input to the one module of the second layer.” Clarification or correction is required.
Regarding claim 11, various claim limitations reciting an acquisition unit configured to acquires … (Claim 11), a generation unit configured to generate ... (Claim 11) … invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. There is no clear disclosure of the particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the limitations. As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the limitations can be performed in any number of ways including in hardware, in software, or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed functions.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 4-5, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to their dependence, either directly or indirectly, on claims 3-5, 8-10, 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 11 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As discussed above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions of:
an acquisition unit configured to acquires … (Claim 11)
a generation unit configured to generate ... (Claim 11)
The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea, and because the claim elements, whether considered individually or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, see Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank International et al., 573 US 208 (2014).
Regarding claim 1, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model in which an input to one module is connected as an input to another module by learning using the learning data, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element(s) – computer. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of executing instructions on the computers) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
The claim recites additional element(s) – model. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claim recites acquiring learning data used for learning of a model having a plurality of blocks each including at least one module, which is simply acquiring data recited at a high level of generality. This is nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of:
computer amount(s) to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b))
acquiring data amount(s) to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity is the well-understood routine and conventional activit(y/ies) of receiving or transmitting data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2016.05(d))
model amount(s) to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h))
The additional element(s) do(es) not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 2 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model having the plurality of blocks including a first block including at least one module and a second block including at least one module, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 3, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 3 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model in which an input to the one module included in the first block is connected as an input to the another module included in the second block, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 4, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 4 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model in which an input to the one module of a first layer in the first block is connected as an input to the another module of a second layer in the second block, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 5, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 5 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model in which an input to the one module is connected as an input to the another module of the second layer larger than the first layer, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 6, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 6 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model including the plurality of blocks including the first block to which an output from a first input layer is input and the second block to which an output from a second input layer different from the first input layer is input, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 7 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model having the plurality of blocks including a first block including a plurality of modules, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 8 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model in which an input to the one module included in the first block is connected as an input to the another module included in the first block, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 9 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model in which an input to the one module of a first layer in the first block is connected as an input to the another module of a second layer in the first block, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 10 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing method.
The limitation of generating the model in which an input to the one module is connected as an input to the another module of the second layer larger than the first layer, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 11 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) information processing apparatus.
The limitation of ... generate the model in which an input to one module is connected as an input to another module by learning using the learning data, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element(s) – information processing apparatus, acquisition unit, generation unit. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of executing instructions on the computers) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
The claim recites additional element(s) – model. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claim recites ... acquires learning data used for learning of a model having a plurality of blocks each including at least one module, which is simply acquiring data recited at a high level of generality. This is nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of:
information processing apparatus, acquisition unit, generation unit amount(s) to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b))
acquiring data amount(s) to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity is the well-understood routine and conventional activit(y/ies) of receiving or transmitting data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2016.05(d))
model amount(s) to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h))
The additional element(s) do(es) not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 12 is directed to a computer-readable storage medium, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) computer-readable storage medium.
The limitation of ... generating the model in which an input to one module is connected as an input to another module by learning using the learning data, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element(s) – computer-readable storage medium, information processing program, computer, acquisition procedure, generation procedure. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of executing instructions on the computers) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
The claim recites additional element(s) – model. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claim recites ... acquiring learning data used for learning of a model having a plurality of blocks each including at least one module, which is simply acquiring data recited at a high level of generality. This is nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of:
computer-readable storage medium, information processing program, computer, acquisition procedure, generation procedure amount(s) to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b))
acquiring data amount(s) to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity is the well-understood routine and conventional activit(y/ies) of receiving or transmitting data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2016.05(d))
model amount(s) to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h))
The additional element(s) do(es) not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gubbi Lakshminarasimha et al. (US 2021/0390313 A1 – Method and System for Video Analysis, hereinafter referred to as “Gubbi”).
Regarding claim 1, Gubbi teaches an information processing method executed by a computer (Gubbi, [0022] – teaches a computer system for video analysis), the information processing method comprising:
acquiring learning data (Gubbi, [0026] – teaches collecting video data) used for learning of a model (Gubbi, [0036] – teaches training the model) having a plurality of blocks each including at least one module (Gubbi, [0025]-[0026] – teaches blocks comprising layers, each layer comprising functional units[modules]; see also Gubbi, Fig. 2A – model with 3 blocks; Gubbi, Fig. 2B – block showing layers and modules); and
generating the model in which an input to one module is connected as an input to another module (Gubbi, Fig. 2A – teaches outputs of one module and inputs to a plurality of modules) by learning using the learning data (Gubbi, [0036] – teaches training the model).
Regarding claim 2, Gubbi teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 1 as noted above. Gubbi further teaches generating the model having the plurality of blocks including a first block including at least one module and a second block including at least one module (Gubbi, Fig. 2A-2B – teaches a plurality of blocks, each with a plurality of layers, each layer containing a plurality of functional units; see also Gubbi, [0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Gubbi teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 2 as noted above. Gubbi further teaches generating the model including the plurality of blocks including the first block to which an output from a first input layer is input and the second block to which an output from a second input layer different from the first input layer is input (Gubbi, [0026] – teaches each block receiving a different frame of input data).
Regarding claim 7, Gubbi teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 1 as noted above. Gubbi further teaches generating the model having the plurality of blocks including a first block including a plurality of modules (Gubbi, Fig. 2A-2B – teaches a plurality of blocks, each with a plurality of layers, each layer containing a plurality of functional units; see also Gubbi, [0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Gubbi teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 7 as noted above.
Gubbi further teaches generating the model in which an input to the one module included in the first block is connected as an input to the another module included in the first block (Gubbi, Fig. 2B – teaches outputs of one module and inputs to a plurality of modules within a given block).
Regarding claim 11, it is the apparatus embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 1. Gubbi further teaches information processing apparatus comprising (Gubbi, [0022] – teaches a computer system for video analysis) …
Regarding claim 12, it is the computer-readable storage medium embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 1. Gubbi further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein an information processing program for causing a computer to execute (Gubbi, [0022] – teaches a computer system with memory, processor and instructions for video analysis) …
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gubbi in view of Zhao et al. (US 2024/0265586 A1 – Generating High-Resolution Images Using Self-Attention, hereinafter referred to as “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 3, Gubbi teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 2 as noted above. However, Gubbi does not explicitly teach generating the model in which an input to the one module included in the first block is connected as an input to the another module included in the second block.
Zhao teaches generating the model in which an input to the one module included in the first block is connected as an input to the another module included in the second block (Zhao, [0081] - teaches that the latent code input to the neural network is applied to all of the cross-attention NN layers of the low-resolution blocks; Zhao, [0096] - teaches that the latent code input to the neural network is applied to all of the cross-attention NN layers of the high-resolution blocks; see also Zhao, Figs 1, 2A, 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gubbi with the teachings of Zhao in order to improve the time and computational efficiency of the model in the field of data processing through a plurality of blocks (Zhao, [0007] – “One or more of the network blocks can each perform self-attention on the elements of the respective block input. For example, the sequence of network blocks can include a sequence of one or more 'low-resolution' network blocks followed by a sequence of one or more 'high-resolution' network blocks, referred to as such because network blocks earlier in the sequence of network blocks generally process block inputs that have a lower resolution (i.e., dimensionality) than network blocks later in the sequence of network blocks. Each low-resolution network block can perform self-attention on the elements of their respective block inputs, while each high-resolution network block can be configured not to perform self-attention on the elements of their respective block inputs. Only performing self-attention at earlier stages of the generation of the synthetic image, when the partial representation of the syntheti