DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/19/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claim amendments changed the scope of the claimed invention. See new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7, 11, 13, 16, 18 & 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over OBERLEITNER et al. (US 20170095208) herein referred to as Oberleitner in view of Bailey et al. (US 20150234426) herein referred to as Bailey.
Regarding claim 1, Oberleitner discloses An electronic device (Figure 1), comprising: a carrier having a component side and a sensing side opposite to the component side (Figure 1, “as” & “hs”; wherein "as" is the component side and "hs" is the sensing side), the sensing side having a first thinned portion (Figure 1, 2); a first sensing element disposed over the sensing side (See annotated Figure 1 below); and a second sensing element disposed over the sensing side (See annotated Figure 1 below), wherein the first sensing element and the second sensing element are arranged along a primary direction of the electronic device (Figure 1, 3), wherein the first thinned portion is between the first sensing element and the second sensing element (Figure 1; wherein thinned portion 2 is located in between sensing electrodes 3) and is configured to provide adjustment to a relative position between the first sensing element and the second sensing element (Abstract; wherein a recess for application of cosmetic or medical preparations to the skin from outside). However, Oberleitner does not explicitly disclose wherein the first thinned portion is configured to allow the first sensing element and the second sensing element to face toward each other.
Bailey discloses an electronic device (Figure 1) wherein the first thinned portion is configured to allow the first sensing element and the second sensing element to face toward each other (Figure 1, 122; Paragraph [0066]; wherein when thinned portioned is stretched or expanded allows two adjacent pods structures to face in towards each together such that sensors 130 on each pod face in towards each other). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thinned portion taught by Oberleitner to allow for the sensors to face towards each other. The motivation being to allow for the device to encircle a portion of a user (Bailey, Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 1. wherein the carrier comprises a first protection layer disposed over the sensing side (Figure 1,1; wherein layer 1 is seen as a protection layer to protect user from internal components), wherein the first thinned portion is recessed from a first surface of the first sublayer (Abstract; wherein thinned portion 2 is a recess)
Regarding claim 3, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 2. Oberlietner further comprising: a first electronic component disposed over the component side of the carrier (Figure 1, 3'); and a second protection layer covering the first electronic component (Figure 2, 8), wherein the second protection layer has a recessed portion adjacent to the first electronic component (Figure 1, 2).
Regarding claim 4, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 3. Bailey also discloses wherein the first thinned portion and the second thinned portion are staggered along a direction substantially perpendicular to the first surface of the first protection laver (See annotated Figure 1; wherein when device is laid flat, the thinned portions would be perpendicular to the first protection layer 101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thinned portion taught by Oberleitner to allow for the structure taught by Bailey. The motivation being to allow for the device to encircle a portion of a user (Bailey, Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 3. Bailey further comprising: a second electronic component disposed over the component side of the carrier (Figure 1, 150), wherein the second recessed portion is located between the first electronic component and the second electronic component (See annotated Figure 1; wherein second thinned portion is between first electronic component 170 and second electronic component 150) and is configured to provide adjustment to a relative position of the first electronic component and the second electronic component (Figure 1; wherein second thinned portion when stretched, moves first and second electronic components away from each other). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thinned portion taught by Oberleitner to allow for the electronic components to face move relative to each other The motivation being to allow for the device to encircle a portion of a user (Bailey, Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 6, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 3. Oberleitner also discloses wherein the second protection layer further covers an interconnection structure electrically connecting the first electronic component to one of the first sensing element or the second sensing element (Figure 2, 7).
Regarding claim 7, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 6. Oberleitner also discloses wherein the second protection layer covers a lateral surface of the interconnection structure of the carrier (Figure 1, 8)
Regarding claim 11, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 2. Oberlietner also discloses wherein the first sensing element and the second sensing element are partially embedded in the first sublayer (Figure 1, 3; wherein 3 is embedded in sublayer 1).
Regarding claim 13, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 2. Oberleitner discloses wherein the carrier comprises a second protection layer disclosed over the component side (Figure 1, 8). Bailey discloses having a second thinned portion recessing towards the protection layer (See annotated Figure 1 below; wherein second thinned portion recesses in towards protection layer 101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thinned portion taught by Oberleitner to allow for the structure taught by Bailey. The motivation being to allow for the device to encircle a portion of a user (Bailey, Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 5. Bailey also discloses wherein the first electronic component and the first sensing element are overlapped along a direction substantially perpendicular to the surface of the first protection layers (Figure 1; wherein protection layer 101 extends longitudinally and first electronic component 121 sits on top of sensor 130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure taught by Oberleitner to allow for the structure taught by Bailey. The motivation being to contain all components in one portion of the housing (Bailey, Paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 18, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 1. Bailey also discloses wherein the first sensing element is configured to move toward a first direction and the second sensing element is configured to move toward a second direction, and an angle between the first direction and the second direction is greater than zero (Figure 1; Paragraph [0066]; wherein sensing elements in pods move in different directions towards/away each other which can change the angle by increasing or decreasing it depending on the set changes in the directions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thinned portion taught by Oberleitner to allow for the structure taught by Bailey. The motivation being to allow for the device to encircle a portion of a user (Bailey, Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 20, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 3. Bailey also discloses wherein the first thinned portion and the second thinned portion are staggered along a direction substantially perpendicular to the first surface of the first protection laver (See annotated Figure 1; wherein when device is laid flat, the thinned portions would be perpendicular to the first protection layer 101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thinned portion taught by Oberleitner to allow for the structure taught by Bailey. The motivation being to allow for the device to encircle a portion of a user (Bailey, Paragraph [0066]).
Claims 8-10 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Oberleitner and Bailey in further view of Heikenfeld (US 20170095183) herein referred to as Heikenfeld.
Regarding Claim 8, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 1. However, Oberleitner in view of Bailey does not explicitly disclose does not explicitly disclose wherein the first thinned portion extends along a circumference of the first sensing element.
Heikenfeld discloses an electronic device (Figure 3A) wherein the first thinned portion extends along a circumference of the first sensing element (Figure 3A, wherein thinned portion 305 surrounds the circumference of the first sensing element 322). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Oberleitner in view of bailey to allow for the thinned portion to extend along a circumference of the first sensing element. The motivation being it would be obvious to try different location of the thinned portion to see which allows for the best ability to provide adjustment to a relative position between the sensing elements (MPEP 2143 (D)).
Regarding Claim 9, Oberleitner in view of bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 1. However, Oberleitner in view of bailey does not explicitly disclose wherein the first thinned portion and the first sensing element are overlapped in two directions.
Heikenfeld discloses an electronic device (Figure 3A) wherein the first thinned portion and the first sensing element are overlapped in two directions (Figure 3A; wherein thinned portion 305 and first sensing element 322 overlap from both side directions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to to have modified the electronic device taught by Oberleitner in view of Bailey to allow for the thinned portion and the first sensing element to overlap in two directions. The motivation being it would be obvious to try different location of the thinned portion to see which allows for the best ability to provide adjustment to a relative position between the sensing elements (MPEP 2143 (D)).
Regarding Claim 10, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 1. However, Oberleitner in view of Bailey does not explicitly disclose a third sensing element arranged along a secondary direction different from the primary direction with respect to the first sensing element, wherein the first thinned portion extends between the third sensing element and the first sensing element.
Heikenfeld discloses an electronic device (Figure 3A) comprising a third sensing element arranged along a secondary direction different from the primary direction with respect to the first sensing element, wherein the thinned portion extends between the third sensing element and the first sensing element (See annotated figure 3A below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device as taught by Oberleitner in view of Bailey to include a 3rd sensing element as taught by Heikenfeld. The motivation being to achieve closely spaced sensor which benefits numerous sensing modalities (Heikenfeld, Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding Claim 12, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 2. However, Oberleitner in view of Bailey does not explicitly disclose wherein the thinned portion defines a mesh pattern in the first sublayer.
Heikenfeld discloses an electronic device (Figure 3A) wherein the thinned portion defines a mesh pattern in the first sublayer (Figure 3B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Oberleitner in view of Bailey to include the thinned portion defining a mesh pattern in the first sublayer. The motivation being to allow for the first sublayer to be porous (Heikenfeld, Paragraph [0029]).
Claims 14-15 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Oberleitner in view of Rogers et al. (US 20120165759) herein referred to as BROWN.
Regarding Claim 14, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 13. However, Oberleitner in view of Bailey does not explicitly disclose wherein the second protection layer includes a light transmissive material
Roger discloses an electronic device (Figure 6) wherein the second sublayer includes a light transmissive material (Figure 27B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Oberleitner in view of Bailey to include a light transmissive material as taught by Roger. The motivation being to allow for light to pass through the layer from an LED to show stretching and strain patterns (Rogers, Paragraph [0276]-[0277]).
Regarding Claim 15, Oberleitner and Bailey in view of Roger discloses the electronic device of claim 14. Roger also discloses a first electronic component disposed over the component side of the carrier and covered by the second sublayer (See annotated Figure 4a below): and a second electronic component disposed over the component side of the carrier and covered by the second sublayer (See annotated Figure 4a below), wherein the recessed portion is located between the first electronic component and the second electronic component (See annotated Figure 4a below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Oberleitner to include a second sublayer as taught by Rogers. The motivation being to provide a multilayered geometry with stacked arrays (Rogers, Paragraph [0255]).
Regarding Claim 17, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 16. However, Oberleitner in view of Bailey does not explicitly disclose wherein the second electronic component and the second sensing element are overlapped along the direction
Roger discloses an electronic device (Figure 6) wherein the second electronic component and the second sensing element are overlapped along the direction (See annotated Figure 6 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the electronic device as taught by Oberleitner to include the overlap of the second sensing element and second electronic component in a direction. The motivation being it would be obvious to try different location of first electronic component and the first sensing element to see which allows for the best ability to provide adjustment to a relative position between the sensing elements (MPEP 2143 (D)).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Oberleitner and Bailey in further view of Hunt et al. (US 20210145354) herein referred to as Hunt.
Regarding Claim 19, Oberleitner in view of Bailey discloses the electronic device of claim 1. However, Oberleitner in view of Bailey does not explicitly disclose wherein the carrier comprises a protruding portion over the sensing side and configured for pressing along a direction substantially perpendicular to the protruding portion.
Hunt discloses a electronic device (Figure 4) wherein the carrier comprises a protruding portion over the sensing side and configured for pressing along a direction substantially perpendicular to the protruding portion (Figure 4, 404; Paragraph [0253]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device to comprise a protruding portion as taught by Hunt. The motivation being so that sensing can be performed in a certain direction (Hunt, Paragraph [0256]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALYSSA M. PAPE
Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794