DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 5/13/2026. Claim 1 has been amended. No new claims have been added. Claims 2-3 have been cancelled. Claims 8-16 were withdrawn. Currently, claims 1, 4-7, and 17-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20140138765).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches, in Figs. 7A-8C, a semiconductor device ([0015]), comprising:
Lee Fig. 7B
a dielectric pad (lowest 34, [0075]) over a lower structure (30/31/32, [0047]-[0048]) (see Figs. 7C and 8C);
a contact portion (CT1, see Fig. 7B, [0021]) positioned at a higher level than the dielectric pad (lowest 34) (see Fig. 8C), the contact portion (CT1) including a first word line stack pad ([0022], [0072], see Fig. 8C, alternating 36/43; see Figs. 7B-7C, to the left of 44) and a second word line stack pad (see Fig. 8C, alternating 36/43; see Figs. 7B-7C, to the right of 44); and
a slit structure including a plurality of slits (42 and 44, [0063], [0070]) extending vertically from the dielectric pad (34) to support the first word line stack pad and the second word line stack pad (see Fig. 7C),
wherein the dielectric pad (34) includes:
a plurality of line pads that are parallel to each other; and a plurality of auxiliary pads coupling the line pads to each other, wherein the line pads and the auxiliary pads are positioned at the same level to have a mesh-shape (see annotated Fig. 7B above; while Fig. 7B shows the 43 [CG,USG] layer, Fig. 7C shows that slits 42 and 44 go through bottom layer 34 similar to the way they go through 43 [LSG], thus forming the mesh-shape).
Regarding claim 4, Lee further teaches that each of the first word line stack pad and the second word line stack pad includes a plurality of word line pads (pairs of 36/43) that are stacked in a (vertical) direction perpendicular to a (top) surface of the dielectric pad (see Fig. 8C), and
that the stack of the word line pads has a step-type structure (see Fig. 8C).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further teaches that a cell array portion (CL, [0021]) extending laterally from the contact portion (CT1) and including a first word line stack ([0022], [0072], see Fig. 7C, alternating 36/43 to the left of 44) and a second word line stack (see Fig. 7C, alternating 36/43 to the right of 44), wherein
a first word line pad is defined at (left) end portions of the first word line stack ([0056], between leftmost 44 and leftmost holes H), and
a second word line pad is defined at (right) end portions of the second word line stack ([0056], between rightmost 44 and rightmost holes H).
Regarding claim 17, Lee further teaches that the step-type structure is in contact with the dielectric pad (lowest 34) (see Fig. 8C).
Regarding claim 18, Lee further teaches a plurality of contact plugs (CP1, CP2, and CP3, [0071]) directly coupled to the step-type structure (see Fig. 8C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20140138765) in view of Kim et al. (US 10978384).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 4. Lee does not teach that each of the word line pads include: a first pad and a second pad that are stacked in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the dielectric pad; and a word line pad interposed between the first pad and the second pad.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches, in Figs. 2 and 7A, that each of the word line pads (ML, labelled as 60a in Fig. 7A; col. 13, lines 45-55; col. 11, lines 60-67) include: a first pad (P1) and a second pad (P3) that are stacked in a direction (vertical direction) perpendicular to the surface of the dielectric pad (Fig. 7A, interlayer insulation film); and a word line pad (P2) interposed between the first pad (P1) and the second pad (P3) (see Figs. 2 and 7A), in order to “provide multi-layer conducting lines configured to reduce a signal delay and integrated circuits of a high integration degree and including the multi-layer conducting lines” (col. 1, lines 35-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the word line pads of Lee with the word line pads of Kim, in order to provide multi-layer conducting lines configured to reduce a signal delay and integrated circuits of a high integration degree (col. 1, lines 35-45).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20140138765) in view of Karda et al. (US 10381357).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 6. Lee does not teach that the cell array portion includes: vertical bit lines disposed between the first word line stack and the second word line stack; active layers respectively coupled to the vertical bit lines; and capacitors including storage nodes that are respectively coupled to the active layers, wherein the active layers are oriented laterally between the vertical bit lines and the capacitors, and wherein each of the first and second word line stacks includes word lines extending laterally in a direction crossing the active layers.
In a similar field of endeavor, Karda teaches, in Figs. 8 and 11, that the cell array portion includes:
vertical bit lines (76a/78a and 76b/78b; col. 6, lines 20-30) disposed between the first word line stack (38) and the second word line stack (38a) (see Fig. 11; col. 10, lines 20-25);
active layers (51/50/52 and 55/54/56, 59/58/60, and 63/62/64; col. 4, lines 20-40) respectively coupled to the vertical bit lines (76a/73a and 76b/73b) (see Fig. 8); and
capacitors (30a and 30b; Fig. 8; col. 11, lines 55-65) including storage nodes (32; col. 13, lines 10-20) that are respectively coupled to the active layers (see Fig. 8),
wherein the active layers are oriented laterally between the vertical bit lines (76a/78a and 76b/78b) and the capacitors (30a, 30b) (see Fig. 8), and
wherein each of the first (38) and second word line stacks (38a) includes word lines extending laterally in a direction (horizontally) crossing the active layers (see Fig. 11),
in order to “develop memory cell configurations which alleviate … floating body effects associated with the transistors T1 and T2, and to develop memory arrays incorporating such memory cell configurations” (col. 2, lines 35-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cell array portion configuration Lee with the cell array portion configuration of Karda, in order to develop memory cell configurations which alleviate floating body effects and to develop memory arrays incorporating such memory cell configurations (col. 2, lines 35-45).
Conclusion
/ERIKA H SON/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893