DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 13, 15-18, 21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2020/0091100).
(Re Claim 1) Han teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor chip, comprising (see Figs. 1, 2, 5G-5I) and corresponding text:
forming, on a first surface of a substrate, a first notch portion and a second notch portion that are spaced apart from each other along a first dicing line (see Figs. 1, 2, 5H, and 5I, first and second notch portions correspond to any two openings OP/OP2 formed at each intersection of the dicing grid in the first surface of the substrate, “substrate” corresponds to all layers present);
forming modified patterns within the substrate (Fig. 5H, modified region SP, ¶74); and
dicing the substrate by propagating cracks into the substrate from the modified patterns (Fig. 5I, ¶75).
wherein each of the first notch portion and the second notch portion has wedge-shaped portion, and the first notch portion and the second notch are arranged such that noses of the wedge-shaped portions face each other in a plane perpendicular to the substrate (see Figs. 5I-5J, the side surface of the opening in 153 and 130 is angled/sloped and thus meets the claimed wedge-shaped portion noses facing each other, they are facing each other in the Fig. 5I cross section which is along the I-I’ section which is in the D1-D3 plane, the substrate is in the D1-D2 plane, see Figs. 1-2 showing the axes, the two planes are perpendicular).
While Han does not recite “propagating cracks”, this is obvious in light of the stealth laser dicing process disclosed (¶¶74-75). When a force is applied to the wafer having the modified regions, cracks will propagate through the wafer from each modified region to singulate the wafer. This is how stealth dicing works. Thus, the claimed propagating cracks will obviously occur whether expressly stated or not.
(Re Claim 2) wherein the substrate comprises: a semiconductor base(100); an organic matter layer (153 is polyimide, ¶71) that is formed over the semiconductor base; and an active layer (the layers between 153 and 100) that is formed between the organic matter layer and the semiconductor base, wherein forming the first notch portion and the second notch portion comprises forming penetration holes that penetrate the organic matter layer by removing some portions of the organic matter layer (Figs. 5F-5I, notches are formed through the organic layer 153, i.e. penetration holes).
(Re Claim 4) wherein forming the penetration holes comprises partially removing some portion of the active layer (see Figs. 5A-5I, portions of the active layer are removed).
(Re Claim 5) wherein the active layer comprises a plurality of conductive layers and a plurality of interlayer insulating layers (conductive layers and insulating layers: 110, 121a, 120, 123a, 103, 130).
(Re Claim 6) further comprising forming, on the first surface of the substrate, a third notch portion that is spaced apart from the first notch portion along a second dicing line that intersects the first dicing line (see Figs. 1 and 2, notches OP/OP2 are formed at every intersection of the dicing grid, third notch selected from another intersection).
(Re Claim 13) wherein forming the modified patterns comprises irradiating, with a laser, portions of the substrate at which the modified patterns are to be disposed (Fig. 5H and ¶¶74-75).
(Re Claim 15) Han teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor chip, comprising (see Figs. 1, 2, 5G-5I and corresponding text):
forming a substrate which comprises a semiconductor base (100) in which first and second scribe lane regions intersect (see Figs. 1-2), an active layer (layers between 100 and 153) that is formed on the semiconductor base, and an organic matter layer (153 is polyimide, ¶71);
forming a first notch portion and a second notch portion that are spaced apart from each other in the first scribe lane region and that penetrate the organic matter layer (see Figs. 1, 2, and 5H, first and second notch portions correspond to any two openings OP/OP2 formed at each intersection of the dicing grid, notches/openings penetrate layer 153);
forming modified patterns within the semiconductor base along the first scribe lane region (Fig. 5H, modified region SP, ¶74); and
dicing the substrate by propagating cracks into the substrate from the modified patterns (Fig. 5I, ¶75),
wherein each of the first notch portion and the second notch portion has wedge-shaped portion, and the first notch portion and the second notch are arranged such that noses of the wedge-shaped portions face each other in a plane perpendicular to the substrate (see Figs. 5I-5J, the side surface of the opening in 153 and 130 is angled/sloped and thus meets the claimed wedge-shaped portion noses facing each other, they are facing each other in the Fig. 5I cross section which is along the I-I’ section which is in the D1-D3 plane, the substrate is in the D1-D2 plane, see Figs. 1-2 showing the axes, the two planes are perpendicular).
While Han does not recite “propagating cracks”, this is obvious in light of the stealth laser dicing process disclosed (¶¶74-75). When a force is applied to the wafer having the modified regions, cracks will propagate through the wafer from each modified region to singulate the wafer. This is how stealth dicing works. Thus, the claimed propagating cracks will obviously occur whether expressly stated or not.
(Re Claim 16) wherein the first notch portion and the second notch portion are formed to extend into the active layer (see Fig. 5G).
(Re Claim 17) wherein the first notch portion and the second notch portion are disposed at portions in which the first and second scribe lane regions intersect (see Figs. 1-2).
(Re Claim 18) further comprising forming, in a second scribe lane region, a third notch portion that is spaced apart from the first notch portion (see Figs. 1 and 2, notches OP/OP2 are formed at every intersection of the dicing grid, third notch selected from another intersection).
(Re Claim 21) wherein the active layer comprises a plurality of conductive layers and a plurality of interlayer insulating layers (conductive layers and insulating layers: 110, 121a, 120, 123a, 103, 130).
(Re Claim 27) wherein forming the modified patterns comprises irradiating, with a laser, portions of the semiconductor base at which the modified patterns are to be disposed (Fig. 5H, modified pattern SP, ¶¶74-75).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2020/0091100) in view of Lee (US 2021/0210458).
(Re Claim 3) wherein the organic matter layer comprises poly(imide-isoindoloquinazolinedione).
(Re Claim 19) wherein the organic matter layer comprises poly(imide-isoindoloquinazolinedione).
Han discloses a photosensitive polyimide however is silent regarding a specific polyimide such as PIQ. A PHOSITA would be motivated to look to related art to teach a specific photosensitive polyimide to use. Related art from Lee discloses PIQ (¶30) is a photosensitive polyimide suitable for semiconductor devices. A PHOSITA would find it obvious to use the photosensitive polyimide PIQ disclosed by Lee for the photosensitive polyimide disclosed by Han. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2020/0091100) in view of Abe et al. (US 2007/0066044).
(Re Claim 12) wherein the modified patterns are formed to be arranged in a line along the first dicing line.
While Han only shows one modified region SP, a PHOSITA would understand that in a conventional stealth dicing process, a plurality of modified regions are formed along every dicing line. Related art from Abe shows a conventional stealth dicing process wherein a plurality of modified regions are formed along every dicing line (see Figs. 10-11). In view of Abe, it is obvious for Han to similarly form a plurality of modified regions along every dicing line in order to reliably singulate the wafer of devices.
(Re Claim 14) wherein dicing the substrate comprises grinding a second surface that is opposite to the first surface of the substrate.
(Re Claim 20) wherein dicing the substrate further comprises grinding a surface of the semiconductor base, which is opposite to the organic matter layer.
Han is silent regarding grinding the substrate. A PHOSITA would recognize backside grinding/thinning a substrate is common practice in the industry and provides many well-known advantages. Thinning or grinding semiconductor wafers enhances device performance through improved thermal management, higher electrical efficiency, and greater mechanical flexibility, while also enabling advanced compact packaging and reducing manufacturing costs. Related art from Abe discloses grinding the substrate from the backside (Fig. 7 and ¶81). A PHOSITA would find it obvious to grind the Han’s substrate, as taught by Abe, for the advantages discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 13, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts Han fails to teach the wedge-shaped noses facing each other in a plane perpendicular to the substrate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See Figs. 5I-5J showing the side surfaces of the opening in 153 and 130 is angled/sloped and thus meets the claimed noses of wedge-shaped portions facing each other. They are facing each other in the Fig. 5I cross section which is along the I-I’ section which is in the D1-D3 plane, while the substrate extends in the D1-D2 plane, see Figs. 1-2 showing the axes, the two planes are perpendicular. Applicant’s remarks regarding the planes and the substrate are confusing (remarks p. 8) and appear to be wrong in view of the specification. Applicant’s substrate 100 is understood to extend in the X-Y plane as shown in Fig. 12, however one could construe the substrate 100 as existing and extending in all planes, e.g. X-Y, X-Z, and Y-Z. The claimed plane(s) are not well defined, nor is it particularly clear what Applicant intends to be perpendicular to the substrate. In view of Fig. 12, it appears the Z-direction is perpendicular to the plane of the substrate 100. Applicant should define the relevant planes/directions with respect to the wedge-shape portions/noses and substrate more clearly.
Conclusion
/ERIK T. K. PETERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898