DETAILED ACTION
1. The Amendment filed 10/06/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 in the application remain pending. Claims 1-14 were amended. Claim 6 remains withdrawn from consideration. Claims 15-18 are cancelled.
Title
4. Title objections are rendered moot per amendments.
Claim Objections
5. Claim objections on claim 1 are rendered moot per amendments.
Claim Rejections
6. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(b), of claims 1-5 & 7-14 are withdrawn per amendments of claims 1-5 & 7-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-5 & 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
As regards to claim 1, lines 17-18 recite “other ones of said one of said double-layer vacuum chamber” which is unclear whether the recitation is referencing “one of said double-layer vacuum chamber” recited in lines 11-12 or “other ones of said double-layer vacuum chamber”. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “other ones of said one of said double-layer vacuum chamber” as “other ones of said double-layer vacuum chamber” to recite additional double-layer vacuum chambers. To correct this problem, amend lines 17-18 to recite “other ones of said double-layer vacuum chamber”.
Claims 2-5 & 7-14 are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-5 & 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairbairn et al. (US 2006/0102078 A1) hereinafter Fairbairn in view of Tabrizi et al. (US 2004/0091349 A1) hereinafter Tabrizi.
As regards to claim 1, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus suitable for coating at least one object to be coated carried by a carrier (abs; fig 1-9), comprising:
a double-layer vacuum chamber 13 ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20);
a plurality of process chambers 18 for performing at least a fixed point coating on the at least one object to be coated, two of said process chambers 18 being immediately adjacent (see fig 2) to said double-layer vacuum chamber 13, said double-layer vacuum chamber 13 and said process chambers 18 being arranged in two juxtaposed rows (see fig 2 & 8) in a Y-direction transverse to the Z-direction ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20);
a feed lifting mechanism disposed in said process chambers 18, and including a feed lifting seat 58 for carrying the carrier 43, said feed lifting seat 58 being movable in the Z-direction, and including a first transfer device ([0018]; [0034]-[0036]) for conveying the carrier 43 to move in an X-direction transverse to the Y-direction and the Z-direction, and a second transfer device ([0018]; [0034]-[0036]) for conveying the carrier 43 to move in the Y-direction ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20); and
a plurality of first conveying devices ([0018]; [0034]-[0036]) respectively disposed in other ones of said process chambers 18 for conveying the carrier 43 to move in the X-direction or Y-direction ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20), however Fairbairn does not disclose a feed chamber and a discharge chamber opposite to each other in a Z-direction, said feed chamber being configured for feeding the carrier, said discharge chamber being configured for discharging the carrier, wherein one of said feed chamber and said discharge chamber has the same height as said process chambers in the Z-direction, such that the carrier is always maintained at the same height during said at least one fixed point coating process.
Tabrizi discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-12), comprising a feed chamber 418a and a discharge chamber 418b opposite to each other in a Z-direction, said feed chamber 418a being configured for feeding the carrier 412, said discharge chamber 418b being configured for discharging the carrier 412 ([0011]; [0015]; [0020]; [0046]-[0049]; fig 4). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a feed chamber and a discharge chamber opposite to each other in a Z-direction, said feed chamber being configured for feeding the carrier, said discharge chamber being configured for discharging the carrier in the parallel coating apparatus of Fairbairn, because Tabrizi teaches the use of a feed chamber and a discharge chamber opposite to each other in a Z-direction, said feed chamber being configured for feeding the carrier, said discharge chamber being configured for discharging the carrier to allow removal of processed workpieces and reload the load lock with new workpieces, hence, one may be open to atmosphere where a handler unloads or reloads workpieces while other(s) operate, for example, impartial vacuum, allowing a vacuum handler to supply workpieces to and from the process chamber(s); additionally, the load locks may provide the capability to cool post process workpieces prior to or during their pressure transition from the reduced pressure of the load lock to atmospheric pressure, this functional independence makes such a system capable of providing a steady supply of pre-processed workpieces for the vacuum handler thus achieving high throughput in nearly continuous workpiece processing ([0011]; [0015]; [0020]; [0046]-[0049]; fig 4), however modified Fairbairn does not disclose wherein one of said feed chamber and said discharge chamber has the same height as said process chambers in the Z-direction, such that the carrier is always maintained at the same height during said at least one fixed point coating process.
Although the combination of Fairbairn and Tabrizi does not explicitly disclose the claimed chamber configuration, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Fairbairn and Tabrizi to have the support member configuration recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way and would have been obvious to and within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange one of said feed chamber and said discharge chamber to have the same height as said process chambers in the Z-direction, such that the carrier is always maintained at the same height during said at least one fixed point coating process, since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
As regards to claim 2, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), further comprising a plurality of second conveying devices ([0018]; [0034]-[0036]) respectively located on bottom sides of said first conveying devices ([0018]; [0034]-[0036]) for respectively driving said first conveying devices ([0018]; [0034]-[0036]) to rotate 90 degrees ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 3, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), further comprising a loading and unloading area 12 immediately adjacent to said double-layer vacuum chamber 13, said loading and unloading area 12 including a loading lifting seat robot movable in the Z-direction, said loading lifting seat robot being configured for placement of the carrier 43 thereon, and having a loading conveying device arm for conveying the carrier 43 to move in the X-direction ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 4, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein said double-layer vacuum chamber 13 further includes a heating device ([0002]) disposed in contact with said feed chamber (Tabrizi above) for heating and baking the at least one object to be coated ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 5, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein said process chambers 18 include a treatment chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said double-layer vacuum chamber 13, a first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said treatment chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), a second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), a third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), and a buffer chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said double-layer vacuum chamber 13, and wherein each of said buffer chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) has a vacuum degree not lower than that of said treatment chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 7, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein each of said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) has at least one target 51 ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0030]-[0031]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2, 5 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 8, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein said at least one target 51 is cylindrical ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0030]-[0031]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2, 5 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 9, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said buffer chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) are independent vacuum chambers ([0002]-[0004]; [0016]-[0019]; [0023]; [0030]-[0031]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-5 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 10, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein a vacuum valve is disposed between said double-layer vacuum chamber 13 and said treatment chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), between said treatment chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), and between said buffer chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said double-layer vacuum chamber 13, and wherein said vacuum valve is movable in the Z-direction to open or close ([0002]-[0004]; [0016]-[0019]; [0023]; [0030]-[0031]; [0034]-[0039]; fig 1-5 & 8A-9; clm 1, 9 & 20).
As regards to claim 11, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein said feed lifting mechanism is disposed in contact with said buffer chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 12, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein said process chambers 18 include a treatment chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said double-layer vacuum chamber 13, a first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said treatment chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), a second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), a third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), a fourth coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), a fifth coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said fourth coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), and a buffer chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) connected to said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said fifth coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said double-layer vacuum chamber 13 ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 13, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), wherein said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said fourth coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said fifth coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said buffer chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) are independent vacuum chambers, and wherein each of said first coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said second coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said third coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]), said fourth coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) and said fifth coating chamber ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) has at least one target 51([0002]-[0004]; [0016]-[0019]; [0023]; [0030]-[0031]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-5 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
As regards to claim 14, Fairbairn discloses parallel coating apparatus (abs; fig 1-9), further comprising a cooling device provided in each of said process chambers 18 ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]) ([0002]; [0004]; [0016]-[0018]; [0034]-[0036]; fig 1-2 & 8A-8C; clm 1 & 20).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 10/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
(a) Fairbairn et al. does not teach the claimed feature, the processing chambers (41 to 44) and one of the feed chamber (31) and the discharge chamber (32) are configured to have the same height in the Z-direction. Tabrizi also fails to teach this feature.
(b) In view of the above, neither of Fairbairn and Tabrizi teach the aforementioned feature of the present invention, and thus the combination of Fairbairn and Tabrizi would not achieve the claimed invention.
10. In response to applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments.
(a) Although the combination of Fairbairn and Tabrizi does not explicitly disclose the claimed chamber configuration, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Fairbairn and Tabrizi to have the support member configuration recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way and would have been obvious to and within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange one of said feed chamber and said discharge chamber to have the same height as said process chambers in the Z-direction, such that the carrier is always maintained at the same height during said at least one fixed point coating process, since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
(b) In view of the foregoing, Examiner respectfully contends the limitations of claim 1 are indeed satisfied. Claims 2-5 & 7-14 are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1, as well as for their own rejections on the merits, respectively.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717