DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2 December 2022 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 January 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 July 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 April 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gowda et al. (US 2020/0136142, hereinafter referred to as “Gowda”).
As to Claim 1: Gowda teaches an active material for an electrode and its method of manufacture (Abstract). Gowda further teaches that he active material includes a lithium nickel copper complex oxide represented by the molecular formula Li2NixCu1-xO2 (Abstract).
Gowda does not expressly teach the XRD pattern having a diffraction peak ratio of I1/I2<0.1%. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Gowda. However, Gowda teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the diffraction peak ratio is dependent upon the composition as well as the method of making the composition as shown in the examples/comparative examples. Gowda teaches a method which meets the same reaction conditions used in the examples and further recited in claim 10. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the XRD pattern having a diffraction peak ratio of I1/I2<0.1%, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 2: Gowda teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Gowda does not expressly teach the percentage of free lithium is ≤ 5wt%. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Gowda. However, Gowda teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the properties are dependent upon the composition as well as the method of making the composition as shown in the examples/comparative examples. Gowda teaches a method which meets the same reaction conditions used in the examples and further recited in claim 10. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the percentage of free lithium is ≤ 5wt%, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 3: Gowda teaches the composition of claim 2 (supra).
Gowda does not expressly teach the free lithium comprises Li2CO3 and LiOH. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Gowda. However, Gowda teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the properties are dependent upon the composition as well as the method of making the composition as shown in the examples/comparative examples. Gowda teaches a method which meets the same reaction conditions used in the examples and further recited in claim 10. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the free lithium comprises Li2CO3 and LiOH, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 4: Gowda teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Gowda does not expressly teach the pH of the lithium supplement is 11 ≤ pHL ≤13. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Gowda. However, Gowda teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the properties are dependent upon the composition as well as the method of making the composition as shown in the examples/comparative examples. Gowda teaches a method which meets the same reaction conditions used in the examples and further recited in claim 10. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the pH of the lithium supplement is 11 ≤ pHL ≤13, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 5: Gowda teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Gowda does not expressly teach the water concentration of the lithium supplement is less than 800 ppm. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Gowda. However, Gowda teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the properties are dependent upon the composition as well as the method of making the composition as shown in the examples/comparative examples. Gowda teaches a method which meets the same reaction conditions used in the examples and further recited in claim 10. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the water concentration of the lithium supplement is less than 800 ppm, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 7: Gowda teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Gowda further teaches an example with the composition Li2Ni0.3Cu0.7O2 [0051] which has an a value of 0.3.
As to Claim 8: Gowda teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Gowda further teaches an example with the composition Li2Ni0.3Cu0.7O2 [0051].
As to Claim 9: Gowda teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Gowda further teaches that the composition can be coated with alumina with the structure Al2O3 [0053].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gowda et al. (US 2020/0136142, hereinafter referred to as “Gowda”).
As to Claim 10: Gowda teaches an active material for an electrode and its method of manufacture (Abstract). Gowda further teaches that he active material includes a lithium nickel copper complex oxide represented by the molecular formula Li2NixCu1-xO2 (Abstract). Gowda teaches that the active material is formed by weighing the precursor materials, mixing them, and milling them [0041] once the composition has been milled it can be sintered [0047].
Gowda does not expressly teach the XRD pattern having a diffraction peak ratio of I1/I2<0.1%. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Gowda. However, Gowda teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the diffraction peak ratio is dependent upon the composition as well as the method of making the composition as shown in the examples/comparative examples. Gowda teaches a method which meets the same reaction conditions used in the examples and further recited in claim 10. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the XRD pattern having a diffraction peak ratio of I1/I2<0.1%, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gowda et al. (US 2020/0136142, hereinafter referred to as “Gowda”).
As to Claim 11, 14, and 15: Gowda teaches an active material for an electrode and its method of manufacture (Abstract). Gowda further teaches that he active material includes a lithium nickel copper complex oxide represented by the molecular formula Li2NixCu1-xO2 (Abstract). Gowda further teaches the lithium nickel copper oxide can be included in a positive electrode for a lithium secondary battery [0058-0060] in an amount of 2% by mass (Table 1) which can also be a battery module and a battery pack.
Gowda does not expressly teach the XRD pattern having a diffraction peak ratio of I1/I2<0.1%. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Gowda. However, Gowda teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the diffraction peak ratio is dependent upon the composition as well as the method of making the composition as shown in the examples/comparative examples. Gowda teaches a method which meets the same reaction conditions used in the examples and further recited in claim 10. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the XRD pattern having a diffraction peak ratio of I1/I2<0.1%, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 12: Gowda teaches the lithium secondary battery of claim 11 (supra). Gowda further teaches that the positive electrode active substance is a lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (i.e., LiNiaCobAl1-a-bO2) wherein a and b are defined as 0 < a < 1 and 0 < b < 1 [0058].
As to Claim 13: Gowda teaches the lithium secondary battery of claim 12 (supra).
Gowda does not expressly teach the pH of the lithium supplement (pHL) and the electrode active substance (pHc) have a ratio of pHc ≤ pHL. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Gowda. However, Gowda teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the properties are dependent upon the composition as well as the method of making the composition as shown in the examples/comparative examples. Gowda teaches a method which meets the same reaction conditions used in the examples and further recited in claim 10. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the pH of the lithium supplement (pHL) and the electrode active substance (pHc) have a ratio of pHc ≤ pHL, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda et al. (US 2020/0136142, hereinafter referred to as “Gowda”).
As to Claim 6: Gowda teaches the composition of claim 1 (see above).
Gowda does not teach an example wherein the median particle size is 2-10 microns.
However, Gowda teaches that the milling is performed to reduce the particle size and it can be preformed to any desired particle size [0049] in order to optimize the density of the cathode [0065]. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use routine experimentation in order to optimize the density of the cathode and use particle sizes such as from 2-9 microns from the teachings of Gowda [0049. 0065].
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767