DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 10, 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, the claim limitations “and the first positioning magnet is adjacent to the wireless charging assembly” (bridging lines 4-5) appears to be redundant to “the first positioning magnet is adjacent to the wireless charging assembly” (in line 4).
Regarding claim 10, the claim limitations “the first positioning magnet” (in lines 1-2) and “the second positioning magnet” (in line 4) lack proper antecedent basis. These limitations were first introduced in claim 9. Thus, it appears that claim 10 should depend from claim 9 instead of claim 1 and will be interpreted as such for examination purposes.
Regarding claim 14, the claim limitation “the electronic device” (in line 3) lacks proper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “an electronic device”.
Regarding claim 15, the claim limitation “the notch” (in line 3) lacks proper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “a notch”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (CN 213937543 U, cited on IDS) in view of Jiang (CN 112701743 A).
Regarding claim 1, Deng teaches: A wireless charger (see Figs. 1-4) and the abstract), comprising: a wireless charging assembly (transmitting coil 3); a positioning magnet assembly (magnet group 2) arranged around the wireless charging assembly (as shown in Fig. 1); and a spacer assembly (groove 4 of shell 1 and/or base 14) arranged between the wireless charging assembly and the magnet positioning assembly (as shown in Fig. 1, a sidewall of groove 4 is located between the magnet group 2 and the transmitting coil 3).
Deng does not specifically teach a housing and that the wireless charging assembly is arranged in the housing.
Jiang teaches a wireless charger (Figs. 1 & 2) comprising: a housing (shell 1, including cover 11 and bottom 12), a wireless charging assembly (wireless charging coil 31), arranged in the housing (see Fig. 2).
In view of Jiang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include a housing, with the wireless charger of Deng, and arrange the wireless charging assembly in the housing, since a housing would protect the components of the wireless charging assembly from dirt, moisture, etc.
Regarding claim 2, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 1, wherein the spacer assembly (groove 4) comprises a side plate (an inner sidewall of groove 4) and a bottom plate (the bottom of groove 4); the bottom plate is disposed at the bottom of the positioning magnet assembly (the bottom of the groove 4 is below the magnet group 2); the side plate is disposed at one side of the bottom plate close to the wireless charging assembly (the inner side wall of groove 4 is disposed at a side of the bottom of the groove close to the transmitting coil 3, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 2, wherein the height of the side plate is equal to or higher than one third of the height of the side surface of the positioning magnet assembly adjacent to the wireless charging assembly (as shown in Fig. 1, since the magnet group 2 is located within the groove 4 (when assembled), the side wall of the groove is equal to or higher than one third the height of the side surface of the magnet group 2).
Regarding claim 4, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 1, wherein the spacer assembly (base 14) comprises a side plate (an outer side wall of base 14) and a bottom plate (the bottom of base 14); the bottom plate is disposed on the bottom of the wireless charging assembly (transmitting coil 3 is wound within the base 14), and the side plate is disposed on a side of the bottom plate close to the positioning magnet assembly (as shown in Fig. 1, when assembled the outer side wall of base 14 will be close to the magnet group 2).
Regarding claim 5, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 4, wherein the height of the side plate is equal to or higher than one third of the height of the side surface of the wireless charging assembly adjacent to the positioning magnet assembly (as shown in Fig. 1, since the transmitting coil 3 is located within the base 14 (when assembled), the side wall of the base is equal to or higher than one third the height of the side surface of the transmitting coil 3 adjacent to the magnet group 2).
Regarding claim 6, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 1, wherein the spacer assembly comprises a first spacer (groove 4 of shell 1) and a second spacer (base 14); the first spacer and the second spacer are located between the wireless charging assembly (transmitting coil 3) and the positioning magnet assembly (magnet group 2); the first spacer is disposed in the positioning magnet assembly (groove 4 is disposed under & beside the magnet group 2); the second spacer (base 14) is disposed in the wireless charging assembly (base 14 is disposed under & beside the transmitting coil 3).
Regarding claim 7, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 6, wherein the first spacer comprises a first side plate (an inner sidewall of groove 4) and a first bottom plate (the bottom of groove 4); the first bottom plate is disposed at the bottom of the positioning magnet assembly (the bottom of groove 4 is below the magnet group 2); the first side plate is disposed at one side of the first bottom plate close to the wireless charging assembly (the inner side wall of groove 4 is disposed at a side of the bottom of the groove close to the transmitting coil 3, see Fig. 1); the second spacer comprises a second side plate (an outer side wall of base 14) and a second bottom plate (the bottom of base 14); the second bottom plate is disposed at the bottom of the wireless charging assembly (the bottom of base 14 is below the transmitting coil 3); the second side plate is disposed at one side of the second bottom plate close to the positioning magnet assembly (as shown in Fig. 1, when assembled the outer side wall of base 14 will be close to the magnet group 2).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the teachings of Deng as modified by Jiang as applied to claim 1, have been discussed above.
Deng does not specifically teach: (re claim 10) wherein two sides of the first positioning magnet respectively comprise a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole; the first magnetic pole faces the surface of the housing; the second magnetic pole faces the interior of the housing; two sides of the second positioning magnet respectively comprise a third magnetic pole and a fourth magnetic pole; the third magnetic pole faces the surface of the housing; the fourth magnetic pole faces the interior of the housing; and (re claim 11) wherein the magnetic pole of the first magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the second magnetic pole is different; the magnetic pole of the third magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the fourth magnetic pole is different; the magnetic pole of the first magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the fourth magnetic pole is the same; the magnetic pole of the second magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the third magnetic pole is the same.
However, Jiang also teaches (re claim 10) wherein two sides of the first positioning magnet (see magnets 22 in Fig. 9) respectively comprise a first magnetic pole (N) and a second magnetic pole (S); the first magnetic pole faces the surface of the housing (see Fig. 9); the second magnetic pole faces the interior of the housing (see Fig. 9); two sides of the second positioning magnet respectively comprise a third magnetic pole (S) and a fourth magnetic pole (N); the third magnetic pole faces the surface of the housing (see Fig. 9); the fourth magnetic pole faces the interior of the housing (see Fig. 9); and (re claim 11) wherein the magnetic pole of the first magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the second magnetic pole is different (N and S are different); the magnetic pole of the third magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the fourth magnetic pole is different (S and N are different); the magnetic pole of the first magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the fourth magnetic pole is the same (N); the magnetic pole of the second magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the third magnetic pole is the same (S) (also, compare the poles shown in Fig. 9 of Jiang to the poles shown in applicant’s Fig. 4).
In view of Jiang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the wireless charger of Deng, (re claim 10) wherein two sides of the first positioning magnet respectively comprise a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole; the first magnetic pole faces the surface of the housing; the second magnetic pole faces the interior of the housing; two sides of the second positioning magnet respectively comprise a third magnetic pole and a fourth magnetic pole; the third magnetic pole faces the surface of the housing; the fourth magnetic pole faces the interior of the housing; and (re claim 11) wherein the magnetic pole of the first magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the second magnetic pole is different; the magnetic pole of the third magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the fourth magnetic pole is different; the magnetic pole of the first magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the fourth magnetic pole is the same; the magnetic pole of the second magnetic pole and the magnetic pole of the third magnetic pole is the same, since Jiang shows in Fig. 9 that this arrangement of poles serves to limit the magnetic field created by the positioning magnet and limit interference with the field created by the wireless transmitting coil (also see the corresponding description of Fig. 9 in Jiang).
Regarding claim 12, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 1, wherein there are multiple positioning magnet assemblies (Fig. 1 of Deng shows that there are multiple magnets in magnet group 2), and the multiple positioning magnet assemblies are arranged around the wireless charging assembly (the magnets of magnet group 2 are arranged around the transmitting coil 3).
Regarding claim 13, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 1, wherein the wireless charging assembly comprises a transmitting coil (transmitting coil 3); the transmitting coil corresponds to the surface of the housing (the transmitting coil 3 is directed towards the top surface of the housing, see Fig. 1 of Deng and Fig. 2 of Jiang).
Deng does not specifically teach a magnetically conductive carrier plate; the transmitting coil is arranged on the magnetically conductive carrier plate.
However, Jiang further teaches a magnetically conductive carrier plate (magnetic separating plate 32, Fig. 2); the transmitting coil (31) is arranged on the magnetically conductive carrier plate (see Fig. 2 and the corresponding description. The magnetic separating plate 32 is necessarily magnetically conductive, in order to reduce leakage of the magnetic field when coil 31 is charging, as described).
In view of Jiang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the wireless charger of Deng, a magnetically conductive carrier plate; the transmitting coil is arranged on the magnetically conductive carrier plate, in order to reduce leakage of the magnetic field from the wireless transmitting coil.
Regarding claim 14, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 13, wherein the wireless charging assembly (transmitting coil 3) and the positioning magnet assembly (magnet group 2) correspond to the surface of the housing for placing an electronic device for charging (the transmitting coil 3 is directed towards the top surface of the housing, see Fig. 1 of Deng and Fig. 2 of Jiang, where an electronic device is to be placed for charging); the electronic device comprises a device receiving coil (in order to be charged, the device necessarily includes a device receiving coil, see the background of Jiang) and a device positioning magnet (see “the magnetic ring on the device”, as described in the background of Jiang); the device positioning magnet is located around the device receiving coil (the magnetic ring on the device matches the magnetic ring on the charger); the device receiving coil corresponds to the transmitting coil of the wireless charging assembly (in order to receive an efficient charge, the device receiving coil is aligned with the charging coil); the device positioning magnet corresponds to the positioning magnet assembly (the magnetic ring on the device matches the magnetic ring on the charger, see the background of Jiang).
Regarding claim 15, Deng as modified by Jiang teaches: The wireless charger according to claim 1, wherein the housing (see 1, in Fig. 1 of Jiang) comprises a case (lower shell 12) and a cover plate (cover body 11); the case comprises an accommodating slot (as shown in Fig. 2, the lower shell 12 includes an accommodating slot); the cover plate (cover body 11) covers a notch of the accommodating slot (as shown in Fig. 1, the cover body 11 covers a notch in the lower shell 12), the wireless charging assembly (coil 31); the wireless charging assembly, the positioning magnet assembly and the spacer assembly are arranged in the accommodating slot (when assembled, as shown in Fig. 1, the wireless charging assembly, positioning magnet assembly 2 and spacer assembly are arranged in the accommodating slot of lower shell 12); the wireless charging assembly (coil 31) is arranged at the position of the cover plate correspondingly (the coil 31 is directed towards the cover body 11); the positioning magnet assembly is arranged around the notch of the accommodating slot (when assembled, as shown in Fig. 1, the positioning magnet assembly will be arranged around/inside the notch of the accommodating slow in lower shell 12).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (CN 213937543 U, cited on IDS) as modified by Jiang (CN 112701743 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Partovi (US 12,278,045 B2).
Regarding claim 8, the teachings of Deng as modified by Jiang have been discussed above.
Deng as modified by Jiang does not specifically teach wherein the material of the spacer assembly is iron.
Partovi teaches placing multi-pole magnets on an iron ring to aid in assembly and to hold sections of the magnets together (see col. 24, lines 29-52).
In view of Partovi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the wireless charger of Deng as modified by Jiang, wherein the material of the spacer assembly is iron, since this would provide a tighter coupling between sections of the magnets and reduction of magnetic field away from the ring (see col. 24, lines 48-52).
Regarding claim 9, the teachings of Deng as modified by Jiang have been discussed above, as applied to claim 1 and as combined for claims 10 and 11. Deng as modified by Jiang also teaches wherein the positioning magnet assembly comprises a first positioning magnet and a second positioning magnet (see the multiple magnets 22 in Figs. 2, 7 and 9 of Jiang); the second positioning magnet is located at one side of the first positioning magnet (the magnets 22 are side-by-side); the first positioning magnet is adjacent to the wireless charging assembly (the inner magnet 22 is adjacent to coil 31); and the first positioning magnet is adjacent to the wireless charging assembly (the inner magnet 22 is adjacent to coil 31); the second positioning magnet is away from the wireless charging assembly (the outer magnet 22 is away from the coil 31).
Deng as modified by Jiang does not specifically teach the first positioning magnet and the second positioning magnet are fixed by glue.
Partovi teaches placing multi-pole magnets can be created by gluing first and second magnets together (see col. 24, lines 29-52).
In view of Partovi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the wireless charger of Deng as modified by Jiang, the first positioning magnet and the second positioning magnet are fixed by glue, since this is a known way to create multi-pole magnets (such as the magnets 22 of Jiang) (see col. 24, lines 29-32, of Partovi).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are directed to wireless chargers with magnetic positioning.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859