DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 5/13/2025:
Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-18 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 8 and 15 are canceled.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizu et al. JP-2015167149-A (hereinafter “Ishizu”) in view of Onoda et al. JP-2019029307-A (hereinafter “Onoda”), Lee et al. "A review of recent developments in membrane separators for rechargeable lithium-ion batteries,” 2014, Energy Environ. Sci., Pages 3857-3880 (hereinafter “Lee”), and Jang et al. WO-2019172674-A1 (US-20210043977-A1 used as translation and cited in PTO-892) (hereinafter “Jang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ishizu discloses lithium-ion battery (lithium secondary battery) (see paragraphs [0001]-[0002] and [0007]), comprising:
an electrode assembly 20 and an electrolyte solution for impregnating the electrode assembly in Fig. 4 (see paragraphs [0018] and [0050]), wherein
the electrode assembly 20 comprises a negative electrode sheet 22, a separator 21 and a positive electrode sheet 24, and the negative electrode sheet 22, the separator 21 and the positive electrode sheet 24 are wound into a wound structure in a winding direction, and wherein the wound structure comprises an arc bending portion in Figs. 2 and 4 (see paragraphs [0011]-[0016]);
the arc bending portion comprises a first bending portion and a second bending portion;
the first bending portion is an innermost arc bending portion (measured by r in Fig. 4) formed by winding the negative electrode sheet 22, and comprises a negative electrode current collector (negative electrode metal foil) 22a and a negative electrode material layer 22b located on a convex surface of the negative electrode current collector in Fig. 4 (see paragraphs [0013]-[0016]);
the second bending portion is located on an outer side of the first bending portion and adjacent to the first bending portion with the separator 21 being therebetween, and comprises a positive electrode current collector (positive electrode metal foil) 24a and a positive electrode material layer 24b located on a concave surface of the positive electrode current collector in Fig. 4 (see paragraphs [0013]-[0016]);
and R (radius of curvature r based on the inner surface of the negative electrode current collector 22a) is a minimum curvature radius of the convex surface of the negative electrode current collector 22a of the first bending portion, and L (thickness from 22a to 24a) is a shortest distance between the convex surface of the negative electrode current collector 22a of the first bending portion and the concave surface of the positive electrode current collector 24a of the second bending portion (see comparison of Fig. 1 of instant application to annotated Fig. 4 of Ishizu below) (see paragraphs [0014]-[0016]).
Fig. 1 of Instant Application
Fig. 4 of Ishizu annotated with r+L
Ishizu further discloses R may be 150 μm (0.15 mm) and L may be about 92.5 μm (30 μm on one side of negative electrode current collector + 40 μm on one side of positive electrode current collector + 22.5 μm average separator thickness) (see paragraphs [0019] and [0022]). These values result in a coefficient β (derived from R/(R+L)) of approximately 0.62, which falls within and therefore anticipates the range for β of 0.015≤β≤0.95.
Ishizu is not specific on the separator thickness.
However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium-ion battery separators, Lee discloses it is well-known in the art to use separators with a thickness of about 20-25 μm in lithium-ion batteries in order to have lower internal resistance and exhibit high energy and power densities (see pgs. 3857-3859 and Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a separator with a thickness of about 20-25 μm in the lithium-ion battery disclosed by Ishizu in order to have lower internal resistance and exhibit high energy and power densities, as is common in the art, as disclosed by Lee, and arrive an L value of about 92.5 μm.
Ishizu additionally discloses this structure results in a reduction in lithium precipitation on the negative electrode (see paragraph [0045]). Ishizu also discloses the electrolyte is not particularly limited (see paragraph [0050]).
Ishizu and Lee are silent on the electrolyte solution containing a fluorosulfonate salt and/or a difluorophosphate salt substance; and a percentage mass content w% of the fluorosulfonate salt and/or the difluorophosphate salt substance in the electrolyte solution and the corner lithium plating coefficient β satisfying a second formula of 0.01≤w
×
β≤20.
However, in the same field of endeavor of preventing lithium precipitation in wound lithium-ion batteries (see paragraph [0008]), Onoda discloses including LiBOB and a fluorosulfonate salt substance in the electrolyte solution of lithium-ion wound batteries having R portions (curved surfaces between two flat portions) (see paragraphs [0007]-[0010], [0027], and [0046]).
Onoda additionally discloses the use of lithium fluorosulfonate in the electrolyte reliably prevents lithium precipitation (see paragraphs [0010], [0027], and [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium-ion battery disclosed by Ishizu wherein the electrolyte solution containing a fluorosulfonate salt substance, as disclosed by Onoda, in order to reliably prevent lithium precipitation.
Onoda also discloses the w% (wt%) of the lithium fluorosulfonate may preferably be 0.3 to 1.5 w% of the total amount of the nonaqueous electrolyte (see paragraph [0027]). With the coefficient β value disclosed by Ishizu and Lee of 0.62 (see above) a w
×
β value ranges from 0.186 to 0.93, which falls within and therefore anticipates the range of 0.015≤w
×
β≤20.
Onoda additionally discloses including LiBOB and a fluorosulfonate salt within this range in the electrolyte to prevent unevenness in the formation of the SEI film and form a film derived from LiBOB in a substantially uniform manner, thereby suppressing lithium precipitation (see paragraph [0027]).
Therefore, in the combined invention of Ishizu, Lee, and Onoda, the lithium-ion secondary battery would contain a percentage mass content w% of the fluorosulfonate salt substance in the electrolyte solution and the corner lithium plating coefficient β satisfying a second formula of 0.01≤w
×
β≤20, as Onoda discloses a proper wt% of the fluorosulfonate salt prevents unevenness in the formation of the SEI film and form a film derived from LiBOB in a substantially uniform manner, thereby suppressing lithium precipitation.
Onoda also discloses the electrolyte may further contain fluoroethylene carbonate (MFEC) as appropriate compound in the nonaqueous electrolyte (see paragraph [0024]).
Ishizu, Onoda, and Lee are silent on a percentage mass content of the fluoroethylene carbonate in the electrolyte solution being between more than 2% and 15%.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrolytes in lithium-ion batteries (see abstract), Jang discloses an electrolyte solution comprising fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) in an amount 2.5 wt% (Example 14) and 6 wt% (Example 18) (see Table 3 and paragraphs [0048], [0050], and [0129]-[0130]). These amounts fall within and therefore anticipate the claimed range of a percentage mass content of the fluoroethylene carbonate in the electrolyte solution of between more than 2% and 15%.
Jang additionally discloses excellent discharge capacity in the extremely low and/or high temperatures may be achieved when the appropriate amount of FEC is used with other additives in the electrolyte solution (see paragraphs [0047]-[0050]). A skilled artisan would as such recognize this as an appropriate amount of fluoroethylene carbonate to include in the nonaqueous electrolyte of modified Ishizu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium-ion secondary battery disclosed by Ishizu and Lee wherein the electrolyte solution contains fluoroethylene carbonate and a percentage mass content of the fluoroethylene carbonate in the electrolyte solution falls within the range of between more than 2% and 15%, as disclosed by Onoda and Jang, in order to achieve desirable effects such as excellent discharge capacity in the extremely low and/or high temperatures.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
In the combined invention of Ishizu, Onoda, and Lee (see claim 1 above), the w% disclosed by Onoda of the lithium fluorosulfonate is 0.3 to 1.5 w% of the total amount of the nonaqueous electrolyte (see paragraph [0027]) and the coefficient β is 0.62, achieved from the R and L values disclosed by Ishizu in view of Lee of 150 μm and 92.5 μm, respectively. This results in a w
×
β ranging from 0.186 to 0.93, which falls within and therefore anticipates the range of 0.02≤w
×
β≤5.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). As in Claim 1 above, Ishizu discloses R may be 150 μm (0.15 mm) and L may be about 92.5 μm (30 μm on one side of negative electrode current collector + 40 μm on one side of positive electrode current collector + 22.5 μm average separator thickness) (see paragraphs [0019] and [0022]). These values result in a coefficient β (derived from R/(R+L)) of approximately 0.62, which falls within and therefore anticipates the range for β of 0.015≤β≤0.8.
Ishizu is not specific on the separator thickness.
However, Lee discloses it well-known in the art to use separators with a thickness of about 20-25 μm in lithium-ion batteries in order to have lower internal resistance, and exhibit high energy and power densities (see pgs. 3857-3859 and Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a separator with a thickness of about 20-25 μm in order to have lower internal resistance, and exhibit high energy and power densities, as is common in the art, as disclosed by Lee, and arrive an L value of about 92.5 μm which results in a β value of approximately 0.62.
Regarding Claims 4 and 10, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). As discussed in Claim 1 above, Ishizu discloses R may be 150 μm (0.15 mm) (see paragraph [0022]), which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of R being 2 μm to 5000 μm (meeting Claim 4) and 50 μm to 500 μm (meeting Claim 10).
Regarding Claims 5 and 11, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). As discussed in Claim 1 above, Ishizu in combination with Lee discloses an L value of approximately 92.5 μm, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of L being 20 μm to 900 μm (meeting Claim 5) and 50 μm to 500 μm (meeting Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Ishizu, Lee, and Jang are silent on a structural formula of the fluorosulfonate salt being (FSO3)xMx+, wherein Mx+ is selected from one or two more of Li+, Na+, K+, Rb+, Cs+, Mg2+, Ca2+, Ba2+, Al3+, Fe2+, Fe3+, Ni2+and Ni3+ and a structural formula of the fluorosulfonate salt being (F2PO2)yMy+, wherein My+ is selected from one or two more of Li+, Na+, K+, Rb+, Cs+, Mg2+, Ca2+, Ba2+, Al3+, Fe2+, Fe3+, Ni2+and Ni3+.
However, Ononda discloses using lithium fluorosulfonate (a fluorsulfonate salt) with the formula FSO3Li (see paragraphs [0004], [0009], [0010], and [0027]). A skilled artisan would understand that a salt has an ionic bond and as such the charge on Li would be Li+ and, to balance the charges, the subscript on FSO3 would be 1. As such, this formula falls within and therefore anticipates the general formula of (FSO3)xMx+, wherein Mx+ is selected from one or two more of Li+, Na+, K+, Rb+, Cs+, Mg2+, Ca2+, Ba2+, Al3+, Fe2+, Fe3+, Ni2+and Ni3+.
Onoda additionally discloses the use of lithium fluorosulfonate in the electrolyte reliably prevents lithium precipitation (see paragraphs [0010], [0027], and [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium-ion battery disclosed by Ishizu, Lee, and Jang wherein the electrolyte solution contains lithium fluorosulfonate with the formula as disclosed by Onoda, in order to reliably prevent lithium precipitation.
Regarding Claims 7 and 12-14, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Ishizu, Lee, and Jang are silent on the percentage mass content w% of the fluorosulfonate salt and/or the difluorophosphate salt substance in the electrolyte solution having a range of 0.02% to 25%, 0.02% to 20%, 0.05% to 10%, and/or 0.1 % to 5%.
However, Onoda discloses the w% (wt%) of the lithium fluorosulfonate may preferably be 0.3 to 1.5 w% of the total amount of the nonaqueous electrolyte (see paragraphs [0026]-[0027]). This range falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed ranges of the percentage mass content w% of the fluorosulfonate salt substance in the electrolyte solution having a range of 0.02% to 25% (meeting Claim 7), 0.02% to 20% (meeting Claim 12), 0.05% to 10% (meeting Claim 13), and 0.1 % to 5% (meeting Claim 14).
Onoda additionally discloses including LiBOB and a fluorosulfonate salt within this range to the electrolyte prevents unevenness in the formation of the SEI film and form a film derived from LiBOB in a substantially uniform manner, thereby suppressing lithium precipitation (see paragraphs [0010], [0027], and [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium-ion secondary battery disclosed by Ishizu, Lee, and Jang wherein the percentage mass content w% of the fluorosulfonate salt substance in the electrolyte solution falls in a range of 0.02% to 25%, 0.02% to 20%, 0.05% to 10%, and/or 0.1 % to 5%, as disclosed by Onoda, in order to prevent unevenness in the formation of the SEI film and form a film derived from LiBOB in a substantially uniform manner, thereby suppressing lithium precipitation.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Ishizu further discloses a battery module (battery can) 19 comprising one or more of the lithium-ion battery according to the aforementioned claim 1 in Figs. 1 and 3 (see paragraphs [0002], [0011], and [0051]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above). Ishizu further discloses a battery pack (lithium secondary batteries have excellent volumetric efficiency when packed i.e., lithium secondary batteries in a battery pack) comprising one or more of the battery module according to the aforementioned claim 17 (see paragraphs [0002] and [0051]).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizu in view of Onoda, Lee, and Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inagaki US-20080176142-A1 (hereinafter “Inagaki”).
Regarding Claims 9 and 16, modified Ishizu discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Ishizu, Onoda, Lee, and Jang are silent on the porosity of the negative electrode active layer being 20% to 50% and/or 30% to 50%.
However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium-ion batteries (batteries in which lithium ions are transferred between a negative electrode and a positive electrode to charge and discharge) (see abstract and paragraphs [0006]-[0007]), Inagaki discloses forming a negative electrode active material layer with a porosity of 32.1%, 32.7%, 37.4%, 39.6%, etc. (see paragraphs [0055], [0078], and [0206] and Tables 4 and 5). These values fall within and therefore anticipate the claimed range of the porosity of the negative electrode active layer being 20% to 50% (meeting Claim 9) and/or 30% to 50% (meeting Claim 16).
Inagaki additionally discloses proper porosity results in the ability of impregnation with the nonaqueous electrolyte being outstandingly improved, making it possible to attain an excellent large-current performance and cycle performance (see paragraphs [0055] and [0250] and Tables 4 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium-ion secondary battery disclosed by Ishizu, Onoda, Lee, and Jang wherein the porosity of the negative electrode active layer is 20% to 50% and/or 30% to 50%, as disclosed by Inagaki, in order to attain an excellent large-current performance and cycle performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. US-20190173124-A1 (“Zhang”) discloses an electrolyte solution comprising a cyclic carbonate with a carbon-carbon double bond, which may be FEC, being included in a mass percentage of 0.1% to 10% (see paragraphs [0013] and [0044]).
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729