DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on August 24, 2026 was received. Claims 14-28 were canceled. Claims 1 and 7 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim on claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9 and 12-13 are withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakajima on claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9 and 12-13 are withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima and Lee on claim 3 is withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima and Zhu on claim 7 is withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima and Ki on claims 10-11 are withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
Please consider the following.
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 2019/0352764) in view of Zhu (US 2020/0190655).
In regards to claims 1 and 7, Nakajima teaches deposition mask (1, 10) comprising:
a frame (2) comprising:
long side portions extending in a second direction and spaced apart from each other in a first direction intersecting the second direction; and
short side portions connected to the long side portions, the frame defining a frame opening (fig. 2-5; para. 44-47, 71);
a first cover sheet (4, first stick) extending in the first direction and connected to the frame (fig. 2-5; para. 50-60, 75-78);
a first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) defining first deposition openings (23) and flush/connected to the first cover sheet and the frame, at least part of the first deposition openings arranged in the second direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view (fig. 1-5; para. 39, 44, 58, 62-63, 75-80); and
a second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) defining second deposition openings (23) and connected to the first stick and the frame, at least part of the second mask sheet arranged in the second direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view (fig. 2-5; para. 39, 44, 58, 62-63, 75-80).
Nakajima teaches the thickness of the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is capable of being 50μm (para. 55, 93).
Nakajima does not explicitly teach the first cover sheet (4, first stick) has a width in a range of about 1 mm to about 5 mm.
However, Zhu teaches shielding strips (3) are used to support mask strips (2). Zhu teaches the shielding strips comprises width with a range of 0.5 to 5-mm (fig. 3-4; para. 37, 43, 45-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the thickness of the shielding strips of Zhu onto the cover sheet of Nakajima because Zhu teaches it will prevent sagging (para. 46).
In regards to claim 2, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed, where Nakajima teaches the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is exposed between the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) (fig. 2d, 4d).
In regards to claim 4, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed, where Nakajima teaches the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is positioned to indirectly contact and extend from the rear surface of the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the rear surface of the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) (fig. 2-5; para. 58-62, 66, 71).
In regards to claim 5, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed, where Nakajima teaches the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is flush with the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the rear surface of the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22), which is capable of being understood as the first cover sheet indirectly connects to the front surfaces of the mask sheets (fig. 2-5; para. 58-62, 66, 71).
In regards to claim 6, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed, where Nakajima teaches the thickness of the mask sheet (see divided mask-22) is capable of being 50μm (para. 37-38).
In regards to claim 8, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed, where Nakajima teaches the mask sheets (see divided mask-22) comprises invar (para. 37, 41).
In regards to claim 9, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed, where Nakajima teaches
a second cover sheet (4, second stick) extending in the first direction and spaced apart from the first cover sheet in the second direction (fig. 1-5; para. 39, 44, 58, 62-63, 75-80); and
a third mask sheet (see divided mask-22) defining third deposition openings (23) and connected to the cover sheet (4, second stick) and the frame, the third deposition openings arranged in the second direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view, the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) is disposed between the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the third mask sheet (see divided mask-22) (fig. 2-5; para. 39, 44, 58, 62-63, 75-80), and
a portion of the second cover sheet (4, second stick) is exposed between the second mask sheet and the third mask sheet (fig. 2-5).
In regards to claim 12, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed, where Nakajima teaches the first deposition openings (23), the second deposition openings (23), and the third deposition openings (23) are arranged in ‘n’ rows by ‘m’ columns in the first direction and the second direction, ‘n’ and ‘m’ being natural numbers and at least one of ‘n’ and ‘m’ being greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 1, 2d, 4d).
In regards to claim 13, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed, where Nakajima teaches a width of each of the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) in the second direction is less than a width of each of the first mask sheet and the second mask sheet in the first direction (fig. 2d, 4d).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima and Zhu as applied to claims 1-2, 4-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2011/0220019).
In regards to claim 3, Nakajima and Zhu as discussed but do not explicitly teach the long side portions include stick grooves, and the first stick is inserted into the stick grooves
However, Lee teaches balance sticks (30, first stick) and a frame (10). Lee teaches the frame comprises grooves (11, stick grooves) in which the balance sticks are positioned (fig. 1-3, 4h, ; para. 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the grooves in the frame in which the sticks are located of Lee onto the frame and cover sheet of Nakajima and Zhu because Lee teaches it will reduce deformation (para. 43).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima and Zhu as applied to claims 1-2, 4-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Ko (US 2016/0312354).
In regards to claim 10, Nakajima and Zhu do not explicitly teach each of the first to third mask sheets comprises sides spaced apart from each other in the first direction and other sides spaced apart from each other in the second direction, one of the sides of the first mask sheet is connected to the first stick, another one of the sides is connected to an overlapping one of the short side portions, and each of the other sides is connected to an overlapping one of the long side portions, one of the sides of the third mask sheet is connected to the second stick, another one of the sides is connected to an overlapping one of the short side portions, and each of the other sides is connected to an overlapping one of the long side portions, and one of the sides of the second mask sheet is connected to the first stick, another one of the sides is connected to the second stick, and each of the other sides is connected to an overlapping one of the long side portions.
However, Ko teaches second masks-300-1/300-10 which are provided at ends of the frame (100). Ko teaches each of the second mask comprise alignment stick-400, where the second masks-300-1/300-10 and the alignment sticks-400 overlap and attached to short sides of the frame (fig. 1-2; para. 31, 53-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the alignment sticks that connect to the mask and frame of Ko onto the masks and frame of Nakajima and Zhu because Ko teaches it will provide proper positioning of the masks (para. 31).
In regards to claim 11, Nakajima, Zhu and Ko as discussed, where Nakajima teaches the mask sheets (see divided masks-22) are welded to the frame (2) (para. 63, 80).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
In the Examiner's rejection, no limitation regarding the "thickness" of the shielding strip is disclosed. As such, even if Nakajima and Zhu are combined, the elements of claim 1 will not result.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
Nakajima teaches the thickness of the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is capable of being 50-μm (para. 55, 93).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717