DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on January 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 16, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2023/0062020).
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application but a different assignee. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claim 1, Kim teaches a mask assembly comprising:
a frame (200) (fig. 3-5, 10; para. 42) comprising:
long side portions extending in a Y/first direction and spaced apart from each other in a X/second direction intersecting the first direction; and
short side portions connected to the long side portions, the frame defining a frame opening (fig. 3-5, 10; para. 42);
a gap mask stick (400, first stick) extending in the second direction and connected to the frame (fig. 4-5, 10; para. 42-43);
a first deposition stick mask (100, first mask sheet) defining cell unit masks (120, first deposition openings) and connected to the first stick and the frame, at least part of the f cell unit masks arranged in the Y/first direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view (fig. 1, 5, 10; para. 9-10, 42-43); and
a second deposition stick mask (100, second mask sheet) (shown in fig. 10) defining cell unit masks (120, second deposition openings) and connected to the gap mask stick and the frame, at least part of the second mask sheet arranged in the Y/first direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view (fig. 10; para. 57).
In regards to claim 2, Kim teaches the gap mask stick is exposed between the first deposition stick mask and the second deposition stick mask (fig. 5, 10).
In regards to claim 4, Kim teaches the gap mask stick is positioned at a rear surfaces of the first deposition stick mask and the second deposition stick mask (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 6, Kim teaches the first deposition stick mask and the second deposition stick mask have a thickness within the claimed range of about 50mm to about 300mm (para. 11).
In regards to claim 9, Kim teaches
a second stick (not labeled, but shown in fig. 10) extending in the X/second direction and spaced apart from the first stick in the Y/first direction (fig. 10; para. 57); and
a third mask sheet (not labeled, but shown in fig. 10) defining third deposition openings not labeled, but shown in fig. 10) and connected to the second stick and the frame, the third deposition openings arranged in the first direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view (fig. 10; para. 57),
the second mask sheet is disposed between the first mask sheet and the third mask sheet, and a portion of the second stick is exposed between the second mask sheet and the third mask sheet (fig. 10; para. 57).
In regards to claim 12, Kim teaches at least one of the first deposition openings, the second deposition openings, and the third deposition openings is arranged in n rows x m columns in the first direction and the second direction, n and m being natural numbers and at least one of n and m being greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 5, 10).
In regards to claim 13, Kim teaches a width of each of the first deposition stick mask and the second deposition stick mask in the first direction is less than a width of each of the first deposition stick mask and the second deposition stick mask in the second direction (fig. 10).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakajima (US 2019/0352764).
In regards to claim 1, Nakajima teaches deposition mask (1, 10) comprising:
a frame (2) comprising:
long side portions extending in a second direction and spaced apart from each other in a first direction intersecting the second direction; and
short side portions connected to the long side portions, the frame defining a frame opening (fig. 2-5; para. 44-47, 71);
a first cover sheet (4, first stick) extending in the first direction and connected to the frame (fig. 2-5; para. 50-60, 75-78);
a first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) defining first deposition openings (23) and flush/connected to the first cover sheet and the frame, at least part of the first deposition openings arranged in the second direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view (fig. 1-5; para. 39, 44, 58, 62-63, 75-80); and
a second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) defining second deposition openings (23) and connected to the first stick and the frame, at least part of the second mask sheet arranged in the second direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view (fig. 2-5; para. 39, 44, 58, 62-63, 75-80).
In regards to claim 2, Nakajima teaches the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is exposed between the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) (fig. 2d, 4d).
In regards to claim 4, Nakajima teaches the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is positioned to indirectly contact and extend from the rear surface of the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the rear surface of the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) (fig. 2-5; para. 58-62, 66, 71).
In regards to claim 5, Nakajima teaches the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is flush with the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the rear surface of the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22), which is capable of being understood as the first cover sheet indirectly connects to the front surfaces of the mask sheets (fig. 2-5; para. 58-62, 66, 71).
In regards to claim 6, Nakajima teaches the thickness of the mask sheet (see divided mask-22) is capable of being 50μm (para. 37-38).
In regards to claim 8, Nakajima teaches the mask sheets (see divided mask-22) comprises invar (para. 37, 41).
In regards to claim 9, Nakajima teaches
a second cover sheet (4, second stick) extending in the first direction and spaced apart from the first cover sheet in the second direction (fig. 1-5; para. 39, 44, 58, 62-63, 75-80); and
a third mask sheet (see divided mask-22) defining third deposition openings (23) and connected to the cover sheet (4, second stick) and the frame, the third deposition openings arranged in the second direction and overlapping the frame opening in a plan view, the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) is disposed between the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the third mask sheet (see divided mask-22) (fig. 2-5; para. 39, 44, 58, 62-63, 75-80), and
a portion of the second cover sheet (4, second stick) is exposed between the second mask sheet and the third mask sheet (fig. 2-5).
In regards to claim 12, Nakajima teaches the first deposition openings (23), the second deposition openings (23), and the third deposition openings (23) are arranged in ‘n’ rows by ‘m’ columns in the first direction and the second direction, ‘n’ and ‘m’ being natural numbers and at least one of ‘n’ and ‘m’ being greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 1, 2d, 4d).
In regards to claim 13, Nakajima teaches a width of each of the first mask sheet (see divided mask-22) and the second mask sheet (see divided mask-22) in the second direction is less than a width of each of the first mask sheet and the second mask sheet in the first direction (fig. 2d, 4d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2011/0220019).
In regards to claim 3, Nakajima does not explicitly teach the long side portions include stick grooves , and the first stick is inserted into the stick grooves
However, Lee teaches balance sticks (30, first stick) and a frame (10). Lee teaches the frame comprises grooves (11, stick grooves) in which the balance sticks are positioned (fig. 1-3, 4h, ; para. 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the grooves in the frame in which the sticks are located of Lee onto the frame and cover sheet of Nakajima because Lee teaches it will reduce deformation (para. 43).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Zhu (US 2020/0190655).
In regards to claim 7, Nakajima teaches the thickness of the first cover sheet (4, first stick) is capable of being 50μm (para. 54-55).
Nakajima does not explicitly teach the first cover sheet (4, first stick) has a width in a range of about 1 mm to about 5 mm.
However, Zhu teaches shielding strips (3) are used to support mask strips (2). Zhu teaches the shielding strips comprises width with a range of 0.5 to 5mm (fig. 3-4; para. 37, 43, 45-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the thickness of the shielding strips of Zhu onto the cover sheet of Nakajima because Zhu teaches it will prevent sagging (para. 46).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Ko (US 2016/0312354).
In regards to claim 10, Nakajima does not explicitly teach
each of the first to third mask sheets comprises sides spaced apart from each other in the first direction and other sides spaced apart from each other in the second direction,
one of the sides of the first mask sheet is connected to the first stick, another one of the sides is connected to an overlapping one of the short side portions, and each of the other sides is connected to an overlapping one of the long side portions, one of the sides of the third mask sheet is connected to the second stick,
another one of the sides is connected to an overlapping one of the short side portions, and each of the other sides is connected to an overlapping one of the long side portions, and one of the sides of the second mask sheet is connected to the first stick,
another one of the sides is connected to the second stick, and each of the other sides is connected to an overlapping one of the long side portions.
However, Ko teaches second masks-300-1/300-10 which are provided at ends of the frame (100). Ko teaches each of the second mask comprise alignment stick-400, where the second masks-300-1/300-10 and the alignment sticks-400 overlap and attached to short sides of the frame (fig. 1-2; para. 31, 53-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the alignment sticks that connect to the mask and frame of Ko onto the masks and frame of Nakajima because Ko teaches it will provide proper positioning of the masks (para. 31).
In regards to claim 11, Nakajima and Ko as discussed, where Nakajima teaches the mask sheets (see divided masks-22) are welded to the frame (2) (para. 63, 80).
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717