Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20200083402 A1 Henry.
For claim 1, Henry teaches “A display device (fig. 6H) comprising: light emitting elements (fig. 6H numerals 635, 630, and 625) each including a first area and a second area having different diameters (fig. 6H shows the elements having tapered shape having two diameters of different sizes); and a base layer having at least a partially tapered shape (fig. 6H numeral 660) matching a shape of and surrounding the first area of the light emitting elements and contacting an entire side surface of the first area of each of the light emitting elements (fig. 6H shows the base layer 660 surrounding the light emitting elements 635, 630, and 625, figure 6H shows the base layer 660 in contact directly or indirectly with the first area without any interruptions in the layer resulting in the entire side surface of the first area being in contact with the base layer; the shape of the base layer appears to be the inverse shape of the light emitting elements, resulting in the shapes of the elements and the base layer matching), wherein the first area extends from a bottom surface of each of the light emitting elements to a top surface of the base layer, wherein the second are of each of the light emitting elements protrudes from a first surface of the base layer (fig. 6H shows the second area matching the layer 625 of the light emitting elements protruding from the base layer 660).”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 - 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For claim 2, Henry does not appear to teach the first area having a greater diameter than the second area of the light emitting elements. Henry appears to explicitly teach the area of the light emitting elements protruding from the base layer (corresponding to the second area) having a larger diameter than the first area of the light emitting elements. There is no obvious reason why one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention would invert the shape of the light emitting elements so that the protruding area has a smaller diameter than the non-protruding area contacting the base layer.
Claims 3 – 14 are primarily allowable as depending on an allowable claim, but are objected to as depending on a rejected independent base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220109023 A1 teaches a tapered light emitting element surrounded by an insulating layer. It does not appear to teach an area of the light emitting element protruding from the insulating layer.
US 7198411 B2 teaches an embedded light emitting element with a tapered shape having two different diameters at two areas of the light emitting element. It does not appear to teach the light emitting element protruding form the base layer the light emitting element is embedded in.
/J.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815