DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims, specification, and drawings filed June 15, 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every drawing objection, claim objection, and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed December 16, 2025. Claims 1-2, 4-9, 12-13, 15, 17, and 19 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-9, 12-13, 15, 17, and 19 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues Pirillis (US Publication No. 2007/0183128) does not teach an integrated, continuous contact between the shield and the heatsink to seal against EMI leakage (Arguments, page 10). However, the claims do not require the continuous contact to be “integrated” with the shield and/or heatsink. Even if the claims did require the continuous contact point to be integrated with the shield and/or heatsink, Examiner notes it has been held that use of a one-piece construction as opposed to several piece construction as disclose in the prior art is merely a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B) and In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
For these reasons, Examiner maintains Pirillis teaches an apparatus comprising: a heat dissipation element (heat sink 10) and a body (comprised of gasket 20 and receptacle 30), wherein the body (20, 30) and the heat dissipation element (10) establish direct contact (via 20 and 22) along a continuous and unbroken perimeter (see Paragraph [0016] and Figure 2, reproduced below) around the at least one opening (opening 38) to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure (see Paragraph [0022]) around said at least one component (Paragraph [0017], electronic module).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 claims, “wherein the body is further shaped and dimensioned so as to define a plurality of contact points.” However, independent claim 1, upon which claim 5 is dependent, claims, “the body and the heat dissipation element establish direct contact along a continuous and unbroken perimeter around the at least one opening.” Claim 1 refers to the second embodiment (“continuous perimeter” embodiment) disclosed in Figure 1b and Paragraphs [0037]-[0041] of the instant application, and claims 5-8 refer to the first embodiment (“spring contact” embodiment) disclosed in Figure 1a and Paragraphs [0031]-[0036] of the instant application. Paragraphs [0039] makes clear the continuous perimeter embodiment and the spring contact embodiment are two separate embodiments. For the purposes of examination, the invention will be treated as including both the continuous perimeter contact and the discrete spring contacts, as claimed.
Claims 6-8 are rejected for the reasons above and due to their dependency on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US Publication No. 2017/0181266) in view of Pirillis (US Publication No. 2007/0183128).
Regarding claim 1, Hunt discloses an apparatus comprising: a heat dissipation element (Figures 4-7, heat sink 110) including at least one protrusion (bottom of depression 111), a body (shield 106) shaped and dimensioned in a manner so as to act as a housing (see Figures 4-7) and cover at least one component (component 104) on a base (PCB 102), the body (106) defining at least one opening (heat transfer window 108), and wherein the body (106) and the heat dissipation element (110) are mated in a manner such that the at least one protrusion (111) is positionally aligned with the at least one opening (108) so as to be capable of being thermally coupled to the at least one component (104) to facilitate heat dissipation of heat generated by the at least one component (104),
wherein, when mated, the body (106) and the heat dissipation element (104) established direct contact 108) to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure around said at least one component (104), wherein the at least one protrusion (111) of the heat dissipation element (110) is integrally formed with the heat dissipation element (110) and shaped, dimensioned, and positioned such that it extends through the at least one opening (108) and is at least positionally adjacent to the component (104) thereby causing thermal coupling between the at least one protrusion (111) and the at least one component (104; see Paragraph [0031]).
Hunt does not disclose wherein the body and the heat dissipation element established direct contact along a continuous and unbroken perimeter around the at least one opening to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure around said at least one component.
However, Pirillis teaches an apparatus comprising: a heat dissipation element (heat sink 10) and a body (comprised of gasket 20 and receptacle 30), wherein the body (20, 30) and the heat dissipation element (10) established direct contact (via 20 and 22) along a continuous and unbroken perimeter (see Paragraph [0016]) around the at least one opening (opening 38) to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure (see Paragraph [0022]) around said at least one component (Paragraph [0017], electronic module).
Because Hunt and Pirillis both disclose covers with grounding contact points (see Figures 1-2 in Pirillis; see Figure 4 in Hunt), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the continuous contact points of Pirillis to the body of Hunt according to known methods to yield the predictable results of providing an EMI shielding gasket between an EMI shield and a heat sink. Doing so would have also further protected the electronic components by providing a seal between the heat sink and cover body (see Paragraphs [0016], [0021]-[0022] in Pirillis).
Regarding claim 2, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the heat dissipation element (110) has been grounded (see Paragraphs [0022]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the body (106) is further shaped and dimensioned so as to define at least one contact point (120; see Figure 7A-7B) capable of establishing contact between the body (106) and the heat dissipation element (110).
Regarding claim 5, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 4, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the body (106) is further shaped and dimensioned so as to define a plurality of contact points (120) capable of establishing contact between the body (106) and the heat dissipation element (110).
Regarding claim 6, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the body (106) is further shaped and dimensioned in a manner such that a face (top face of 106) is defined, and wherein, when mated, the face (top face of 106) faces the heat dissipation element (110; see Figures 7A-7B), and wherein the plurality of contact points (120) are defined on the face (top face of 106).
Regarding claim 7 Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the plurality of contact points (120) correspond to a plurality of spring contacts (see Paragraph [0024] and Figure 6) comprising at least a first spring contact (first 120) and a second spring contact (second 120), wherein the first spring contact (first 120) and second spring contact (second 120) are discrete contact points to the heat dissipation element (110).
Regarding claim 8, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the spring contacts (120) are at least one of: defined along the periphery of the face (top face of 106), and defined in a manner so as to surround the opening (108; see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the body (106) is further shaped and dimensioned so as to define a contact point (20 in Pirillis) capable of establishing contact between the body (106) and the heat dissipation element (110).
Regarding claim 17, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the apparatus corresponds to an Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) protected shield covering (see Paragraphs [0022]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 19, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Hunt) wherein the protrusion (111) is positionally aligned with the opening (108) so as to be positionally aligned with the component (104) such that thermal coupling between the protrusion (111) and the component (104) is capable of being facilitated (see Figures 7A-7B).
Alternatively, claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughtry (US Publication No. 2016/0165764) in view of Pirillis (US Publication No. 2007/0183128).
Regarding claim 1, Daughtry discloses an apparatus comprising: a heat dissipation element (heat sink 150) including at least one protrusion (shoe 156), a body (shield cap 130) shaped and dimensioned in a manner so as to act as a housing (see Figures 1-4) and cover at least one component (210) on a base (PCB 200), the body (130) defining at least one opening (defined by collar 136), wherein the body (130) and the heat dissipation element (150) are mated in a manner such that at least one protrusion (156) is positionally aligned with the at least one opening (defined by 136) so as to be capable of being thermally coupled to the at least one component (210; see Paragraph [0025]) to facilitate heat dissipation of heat generated by the component (210),
wherein, when mated, the body (130) and the heat dissipation element (150) establish direct contact defined by 136) to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure enclosing the printed circuit board (200) is formed (see Paragraphs [0011], [0020]), wherein the at least one protrusion (156) of the heat dissipation element (150) is integrally formed with the heat dissipation element (150) and shaped, dimensioned, and positioned such that it extends through the at least one opening (defined by 136) and is at least positionally adjacent to the component (210) thereby causing thermal coupling between the at least one protrusion (156) and the at least one component (210).
Daughtry does not disclose wherein the body and the heat dissipation element established direct contact along a continuous and unbroken perimeter around the at least one opening to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure around said at least one component.
However, Pirillis teaches an apparatus comprising: a heat dissipation element (heat sink 10) and a body (comprised of gasket 20 and receptacle 30), wherein the body (20, 30) and the heat dissipation element (10) established direct contact (via 20 and 22) along a continuous and unbroken perimeter (see Paragraph [0016]) around the at least one opening (opening 38) to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure (see Paragraph [0022]) around said at least one component (Paragraph [0017], electronic module).
Because both Daughtry and Pirillis are concerned with EMI shielding, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the continuous contact points of Pirillis to the body of Daughtry according to known methods to yield the predictable results of providing an EMI shielding gasket between an EMI shield and a heat sink. Doing so would have also further protected the electronic components by providing a seal between the heat sink and cover body (see Paragraphs [0016], [0021]-[0022] in Pirillis).
Regarding claim 2, Daughtry in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Daughtry) wherein the heat dissipation element (150) has been grounded (see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 4, Daughtry in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, and further teaches (in Daughtry) wherein the body (130) is further shaped and dimensioned so as to define at least one contact point (138) capable of establishing contact between the body (130) and the heat dissipation element (150).
Regarding claim 5, Daughtry in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 4, and further teaches (in Daughtry) wherein the body (130) is further shaped and dimensioned so as to define a plurality of contact points (138) capable of establishing contact between the body (130) and the heat dissipation element (150).
Regarding claim 6, Daughtry in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, and further teaches (in Daughtry) wherein the body (130) is further shaped and dimensioned in a manner such that a face (top face of 130) is defined, and wherein, when mated, the face (top face of 130) faces the heat dissipation element (150), and wherein the plurality of contact points (138) are defined on the face (top face of 130, wherein 138 extend from edges of top face).
Regarding claim 7, Daughtry in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, and further discloses wherein the plurality of contact points (138) correspond to a plurality of spring contacts (see Paragraph [0017]) comprising at least a first spring contact (first 138) and a second spring contact (second 138), wherein the first spring contact (first 138) and second spring contact (second 138) are discrete contact points to the heat dissipation element (150).
Regarding claim 8, Daughtry in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein the spring contacts (138) are at least one of: defined along the periphery of the face (top face of 130), and defined in a manner so as to surround the opening (136; see Figure 1B).
Regarding claim 9, Daughtry in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, and further teaches (in Daughtry) wherein the body (130) is further shaped and dimensioned so as to define a contact point (138) capable of establishing contact between the body (130) and the heat dissipation element (150).
Alternatively, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Publication No. 2022/0053664) in view of Pirillis (US Publication No. 2007/0183128).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an apparatus (heat dissipating electromagnetic shielding structure 200) comprising: a heat dissipation element (heat sink 220) including at least one protrusion (connecting structure 222), a body (shielding frame 210) shaped and dimensioned in a manner so as to act as a housing (see Figures 1-2) and cover at least one component (120) on a base (substrate 110), the body (210) defining at least one opening (second opening 212) defined, and wherein the body (210) and the heat dissipation element (220) are mated in a manner such that the at least one protrusion (222) is positionally aligned with the at least one opening (212) so as to be capable of being thermally coupled to the at least one component (120) to facilitate heat dissipation of heat generated by the at least one component (120),
wherein, when mated, the body (210) and the heat dissipation element (220) establish direct contact 120) to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure around said at least one component (120), wherein the at least one protrusion (222) of the heat dissipation element (220) is integrally formed with the heat dissipation element (220) and shaped, dimensioned, and positioned such that it extends through the at least one opening (212) and is at least positionally adjacent to the component (120) thereby causing thermal coupling between the at least one protrusion and the at least one component (120; see Paragraph [0031]).
Chen does not disclose wherein the body and the heat dissipation element established direct contact along a continuous and unbroken perimeter around the at least one opening to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure around said at least one component.
However, Pirillis teaches an apparatus comprising: a heat dissipation element (heat sink 10) and a body (comprised of gasket 20 and receptacle 30), wherein the body (20, 30) and the heat dissipation element (10) established direct contact (via 20 and 22) along a continuous and unbroken perimeter (see Paragraph [0016]) around the at least one opening (opening 38) to form an electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) type enclosure (see Paragraph [0022]) around said at least one component (Paragraph [0017], electronic module).
Because both Chen and Pirillis are concerned with EMI shielding, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the continuous contact points of Pirillis to the body of Chen according to known methods to yield the predictable results of providing an EMI shielding gasket between an EMI shield and a heat sink. Doing so would have also further protected the electronic components by providing a seal between the heat sink and cover body (see Paragraphs [0016], [0021]-[0022] in Pirillis).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US Publication No. 2017/0181266), Pirillis (US Publication No. 2007/0183128), and in further view of Lin (US Publication No. 2024/0114670).
Regarding claim 12, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, and further suggests (in Pirillis) wherein the contact point (20) corresponds to an Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) Radio Frequency (RF) dispensed compound (see Paragraph [0016] in Pirillis).
However, Lin explicitly teaches wherein a contact point (see Paragraph [0017] and Figures 1-4) corresponds to an Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) Radio Frequency (RF) dispensed compound (see Paragraph [0017], [0025]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have made the selection of a known grounding material, such as EMI/RF shielding compound, based on its suitability for its intended use, here being a resilient material used to provide EMI/RF shielding (see Paragraphs [0017], [0025] in Lin). MPEP § 2144.07 and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US Publication No. 2017/0181266), Pirillis (US Publication No. 2007/0183128), and in further view of Li (US Publication No. 2017/0238410).
Regarding claim 13, Hunt in view of Pirillis teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein indirect contact is established between the body and the heat dissipation element by manner of a contact layer disposed between the body and the heat dissipation element.
However, Li teaches an apparatus comprising a body (cover 33) and a heat dissipation element (heat sink 50), wherein indirect contact (through conductive foam 70) is established between the body (33) and the heat dissipation element (50) by manner of a contact layer (conductive foam 70) disposed between the body (33) and the heat dissipation element (50).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the contact layer of Li between the body and heat dissipation element of Hunt as modified by Pirillis. Doing so would have provided an additional layer of shielding material, further protecting the electronic component from EMI (see Paragraph [0026] in Li). Doing so would have also ensured the heat dissipation element remained secured to the cover body (see Paragraph [0026] in Li).
Regarding claim 15, Hunt in view of Pirillis and Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, and further teaches (in Li) wherein the contact layer (70) corresponds to an Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) pad (see Paragraphs [0023]-[0028]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc