DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 03/26/2026 claims 1-12 and 14 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended to incorporate limitations of cancelled claim 13 and by adding additional limitations to clarify claim language. Claim 14 is newly added.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 03/26/2026, have been fully considered. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the citations for the rejection of Claim 13 in the Office Action dated 01/08/2026 were inadvertently identified as Tsuchiya instead of Jang. Therefore, the rejection is set forth below in this new non-final Office Action in light of the proper citation.
With respect to the applicant’s arguments in pages 11-13 of the Remarks dated 03/26/2026 that Tsuchiya and/or Hiramitsu fail to teach the limitations “[a] control device performs state-of-charge SOC lowering control that controls [an] electric load in such a manner that, when [a] vehicle participates in [] down DR at a travel end point of the vehicle where [an] electricity facility is installed, a travel end SOC, which is a SOC of [an] electricity storage device at the travel end point, becomes lower than when the vehicle does not participate in the down DR at the travel end point”. The applicant argues that Hiramitsu in claim 2 discloses “when the supply-demand forecast indicates that the predicted power demand exceeds the predicted power supply, the vehicle operating state is controlled so as to suppress a decrease in the SOC of the secondary battery or to increase the SOC”. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner cites Hiramitsu’s claim 2 from the EPO translation which states the following:
“The electric vehicle according to claim 1, characterized in that the SOC adjustment control means controls the operating state of the vehicle so as to suppress or increase the decrease in the SOC of the secondary battery when the predicted amount of electricity demand is greater than the predicted amount of electricity supply.”
Hiramitsu states “increase the decrease of the SOC”. One of ordinary skill understands it is to make the SOC drop further. Thereby, Hiramitsu teaches the limitations as cited by the examiner in pages 8-9 of the Office Action dated 01/08/2026.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The drawing objections, the specification objections, and the claim objections are withdrawn due to the amendments made by the applicant. However, a new claim objection is made below due to the amendments made by the applicant.
This Office Action is made non-Final.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 19 delete “, which is a SOC of the electricity storage device at the travel end point,” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis because it is a redundant limitation as claimed in line 21. For examination purposes below, this limitation will be considered as redundant, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya (USPGPN 20210376402), in view of Hiramitsu (Japanese Patent JP-2020150717-A, identified by the applicant in the IDS), and further in view of Jang et al. (Korean Patent KR-20210148759-A).
With respect to claim 1, Tsuchiya teaches a vehicle that is capable of participating in demand response (DR) for adjustment of electricity supply-demand balance in an electric power grid (Figs. 1-3 and 6-7; ¶[49, 63]; vehicle 50 that is capable of participating in demand response (DR) for adjustment of electricity supply-demand balance in an electric power grid PG).
Tsuchiya teaches the vehicle comprising an electric load (Fig. 1; ¶[54]; the vehicle 50 comprises a traction drive unit 140 which includes a power control unit and motor generator (i.e., an electrical load))
Tsuchiya teaches an electricity reception device configured to receive electricity from the electric power grid via an electricity facility installed outside of the vehicle (Fig. 2; an inlet 110 configured to receive electricity from the electric power grid PG via an EVSE 40 installed outside of the vehicle 50).
Tsuchiya teaches an electricity storage device that stores the electricity received by the electricity reception device (Fig. 2; a battery 130 that stores electricity received by the inlet 110).
Tsuchiya teaches a control device that controls the electric load and charging of the electricity storage device (Fig. 1; an ECU 150 that controls the traction drive unit 140 and charging of the battery 130).
Tsuchiya teaches wherein the control device is configured to perform external charging that charges the electricity storage device by using the electricity reception device (Fig. 3; ¶[43]; the ECU 150 is configured to perform external charging (i.e., charging schedule) that charges the battery 130 by using the inlet 110).
Tsuchiya teaches the DR includes down DR that requests that the vehicle decrease an amount of charge of the electricity storage device in the external charging when the vehicle participates in the DR (Figs. 6-7; ¶[98-99]; the DR includes a downward DR that requests that the vehicle 50 decreases an amount of charge of the battery 130 in the external charging when the vehicle 50 participates in the DR).
However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach the control device performs state-of-charge (SOC) lowering control that controls the electric load in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the down DR at a travel end point of the vehicle where the electricity facility is installed, a travel end SOC becomes lower than when the vehicle does not participate in the down DR at the travel end point, the travel end SOC being a SOC of the electricity storage device at the travel end point; and the vehicle is a V1G vehicle configured to perform only the external charging out of external discharging and the external charging, the external discharging being discharging of the electricity stored in the electricity storage device into the electric power grid via the electricity facility.
Hiramitsu teaches the control device performs state-of-charge (SOC) lowering control that controls the electric load in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the down forecast at a travel end point of the vehicle where the electricity facility is installed, a travel end SOC becomes lower than when the vehicle does not participate in the down forecast at the travel end point, the travel end SOC being a SOC of the electricity storage device at the travel end point (¶[59 and 61]; when there is too much power available at the destination, the vehicles load is operated such that the SOC is lower than the normal SOC (i.e., when a vehicle does not participate) creating extra capacity so that it can charge more from the grid when it gets there. One of ordinary skill understands that this is a travel end SOC being a SOC of the electricity storage device at the travel end point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hiramitsu’s forecast driven SOC management method to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of matching grid demand response requests by managing the SOC of it’s battery accordingly. The benefit of this adaptation being an electric power utility may properly account for power grid balancing and EV users participating in the balancing may be properly compensated for their participation (see ¶[02-03] of Hiramitsu).
However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach the vehicle is a V1G vehicle configured to perform only the external charging out of external discharging and the external charging, the external discharging being discharging of the electricity stored in the electricity storage device into the electric power grid via the electricity facility.
Jang teaches the vehicle is a V1G vehicle configured to perform only the external charging out of external discharging and the external charging, the external discharging being discharging of the electricity stored in the electricity storage device into the electric power grid via the electricity facility (¶[08]; V1G vehicles are used for reduced peak electricity demand in which one of ordinary skill understands that this aspect applies to V1G vehicles which are charge-only vehicles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Jang’s demand response system to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to apply demand response to V1G vehicles. The benefit of this adaptation being battery life can be improved with a collectively managed charging schedule, the charger connection rate is improved, EV owners are more prone to connect their EVs to grids managed by this system, the utility value of the EV batteries is improved, and power grids benefit from trading the energy stored by utilizing surplus SOC (see ¶[51-56] of Jang).
With respect to claim 2, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Tsuchiya teaches when the vehicle does not participate in the down DR at the travel end point during a first period, the amount of charge in the external charging during the first period is a first amount of charge (Fig. 7; line L1 illustrates a vehicle that does not participate in the down DR at the travel end point during a first period wherein the amount of charging is denoted by Px (i.e., a first amount of charge)).
Tsuchiya teaches when the vehicle participates in the down DR at the travel end point during the first period, the amount of charge in the external charging during the first period is a second amount of charge that is smaller than the first amount of charge (Fig. 7; a vehicle participating in the down DR during the first period is charged at a Py level which is smaller than the first amount of charge denoted by Px).
Tsuchiya teaches the control device performs the external charging in such a manner that the electricity storage device is charged with a differential amount of electricity during a second period from an end time of the first period to a scheduled time of departure of the vehicle, the differential amount of electricity being an amount of electricity corresponding to a difference between the first amount of charge and the second amount of charge (Fig. 7; at L2 the battery 130 of the vehicle is charged by a differential amount Px after the downward demand response period (i.e., a second period from an end time of the first period), wherein the differential amount of electricity Px at L2 being an amount of electricity corresponding to a difference between the first amount of charge (i.e., Px before the downward DR) and the second amount of charge (i.e., Py during the downward DR). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that the vehicle is then charged at the higher level in L2 after being charged at a lower level during the downward DR period so that it can meet an acceptable level of charge at a scheduled time of departure).
With respect to claim 3, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Tsuchiya teaches the DR includes up DR that requests that the vehicle increase the amount of charge in the external charging (¶[98]; the demand response includes upward demand response wherein power demand on the power grid PG is increased thereby it is understood by one of ordinary skill this to be an increase to the amount of charge).
However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach the SOC lowering control includes control of the electric load that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the up DR at the travel end point, the travel end SOC becomes lower than when the vehicle does not participate in the up DR at the travel end point.
Hiramitsu teaches the SOC lowering control includes control of the electric load that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the up forecast at the travel end point, the travel end SOC becomes lower than when the vehicle does not participate in the up forecast at the travel end point (Fig. 7; ¶[71]; in step S3 if the power supply amount is greater than the predicted power amount then the process moves to step S7 wherein the SOC is set to a low value (i.e., in this case 30%) so that in step S8 the vehicle loads consume power so that the vehicle arrives at it’s destination with the 30% SOC and be available for charging from the grid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hiramitsu’s forecast driven SOC management method to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of matching grid demand response requests by managing the SOC of it’s battery accordingly. The benefit of this adaptation being an electric power utility may properly account for power grid balancing and EV users participating in the balancing may be properly compensated for their participation (see ¶[02-03] of Hiramitsu).
With respect to claim 4, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Tsuchiya teaches the electric load includes a rotating electric machine that generates driving force for travel of the vehicle by consuming the electricity stored in the electricity storage device (Fig. 1; ¶[54]; the vehicle 50 comprises a traction drive unit 140 which includes a power control unit and motor generator (i.e., an electrical load) which is configured to drive the vehicle 50 using the electric power stored in the battery 130).
However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach the SOC lowering control includes control of the rotating electric machine that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the DR at the travel end point, an upper limit of output produced by the rotating electric machine during travel of the vehicle becomes higher than when the vehicle does not participate in the DR at the travel end point.
Hiramitsu teaches the SOC lowering control includes control of the rotating electric machine that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the forecast at the travel end point, an upper limit of output produced by the rotating electric machine during travel of the vehicle becomes higher than when the vehicle does not participate in the forecast at the travel end point (Fig. 7; ¶[71] output suppression of the drive motor 7 is released (i.e., the drive motor is used to consume power) therefore increasing the upper limit of the output produced by the drive motor in order to consume more power and lower the SOC of the vehicle when it reaches the travel end point compared to a vehicle that does not participate in this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hiramitsu’s forecast driven SOC management method to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of matching grid demand response requests by managing the SOC of it’s battery accordingly. The benefit of this adaptation being an electric power utility may properly account for power grid balancing and EV users participating in the balancing may be properly compensated for their participation (see ¶[02-03] of Hiramitsu).
With respect to claim 7, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Tsuchiya teaches the electric load includes an accessory machine that operates by consuming the electricity stored in the electricity storage device (Fig. 1; an electric cooling device 132 and a heating device 133 operate by consuming stored electricity).
However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach the SOC lowering control includes control of the accessory machine that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the DR at the travel end point, electricity consumption by the accessory machine increases, compared to when the vehicle does not participate in the DR at the travel end point.
Hiramitsu teaches the SOC lowering control includes control of the machine that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the forecast at the travel end point, electricity consumption by the accessory machine increases, compared to when the vehicle does not participate in the forecast at the travel end point (Fig. 7; ¶[71]; in step S3 if the power supply amount is greater than the predicted power amount then the process moves to step S7 wherein the SOC is set to a low value (i.e., in this case 30%) so that in step S8 the vehicle loads consume power so that the vehicle arrives at it’s destination with the 30% SOC and be available for charging from the grid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hiramitsu’s forecast driven SOC management method to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of matching grid demand response requests by managing the SOC of it’s battery accordingly, in this case by utilizing Tsuchiya’s accessory machine to consume power to manage the SOC. The benefit of this adaptation being an electric power utility may properly account for power grid balancing and EV users participating in the balancing may be properly compensated for their participation (see ¶[02-03] of Hiramitsu).
With respect to claim 8, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Tsuchiya teaches the electric load includes an accessory machine that operates by consuming the electricity stored in the electricity storage device (Fig. 1; an electric cooling device 132 and a heating device 133 operate by consuming stored electricity)
Tsuchiya teaches the control includes control of the accessory machine that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the DR at the travel end point, the accessory machine starts operating before a scheduled time of travel start of the vehicle (Figs. 8 and 12; in Fig. 8 when the vehicle is at the travel end point as indicated by the “connect charging connector” indication, temperature adjustment is performed before a charging schedule thus one of ordinary skill understands temperature adjustment is done prior to a scheduled travel start time. Further, in Fig. 12 battery temperature adjustments are performed for vehicles that participate in DR).
However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach the SOC lowering control.
Hiramitsu teaches the SOC lowering control (Fig. 1; SOC adjustment control means 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hiramitsu’s forecast driven SOC management method to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of matching grid demand response requests by managing the SOC of it’s battery accordingly. The benefit of this adaptation being an electric power utility may properly account for power grid balancing and EV users participating in the balancing may be properly compensated for their participation (see ¶[02-03] of Hiramitsu).
With respect to claim 9, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Tsuchiya teaches the electric load includes a generator that is configured to perform regenerative electricity generation in connection with braking of the vehicle (¶[54]; the motor generator is configured to regeneratively generate electric power in which one of ordinary skill understands it is through braking of the vehicle).
Tsuchiya teaches regenerative electricity that is electricity generated by the regenerative electricity generation is supplied from the generator to the electricity storage device (¶[54]; the regeneratively generated electric power is supplied to the battery 130).
However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach the SOC lowering control includes control of the generator that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the down DR at the travel end point, the regenerative electricity during travel of the vehicle is decreased, compared to when the vehicle does not participate in the down DR at the travel end point.
Hiramitsu teaches the SOC lowering control includes control of the generator that is performed in such a manner that when the vehicle participates in the down forecast at the travel end point, the regenerative electricity during travel of the vehicle is decreased, compared to when the vehicle does not participate in the down forecast at the travel end point (Fig. 7; ¶[71]; regenerative power is suppressed (i.e., decreased) when the vehicle participates in forecast/demand management when the supply is less than the demand).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hiramitsu’s forecast driven SOC management method to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of matching grid demand response requests by managing the SOC of it’s battery accordingly. The benefit of this adaptation being an electric power utility may properly account for power grid balancing and EV users participating in the balancing may be properly compensated for their participation (see ¶[02-03] of Hiramitsu).
With respect to claim 12, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach wherein the control device performs the SOC lowering control when the electricity facility is able to perform, of discharging processing and charging processing, only the charging processing, the discharging processing causing the electricity stored in the electricity storage device to be discharged into the electric power grid via the electricity facility, the charging processing causing the control device to perform the external charging by using electricity from the electric power grid.
Jang teaches wherein the control device performs the SOC lowering control when the electricity facility is able to perform, of discharging processing and charging processing, only the charging processing, the discharging processing causing the electricity stored in the electricity storage device to be discharged into the electric power grid via the electricity facility, the charging processing causing the control device to perform the external charging by using electricity from the electric power grid (¶[08]; V1G vehicles are used for reduced peak electricity demand in which one of ordinary skill understands that SOC lowering control is done when the charger can only charge the car and not send power back to the grid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Jang’s demand response system to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to apply demand response to V1G vehicles. The benefit of this adaptation being battery life can be improved with a collectively managed charging schedule, the charger connection rate is improved, EV owners are more prone to connect their EVs to grids managed by this system, the utility value of the EV batteries is improved, and power grids benefit from trading the energy stored by utilizing surplus SOC (see ¶[51-56] of Jang).
With respect to claim 14, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 7. Further, Tsuchiya teaches wherein the accessory machine comprises at least one of a battery heater or an air-conditioning device (Fig. 1; an electric cooling device 132 and a heating device 133 are known by one of ordinary skill to be accessory machines).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya, Hiramitsu and Jang, and further in view of Naito et al. (USPGPN 20100106401).
With respect to claim 5, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach in such a manner that SOC of the electricity storage device does not become less than a required SOC; and the required SOC is a SOC of the electricity storage device that is required for the vehicle to travel up to a destination of the vehicle as the travel end point.
Hiramitsu teaches the control device controls the electric load during travel of the vehicle (¶[23-24]; the drive motor is controlled during travel of the vehicle to consume power to control the SOC of the battery).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hiramitsu’s forecast driven SOC management method to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of matching grid demand response requests by managing the SOC of it’s battery accordingly. The benefit of this adaptation being an electric power utility may properly account for power grid balancing and EV users participating in the balancing may be properly compensated for their participation (see ¶[02-03] of Hiramitsu).
Naito teaches in such a manner that SOC of the electricity storage device does not become less than a required SOC (Figs. 6-8; the process determines if the SOC is enough to reach it’s travel destination. Thus, it ensures the SOC does not become less than a required SOC).
Naito teaches the required SOC is a SOC of the electricity storage device that is required for the vehicle to travel up to a destination of the vehicle as the travel end point (Figs. 6-8; the SOC values obtained and analyzed are the required SOC required for the vehicle to travel to a destination of the vehicle as the travel end point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Naito’s SOC based travel guidance system to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of ensuring it has enough SOC in the battery to reach it’s travel destination. The benefit of this adaptation being a vehicle with the SOC based travel guidance system benefits from efficient recharging cycles with shorter wait times and ensures complete round trips with enough SOC (see ¶[07-09] of Naito).
With respect to claim 6, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach the control device is configured to predict a plurality of candidates for the destination; the required SOC is determined based on a first required SOC and a second required SOC; the first required SOC is a SOC of the electricity storage device that is required for the vehicle to travel up to a first candidate among the plurality of candidates for the destination; and the second required SOC is a SOC of the electricity storage device that is required for the vehicle to travel up to a second candidate among the plurality of candidates for the destination, the second candidate having a longer distance from the vehicle than the first candidate.
Naito teaches the control device is configured to predict a plurality of candidates for the destination (Fig. 6; ¶[69]; steps S7-S8 a plurality of candidates for the destination is determined).
Naito teaches the required SOC is determined based on a first required SOC and a second required SOC; the first required SOC is a SOC of the electricity storage device that is required for the vehicle to travel up to a first candidate among the plurality of candidates for the destination; and the second required SOC is a SOC of the electricity storage device that is required for the vehicle to travel up to a second candidate among the plurality of candidates for the destination, the second candidate having a longer distance from the vehicle than the first candidate (Fig. 6; steps S10-S11 the SOC for the destinations is determined. It is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that each destination will have a SOC determined for it to determine how much SOC is required to make the trip therefore it is inherent that a first candidate with a first SOC and a second candidate with a second SOC wherein the second candidate having a longer distance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Naito’s SOC based travel guidance system to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of ensuring it has enough SOC in the battery to reach it’s travel destination. The benefit of this adaptation being a vehicle with the SOC based travel guidance system benefits from efficient recharging cycles with shorter wait times and ensures complete round trips with enough SOC (see ¶[07-09] of Naito).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya, Hiramitsu and Jang, and further in view of Morisaki (USPGPN 20190168616).
With respect to claim 10, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach wherein the control device starts the SOC lowering control when a preceding time comes, the preceding time being a time a threshold period of time before a scheduled time of travel end that is a time at which the vehicle is scheduled to arrive at the travel end point.
Morisaki teaches wherein the control device starts the SOC lowering control when a preceding time comes, the preceding time being a time a threshold period of time before a scheduled time of travel end that is a time at which the vehicle is scheduled to arrive at the travel end point (Fig. 3; in steps S190-S210 the power storage capacity decreasing control determines the remaining distance L to the predicted target point P[i] and compares it to a threshold distance L1 and when L≤L1 the target SOC is changed from S1 to a lower value of S2 before arriving. One of ordinary skill understands that by knowing the remaining distance then a preceding time prior to arriving may be determined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Morisaki’s distance-based energy management system to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of performing SOC reduction when it is closer to the destination rather than during the entire trip. The benefit of this adaptation being that power storage capacity decreasing control is prohibited in situations in which the vehicle may require heavy-load traveling (see ¶[07-09] of Morisaki) thus ensuring the battery has enough SOC to provide sufficient power in such cases.
With respect to claim 11, Tsuchiya teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Tsuchiya fails to explicitly teach wherein the control device starts the SOC lowering control when a distance from the vehicle to the travel end point decreases to a threshold distance.
Morisaki teaches wherein the control device starts the SOC lowering control when a distance from the vehicle to the travel end point decreases to a threshold distance (Fig. 3; in steps S190-S210 the power storage capacity decreasing control determines the remaining distance L to the predicted target point P[i] and compares it to a threshold distance L1 and when L≤L1 the target SOC is changed from S1 to a lower value of S2 before arriving).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Morisaki’s distance-based energy management system to Tsuchiya’s demand response capable vehicle in order to have a vehicle which is capable of performing SOC reduction when it is closer to the destination rather than during the entire trip. The benefit of this adaptation being that power storage capacity decreasing control is prohibited in situations in which the vehicle may require heavy-load traveling (see ¶[07-09] of Morisaki) thus ensuring the battery has enough SOC to provide sufficient power in such cases.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuchiya et al. (USPGPN 20210053459) teaches an electric power system includes a first vehicle, a second vehicle, and an external power supply. The first vehicle starts external charging of a first power storage with electric power supplied from the external power supply while the first vehicle is electrically connected to the external power supply. When the second vehicle receives a signal that predicts end of external charging of the first power storage while the second vehicle is electrically connected to the external power supply, the second vehicle starts external charging of a second power storage with electric power supplied from the external power supply before end of external charging started in the first vehicle.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859