DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 12, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Pub. 2015/0008499).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee teaches a semiconductor device (Figs. 1, 2A, 2B; para. 0045+), comprising:
a source structure (102) disposed over a base (100) (Fig. 2A, 2B; para. 0052-0053);
an etch prevention layer (162) disposed over the source structure (Fig. 2A, 2B; para.0068);
bit lines (BL) disposed over the etch prevention layer (Fig. 1);
a stack structure located between the etch prevention layer and the bit lines and including conductive layers (152, 154, 156) and insulating layers (172), that are alternately stacked (Fig. 2A; para. 0053, 0071); and
a source contact structure (182) extending into the stack structure in a vertical direction and coupled to the source structure (Fig. 2A, para. 0072),
wherein the source contact structure includes polysilicon (para. 0072),
wherein a bottom level of the etch prevention layer and a bottom level of the source contact structure are substantially aligned at the same level (Fig. 2B), and
wherein a thickness of the etch prevention layer is less than a thickness of at least one of the insulating layers (Fig. 2A – thickness of etch prevention layer (162) is less than the thickness of at least the bottommost 172).
Re claims 2 and 3, Lee teaches wherein the polysilicon includes a dopant (para. 0072) of one of an N-type and a P-type. (please note the “one of an n- type and p-type” includes the entire universe of possibilities; thus, Lee is considered to meet the claim).
Re claim 11, Lee teaches a slit passing through the stack structure and the etch prevention layer, wherein the source contact structure is disposed in the slit (Figs. 2A, 2B – where the slit is the hole that 182/184 are within).
Re claim 12, Lee teaches a spacer (184) filling the slit and surrounding a sidewall of the source contact structure (Figs. 2A, 2B; para. 0072).
Re claim 22, Lee teaches wherein the source structure is disposed below the bottom level of the etch prevention layer (Fig. 2B).
Re claim 23, Lee teaches wherein the source structure does not protrude toward the stack structure beyond the bottom level of the etch prevention layer (Fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2015/0008499) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2017/0309635).
Re claim 4, Lee is silent with respect to a source contact pad disposed over the source contact
structure.
Kim teaches a similar device (Fig. 5) including a source contact pad (152) over the source
contact structure (para. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include the source contact pads as taught by Kim within the device of Lee for the purpose of providing a connection site to the source contact structure.
Re claim 5, Lee in view of Kim teaches wherein the source contact pad includes a polysilicon layer including a dopant (para. 0038) of one of an N-type and a P-type. (please note the “one of an n- type and p-type” includes the entire universe of possibilities; thus, the combination of Lee and Kim is considered to meet the claim).
Re claim 6, The combination of Lee and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the source contact structure and the source contact pad include a same dopant; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the source contact structure and the source contact pad to include the same dopant for the purpose of providing an operational device. That is, having the source contact structure and the source contact pad doped with the same dopant would allow proper operation of the device while the alternative would create a diode which would make the device inoperable.
Re claims 9 and 10, Lee is silent with respect to a barrier layer.
Lee in view of Kim teaches a barrier layer surrounding a sidewall of the source contact structure wherein the barrier layer is a Ti/TiN layer (para. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a Ti/TiN barrier layer as taught be Kim for the purpose of preventing diffusion between the metal layer and the polysilicon layer.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2015/0008499) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 2012/0119283) (Lee2).
Re claim 15, Lee teaches wherein the etch prevention layer includes silicon oxide (para. 0069), but is silent with respect other materials.
Lee2 teaches the use of silicon carbonitride (SICN) as a material for an etch stop layer (Fig. 5E; para. 0126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use silicon carbonitride (SICN) as the etch stop material within the device of Lee for the purpose of providing the desired etch selectivity. Furthermore, it considered obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for an intended purpose (MPEP 2144.07).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation from the prior art of record, nor does the prior art of record otherwise make obvious the limitations of…
Re claims 7 and 8, …wherein the source structure includes a polysilicon layer…
Re claims 13 and 14, …the channel structure extending into the source structure…
…in combination with the other limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15, 22, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOLLY K REIDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2899