DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 2/13/2026 has been considered by examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/9/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 9, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (CN 110600795, referring to previously provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Lou") in view of Tanaka et al.(US 2018/0301684, hereinafter "Tanaka") and Nishinaka et al. (US 2015/0244017, hereinafter "Nishinaka").
Regarding claim 1, Lou teaches an electrode assembly, or winding core, for a battery cell [0011, “A lithium-ion cylindrical battery comprises a winding core”], wherein the electrode assembly comprises:
A first electrode plate and a second electrode plate that have opposite polarities, or positive and negative electrode sheets [Lou Fig. 5, 0011, “the positive and negative electrode sheets after rolling are processed according to the designed size”],
the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate each comprising a main body portion and a tab, or ear, projecting from the main body portion [Lou Fig. 5, 0020, “When the winding core is made, ears of a certain height are left in the ear area of the positive and negative electrode sheets”, 0039, “the tabs of the set height and length are cut off in the middle of the positive and negative electrode sheets”],
and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate being wound about a winding axis such that the respective main body portions form a wound main body [Lou Fig. 2, 0040, “winding the pole piece in the winding process, with one end of the winding core being a positive pole ear end and the other end being a negative pole ear end”]; and
an end portion of the wound main body comprises at least one conductive region, the tab being led out of the conductive region, being wound by at least one turn [Lou Fig. 3, 0012, “The winding core has two ends, one end is a positive ear end, and the other end is a negative ear end. The shape of the ears at both ends is an annular boss structure”, for the shape of the tabs/ears to be annular they must be wound by at least one turn], and being used for electrical connection to a terminal, or collecting plate, of the battery cell [Lou Fig. 1, 0033, “the annular step surface on the pole ear is welded to the annular groove on the current collecting disk”, since welding is a metal connection, the tabs are electrically connected to the terminal]; and
the end portion also comprising at least one liquid guiding region being arranged adjacent to the conductive region in a radial direction of the wound main body and being used for guiding an electrolyte to flow into an interior of the wound main body [Lou Fig. 3, 0035, “During injection, the electrolyte can quickly enter the battery through the non-ear area”].
Lou also teaches a separator used for separating the first electrode plate from the second electrode plate [Lou Fig. 6, 0044, “the positive and negative electrode sheets and the separator are wound according to the process requirements”]. Lou is silent regarding the main body portion of the electrode plates comprising an active material region and a flow guiding region.
Tanaka teaches analogous art of an energy storage device comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode wound around a winding axis with a separator interposed between them [0025, “As described below, the energy storage device 3 is formed by winding a positive electrode 4 and a negative electrode 5 around a winding axis U with a separator 6 interposed between the positive electrode 4 and the negative electrode 5”]. Tanaka teaches that the positive electrode comprises a positive composite layer (“active material region”) on a positive electrode current collector foil [Abstract, “a positive electrode including a positive composite layer on a positive electrode collector foil and a positive composite layer non-forming part along a side of the positive electrode collector foil”]. Tanaka teaches that the positive composite layer may include a tapering part (“flow guiding region”) on an outer side of the positive composite layer in which the thickness of the positive composite layer is reduced toward an end of the positive composite layer [Tanaka Fig. 8, 0132, “The third embodiment of the invention has a tapering part in which the thickness of the positive composite layer 42 is reduced toward the X2 direction at the end P2 of the positive composite layer 42”]. Tanaka teaches that the space, or gap, between the surface of the positive composite layer and the insulating layer (“separator”) prior to the tapering point is smaller than the space between the surface of the tapering part and the insulating layer [Tanaka Fig. 8, 0135, “and makes the volume of the space be moderately reduced toward the tapering start point Q”]. Tanaka teaches that the gap is gradually increased from inside to outside in the extending direction of the winding axis [Tanaka Fig. 3 shows the winding axis is in the “x” direction, Tanaka Fig. 8 shows the gap gradually increasing from the inside to the outside in the “x” direction].
Tanaka teaches that the tapering part generates a flow of electrolyte along the tapering part, facilitating penetration of the electrolyte to the space between the insulating layer and the positive composite layer [0133]. Tanaka teaches that this enable the electrolyte to penetrate into the positive composite layer more efficiently, therefore reducing manufacturing time of the energy storage device.
Nishinaka teaches analogous art of a large-sized electrode group (“electrode assembly”) including positive and negative electrode plates (“first and second electrode plates”) [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Nishinaka teaches that the electrode plates comprise a current collector and an active material layer forming a coated region (“main body portion”), and an uncoated region where no active material layer is formed [0014]. Nishinaka teaches a first buffer region may be provided at the boundary between the coated region and the uncoated region [0014], and that a second buffer region (“flow guiding region”) may also be provided, wherein the thickness of the active material layer is gradually reduced from the coated region toward the uncoated region [0016]. Fig. 6 of Nishinaka shows a positive electrode plate (P21) and a negative electrode plate (N21) with a separator (4) interposed therebetween, wherein the thickness of the active material layers (P21a, N21a) in the second buffer region (C3) gradually decreases from the power generation region (C1) (“active material region”) to the uncoated region [0076]. Therefore, the gap between the separator and the active material layers is gradually increases from inside to outside [Nishinaka Fig. 6] [0076].
1: Nishinaka Fig. 6 (annotated by examiner)
Nishinaka teaches that when the thickness of the active material layer is gradually reduced from the coated region to the uncoated region, a load is less likely to be concentrated on the buffer regions and separation and cracking of the active material layer can be suppressed [0016]. Nishinaka also discloses that this configuration also increases the impregnation rate of the electrolyte solution [0016, 0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly taught by Lou to include the positive composite layer, or active material region, and tapering portion, or flow guiding region, as taught by Tanaka, in order to facilitate electrolyte penetration into the electrode assembly and reduce manufacturing time. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly as taught by Lou in view of Tanaka to provide the active material region and flow guiding region with a tapering thickness from inside to outside for both electrode plates of the electrode assembly as taught by Nishinaka, in order to suppress separation and cracking of the active material and increase impregnation rate of the electrolyte solution.
Further regarding claim 3, Lou teaches that the sum of the number of the conductive regions and the liquid-guiding regions is equal to three, and the regions are alternately provided in the radial direction of the wound main body [Lou Figs. 3 and 6]. Lou Fig. 3 shows the conductive region, or annular boss of the positive electrode (21), wherein there is a liquid guiding region, or non-ear area, on either side of the conducting region in the radial direction. Lou Fig. 6 shows the electrode plates prior to winding, wherein there is no tab at either end of the plates. Therefore, when the electrode plates are wound, there must be a liquid guiding region on either side of the conducting region in the radial direction, so that the sum of the number of liquid guiding regions and conductive regions is 3.
Further regarding claim 4, Lou teaches that the conductive region is located at a middle region of the end portion of the wound main body in the radial direction, and one of the liquid guiding regions is provided on either side of the conductive region in the radial direction [Lou Figs. 3 and 6]. Lou Fig. 3 shows the conductive region, or annular boss of the positive electrode (21), wherein there is a liquid guiding region, or non-ear area, on either side of the conducting region in the radial direction. Lou Fig. 6 shows the electrode plates prior to winding, wherein there is no tab at either end of the plates. Therefore, when the electrode plates are wound, there must be a liquid guiding region on either side of the conducting region in the radial direction.
Further regarding claim 8, Lou teaches that the liquid guiding regions at two ends of the wound main body have the same radial dimension and the conductive regions at the two ends of the wound main body have the same radial dimension [Lou Fig. 6, 0031, “The two ends of the winding core 1, one end is the positive ear end 21, and the other end is the negative ear end 22”]. Lou Fig. 6 shows that the tabs of both electrode plates have the same length and are directly opposite of each other, and that both electrode plates have the same length. Therefore when the electrode plates are wound, the radial dimensions of the conducting region and the liquid guiding regions must be the same at both ends.
Further regarding claim 9, Lou teaches the electrode assembly comprising a separator, wherein the separator is used for separating the first electrode plate from the second electrode plate and the separator, the main body portions of the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are wound to form the wound main body [Lou Fig. 6, 0044, “the cut positive and negative electrode sheets are transferred to the winding machine, and the positive and negative electrode sheets and the separator are wound according to the process requirements].
Lou Fig. 6 also shows that in an extending direction of the winding axis, the portion of the separator located in the liquid guiding region is beyond a side edge of the main body portion of the first electrode plate and beyond a side edge of the main body portion of the second electrode plate.
Further regarding claim 16, Lou Fig. 6 shows the separator is located on a side edge of the liquid guiding region and between an outer side edge of the main body portion (which would comprise the flow guiding region) and an outer side edge of the tab.
Regarding claim 17, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly of claim 1 as described in the rejection of instant claim 1.
As described previously, Tanaka teaches that the positive composite layer (“active material region”) may include a tapering part (“flow guiding region”) on an outer side of the positive composite layer in which the thickness of the positive composite layer is reduced toward an end of the positive composite layer [Tanaka Fig. 8, 0132]. Since the tapering part is formed by the tapering of the positive composite layer, the extension length of the tapering part in a circumferential direction of the wound positive electrode must be consistent with that of the positive composite layer [Tanaka Fig. 3].
Tanaka teaches that the tapering part generates a flow of electrolyte along the tapering part, facilitating penetration of the electrolyte to the space between the insulating layer and the positive composite layer [0133]. Tanaka teaches that this enable the electrolyte to penetrate into the positive composite layer more efficiently, therefore reducing manufacturing time of the energy storage device.
As described previously, Nishinaka teaches a positive electrode plate (P21) and a negative electrode plate (N21) with a separator (4) interposed therebetween, wherein the thickness of the active material layers (P21a, N21a) in the second buffer region (C3) gradually decreases from the power generation region (C1) (“active material region”) to the uncoated region [Nishinaka Fig. 6, 0076].
Nishinaka teaches that when the thickness of the active material layer is gradually reduced from the coated region to the uncoated region, a load is less likely to be concentrated on the buffer regions and separation and cracking of the active material layer can be suppressed [0016]. Nishinaka also discloses that this configuration also increases the impregnation rate of the electrolyte solution [0016, 0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly taught by modified Lou to have the extension length of the flow guiding region in a circumferential direction of the wound main body be consistent with that of the active material region as taught by Tanaka, in order to facilitate electrolyte penetration into the electrode assembly and reduce manufacturing time. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly as taught by modified Lou to modify both electrode plates of the electrode assembly in this way as taught by Nishinaka, in order to suppress separation and cracking of the active material and increase impregnation rate of the electrolyte solution.
Further regarding claim 18, Lou teaches a battery cell, or cylindrical battery, comprising a shell (2) provided with an opening and an end cap assembly, or a cover plate (3) [0011, “A lithium-ion cylindrical battery comprises a winding core, a shell, a cover plate”]. Lou Fig. 1 shows that the shell has an opening, inside of which the electrode assembly, or winding core (1), is disposed. Lou also teaches that the end cap assembly has a terminal, or current collecting plate (4), and an end cap body [Lou Fig. 1, “The tail of the collecting plate is fixedly connected to the cover plate 3”]. The terminal is electrically connected to the tabs of the electrode plate [0033, “, an annular groove is arranged on the current collecting disks of the positive and negative electrodes, and the groove is a welding area; the annular step surface on the pole ear is welded to the annular groove on the current collecting disk”]. Lou teaches that after the terminal is connected to the tabs, the end cap and shell are welded together and the battery is cell is completed [0044, “After the current collecting plate welding is completed, the cover plate and the shell are welded. The battery cell is completed”], which would also require the opening of the shell to be closed by the end cap assembly due to the liquid electrolyte in the battery.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou (CN 110600795) in view of Tanaka (US 2018/0301684) and Nishinaka (US 2015/0244017) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR101791432, with reference to previously provided English translation thereof, hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 2, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Lou is silent regarding the tab being wound by a plurality of turns in the conductive region.
Kim teaches analogous art of a secondary battery comprising a winding type electrode assembly [0013, “a cylindrical secondary battery (10) is manufactured by housing a jelly-roll type (winding type) electrode assembly (12)”]. Kim teaches that the electrode assembly comprises a positive and negative electrode with a structure in which a portion of the positive and negative electrode current collectors not coated with active material extend upward to form a positive electrode and a negative electrode terminal, or tab [0022]. Kim teaches that the terminals can have an overlapping portion ranging from 20% to 100% of the width of the electrode terminal [0035, “the size of the overlapping portion may be 20% to 100% of the width of the electrode terminal”]. When the overlapping portion is 100% of the width of the electrode terminal, the terminal would have two turns.
Kim teaches that the overlapping portion can contribute to the weldability of the terminal to a battery cap assembly and the mechanical rigidity of the terminals [0036, “The size of the above-mentioned overlapping portion can be determined by considering the weldability to the inside of the cap assembly or the battery case, the mechanical rigidity thereof, etc.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tabs in the electrode assembly taught by modified Lou to have a plurality of turns as taught by Kim, in order to tune the weldability and mechanical rigidity of the tabs.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou (CN 110600795) in view of Tanaka (US 2018/0301684) and Nishinaka (US 2015/0244017) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lou in view of Suzuki et al. (JP2001052679, cited by Applicant, with reference to previously provided English translation thereof, hereinafter "Suzuki").
Regarding claim 5, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Lou is silent regarding the electrode plates having a plurality of tabs at intervals in the winding direction.
Suzuki teaches analogous art of a battery element having strip shaped positive and negative electrodes and winding them [0010, “a battery element in which a strip-shaped positive electrode and a strip-shaped negative electrode are stacked and wound with a separator between them”]. Suzuki teaches that each electrode has at least two tabs protruding from the end of the battery element that, when rolled, each form an arc with a central angle of 360° or less [Suzuki Fig. 2, 0009, “a current collecting tab is joined to at least two places on a portion of at least one of the positive electrode or the negative electrode that does not have an active material layer, the current collecting tab has a length that will protrude from the end of the battery element when rolled and form an arc with a central angle of 360° or less”], therefore forming at least two conductive regions provided at intervals in the radial direction.
Suzuki teaches that when a battery has a large cross-sectional area, as is the case when the battery element has multiple conductive regions, a high rate discharge can be achieved with low impedance [0010, “also enables a conductive connection to be formed from the current collector of the battery element using a conductor with a large cross sectional area, making it possible to achieve high rate discharge with low impedance”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode assembly taught by modified Lou to have a plurality of tabs and a plurality of conductive regions as taught by Suzuki, in order to achieve high rate discharge with lower impedance in the battery.
Regarding claim 6, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly of claim 5 as described in the rejection for instant claim 5. Lou is silent regarding the electrode plates having a plurality of tabs at intervals in the winding direction.
Suzuki teaches that each electrode has at least two tabs protruding from the end of the battery element that, when rolled, each form an arc with a central angle of 360° or less [Suzuki Figs. 2-3, 0009, “a current collecting tab is joined to at least two places on a portion of at least one of the positive electrode or the negative electrode that does not have an active material layer, the current collecting tab has a length that will protrude from the end of the battery element when rolled and form an arc with a central angle of 360° or less”], therefore forming at least two conductive regions provided at intervals in the radial direction. Suzuki Fig. 3 shows a specific embodiment in which electrode tabs 7 and 8 form two conductive regions at an inner and outer side of the end portion of the battery element, which would mean that the liquid guiding region would be located between the two conductive regions.
Suzuki teaches that when a battery has a large cross-sectional area, as is the case when the battery element has multiple conductive regions, a high rate discharge can be achieved with low impedance [0010, “also enables a conductive connection to be formed from the current collector of the battery element using a conductor with a large cross sectional area, making it possible to achieve high rate discharge with low impedance”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode assembly taught by modified Lou to have two conductive regions as taught by Suzuki, in order to achieve high rate discharge with lower impedance in the battery.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou (CN 110600795) in view of Tanaka (US 2018/0301684) and Nishinaka (US 2015/0244017) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kanemoto et al. (US 2014/0038027, hereinafter "Kanemoto").
Regarding claim 7, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Lou is silent regarding the electrode assembly having one conductive region and one liquid guiding region, where the conductive region is located on an inner side of the liquid guiding region in the radial direction.
Kanemoto teaches analogous art of an electrode body in a battery including a positive and negative plate [Abstract]. Kanemoto teaches an embodiment of the battery in which the electrode body has a region uncoated with active material at one end of the plate, the uncoated region being a conductive metal plate [Kanemoto Fig. 49, 0466, “Since the region NS in which the positive active material 24B is not coated is the conductive positive metal plate 24A, the current produced in the region TS is passed through the positive metal plate 24A”]. Kanemoto Fig. 48 shows one uncoated region, or conductive region [0456, “Either the positive active material 24B or the negative active material 26B is not coated on the center portion CT”]. In Kanemoto Fig. 47 it can be seen that the protruding length of the conductive region extends to the bottom of the battery can and almost to the top of the battery can, therefore it would be easier for the electrolyte to infiltrate in the region outside the conductive region.
Kanemoto teaches that by providing the singular conductive region at the center of the electrode body, the amount of active material can be suppressed [0467], which reduces the cost of the battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode assembly taught by modified Lou to have one conductive region on an inner side of a liquid guiding region as taught by Kanemoto, in order to reduce the amount of electrode active material needed and therefore reduce the cost.
Claims 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou (CN 110600795) in view of Tanaka (US 2018/0301684) and Nishinaka (US 2015/0244017) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2012/0237810, hereinafter "Sasaki").
Regarding claim 11, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly according to claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Lou is silent regarding an infiltration region on the electrode plates.
Sasaki teaches analogous art of an electrode assembly including a positive and negative electrode, each including a current collector [Abstract]. Sasaki teaches that each of the electrodes comprise an active material layer (51, 61), an electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer (“infiltration region”) (53, 63), and an active material layer-unformed part (52,62) on the current collector (50, 60) [Sasaki Figs. 4A-4B, 0013, “a positive electrode and a negative electrode each including a current collector provided with an active material layer on a surface thereof except one end”, 0016, “wherein the active material layer-unformed parts include electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers that are porous”]. The electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer is located in the same area as the flow guiding region, adjacent to the active material layer [Sasaki Figs. 4A-4B]. The electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers are disposed on the current collectors in active material layer-unformed parts [0013].
Sasaki teaches that the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers are continuously arranged in the positive-electrode active material layer-unformed part and the negative-electrode active material layer-unformed part, and that as a result, superior electrolytic solution-sucking up performance is delivered [0065].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow guiding region taught by modified Lou to include an infiltration region, or electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer, adjacent to the active material region as taught by Sasaki, in order to provide the electrode plates with superior electrolytic solution sucking-up performance.
Regarding claim 12, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly according to claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Lou is silent regarding an infiltration region on the electrode plates.
Sasaki teaches analogous art of an electrode assembly including a positive and negative electrode, each including a current collector [Abstract]. Sasaki teaches that each of the electrodes comprise an active material layer (“active material layer/region”) (51, 61), an electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer (“infiltration region/layer”) (53, 63), and an active material layer-unformed part (52,62), all provided on the surface of the current collector (50, 60) [Sasaki Figs. 4A-4B, 0013, “a positive electrode and a negative electrode each including a current collector provided with an active material layer on a surface thereof except one end”, 0016, “wherein the active material layer-unformed parts include electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers that are porous”]. The electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer is located in the same area as the flow guiding region, adjacent to the active material layer [Sasaki Figs. 4A-4B]. The electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers are disposed on the current collectors in the active material layer-unformed parts [0013]. Sasaki teaches that the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers, also referred to as porous layers, have a higher mass ratio of binder than the active material layers, which means that the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers are able to absorb more liquid than the active amterial layers [0046, “The porous layer … functions as an electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer”, 0051, “the mass ratio of the binder in the porous layers 53 is preferably higher than the mass ratio of the binder in the positive-electrode active material layers 51, and the mass ratio of the binder in the porous layers 63 is preferably higher than the mass ratio of the negative-electrode active material layers 61 … he higher the mass ratio of the binder in the porous layers 53 and 63, the higher the amount of an electrolytic solution to be sucked up by the porous layers”].
Sasaki teaches that the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers are continuously arranged in the positive-electrode active material layer-unformed part and the negative-electrode active material layer-unformed part, and that as a result, superior electrolytic solution-sucking up performance is delivered [0065].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow guiding region taught by modified Lou to include an infiltration region/layer with a higher liquid absorption capacity than the adjacent active material region/layer, wherein both layers are disposed on the surface of a current collector, as taught by Sasaki, in order to provide the electrode plates with superior electrolytic solution sucking-up performance.
Regarding claim 14, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly according to claim 12, as described in the rejection for instant claim 12. Lou is silent regarding the flow guiding region further comprising a guide region.
As described above, Sasaki teaches that the electrodes comprise an active material layer (51, 61), an electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer (53, 63), and an active material layer-unformed part (52,62) on the current collector (50, 60) [Sasaki Figs. 4A-4B, 0013, “a positive electrode and a negative electrode each including a current collector provided with an active material layer on a surface thereof except one end”, 0016, “wherein the active material layer-unformed parts include electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers that are porous”]. Sasaki Fig. 5A shows that the current collector extends beyond the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer. When the electrode assembly is wound and the exposed current collector portions are joined together, a gap remains in between the active material layer-unformed parts [0060, Fig. 5B, “a gap is formed between each adjacent positive-electrode active material layer-unformed parts 52 and between each adjacent negative-electrode active material layer-unformed parts 62 in these sloping sections, respectively”].
Sasaki teaches that the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers are contained within the gaps formed between the current collector portions [0061, “The electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers 53 and 63 are disposed in these gaps”]. Sasaki discloses that this improves the retentivity of the electrolytic solution and the electrolytic sucking-up performance of the battery [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow guiding region taught by modified Lou to include a guide region formed by the region of the current collector beyond the infiltration layer, as taught by Sasaki, in order to improve the retentivity of the electrolytic solution and the electrolytic sucking-up performance of the battery.
Regarding claim 15, modified Lou teaches the electrode assembly according to claim 14, as described in the rejection for instant claim 14.
As described above, Sasaki teaches that the positive electrode and the negative electrode each respectively comprise an active material layer (“active material region”) and an electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer (“infiltration region”) disposed on the surface of a current collector which protrudes past the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer (“guide region”) [Sasaki Figs. 4A-4B, 0013]. Sasaki further discloses that each of the positive electrode and the negative electrode is sequentially provided with the active material layer, the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer, and the protruding current collector from inside to outside along a winding axis [Sasaki Figs. 5A-5B, 0058, “As the result of the positive electrode 5 and the negative electrode 6 being horizontally displaced from each other in the width direction thereof and wound, the positive-electrode active material layer-unformed part 52 of the positive electrode 5 protrudes from a side end of the negative electrode 6 on one side of the electrode assembly 4, as illustrated in FIG. 5A, 0060].
Sasaki teaches that the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers are contained within the gaps formed between the current collector portions [0061, “The electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers 53 and 63 are disposed in these gaps”]. Sasaki discloses that this improves the retentivity of the electrolytic solution and the electrolytic sucking-up performance of the battery [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow guiding region taught by modified Lou to include an active material region, an infiltration region, and a guide region sequentially provided from inside to outside along a winding axis on each of the positive electrode and negative electrode as taught by Sasaki, in order to improve the retentivity of the electrolytic solution and the electrolytic sucking-up performance of the battery.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou (CN 110600795) in view of Tanaka (US 2018/0301684), Nishinaka (US 2015/0244017), and Sasaki (US 2012/0237810) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 110071293, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Li").
Regarding claim 13, modified Lou teaches the battery cell according to claim 12, as described in the rejection for instant claim 12.
As described above, Sasaki teaches that the electrodes comprise an active material layer and an electrolytic solution-sucking-up layer [Sasaki Figs. 4A-4B, 0013]. Sasaki further teaches that the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers, also referred to as porous layers, may comprise an oxide such as alumina (“inorganic ceramic coating”) and a binder [0046, 0048].
Sasaki discloses that the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers improve the retentivity of the electrolytic solution and the electrolytic sucking-up performance of the battery [0061]. Sasaki does not specifically teach a high molecular polymer in the electrolytic solution-sucking-up layers.
Li teaches analogous art of a battery cell comprising a negative electrode plate, a positive electrode plate, and a separator [0008]. Li teaches the negative electrode may comprise a liquid-retaining coating [0009]. Li discloses that the liquid-retaining coating may contain a liquid retaining additive such as ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene powder (“high molecular polymer”).
Li teaches that when electrolyte is injected into the battery, it can be fully immersed in the liquid-retaining coating in the gaps between the molecules of the entangled liquid-retaining additive, which locks in the electrolyte and increases the liquid retention of the battery [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode assembly taught by modified Lou to include an inorganic ceramic coating and a binder in the infiltration layers of each of the electrodes as taught by Sasaki, in order to improve the retentivity of the electrolytic solution and the electrolytic sucking-up performance of the battery. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the infiltration layer to also include a high molecular polymer as taught by Li, in order to lock in the electrolyte and further increase the liquid retention of the battery.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou (CN 110600795) in view of Tanaka (US 2018/0301684) and Nishinaka (US 2015/0244017) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Hermann et al. (US2010/0136413, hereinafter "Hermann").
Regarding claim 19, modified Lou teaches the battery cell according to claim 18, as described in the rejection for instant claim 18. Lou is silent regarding a battery comprising a case for receiving the battery cell.
Hermann teaches analogous art of a battery, or battery pack, comprising a plurality of battery cells [Abstract, entire disclosure relied upon]. Hermann further teaches that the battery comprises a case, or housing, for receiving the battery cells [Abstract, “The battery pack includes a pair of complementary housing members with each housing member including a plurality of cell constraints into which the ends of corresponding battery cells are inserted during assembly”].
Hermann teaches that a battery housing comprising a plurality of battery cells a battery has simpler battery removal and recharging procedures since all the cells are combined into a single unit [0003, “ From the end user's perspective, combining multiple cells into a single housing simplifies battery removal, replacement and/or battery recharging, since the user is only required to deal with a single unit”]. Furthermore, Hermann teaches that a battery can be adapted to have different capacities or cell types according to the needs of a device [0003, “a manufacturer may offer a variety of interchangeable battery packs at different price points for the same device(s), the different battery packs providing different capacities, cell types”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the battery cell taught by modified Lou in a battery comprising a case as taught by Hermann, in order to simplify battery removal and recharging, as well as to provide adaptability to the battery for different needs.
Regarding claim 20, modified Lou teaches the battery of claim 19, as described in the rejection for instant claim 19.
Hermann teaches that the battery can be used to supply electric energy to a power consuming device, such as electric tools, computers, and handheld electronic [0002, “Battery packs, also referred to as battery modules, have been used for years in a variety of industries and technologies that include everything from portable electric tools and laptop computers to small hand-held electronic devices”].
It is well known in the art that batteries are used to supply electric energy to power consuming devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the battery taught by modified Lou in a power consuming device, in order to provide electric energy to the power consuming device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729