DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the current set of claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, resulting in a modification of the previous prior art rejection.
On pages 7-9 of the Remarks section as indicated by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant discusses the previous 103 prior art rejection of independent Claims 1 & 7. Applicant argues that previous references Kambe et al., (“Kambe”, US 2002/0063345), and Sakai et al., JPH11128704A, (“Sakai”, “Machine Translation of JPH11128704A”, published 1999, 18 total pages), do not disclose the added limitation to independent Claims 1 & 7. The Examiner also notes that newly added independent Claim 17 has changed the scope of the claimed invention, necessitating new grounds of rejection as a whole. The Examiner notes that new secondary reference Brammer et al., (“Brammer”, US 2018/0133665), discloses this limitation instead, upon further examination for each of Claims 1, 7 & 17. Thus, Applicant’s arguments against Kambe and Sakai are considered moot as Brammer discloses these features instead.
Applicant also argues that Kambe and Sakai do not disclose an outlet for gas flow to outgas the bubbles. The Examiner notes that other previously used secondary reference, Xia et al., (“Xia”, US 2011/0180148), discloses this limitation instead. Thus, this remark is piecemeal analysis and is unpersuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
New Claims 17-19 are rejected as demonstrated in the prior art rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-10, 17 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambe et al., (“Kambe”, US 2002/0063345), in view of Sakai et al., JPH11128704A, (“Sakai”, “Machine Translation of JPH11128704A”, published 1999, 18 total pages), in further view of Xia et al., (“Xia”, US 2011/0180148), in further view of Brammer et al., (“Brammer”, US 2018/0133665).
Claims 1, 4 & 5 are directed to a dissolved ammonia delivery system, an apparatus or device type invention group.
Regarding Claims 1, 4 & 5, Kambe discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See Abstract, See paragraphs [0009] & [0012], Kambe), comprising: at least one ultrapure water source configured to provide ultrapure water, (Ultrapure water inlet 13, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]); at least one carrier gas source configured to provide at least one carrier gas, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); at least one ammonia (NH3) source configured to provide NH3, (Ammonia for Pressure regulating device 22, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); at least one ammonia saturation module having a bypass flow pathway, (Hollow-fiber membrane module 12 with Pathway for Ultra pure water at inlet 13 and outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]), wherein the at least one carrier gas and NH3 introduced into the ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow, (Ultra pure water outlet 14 and Line 17, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067] & [0069]).
Kambe does not explicitly disclose one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway, the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow, or wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas.
Sakai discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See paragraphs [0005] & [0017], Sakai), one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, (Line 2 upstream of Point 5 leading to Line 3 then leading to Point 6 and downstream on Line 2 is considered main flow pathway, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway, (Line 2 between Point 5 and 6 (considered bypass pathway) is in communication with Line 3 with Line 2 upstream of Point 5 and downstream of Point 6, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, (See paragraph [0028] & [0036]), wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow, (Lines 2 & 3 joining at Point 6, in which gas is added to Line 2 via Hollow fiber membrane 1 and Gas supply port 4, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0028], [0042], [0015], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Kambe by incorporating one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow as in Sakai in order to “easily obtain a gas concentration adjusted liquid by dividing the raw liquid supplied in accordance with the consumption amount into two streams with large and small flow rates”, (See paragraph [0023], Sakai), which “will further increase robustness against disturbances such as flow rate fluctuations and make it easier to adjust the gas concentration”, (See paragraph [0024], Sakai).
Xia discloses wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas, (See paragraph [0075]; Filter in conduit downstream of gas-liquid contactor will remove or outgas these bubbles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas as in Xia so that “any bubbles or microbubbles that may be formed by the contactor can be removed”, (See paragraph [0075], Xia), because if bubbles form “in the ultra pure water, it becomes difficult to control the resistivity of the ultra pure water so as to be constant”, (See paragraph [0035], Kambe).
Modified Kambe does not disclose wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway.
Brammer discloses wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway, (Injection Pipe 530 of carrier/transfer gas extends within pathway carrying NH3 before the overall pathway joins with any main pathway, See Figure 5, Se paragraph [0100], Brammer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway as in Brammer to “therefore reduce or eliminate the influence that fluctuations in the internal pressure of the contactor has on the stability of the conductivity of the liquid in the outlet of the system”, (See paragraph [0103], Brammer).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 4: The system of claim 1, wherein said at least one carrier gas source is in communication with the at least one ammonia saturation module via at least one NH3/carrier gas conduit, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21 delivers gas to Gas Mixing Device 20 via line and Mixed Gas Supply Line between Gas Mixing Device 20 and Hollow-fiber membrane module, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067], Kambe).
Claim 5: The system of claim 1, wherein said at least one ammonia saturation module comprises a saturation region where NH3 is directly diluted in the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow, (Interior of Hollow fiber membrane module 12 provides region where ammonia mixed gas is supplied via Inlet 15 to contact/saturate UP water provided via Inlet 13 in pathway for Outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069], Kambe).
Claims 7-10 are directed to a method of producing dissolved ammonia via a delivery system.
Regarding Claims 7-10, Kambe discloses a method of producing dissolved ammonia NH3 via a delivery system, (See Abstract, See paragraphs [0009] & [0012], Kambe), comprising: coupling at least one carrier gas source in fluid communication with an ammonia saturation module, (Ammonia for Pressure regulating device 22 then to Hollow-fiber membrane 12 via Line 19, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]), said at least one carrier gas source providing at least one carrier gas to said ammonia saturation module, (Hollow-fiber membrane module 12 with additional Pathway for mixed gas including ammonia at inlet 15 and outlet 16, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]); coupling at least one NH3 source in fluid communication with said ammonia saturation module, said at least one NH3 source providing NH3 to said ammonia saturation module, (Ammonia for Pressure regulating device 22, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); controlling through at least one bypass flow pathway, comprised by the ammonia saturation module, (Hollow-fiber membrane module 12 with Pathway for Ultra pure water at inlet 13 and outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]), an ultrapure water flow from an ultrapure water source, (Ultrapure water inlet 13, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]); the at least one bypass flow pathway being in fluid communication with said carrier gas source and said at least one NH3 source, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); introducing into an ultrapure bypass flow within the at least one bypass flow pathway bubbles formed by at least one of the at least one carrier gas source and the at least one NH3 source to form said dissolved NH3, (Ultra pure water outlet 14 and Line 17, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067] & [0069]); recombining said dissolved NH3 with said ultrapure water flow and directing said dissolved NH3 to a dissolved ammonia conduit to form a dissolved ammonia output.
Kambe does not explicitly disclose a main flow pathway and, recombining said dissolved ammonia with said ultrapure main flow and directing said dissolved ammonia to a dissolved ammonia conduit to form a dissolved ammonia output, or providing at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the at least one carrier gas, introducing bubbles, and allowing the bubbles of the at least one carrier gas to be outgassed via the at least one outgas conduit.
Sakai discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See paragraphs [0005] & [0017], Sakai), a main flow pathway, (Line 2 upstream of Point 5 leading to Line 3 then leading to Point 6 and downstream on Line 2 is considered main flow pathway, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), recombining said dissolved ammonia with said ultrapure main flow and directing said dissolved ammonia to a dissolved ammonia conduit to form a dissolved ammonia output, (Lines 2 & 3 joining at Point 6, in which gas is added to Line 2 via Hollow fiber membrane 1 and Gas supply port 4, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0028], [0042], [0015], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Kambe by incorporating a main flow pathway and recombining said dissolved ammonia with said ultrapure main flow and directing said dissolved ammonia to a dissolved ammonia conduit to form a dissolved ammonia output as in Sakai in order to “easily obtain a gas concentration adjusted liquid by dividing the raw liquid supplied in accordance with the consumption amount into two streams with large and small flow rates”, (See paragraph [0023], Sakai), which “will further increase robustness against disturbances such as flow rate fluctuations and make it easier to adjust the gas concentration”, (See paragraph [0024], Sakai).
Xia discloses providing at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the at least one carrier gas, introducing bubbles, and allowing the bubbles of the at least one carrier gas to be outgassed via the at least one outgas conduit, (See paragraph [0075]; Filter in conduit downstream of gas-liquid contactor will remove or outgas these bubbles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating providing at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the at least one carrier gas, introducing bubbles, and allowing the bubbles of the at least one carrier gas to be outgassed via the at least one outgas conduit as in Xia so that “any bubbles or microbubbles that may be formed by the contactor can be removed”, (See paragraph [0075], Xia), because if bubbles form “in the ultra pure water, it becomes difficult to control the resistivity of the ultra pure water so as to be constant”, (See paragraph [0035], Kambe).
Modified Kambe does not disclose wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway.
Brammer discloses wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway, (Injection Pipe 530 of carrier/transfer gas extends within pathway carrying NH3 before the overall pathway joins with any main pathway, See Figure 5, Se paragraph [0100], Brammer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway as in Brammer to “therefore reduce or eliminate the influence that fluctuations in the internal pressure of the contactor has on the stability of the conductivity of the liquid in the outlet of the system”, (See paragraph [0103], Brammer).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 8: The method of claim 7, further comprising outgassing carrier gas to produce one or more gas outputs, (Mixed gas is discharged via Mixed gas outlet 16, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069], Kambe).
Claim 9: The method of claim 7, wherein the ammonia being directly diluted in the ultrapure bypass flow away from a nitrogen saturation area, (Interior of Hollow fiber membrane module 12 provides region where ammonia mixed gas is supplied via Inlet 15 to contact/saturate UP water provided via Inlet 13 in pathway for Outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069] & [0018], Kambe; and Line 3 joins with Downstream Line 2 at junction 6 flowing away from Hollow fiber membrane 1, See Figure 1, Sakai).
Claim 10: The method of claim 7, wherein the ultrapure water flow reacting with the ammonia within the bubbles to form the ammonia dissolving within the ultrapure water flow, (Interior of Hollow fiber membrane module 12 provides region where ammonia mixed gas is supplied via Inlet 15 to contact/saturate UP water provided via Inlet 13 in pathway for Outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069] & [0018], Kambe).
Claims 17 & 18 are directed to a dissolved ammonia delivery system, an apparatus or device type invention group.
Regarding Claims 17 & 18, Kambe discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See Abstract, See paragraphs [0009] & [0012], Kambe), comprising: at least one ultrapure water source configured to provide ultrapure water, (Ultrapure water inlet 13, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]); at least one carrier gas source configured to provide at least one carrier gas, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); at least one ammonia (NH3) source configured to provide NH3, (Ammonia for Pressure regulating device 22, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); at least one ammonia saturation module having a bypass flow pathway, (Hollow-fiber membrane module 12 with Pathway for Ultra pure water at inlet 13 and outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]), wherein the at least one carrier gas and NH3 introduced into the ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow, (Ultra pure water outlet 14 and Line 17, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067] & [0069]), wherein said at least one carrier gas source is in communication with the at least one ammonia saturation module via at least one NH3/carrier gas conduit, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow by the at least one NH3/carrier gas conduit, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21 delivers gas to Gas Mixing Device 20 via line and Mixed Gas Supply Line between Gas Mixing Device 20 and Hollow-fiber membrane module, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067], Kambe).
Kambe does not explicitly disclose one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway, the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow, or wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas.
Sakai discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See paragraphs [0005] & [0017], Sakai), one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, (Line 2 upstream of Point 5 leading to Line 3 then leading to Point 6 and downstream on Line 2 is considered main flow pathway, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway, (Line 2 between Point 5 and 6 (considered bypass pathway) is in communication with Line 3 with Line 2 upstream of Point 5 and downstream of Point 6, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, (See paragraph [0028] & [0036]), wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow, (Lines 2 & 3 joining at Point 6, in which gas is added to Line 2 via Hollow fiber membrane 1 and Gas supply port 4, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0028], [0042], [0015], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Kambe by incorporating one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow as in Sakai in order to “easily obtain a gas concentration adjusted liquid by dividing the raw liquid supplied in accordance with the consumption amount into two streams with large and small flow rates”, (See paragraph [0023], Sakai), which “will further increase robustness against disturbances such as flow rate fluctuations and make it easier to adjust the gas concentration”, (See paragraph [0024], Sakai).
Xia discloses wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas, (See paragraph [0075]; Filter in conduit downstream of gas-liquid contactor will remove or outgas these bubbles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas as in Xia so that “any bubbles or microbubbles that may be formed by the contactor can be removed”, (See paragraph [0075], Xia), because if bubbles form “in the ultra pure water, it becomes difficult to control the resistivity of the ultra pure water so as to be constant”, (See paragraph [0035], Kambe).
Modified Kambe does not disclose wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway.
Brammer discloses wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway, (Injection Pipe 530 of carrier/transfer gas extends within pathway carrying NH3 before the overall pathway joins with any main pathway, See Figure 5, See paragraph [0100], Brammer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway as in Brammer to “therefore reduce or eliminate the influence that fluctuations in the internal pressure of the contactor has on the stability of the conductivity of the liquid in the outlet of the system”, (See paragraph [0103], Brammer).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 18: The system of claim 1, wherein said at least one ammonia saturation module comprises a saturation region where NH3 is directly diluted in the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow, (Interior of Hollow fiber membrane module 12 provides region where ammonia mixed gas is supplied via Inlet 15 to contact/saturate UP water provided via Inlet 13 in pathway for Outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069], Kambe).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambe et al., (“Kambe”, US 2002/0063345), in view of Sakai et al., JPH11128704A, (“Sakai”, “Machine Translation of JPH11128704A”, published 1999, 18 total pages), in further view of Xia et al., (“Xia”, US 2011/0180148), in further view of Brammer et al., (“Brammer”, US 2018/0133665), in further view of Engelhard et al., (“Engelhard”, US 2016/0025117).
Claim 19 is directed to a dissolved ammonia delivery system, an apparatus or device type invention group.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Kambe discloses the system of claim 17, but does not disclose wherein at least a portion of the bypass flow pathway is positioned within the main flow pathway.
Engelhard discloses wherein at least a portion of the bypass flow pathway is positioned within the main flow pathway, (Separation Tube 124 extends into Outlet 106 and Bypass Loop 112, See Figures 3 & 4, See paragraphs [0039] & [0038], Engelhard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein at least a portion of the bypass flow pathway is positioned within the main flow pathway as in Engelhard in order to “reduce the pressure drop…thereby increasing the efficiency of the system”, (See paragraph [0043], Engelhard).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779