DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
On pages 6-9 of the Remarks section as filed April 28, 2026, as indicated by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant argues against the previous prior art rejection of independent Claims 1 & 7, involving the 103 prior art combination rejection. Here, Applicant argues that primary reference Kambe does not disclose the claimed "bypass configuration", relating to the limitations claiming a main flow pathway and a bypass flow pathway. Here, the Examiner notes that the claim mapping demonstrates that Kambe discloses the "bypass flow pathway" which is the claimed pathway that has a membrane contactor or ammonia gas saturation module on the pathway, while the claimed main flow pathway is the pathway that does not have this module. Thus, the Examiner indicates that Kambe discloses the arrangement of the "bypass" flow pathway using the ammonia gas saturation module, but does not disclose the other flow pathway (the main flow pathway). Applicant also argues that secondary references Brammer and Xia do not disclose splitting the flow into a main or bypass pathway. However, the Examiner notes that secondary reference Sakai has been relied upon to explicitly disclose two pathways, a main and bypass flow pathway. Thus, this argument is considered piecemeal analysis. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant also argues that Sakai does not disclose the bypass pathway being used for bubble-based ammonia gas dissolution followed by outgassing. Here, the Examiner notes that the reasons that Sakai relies upon these pathways do not have to be the same reasons desired by Applicant. Sakai performs this action to "easily obtain a gas concentration adjusted liquid" to "make it easier to adjust the gas concentration", (see paragraphs [0023] & [0024], Sakai). In response to the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). The Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive.
On page 7, Applicant argues that the references do not disclose introducing ammonia in the form of bubbles into the bypass flow pathway to form dissolved NH3. The Examiner notes that while Kambe and Sakai discuss introducing ammonia in a way that dissolves the gas rather than forming bubbles, secondary reference Xia notes that bubbles of the gas still may form when using this system, thus providing an outgas conduit configured to outgas any bubbles that develop in Xia can remove these unwanted bubbles, so that the resistivity of the ultra pure water can be constant in Kambe. While bubbles are not deliberately introduced, Xia demonstrates that they can still form when introduced in this system regardless, and providing the outgas conduit removes them. The Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive as a result.
On pages 7-8, Applicant argues that none of the references discloses outgassing bubbles via an outgas conduit prior to recombination with the main flow as claimed. Applicant argues that Xia does not outgas its bubbles using a bypass/main flow pathway setup as claimed. Applicant then argues that paragraph [0046] of Brammer discloses venting off-gas from a contactor, but does not happen on a "bypass" stream prior to recombination using bubbles. The Examiner first notes that the outgas conduit removing bubbles is explicitly disclosed in Xia. Brammer is relied upon to use an outgas conduit to offgas on a bypass pathway before any recombination. The bubbles being outgassed is already disclosed in Xia. The Examiner notes that Figure 5 of Brammer combines the transfer gas and ammonia in the fluid before it goes to the contactor. Next, either Figure 2 or Figure 3 of Brammer demonstrates offgassing any undissolved gas (bubbles) out of the contactor, while there is a liquid pathway with V31 joining the liquid/gas (contactor) stream downstream in the bypass/main flow pathway configuration already claimed, which is also disclosed here. The Examiner also notes that both Xia and Brammer add their gas to the pathway with the membrane contactor and offgas the bubbles/gas directly from the membrane contactor. Sakai also discloses recombining the main and bypass pathways downstream of the membrane contactor. Since the offgas conduit is exiting from the membrane contactor, it necessarily is removing bubbles from the bypass stream (the membrane contactor portion) before the main and bypass streams are recombined downstream of the membrane contactor. For these reasons, the Examiner finds Applicant's remarks here unpersuasive.
On pages 8-9, Applicant argues that none of the references disclose the "claimed sequence and functional integration of steps and structures" in their claimed "specific coordinated arrangement". Applicant argues that the references do not disclose the invention as a whole, or find the same advantages to doing so as by the Applicant. Again, the Examiner notes that in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Also, in response to the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). For these reasons, the Examiner finds these remark unpersuasive.
Also, Applicant argues that the dependent claims of Claims 1 & 7 would be allowable based on their arguments against the 103 prior art combination of the independent claims above. The Examiner finds this remark moot since the Examiner does not find Applicant's remarks persuasive as indicated above.
Applicant also argues that the combinations fail to articulate why they would yield the claimed combination. Again, the Examiner points to the response made above as to why the references each disclose different aspects of the claimed invention and make them obvious. The Examiner also notes that Applicant has not addressed the motivation statements or rationales behind each reference combination. The Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive.
On pages 9-11, Applicant argues against independent Claim 17 and dependent Claim 18. Applicant argues that the previous Action does not identify "any teaching or suggestion" that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to physically position such a conduit within a bypass flow pathway as claimed in Claim 17. The Examiner notes that Applicant does not address the previous Action's teaching that Brammer explicitly discloses this feature in Claim 17 where the outgas conduit extends from the bypass flow before the bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway as in Figure 5 in the context of either Xia with its offgas conduit leading away from the membrane contactor or Figures 2/3 of Brammer with the same configuration of the offgas conduit leading away from the membrane contactor. The Examiner also notes that Applicant has not address the motivation provided to doing so from Brammer. The Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive, noting that Brammer discloses these features which are not directly addressed by Applicant.
On pages 10-11, Applicant argues that dependent Claim 18 requires a saturation region where the NH3 is directly diluted away from a N2 saturation area, asserting that the prior art does not disclose this claim. The Examiner notes that primary reference Kambe discloses this feature because the NH3 is diluted when it joins the water flowing inside the membrane contactor/module. The Examiner finds Applicant's remark here unpersuasive as a result.
On pages 11-12, Applicant argues against the rejection of dependent Claim 19, stating that the Examiner's combination of secondary reference Engelhard does not make it obvious to combine the features of Engelhard with the other references because Engelhard is directed to a venturi-based fluid separation system instead. Applicant argues that Engelhard is not directed to an ammonia delivery system, like the claimed invention or other references used. Applicant also argues that the separation tube of outlet 106 and bypass loop 112 in Engelhard are not applicable to the bypass/main flow pathway of the claimed invention because it uses a venturi path, not an ammonia saturation module path. Applicant also argues that Engelhard does not disclose that the bypass flow pathway is positioned within the main flow pathway, asserting that it just discloses a tube "delaying" mixing of one stream with another in a venturi system. In response, the Examiner notes that Engelhard states that "venturi systems are generally used in a variety of industries to add or inject a gas or a liquid into an existing stream of liquid". The Examiner notes that the claimed invention and other references used in the Action all involve the action of introducing or adding gas into an existing stream of liquid. The ammonia gas and carrier gas are added to the stream of liquid or water in all of the above references. The Examiner also notes that secondary references Xia and Brammer which are both directed to ammonia dissolution systems both use venturis or gas injectors, (see paragraphs [0048], [0083], Xia; see paragraph [0021], Brammer). The Examiner finds that Engelhard is reasonably analogous to introduce gas into a liquid as the other references also do. Next, the Examiner notes that Engelhard extends its tube/pathway in one pathway into the other pathway as shown in Figures 3/4, demonstrating that the bypass flow pathway is also partly positioned in the main flow pathway. The Examiner notes that Engelhard does so in order to reduce the pressure drop and increase the efficiency, (see paragraph [0043], Engelhard). The Examiner notes that one path splits from another path, so one path must be bypassing and another path is not, depending on its selection. Lastly, the Examiner notes that primary reference Kambe is concerned with increasing the efficiency of introducing its gas into the system, which aligns with increasing the efficiency of introducing the gas into the liquid as demonstrated by Engelhard. For these reasons, the Examiner finds these arguments by Applicant unpersuasive.
The previous prior art rejections still stand for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-10, 17 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambe et al., (“Kambe”, US 2002/0063345), in view of Sakai et al., JPH11128704A, (“Sakai”, “Machine Translation of JPH11128704A”, published 1999, 18 total pages), in further view of Xia et al., (“Xia”, US 2011/0180148), in further view of Brammer et al., (“Brammer”, US 2018/0133665).
Claims 1, 4 & 5 are directed to a dissolved ammonia delivery system, an apparatus or device type invention group.
Regarding Claims 1, 4 & 5, Kambe discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See Abstract, See paragraphs [0009] & [0012], Kambe), comprising: at least one ultrapure water source configured to provide ultrapure water, (Ultrapure water inlet 13, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]); at least one carrier gas source configured to provide at least one carrier gas, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); at least one ammonia (NH3) source configured to provide NH3, (Ammonia for Pressure regulating device 22, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); at least one ammonia saturation module having a bypass flow pathway, (Hollow-fiber membrane module 12 with Pathway for Ultra pure water at inlet 13 and outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]), wherein the at least one carrier gas and NH3 introduced into the ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow, (Ultra pure water outlet 14 and Line 17, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067] & [0069]).
Kambe does not explicitly disclose one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway, the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow, or wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas.
Sakai discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See paragraphs [0005] & [0017], Sakai), one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, (Line 2 upstream of Point 5 leading to Line 3 then leading to Point 6 and downstream on Line 2 is considered main flow pathway, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway, (Line 2 between Point 5 and 6 (considered bypass pathway) is in communication with Line 3 with Line 2 upstream of Point 5 and downstream of Point 6, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, (See paragraph [0028] & [0036]), wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow, (Lines 2 & 3 joining at Point 6, in which gas is added to Line 2 via Hollow fiber membrane 1 and Gas supply port 4, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0028], [0042], [0015], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Kambe by incorporating one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow as in Sakai in order to “easily obtain a gas concentration adjusted liquid by dividing the raw liquid supplied in accordance with the consumption amount into two streams with large and small flow rates”, (See paragraph [0023], Sakai), which “will further increase robustness against disturbances such as flow rate fluctuations and make it easier to adjust the gas concentration”, (See paragraph [0024], Sakai).
Xia discloses wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas, (See paragraph [0075]; Filter in conduit downstream of gas-liquid contactor will remove or outgas these bubbles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas as in Xia so that “any bubbles or microbubbles that may be formed by the contactor can be removed”, (See paragraph [0075], Xia), because if bubbles form “in the ultra pure water, it becomes difficult to control the resistivity of the ultra pure water so as to be constant”, (See paragraph [0035], Kambe).
Modified Kambe does not disclose wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway.
Brammer discloses wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway, (Injection Pipe 530 of carrier/transfer gas extends within pathway carrying NH3 before the overall pathway joins with any main pathway, See Figure 5, Se paragraph [0100], Brammer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway as in Brammer to “therefore reduce or eliminate the influence that fluctuations in the internal pressure of the contactor has on the stability of the conductivity of the liquid in the outlet of the system”, (See paragraph [0103], Brammer).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 4: The system of claim 1, wherein said at least one carrier gas source is in communication with the at least one ammonia saturation module via at least one NH3/carrier gas conduit, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21 delivers gas to Gas Mixing Device 20 via line and Mixed Gas Supply Line between Gas Mixing Device 20 and Hollow-fiber membrane module, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067], Kambe).
Claim 5: The system of claim 1, wherein said at least one ammonia saturation module comprises a saturation region where NH3 is directly diluted in the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow, (Interior of Hollow fiber membrane module 12 provides region where ammonia mixed gas is supplied via Inlet 15 to contact/saturate UP water provided via Inlet 13 in pathway for Outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069], Kambe).
Claims 7-10 are directed to a method of producing dissolved ammonia via a delivery system.
Regarding Claims 7-10, Kambe discloses a method of producing dissolved ammonia NH3 via a delivery system, (See Abstract, See paragraphs [0009] & [0012], Kambe), comprising: coupling at least one carrier gas source in fluid communication with an ammonia saturation module, (Ammonia for Pressure regulating device 22 then to Hollow-fiber membrane 12 via Line 19, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]), said at least one carrier gas source providing at least one carrier gas to said ammonia saturation module, (Hollow-fiber membrane module 12 with additional Pathway for mixed gas including ammonia at inlet 15 and outlet 16, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]); coupling at least one NH3 source in fluid communication with said ammonia saturation module, said at least one NH3 source providing NH3 to said ammonia saturation module, (Ammonia for Pressure regulating device 22, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); controlling through at least one bypass flow pathway, comprised by the ammonia saturation module, (Hollow-fiber membrane module 12 with Pathway for Ultra pure water at inlet 13 and outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]), an ultrapure water flow from an ultrapure water source, (Ultrapure water inlet 13, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]); the at least one bypass flow pathway being in fluid communication with said carrier gas source and said at least one NH3 source, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); introducing into an ultrapure bypass flow within the at least one bypass flow pathway bubbles formed by at least one of the at least one carrier gas source and the at least one NH3 source to form said dissolved NH3, (Ultra pure water outlet 14 and Line 17, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067] & [0069]); recombining said dissolved NH3 with said ultrapure water flow and directing said dissolved NH3 to a dissolved ammonia conduit to form a dissolved ammonia output.
Kambe does not explicitly disclose a main flow pathway and, recombining said dissolved ammonia with said ultrapure main flow and directing said dissolved ammonia to a dissolved ammonia conduit to form a dissolved ammonia output, or providing at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the at least one carrier gas, introducing bubbles, and allowing the bubbles of the at least one carrier gas to be outgassed via the at least one outgas conduit.
Sakai discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See paragraphs [0005] & [0017], Sakai), a main flow pathway, (Line 2 upstream of Point 5 leading to Line 3 then leading to Point 6 and downstream on Line 2 is considered main flow pathway, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), recombining said dissolved ammonia with said ultrapure main flow and directing said dissolved ammonia to a dissolved ammonia conduit to form a dissolved ammonia output, (Lines 2 & 3 joining at Point 6, in which gas is added to Line 2 via Hollow fiber membrane 1 and Gas supply port 4, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0028], [0042], [0015], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Kambe by incorporating a main flow pathway and recombining said dissolved ammonia with said ultrapure main flow and directing said dissolved ammonia to a dissolved ammonia conduit to form a dissolved ammonia output as in Sakai in order to “easily obtain a gas concentration adjusted liquid by dividing the raw liquid supplied in accordance with the consumption amount into two streams with large and small flow rates”, (See paragraph [0023], Sakai), which “will further increase robustness against disturbances such as flow rate fluctuations and make it easier to adjust the gas concentration”, (See paragraph [0024], Sakai).
Xia discloses providing at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the at least one carrier gas, introducing bubbles, and allowing the bubbles of the at least one carrier gas to be outgassed via the at least one outgas conduit, (See paragraph [0075]; Filter in conduit downstream of gas-liquid contactor will remove or outgas these bubbles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating providing at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the at least one carrier gas, introducing bubbles, and allowing the bubbles of the at least one carrier gas to be outgassed via the at least one outgas conduit as in Xia so that “any bubbles or microbubbles that may be formed by the contactor can be removed”, (See paragraph [0075], Xia), because if bubbles form “in the ultra pure water, it becomes difficult to control the resistivity of the ultra pure water so as to be constant”, (See paragraph [0035], Kambe).
Modified Kambe does not disclose wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway.
Brammer discloses wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway, (Injection Pipe 530 of carrier/transfer gas extends within pathway carrying NH3 before the overall pathway joins with any main pathway, See Figure 5, Se paragraph [0100], Brammer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway as in Brammer to “therefore reduce or eliminate the influence that fluctuations in the internal pressure of the contactor has on the stability of the conductivity of the liquid in the outlet of the system”, (See paragraph [0103], Brammer).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 8: The method of claim 7, further comprising outgassing carrier gas to produce one or more gas outputs, (Mixed gas is discharged via Mixed gas outlet 16, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069], Kambe).
Claim 9: The method of claim 7, wherein the ammonia being directly diluted in the ultrapure bypass flow away from a nitrogen saturation area, (Interior of Hollow fiber membrane module 12 provides region where ammonia mixed gas is supplied via Inlet 15 to contact/saturate UP water provided via Inlet 13 in pathway for Outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069] & [0018], Kambe; and Line 3 joins with Downstream Line 2 at junction 6 flowing away from Hollow fiber membrane 1, See Figure 1, Sakai).
Claim 10: The method of claim 7, wherein the ultrapure water flow reacting with the ammonia within the bubbles to form the ammonia dissolving within the ultrapure water flow, (Interior of Hollow fiber membrane module 12 provides region where ammonia mixed gas is supplied via Inlet 15 to contact/saturate UP water provided via Inlet 13 in pathway for Outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069] & [0018], Kambe).
Claims 17 & 18 are directed to a dissolved ammonia delivery system, an apparatus or device type invention group.
Regarding Claims 17 & 18, Kambe discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See Abstract, See paragraphs [0009] & [0012], Kambe), comprising: at least one ultrapure water source configured to provide ultrapure water, (Ultrapure water inlet 13, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]); at least one carrier gas source configured to provide at least one carrier gas, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); at least one ammonia (NH3) source configured to provide NH3, (Ammonia for Pressure regulating device 22, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0068] & [0069]); at least one ammonia saturation module having a bypass flow pathway, (Hollow-fiber membrane module 12 with Pathway for Ultra pure water at inlet 13 and outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067]), wherein the at least one carrier gas and NH3 introduced into the ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow, (Ultra pure water outlet 14 and Line 17, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067] & [0069]), wherein said at least one carrier gas source is in communication with the at least one ammonia saturation module via at least one NH3/carrier gas conduit, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow by the at least one NH3/carrier gas conduit, (Carbon dioxide for Pressure regulating device 21 delivers gas to Gas Mixing Device 20 via line and Mixed Gas Supply Line between Gas Mixing Device 20 and Hollow-fiber membrane module, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0067], Kambe).
Kambe does not explicitly disclose one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway, the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow, or wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas.
Sakai discloses a dissolved ammonia delivery system, (See paragraphs [0005] & [0017], Sakai), one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, (Line 2 upstream of Point 5 leading to Line 3 then leading to Point 6 and downstream on Line 2 is considered main flow pathway, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway, (Line 2 between Point 5 and 6 (considered bypass pathway) is in communication with Line 3 with Line 2 upstream of Point 5 and downstream of Point 6, See Figure 1, See paragraphs [0028] & [0042]), the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, (See paragraph [0028] & [0036]), wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in the NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow, (Lines 2 & 3 joining at Point 6, in which gas is added to Line 2 via Hollow fiber membrane 1 and Gas supply port 4, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0028], [0042], [0015], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Kambe by incorporating one main flow pathway, the main flow pathway if present configured to have ultrapure water from the at least one ultrapure water source flowed therethrough, the one bypass flow pathway in communication with the main flow pathway the bypass flow pathway configured to receive at least a portion of the ultrapure water from the main flow pathway to form at least one ultrapure water bypass flow within the bypass flow pathway, wherein the at least one carrier gas and the NH3 is introduced into the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow resulting in NH3 dissolving in the ultrapure water bypass flow as in Sakai in order to “easily obtain a gas concentration adjusted liquid by dividing the raw liquid supplied in accordance with the consumption amount into two streams with large and small flow rates”, (See paragraph [0023], Sakai), which “will further increase robustness against disturbances such as flow rate fluctuations and make it easier to adjust the gas concentration”, (See paragraph [0024], Sakai).
Xia discloses wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas, (See paragraph [0075]; Filter in conduit downstream of gas-liquid contactor will remove or outgas these bubbles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the dissolved ammonia delivery system further comprises at least one outgas conduit configured to outgas bubbles of the carrier gas as in Xia so that “any bubbles or microbubbles that may be formed by the contactor can be removed”, (See paragraph [0075], Xia), because if bubbles form “in the ultra pure water, it becomes difficult to control the resistivity of the ultra pure water so as to be constant”, (See paragraph [0035], Kambe).
Modified Kambe does not disclose wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway.
Brammer discloses wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway, (Injection Pipe 530 of carrier/transfer gas extends within pathway carrying NH3 before the overall pathway joins with any main pathway, See Figure 5, See paragraph [0100], Brammer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein the at least one outgas conduit extends from the at least one bypass flow pathway to outgas the bubbles of the carrier gas from the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow in which the NH3 is dissolved before the at least one bypass flow pathway rejoins with the main flow pathway as in Brammer to “therefore reduce or eliminate the influence that fluctuations in the internal pressure of the contactor has on the stability of the conductivity of the liquid in the outlet of the system”, (See paragraph [0103], Brammer).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 18: The system of claim 1, wherein said at least one ammonia saturation module comprises a saturation region where NH3 is directly diluted in the at least one ultrapure water bypass flow, (Interior of Hollow fiber membrane module 12 provides region where ammonia mixed gas is supplied via Inlet 15 to contact/saturate UP water provided via Inlet 13 in pathway for Outlet 14, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0069], Kambe).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambe et al., (“Kambe”, US 2002/0063345), in view of Sakai et al., JPH11128704A, (“Sakai”, “Machine Translation of JPH11128704A”, published 1999, 18 total pages), in further view of Xia et al., (“Xia”, US 2011/0180148), in further view of Brammer et al., (“Brammer”, US 2018/0133665), in further view of Engelhard et al., (“Engelhard”, US 2016/0025117).
Claim 19 is directed to a dissolved ammonia delivery system, an apparatus or device type invention group.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Kambe discloses the system of claim 17, but does not disclose wherein at least a portion of the bypass flow pathway is positioned within the main flow pathway.
Engelhard discloses wherein at least a portion of the bypass flow pathway is positioned within the main flow pathway, (Separation Tube 124 extends into Outlet 106 and Bypass Loop 112, See Figures 3 & 4, See paragraphs [0039] & [0038], Engelhard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of modified Kambe by incorporating wherein at least a portion of the bypass flow pathway is positioned within the main flow pathway as in Engelhard in order to “reduce the pressure drop…thereby increasing the efficiency of the system”, (See paragraph [0043], Engelhard).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779