Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 08/04/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the independent claims comprise overlapping subject matter. This is not found persuasive because what is stated in the requirement for election is that the inventions do not overlap in scope, meaning that Invention I contains limitations not found in Invention II and vice versa, as well as between Inventions I and III and II and III. In the case that Claim 1 is found to be in the conditions for allowance, Claims 13 and 20, as well as dependent claims, may be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandl et al.(US 20150279903 A1, hereafter Mandl) in view of Seo et al.(US 20130026531 A1, hereafter Seo).
Regarding Claim 1, Mandl discloses:
A method of manufacturing a semiconductor light emitting device(Fig. 5), the method comprising:
Preparing a nitride single crystal substrate(Fig. 5 [7]) having an upper surface on which a plurality of device formation regions(See Fig. 5 below) are arranged, each of the plurality of device formation regions(See Fig. 5 below) having a first region(See Fig. 5 below) and a second region(See Fig. 5 below);
Forming an electrode pattern(Fig. 5 [30/23]) on the first region(See Fig. 5 below) of each of the plurality of device formation regions(See Fig. 5 below), the electrode pattern(Fig. 5 [30/23]) including a metal layer(Fig. 5 [30], See paragraph 0038) on the nitride single crystal substrate(Fig. 5 [7]) and an ohmic contact layer(Fig. 5 [23]) on the metal layer(Fig. 5 [30]);
Forming a plurality of light emitting structures(Fig. 5 [31]) on the plurality of device formation regions(See Fig. 5 below) to cover the electrode pattern(Fig. 5 [30/23]) of each of the plurality of device formation regions(See Fig. 5 below),
Removing the metal layer(Fig. 5 [30]) from the ohmic contact layer(Fig. 5 [23]); and
Separating the plurality of light emitting structures(Fig. 5 [31]) from the nitride single crystal substrate(Fig. 5 [7]) by applying stress(see paragraph 0016) to a connection portion of each of the plurality of the light emitting structures(Fig. 5 [31]) connected to the second region(See Fig. 5 below).
Mandl does not teach or disclose the conversion of the metal layer into a metal nitride layer by reacting with nitrogen in the nitride single crystal substrate during the forming of the plurality of light emitting structures.
In the same field of endeavor, Seo discloses converting a metal layer(Fig. 3a [61]) into a nitride layer by reacting with nitrogen in the nitride single crystal substrate(Fig. 3a [31]) during the formation of the plurality of light emitting structures(Fig. 3a [31]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the claimed limitations by modifying the method disclosed by Mandl along the lines of Seo. One might have been motivated to react the metal layer into a metal nitride layer in order to change the properties of the sacrificial metal layer(Fig. 5 [30]) as disclosed by Mandl in order to change the physical properties of the layer to better aid in removal of the light emitting structures, or to generate voids in the substrate which would also facilitate easier removal of the light emitting structures from the substrate. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of a modified method disclosed by Mandl with a metal reaction step as disclosed by Seo.
Regarding Claim 2, Mandl further discloses:
The first region(See Fig. 5 below) surrounds the second region(See Fig. 5 below) in each of the plurality of device formation regions(See Fig. 5 below).
Regarding Claim 3, Mandl further discloses:
The electrode pattern has a ring shape(See Fig. 10 below).
Regarding Claim 4, Mandle further discloses:
The metal layer includes Ti, Ta, or W(Ti or W, See paragraph 0038. Reacting this with nitrogen would necessarily produce TiN or WN).
Regarding Claim 5,
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(See above rejection).
Mandl does not teach or disclose vacancies are generated in a region of the nitride single crystal substrate adjacent to the metal nitride layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Seo discloses the formation of vacancies(See Fig. 3b [33v]) in a region of the nitride single crystal substrate(Fig. 3b [31]) adjacent to the metal nitride layer(Fig. 3c [35a]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the claimed limitations by modifying the method disclosed by Mandl along the lines of Seo. One might have been motivated to form the vacancies in the substrate to generate voids in the substrate which would also facilitate easier removal of the light emitting structures from the substrate. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of a modified method disclosed by Mandl with a metal reaction step as disclosed by Seo.
Above: Fig. 5 of Mandl with device formation region, first and second regions denoted by examiner.
Above: Fig. 10 of Mandl with ring shape denoted by examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 6, the closest prior art of Mandl discloses a device in accordance with most of the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Mandle discloses the growth of sequentially growing a first conductivity type semiconductor layer(Fig. 2 [31]), an active layer(Fig. 2 [33]) and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer(Fig. 2 [35]) on the nitride single crystal substrate(Fig. 2 [7]),
And forming an electrode layer(Fig. 5 [8b]) on the semiconductor stack(Fig. 5 [31]).
The prior art of record does not teach or disclose forming a plurality of mask patterns on the electrode layer, the plurality of mask patterns respectively overlapping the plurality of device formation regions in a direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the nitride single crystal substrate,
Forming the plurality of light emitting structures by etching the electrode layer and the semiconductor stack using the plurality of mask patterns, and
Removing the mask patterns from the plurality of light emitting structures.
Claims 7-8 are also objected upon as being dependent upon claim 6.
Regarding Claim 9, the closest prior art of Mandl discloses an amorphous insulating layer(Fig. 4 [9]) on the nitride single crystal substrate(Fig. 4 [7]) to cover the electrode pattern(Fig. 4 [30/23]).
The prior art of record does not teach or disclose forming a plurality of nanoholes in the amorphous insulating layer to expose the plurality of device formation regions,
Forming a first conductivity-type semiconductor rod in each of the plurality of nanoholes,
Partially removing the amorphous insulating layer to expose an upper portion of a side surface of the first conductivity-type semiconductor rod,
Sequentially forming an active layer and a second conductivity-type semiconductor layer on the upper portion of side surface of the first conductivity-type semiconductor rod,
Forming an electrode layer on the second conductivity-type semiconductor layer, and
Removing a remaining amorphous insulating layer from the side surface of the nitride single crystal substrate.
Claims 10-12 are also objected upon as being dependent on claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Homma et al.(US 20170033086 A1) discloses a reaction of a metal layer with nitrogen to create a metal nitride. Chen et al.(US 20140081330 A1) discloses a plurality of light emitting elements on a substrate.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897