Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2008/0164324) of record, in view of Jung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0308472) of record, in view of Voldman (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0075373) of record, in view of Kirihata (U.S. Patent No. 6,831,866).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 4 of Song discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: at least one signal pad (63+70) comprising power metal lines and configured to exchange an input/output signal with an input/output circuit [0027]; and a dummy power pad (69) disposed adjacent to the at least one signal pad, wherein the dummy power pad includes a first ESD protection circuit (91) connected to at least one of the power metal lines (81) ,a dummy ground pad (68) disposed adjacent to the at least one signal pad, wherein the dummy power pad and the dummy ground pad are disposed in pairs and adjacent to each other.
Song is silent with respect to the power metal lines form power metal rings; “the power metal rings include a first power metal ring for providing a power supply voltage”; the first ESD protection circuit includes “a first clamp circuit” and “the first clamp circuit includes a transistor having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring”.
FIG. 2 of Jung discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the power metal lines form power metal rings (VDD/VSS POWER-BUS); the power metal rings include a first power metal ring for providing a power supply voltage (VDD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Jung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection (electrostatic shielding).
Song as modified by Jung is silent with respect to the first ESD protection circuit includes “a first clamp circuit” and “the first clamp circuit includes a transistor having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring”.
FIG. 6 of Voldman discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a dummy power pad (610), wherein the dummy power pad includes a first ESD protection circuit that is a first clamp circuit (500) connected to at least one of the power metal rings (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Voldman. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of protecting semiconductor circuits from ESD ([0001] of Voldman).
Song as modified by Jung and Voldman is silent with respect to “the first clamp circuit includes a transistor having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring”.
FIG. 2 of Kirihata discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a dummy power pad (200), wherein the first clamp circuit includes a transistor (212) having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring (VDD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Kirihata. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of improving performance (Col. 1, Lines 33-48 of Kirihata).
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 4 of Song discloses the dummy ground pad includes a second ESD protection circuit connected to at least one of the power metal rings. FIG. 6 of Voldman discloses the second ESD protection circuit comprises a second clamp circuit connected to at least one of the power metal rings.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, in view of Jung, in view of Zuo (U.S. Patent No. 11,206,392), in view of Sasaki (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0140366)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 4 of Song discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: at least one signal pad (63+70) comprising power metal lines and configured to exchange an input/output signal with an input/output circuit [0027]; and a dummy power pad (69) disposed adjacent to the at least one signal pad, wherein the dummy power pad includes a first ESD protection circuit (91) connected to at least one of the power metal lines (81) ,a dummy ground pad (68) disposed adjacent to the at least one signal pad, wherein the dummy power pad and the dummy ground pad are disposed in pairs and adjacent to each other.
Song is silent with respect to the power metal lines form power metal rings; “the power metal rings include a first power metal ring for providing a power supply voltage”; the first ESD protection circuit includes “a first clamp circuit” and “the first clamp circuit includes a transistor having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring”.
FIG. 2 of Jung discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the power metal lines form power metal rings (VDD/VSS POWER-BUS); the power metal rings include a first power metal ring for providing a power supply voltage (VDD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Jung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection (electrostatic shielding).
Song as modified by Jung is silent with respect to the first ESD protection circuit includes “a first clamp circuit” and “the first clamp circuit includes a transistor having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring”.
FIG. 3 of Zuo discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a dummy power pad (320), wherein the dummy power pad includes a first clamp circuit (336) connected to at least one of the power metal rings, and wherein the first clamp circuit includes a transistor having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Zuo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of limiting voltage spikes to protect devices.
Song as modified by Jung and Zuo is silent with respect to the first clamp circuit provides ESD protection.
FIG. 6 of Sasaki discloses a similar semiconductor device, the first clamp circuit (4) includes a transistor (10) having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring (5) to provide ESD protection [0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Sasaki. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of ensuring ESD robustness ([0003] of Sasaki).
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, Jung, Voldman and Kirihata, in view of Ker (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0198678) of record.
Regarding Claim 2
Song as modified by Jung, Voldman and Kirihata discloses Claim 1.
Song as modified by Jung, Voldman and Kirihata is silent with respect to “a second power metal ring for providing an input/output power supply voltage; and a second ground metal ring for providing an input/output ground voltage”.
FIG. 1 of Ker discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a first power metal ring (VDD1) for providing a power supply voltage; a first ground metal ring (VSS1) for providing a ground voltage; a second power metal ring (VDD2) for providing an input/output power supply voltage; and a second ground metal ring (VSS2) for providing an input/output ground voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Ker. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection ([0007] of Ker).
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, Jung, Voldman, Kirihata and Ker, in view of Miller (U.S. Patent No. 5,946,177) of record.
Regarding Claim 3
Song as modified by Jung, Voldman, Kirihata and Ker discloses Claim 2.
Song as modified by Jung, Voldman, Kirihata and Ker is silent with respect to “a capacitor connected between the first end of the transistor and a gate of the transistor; and a resistor connected to the gate of the transistor and the first ground metal ring or the second ground metal ring”.
FIG. 4 of Miller discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a capacitor (176) connected between the first end of the transistor (179) and a gate of the transistor; and a resistor (177) connected to the gate of the transistor and the first ground metal ring (150) or the second ground metal ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Miller. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of significant savings in the overall clamp circuit area (Col. 8, Lines 64-67 of Miller).
Claims 4 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, Jung, Voldman, Kirihata and Ker, in view of Hung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0284692) of record.
Regarding Claim 4
Song as modified by Jung, Voldman, Kirihata and Ker discloses Claim 2.
Song as modified by Jung, Voldman, Kirihata and Ker is silent with respect to “the signal pad includes a diode circuit connected to one of the first power metal ring and the second power metal ring and one of the first ground metal ring and the second ground metal ring”.
FIG. 2 of Hung discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the signal pad includes a diode circuit (220/230) connected to one of the first power metal ring (211) and the second power metal ring and one of the first ground metal ring (213) and the second ground metal ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Hung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of providing protection.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 2 of Hung discloses a first diode (220) having a cathode connected to the first power metal ring or the second power metal ring (211); and a second diode (230) having an anode connected to the first ground metal ring or the second ground metal ring (213), wherein the anode of the first diode is connected to a cathode of the second diode.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balatsos (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0049321) of record, in view of Choi (KR 20110033328) of record, in view of Sasaki.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 1 of Balatsos discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a core logic unit (102) configured to receive a power and configured to receive and process an input signal to generate an output signal; signal pads (104) configured to transmit the input signal to the core logic unit or output the output signal from the core logic unit to an outside of the semiconductor device; a power/ground pad (106) configured to transfer the power provided from a power rail to the core logic unit.
Balatsos is silent with respect to “a dummy power/ground pad disposed at a position of a filler pad”; “the dummy power/ground pad does not function exchange the power, the input signal, and the output signal with the core logic unit”; “the dummy power/ground pad is disposed adjacent to the signal pads, and wherein the dummy power/ ground pad are disposed in pairs and adjacent to each other”; “the power rail includes a plurality of power metal rings, wherein the plurality of power metal rings include a first power metal ring for providing a power supply voltage, and a first ground metal ring for providing a ground voltage” and “a clamp circuit comprises a transistor having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring”.
FIG. 10 of Sasaki discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the power rail includes a plurality of power metal rings, wherein the plurality of power metal rings include a first power metal ring (30) for providing a power supply voltage (VDD), and a first ground metal ring (31) for providing a ground voltage (GND), and a clamp circuit (4) comprises a transistor (10, FIG. 8) having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring (5) to provide ESD protection [0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Sasaki. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of ensuring ESD robustness ([0003] of Sasaki).
Balatsos as modified by Sasaki is silent with respect to “a dummy power/ground pad disposed at a position of a filler pad”; “the dummy power/ground pad does not function exchange the power, the input signal, and the output signal with the core logic unit”; “the dummy power/ground pad is disposed adjacent to the signal pads, and wherein the dummy power/ ground pad are disposed in pairs and adjacent to each other”.
FIG. 2 of Choi discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a dummy power/ground pad (241/242) disposed at a position of a filler pad, wherein the dummy power/ground pad does not function exchange the power, the input signal, and the output signal with the core logic unit, and wherein the dummy power/ground pad is disposed adjacent to the signal pads (230), and wherein the dummy power/ ground pad are disposed in pairs and adjacent to each other, wherein the power rail includes a plurality of power metal rings, wherein the plurality of power metal rings include a first power metal ring for providing a power supply voltage (VDD), and a first ground metal ring for providing a ground voltage (VSS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Balatsos, as taught by Choi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Balatsos in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection performance (see, e.g., [0028] of Song).
Claims 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balatsos, Sasaki and Choi, in view of Ker (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0198678) of record.
Regarding Claim 11
Balatsos as modified by Sasaki and Choi discloses Claim 9.
Balatsos as modified by Sasaki and Choi is silent with respect to “a second power metal ring for providing an input/output power supply voltage; and a second ground metal ring for providing an input/output ground voltage”.
FIG. 1 of Ker discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a first power metal ring (VDD1) for providing a power supply voltage; a first ground metal ring (VSS1) for providing a ground voltage; a second power metal ring (VDD2) for providing an input/output power supply voltage; and a second ground metal ring (VSS2) for providing an input/output ground voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Balatsos, as taught by Ker. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Balatsos in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection ([0007] of Ker).
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Choi discloses the dummy power/ground pad is connected to the power metal ring. FIG. 1 of Ker discloses the plurality of power metal rings include a clamp circuit.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balatsos, Sasaki Choi and Ker, in view of Miller.
Regarding Claim 13
Balatsos as modified by Sasaki, Choi and Ker discloses Claim 12.
Balatsos as modified by Sasaki, Choi and Ker is silent with respect to “a capacitor connected between the first end of the transistor and a gate of the transistor; and a resistor connecting the gate of the transistor to the first ground metal ring or the second ground metal ring”.
FIG. 6 of Miller discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a transistor (227) connected between the first end of the transistor and a gate of the transistor (235); and a resistor (229) connecting the gate of the transistor to the first ground metal ring (210) or the second ground metal ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Balatsos, as taught by Miller. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Balatsos in the above manner for purpose of significant savings in the overall clamp circuit area (Col. 8, Lines 64-67 of Miller).
Claims 14 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balatsos, Sasaki, Choi and Ker, in view of Hung.
Regarding Claim 14
Balatsos as modified by Sasaki, Choi and Ker discloses Claim 11.
Balatsos as modified by Sasaki, Choi and Ker is silent with respect to “the signal pad includes a diode circuit connected to one of the first power metal ring and the second power metal ring and one of the first ground metal ring and the second ground metal ring”.
FIG. 2 of Hung discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the signal pad includes a diode circuit (220/230) connected to one of the first power metal ring (211) and the second power metal ring and one of the first ground metal ring (213) and the second ground metal ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Balatsos, as taught by Hung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Balatsos in the above manner for purpose of providing protection.
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 2 of Hung discloses a first diode (220) having a cathode connected to the first power metal ring or the second power metal ring (211); and a second diode (230) having an anode connected to the first ground metal ring or the second ground metal ring (213), and a cathode connected to the signal input pad (212).
Pertinent Art
US 20200083705 and 20110198678 each discloses the first clamp circuit includes a transistor having a first end directly connected to the first power metal ring to provide ESD protection. Pertinent art also includes US 20120226929 and 20070018193.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897