DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 06/25/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/25/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmack (US 9630712 B1) in view Burgess (US 9580173 B1), Smaoui (US 20150336677 A1), Hagan (US 20210347500 A1), and alternatively further in view of Bosma (US 20200346781 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Carmack (US 9630712 B1) discloses an urban air mobility (UAM) power supply system comprising:
a UAM device configured to receive power (Carmack, figure 4, item 402); and
a power supply drone (Carmack, figure 4, item 400) configured to fly in a sky and to supply the power to the UAM device while flying in the sky based on coupling to the UAM device (Carmack, col 9, lines 6-13, drone supplies power while flying to UAM) by electromagnetic force (Carmack, col 3, lines 41-44, electromagnetic coupling),
a charging station configured to supply power to the UAM device through the power supply drone (Carmack, figure 6, item 609),
wherein the UAM device comprises a power receiver disposed at a lower part of the UAM device (Carmack, figure 4, item 414; col 8, lines 58-63);
at least one first electromagnet (Carmack, figure 4, item 406; col 3, lines 41-44);
wherein the power supply drone comprises:
a power cable configured to connect to the charging station and to receive external power from the charging station (Carmack, figures 4 and 6, item 608, col 10 lines 3-9),
a power supply unit configured to be connected to the power receiver of the UAM device (Carmack, figures 3-4, item 309 and 308), and
a propulsion device configured to control a position of the power cable (Carmack, figure 6, item 600, multirotor lifter moves and is tethered), and
wherein the power supply unit comprises:
a housing (Carmack, figure 4, item 400, lifter with housing),
a pair of connectors at an upper part of an inside of the housing (Carmack, figure 4, item 405, engagement mechanisms), except:
wherein the power receiver further comprises:
a power connection terminal connected to a battery,
at least one first electromagnet disposed at a side of the power connection terminal,
and a plurality of guide pin insertion portions,
wherein the power supply unit is configured to transmit the external power received through the power cable to the UAM device
wherein the power supply unit further comprises: a power supply terminal connected to the power cable and configured to transmit the external power to the power receiver of the UAM device,
a plurality of guide pins disposed at an upper surface of the housing and configured to be coupled to the plurality of guide pin insertion portions of the power receiver, respectively, and
at least one second electromagnet disposed at an upper part of an inside of the housing;
wherein the at least one power supply drone or the at least one second electromagnet is configured to:
adjust a magnitude of electromagnetic force to a first magnitude to align a position of the power supply drone with respect to the UAM device based on a first distance between the power supply drone and the UAM device, and
increase the magnitude of the electromagnetic force to a second magnitude after the position of the power supply drone is aligned with the UAM device to bring the power supply drone into contact with the UAM device based on a second distance less than the first distance between the power supply drone and the UAM device;
wherein the power receiver further comprises:
a camera marker disposed at a bottom surface of the UAM device
wherein the power supply unit further comprises:
a camera positioned to correspond to the camera marker, the camera being configured to capture an image of the UAM device including the camera marker
wherein the camera is configured to capture the image of the UAM device while the power supply drone is mounted on or docked with the UAM device, and
wherein the power supply drone is configured, while approaching the UAM device, to be controlled to move relative to the UAM device to thereby position the camera marker at a center of the image of the UAM device captured by the camera.
Burgess (US 9580173 B1) teaches a power receiver comprising:
a power connection terminal connected to a battery (Burgess, fig 1d, item 135, col 9, line 39-51);
electromagnets (Burgess, col 17 lines 16-28, multiple electromagnets required); and
a plurality of guide pin insertion portions (Burgess, col 9 line 66-col 10 line 2).
wherein the power supply unit further comprises:
a plurality of guide pins and configured to be coupled to the plurality of guide pin insertion portions of the power receiver, respectively (Burgess, col 9 line 66- col 10 line 2, guide pins allowing alignment between surfaces);
wherein the power supply unit is configured to transmit the external power received through the power cable to the UAM device (Burgess, col 9, lines 31-51);
wherein power supply drone is configured to fly in a sky and to couple to a device based on electromagnetic force to thereby supply power to the device in the sky (Burgess, col 17, lines 16-28, drone flies and is capable of coupling to a device based on electromagnetic force).
Carmack and Burgess are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aerial tethering. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power receiver of Carmack with the power receiver of Burgess with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a secure connection and to deliver power to the attached device.
Smaoui (US 20150336677 A1) teaches a power supply system including a power receiver (Smaoui, figures 2-3, item 3b),
wherein the power receiver further comprises:
a power connection terminal (Smaoui, figures 2-3, item 31a-c)
at least one electromagnet disposed at a side of the power connection terminal (Smaoui, figures 2-3, item 35, pair of electromagnets on the side of the terminal);
a power supply unit (Smaoui, figures 2-3, item 3a);
wherein the power supply unit further comprises:
a power supply terminal (Smaoui, figures 2-3, item 31a-c) connected to the power cable (Smaoui, figures 2-3, item 2) and configured to transmit the external power to the power receiver of the UAM device (Smaoui, ¶42),
a plurality of guide pins disposed at an upper surface of the housing and configured to be coupled to the plurality of guide pin insertion portions of the power receiver, respectively, and
at least one second electromagnet (Smaoui, figures 2-3, item 35, pair of electromagnets on the side of the terminal).
Carmack as modified by Burgess and Smaoui are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aerial tethering. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection between the aircraft of Carmack as modified by Burgess with the electromagnets and arrangement thereof of Smaoui with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a failsafe connection between the aircraft.
Hagan (US 20210347500 A1) teaches a power supply drone which is configured to control a magnitude of the electromagnetic force according to a distance from the power supply drone to the UAM device while coupling to the UAM device (Hagan, ¶23 and ¶75, serval electromagnets can be used to influence, align a position of the docking drone to correct drifting, and to bring the docking drone into contact), and
wherein the power supply drone is configured to:
adjust the magnitude of the electromagnetic force to a first magnitude to align a position of the power supply drone with respect to the UAM device based on a first distance between the power supply drone and the UAM device (Hagan, ¶75 and claim 39, field strength in electromagnets are varied based on the relative position of the drone to align the drone), and
increase the magnitude of the electromagnetic force to a second magnitude after the position of the power supply drone is aligned with the UAM device to bring the power supply drone into contact with the UAM device based on a second distance less than the first distance, between the power supply drone and the UAM device (Hagan, ¶23, ¶27 and ¶75, field strength in electromagnets are varied based on the relative position of the drone; field strength at a closer distance would hence be varied; field strength is modified as the drone docks; would be capable of increasing magnitude of electromagnetic force when the drone is aligned with the UAM device; also may be inherent as electromagnetic force (simplified as F=mu*qm1-*qm2/(4p*pi*r2)) between magnets is inversely proportional to the square of the distance between the magnets and second distance is less than first distance);
wherein the power receiver further comprises:
a camera marker disposed at a bottom surface of the UAM device (Hagan, figures 3 and 17a-b, item 260, marker at a bottom surface of UAM)
wherein the power supply unit further comprises:
a camera positioned to correspond to the camera marker (Hagan, figures 3 and 4, item 59, upward facing camera corresponding with marker), the camera being configured to capture an image of the UAM device including the camera marker (Hagan, figures 17a-b, example images including the camera marker)
wherein the camera is configured to capture the image of the UAM device while the power supply drone is mounted on or docked with the UAM device (Hagan, camera is capable of taking images while docked), and
wherein the power supply drone is configured, while approaching the UAM device, to be controlled to move relative to the UAM device to thereby position the camera marker at a center of the image of the UAM device captured by the camera (Hagan, figures 17a-b, items 590 and 592, ¶112, camera image is used to control the drone to align the marker at the center of the image).
Carmack as modified by Burgess and Smaoui and Hagan are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aerial docking. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply drone and the UAM device of Carmack as modified by Burgess and Smaoui with the electromagnetic control system and camera guidance system with the camera and marker used to control alignment of the drone and device of Hagan with a reasonable expectation of success in order to correct any docking errors (Hagan, ¶75).
Alternativly, Bosma (US 20200346781 A1) teaches a receiver comprising a camera marker disposed at a docking surface of the UAM device (Bosma, figure 5, item 306), and
wherein the power supply unit comprises a camera configured to capture an image of the camera marker (Bosma, figure 5, item 109);
wherein the camera is configured to capture the image of the UAM device while the power supply drone is mounted on or docked with the UAM device (Bosma, figure 5, camera is capable of capturing images of the UAM device while mounted/docked to the UAM device), and
wherein the power supply drone is configured, while approaching the UAM device, to be controlled to move relative to the UAM device to thereby position the camera marker at a center of the image of the UAM device captured by the camera (Bosma, figure 5, drone is capable of being controlled to position the maker at the center of the image captured by the camera during approach).
Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, and Hagan and Bosma are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aerial rendezvous . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the bottom (docking) surface of the UAM and the UAV of Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, and Hagan with the camera marker attached to a docking surface and camera respectively of Bosma with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine the relative positions of the aircraft and thereby allow maneuvering the aircraft for attachment (Bosma, ¶85).
Regarding claim 7, Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma teaches the UAM power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the camera marker is offset toward one side relative to a center of the power receiver (Bosma, figure 5, items 306 and 305, marker is offset from the port), and
wherein the camera is offset to one side relative to a center of the upper surface of the housing (Bosma, figure 5, items 306 and 305, marker is offset from the port).
Regarding claim 8, Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma teaches the UAM power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of guide pin insertion portions comprise a fixing device configured to fix the plurality of guide pins, each of the plurality of guide pins insertion portions defining a recess configured to receive the fixing device (Burgess, col 5, lines 10-14, pins engage with corresponding grooves).
Regarding claim 21, Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma teaches the UAM power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one second electromagnet are configured to interact with the at least one first elecromagnet (Smaoui, figure 2, item 35, electromagnets interact with each other to connect both aircraft), and
wherein the power supply drone is configured to, based on the electromagnetic force between the at least one first electromagnet and at least one second electromagnet, (i) couple to the UAM device and (ii) separate from the UAM device (Smaoui, figure 2, item 35, electromagnets produce electromagnetic force between the craft to couple or separate them).
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmack (US 9630712 B1) in view of Burgess (US 9580173 B1), Smaoui (US 20150336677 A1), Hagan (US 20210347500 A1), and Bosma (US 20200346781 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Zheng (US 20170297445 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma teaches the UAM power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the power supply drone is configured to take off based on coupling to the UAM device (Carmack, col 2, lines 15-43, drone takes of when doubled to the UAM device), except:
wherein the power supply drone is configured to separate from the UAM device based on a completion of charging of the UAM device.
Zheng (US 20170297445 A1) teaches a power supply drone [which] is configured to separate from the device based on a completion of charging of the UAM device (¶7).
Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma and Zheng are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aerial docking and power supply. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply of Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma with the charging system of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the quantity of spare batteries required.
Regarding claim 11, Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma teaches the UAM power supply system according to claim 10, wherein the power supply drone is configured to start to supply power to the UAM device based on the UAM device being in a state coupled to the power supply drone (Carmack, col 9, lines 6-13, UAV anchors to UAM when attached and changes power module to supply power; Burgess col 9 lines 31-67).
Regarding claim 12, Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma teaches the UAM power supply system according to claim 10, wherein the power supply drone is configured to:
release coupling with a first UAM device based on the first UAM device having taken off from a charging station;
couple to a second UAM device configured to land at the charging station; and
return to the charging station in a docking state with the second UAM device (Carmack, lifter is capable of un-docking from one aircraft and docking with another and bringing that aircraft to land at the ground station).
Regarding claim 13, Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, Hagan, and Bosma teaches the UAM power supply system according to claim 12, wherein the power supply drone is configured to supply power to the second UAM device while returning to the charging station (Carmack, col 9, lines 6-13; lifter is capable of providing power to the aircraft while returning the aircraft).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that:
The prior art fails to teach or otherwise make obvious that the limitation “increase the magnitude of the electromagnetic force to a second magnitude after the position of the power supply drone is aligned with the UAM device to bring the power supply drone into contact with the UAM device based on a second distance”.
It should be noted that, as written and interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard, this is a functional limitation which is not designated to be executed or performed by a controller or the like and as such to meet this limitation the prior art merely must be capable of performing this function. Here Carmack as modified by Burgess, Smaoui, and Hagan (and alternatively also Bosma) are capable of meeting this functional limitation.
As noted in the rejection of cancelled claim 22 in the office action mails 10/29/2025, the electromagnetic force is inversely proportional to the square of the distance between distance between the magnets and the claim requires that the second distance is less than first distance. Hence, this limitation appears inherent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Smaoui (US 20150336677 A1) teaches an aerial power supply system including: a power receiver comprising: a power connection terminal connected to a battery (Smaoui, figure 2, item 312a-c); a pair of first electromagnets disposed at sides of the power connection terminal (Smaoui, figure 2, item 35).
Bourne (US 20170158354 A1) teaches a detachable power tether system
Le Cadet (US 20200239154 A1) teaches a uav guiding a cable/tube
Smith (US 20210354821 A1) teaches a tethered uav docking with an aircraft
Regev (US 20240101286 A1) teaches a tethered uav rendezvous/docking system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642