Claim Status
Applicant’s amendments and remarks, filed 02/18/2026, are acknowledged.
Claims 2, 4, 10-11, 13, 18-19, 21-22, 24, 28-29, and 31-34 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 12, and 25 are amended.
Claims 35 and 36 are new.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 12, 14-17, 20, 23, 25-27, 30, and 35-36 are pending.
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention II, drawn to a method of treating cancer, in the reply filed on 02/18/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1, 14-17, 20, 23, 26-27, and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/18/2026.
As such, claims 3, 5-9, 12, 25, and 35-36 are pending examination and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/30/2023, 06/24/2024, and 10/30/2025 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Notably, the disclosure statement filed lists a Search Report. The listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper." Therefore, the references cited in the Search Report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) they have been considered.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Examiner acknowledges that a petition related to color drawings or photographs for utilities was filed 12/13/2022. The petition was granted on 06/07/2023.
The drawings are objected to because the key of Figures 1A-1C do not comprise a solid black box to represent the solid black bar in the graphs.
Additionally, Figures 3A and 3B display bar graphs comprising two asterisks (**), however the figures nor the specification indicate what these asterisks mean.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed on Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c) (see Figure 1D). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0009]: “human” should read “humans”.
In [000152]: “Thermo-scientific” should read “Thermo-Scientific”.
In [000160]: “PeproTec” should read “PeproTech”.
In [000162]: The parenthetical after 10mm3 is superscript when it should be in standard font.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term Invitrogen, Millipore, Thermo-Scientific, JAX, GE Healthcare, PeproTech, BioLegend, Immudex, and EasySep, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7, and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3: “glutamine, pyroglutamate or glutamic acid, asparagine or proline” should read “glutamine, pyroglutamate,
Claims 7 and 36 recite “IgG-Fc:hinge-ch2-ch3” should read “IgG-Fc:hinge-CH2-CH3”.
Claims 7 and 36 recite “SEQ ID NO.” should read “SEQ ID NO:”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner acknowledges that the term “treating” includes, but is not limited to one or more of the following: abrogating, ameliorating, inhibiting, attenuating, blocking, suppressing, reducing, delaying, halting, alleviating or preventing symptoms associated with a condition (see [00053]).
Additionally, Examiner acknowledges that the terms “modified CXCL10”, “mutated CXCL10”, or “non-naturally occurring CXCL10” relate to a mutated/modified form of the corresponding wild-type (WT) or natural form of the CXCL10 (see [00056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3, 5-9, 12, 25, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 7, and 36 recite “denoted by any one of SEQ ID Nos:” or “denoted by SEQ ID No: XX”. The language is indefinite because it is unclear if the amino acid is limited to the full sequence of the SEQ ID NO, or the amino acid sequence can be of any length as long as the SEQ ID NO is within the sequence. Also, the term “an amino acid sequence as denoted by” could refer to any two amino acids joined by a peptide bond that appears within the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1. Further, it is unclear if the language of the claim requires an open configuration similar to “comprising” or a closed configuration similar to “consisting of”. As such, claims 5, 7, and 36 are rejected.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “SEQ ID NO: 1” which allows for an addition of any naturally occurring amino acid, and the claim also recites “SEQ ID NO: …2, 3, and 4” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation (recites specific amino acid additions). The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the N-terminus" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, because the claim does not provide the structure of the modified CXCL10 polypeptide it is unclear what sequences are considered the N-terminus of the modified CXCL10 polypeptide. As such, claim 25 and its dependent claims are rejected.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the signal peptide" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) Written Description
Claims 3, 5-9, 12, 25, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Claim 3 is drawn to the method of claim 25, wherein the additional amino acid is glutamine, pyroglutamate or glutamic acid, asparagine or proline.
Claim 5 is drawn to the method of claim 25, wherein the modified CXCL10 polypeptide has an amino acid sequence as denoted by any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, 3 and 4.
Claim 6 is drawn to the method of claim 25, wherein the modified CXCL10 polypeptide is linked to an immunoglobulin (Ig) molecule or a fragment of an Ig molecule.
Claim 7 is drawn to the method of claim 6, wherein the Ig fragment is an IgG-Fc:hinge-CH2-CH3 denoted by SEQ ID NO: 5.
Claim 8 is drawn to the method of claim 6, wherein the modified CXCL10 polypeptide further comprises a linker between the modified CXCL10 and the Ig molecule or the fragment thereof.
Claim 9 is drawn to the method of claim 6, wherein the Ig or the fragment thereof is of a human origin.
Claim 12 is drawn to the method of claim 25, wherein the modified CXCL10 polypeptide is capable of binding to a CXCR3 receptor and/or inducing CD8+ T cells.
Claim 25 is drawn to a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified CXCL10 polypeptide comprising an insertion of an additional amino acid at the N-terminus thereof after removal of the signal peptide, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Claim 35 is drawn to the method of claim 25, wherein the additional amino acid is glutamine.
Claim 36 is drawn to the method of claim 35, wherein the modified CXCL10 polypeptide is linked to an IgG-Fc: hinge-CH2-CH3 denoted by SEQ ID No: 5.
The specification discloses of several species of human CXCL10 mutants (see pages 18-23 and 37-39) and murine CXCL10 mutants (see pages 31-32 and 40-43). The working examples disclose that in melanoma mice models, murine CXCL10 and CXCL10-Ig directly suppressed tumor growth (see Examples 1 and 2). Additionally, Example 3 discloses that CXCL10-Ig based therapy induced CD8+ T cells; however, a significant reduction in the activity of tumor infiltrating and spleen CD8+ T cells at the level of IFN-γ, Granzyme-B, and TNF-α in these cells (see Figure 6). Example 5 further discloses that CD8+ T cells from CXCL10-Ig treated mice display augmented ex-vivo cytotoxic activity. Lastly, Example 6 discloses that administration of CXCL10-Ig to CXCR3KO mice reconstituted with CXCR3+ CD8+ T cells, but not from CXCR3KO lacking reconstitution, suppressed the development of the primary tumor (ret melanoma) as determined by the kinetics of tumor growth (see Figure 8A), and tumor weight measured on day 20 when the experiment was terminated (see Figure 8B).
However, the specification fails to disclose that Applicant was in possession of the method of treating cancer as claimed. Specifically, the specification fails to disclose that Applicant was in possession of the large genus of modified CXCL10 polypeptides as claimed. While claim 5 recites sequences, the claim language “an amino acid sequence as denoted by” renders the claim unclear as it is uncertain if the amino acid is limited to the full sequence of the SEQ ID NO, or the amino acid sequence can be of any length as long as the SEQ ID NO is within the sequence. Further, the specification fails to disclose that Applicant was in possession of any immunoglobulin molecule or Ig fragment linked to said modified CXCL10 polypeptide. Lastly, the specification fails to disclose that Applicant was in possession of treating a large genus of cancers.
Although the specification discloses treating melanoma administering murine CXCL10 and CXCL10-Ig, the claims are not limited to these cancers nor these CXCL10 mutants, and are inclusive of treating any cancer with any modified CXCL10 polypeptide. This indicates that there are hundreds, if not thousands, of possible methods of treating cancer with a modified CXCL10 polypeptide encompassed by the claims. Thus, the claims encompass a vast genus of cancer-polypeptide treatments that have the claimed functions. However, the specification provides limited guidance on the structure and steps required for maintaining the claimed function(s). Therefore, the specification does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad and variable genus of modified CXCL10 polypeptides because, inter alia, the specification does not disclose a correlation between the necessary structure of the inhibitor and the function(s) recited in the claims; and thus, the specification does not distinguish the claimed genus from others, except by function. Further, the specification fails to provide method steps that result in treating cancer patients. Although the term polypeptide does impart some structure, the structure that is common to polypeptides is generally unrelated to its specific binding function; therefore, correlation is less likely for polypeptides than for other molecules. Accordingly, the specification does not define any structural features commonly possessed by the members of the genus, because while the description of an ability of the claimed substance may generically describe the molecule’s function, it does not describe the substance itself. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the substance does, rather than what it is; therefore, it is only a definition of a useful result rather than a definition of what achieves the result. In addition, because the genus of substances is highly variable (i.e. each substance would necessarily have a unique structure, See MPEP 2434), the generic description of the substance is insufficient to describe the genus. Further, given the highly diverse nature of polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules, particularly in CDRs, even one of skill in the art cannot envision the structure of a polypeptide by only knowing its binding characteristics. Thus, the specification does not provide substantive evidence for possession of this large and variable genus, encompassing a potentially massive number of modified CXCL10 polypeptides and variants thereof claimed only be a functional characteristic(s) and/or partial structure.
A biomolecule sequence described only by a functional characteristic, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, normally is not sufficient identifying characteristics for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the agent. The specification does not adequately describe the correlation between the chemical structure and function of the genus, such as structural domains or motifs that are essential and distinguish members of the genus from those excluded. Thus, the genus of antibodies has no correlation between their structure and function.
MPEP § 2163.03(V) states:
While there is a presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present in the specification as filed, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 262, 191 USPQ 90, 96 (CCPA 1976), a question as to whether a specification provides an adequate written description may arise in the context of an original claim. An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The written description requirement is not necessarily met when the claim language appears in ipsis verbis in the specification. "Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement. “Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Applicant has not shown possession of a representative number of species of modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules. The disclosure of only one or two species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.") (MPEP 2163).
The instant claims do not fully describe the structure of the modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules to achieve the required function. Accordingly, the specification also does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad genus of modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules , claimed only by a function characteristic(s) and not structures per se, because inter alia, it does not describe a sufficient number and/or a sufficient variety of representative species to reflect the breadth and variation within the claimed genus. Consequently, based on the lack of information within the specification, there is evidence that a representative number and a representative variety of the numerous modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules had not yet been identified and thus, the specification represents little more than a wish for possession. Therefore, one of skill in the art would not conclude that Applicant was in possession of the broad and highly variable genus of modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules claimed only by a partial structure and functional characteristic(s). Thus, the modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules described by the instant claims encompasses an overly broad genus and the functional outcome.
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), it is noted that to show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. To provide this precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen at page 1358). Also, it is not enough for the specification to show how to make and use the invention, i.e., to enable it (see Amgen at page 1361). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361). Most significant to the present case, the Court held that "knowledge of the chemical structure of an antigen [does not give] the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding antibodies" (Amgen at 1361). The idea that written description of an antibody can be satisfied by the disclosure of a newly-characterized antigen “flouts basic legal principles of the written description requirement” as it “allows patentees to claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen... And Congress has not created a special written description requirement for antibodies” (Amgen at page 1362).
Abbvie v. Centocor (Fed. Cir. 2014) is also relevant to the instant claims. In Abbvie, the Court held that a disclosure of many different antibodies was not enough to support the genus of all neutralizing antibodies because the disclosed antibodies were very closely related to each other in structure and were not representative of the full diversity of the genus. The Court further noted that functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus.
The instant case has many similarities to AbbVie above. First, the claims clearly attempt to define the genus of modified CXCL10 polypeptides by the functions of the binding to a CXCR3 receptor and/or inducing CD8+ T cells. As noted by AbbVie above, functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description. Second, there is no information in the specification based upon which one of skill in the art would conclude that the disclosed species for which applicant has identified as having the recited functions would be representative of the entire genus. The specification discloses no structure to correlate with the function. Therefore, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim.
Furthermore, regardless whether a compound is claimed per se or a method is claimed that entails the use of the compound, the inventor cannot lay claim to that subject matter unless he can provide a description of the compound sufficient to distinguish infringing compounds from non-infringing compounds, or infringing methods from non-infringing methods. Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920-23, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1890-93 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
Further, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Finally, University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that: ... To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using “such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1966.
Regarding the encompassed immunoglobulin molecules that are antibodies, the functional characteristics of antibodies (including binding specificity and affinity are dictated on their structure. Amino acid sequence and conformation of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. For example, Vajdos et al. (J Mol Biol. 2002 Jul 5;320(2):415-28 at 416) teaches that, “ … Even within the Fv, antigen binding is primarily mediated by the complementarity determining regions (CDRs), six hypervariable loops (three each in the heavy and light chains) which together present a large contiguous surface for potential antigen binding. Aside from the CDRs, the Fv also contains more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs and are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations, although in some cases, framework residues also contact antigen. As an important step to understanding how a particular antibody functions, it would be very useful to assess the contributions of each CDR side-chain to antigen binding, and in so doing, to produce a functional map of the antigen-binding site." The art shows an unpredictable effect when making single versus multiple changes to any given CDR. For example, Brown et al. (J Immunol. 1996 May;156(9):3285-91 at 3290 and Tables 1 and 2), describes how the VH CDR2 of a particular antibody was generally tolerant of single amino acid changes, however the antibody lost binding upon introduction of two amino changes in the same region.
The claims encompass an extremely large number of possible immunoglobulin molecules that have specific required functions. In the instant application, neither the art nor the specification provides a sufficient representative number of modified CXCL10 polypeptides or a sufficient structure-function correlation to meet the written description requirements.
Regarding the encompassed modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules that are proteins and peptides, protein chemistry is one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. This unpredictability prevents prediction of the effects that a given number or location of mutation will have on a protein (such as TNF or a cytokine) as taught by Skolnick et al. (Trends Biotechnol. 2000 Jan;18(1):34-9), sequence-based methods for predicting protein function are inadequate because of the multifunctional nature of proteins (see e.g. abstract). Further, just knowing the structure of the protein is also insufficient for prediction of functional sites (see e.g. abstract). Sequence to function methods cannot specifically identify complexities for proteins, such as gain and loss of function during evolution, or multiple functions possible within a cell (see e.g. page 34, right column). Skolnick advocates determining the structure of the protein, then identifying the functionally important residues since using the chemical structure to identify functional sites is more in line with how a protein actually works (see e.g. page 34, right column).
The sensitivity of proteins to alterations of even a single amino acid in a sequence are exemplified by Burgess et al. (J. Cell Biol. 111:2129-2138, 1990) who teach that replacement of a single lysine residing at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by glutamic acid led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein and by Lazar et al. (Mol. Cell. Biol., 8:1247-1252, 1988) who teach that in transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen. These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of a protein.
Further, Miosge (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2015 Sep 15;112(37):E5189-98) teach that Short of mutational studies of all possible amino acid substitutions for a protein, coupled with comprehensive
functional assays, the sheer number and diversity of missense mutations that are possible for proteins means that their functional importance must presently be addressed primarily by computational inference (see e.g. page E5189, left column). However, in a study examining some of these methods, Miosge shows that there is potential for incorrect calling of mutations (see e.g. page E5196, left column, top paragraph). The authors conclude that the discordance between predicted and actual effect of missense mutations creates the potential for many false conclusions in clinical settings where sequencing is performed to detect disease-causing mutations (see e.g. page E5195, right column, last paragraph). The findings in their study show underscore the importance of interpreting variation by direct experimental measurement of the consequences of a candidate mutation, using as sensitive and specific an assay as possible (see e.g. page E5197, left column, top paragraph). Additionally, Bork (Genome Research, 2000,10:398-400) clearly teaches the pitfalls associated with comparative sequence analysis for predicting protein function because of the known error margins for high-throughput computational methods. Bork specifically teaches that computational sequence analysis is far from perfect, despite the fact that sequencing itself is highly automated and accurate (p. 398, column 1). One of the reasons for the inaccuracy is that the quality of data in public sequence databases is still insufficient. This is particularly true for data on protein function. Protein function is context dependent, and both molecular and cellular aspects have to be considered (p. 398, column 2). Conclusions from the comparison analysis are often stretched with regard to protein products (p. 398, column 3). Further, although gene annotation via sequence database searches is already a routine job, even here the error rate is considerable (p. 399, column 2). Most features predicted with an accuracy of greater than 70% are of structural nature and, at best, only indirectly imply a certain functionality (see legend for table 1, page 399). As more sequences are added and as errors accumulate and propagate it becomes more difficult to infer correct function from the many possibilities revealed by database search (p. 399, paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). The reference finally cautions that although the current methods seem to capture important features and explain general trends, 30% of those features are missing or predicted wrongly. This has to be kept in mind when processing the results further (p. 400, paragraph bridging cols 1 and 2).
One key issue is the prediction of protein function based on sequence similarity, which could be one way to identify the functional proteins that are useful in the instant claims. Kulmanov et al (Bioinformatics, 34(4), 2018, 660–668), teach that there are key challenges for protein function prediction methods (see e.g. page 661, left column). These challenges arise from the difficulty identifying and accounting for the complex relationship between protein sequence structure and function (see e.g. page 661, left column). Despite significant progress in the past years in protein structure prediction, it still requires large efforts to predict protein structure with sufficient quality to be useful in function prediction (see e.g. page 661, left column). Another challenge is that proteins do not function in isolation. In particular higher level physiological functions that go beyond simple molecular interactions will require other proteins and cannot usually be predicted by considering a single protein in isolation (see e.g. page 661, left column). Due to these challenges, it is not obvious what kinds of features should be used to predict the functions of a protein and whether they can be generated efficiently for a large number of proteins, such as the vast genus of proteins and peptides that may be encompassed by the instant claims (see e.g. page 661, left column).
The state of the art regarding the structure-function correlation cannot be relied upon because functional characteristics of any peptide/protein are determined by its structure as evidenced by Greenspan et al. 1999 (Defining epitopes: It's not as easy as it seems; Nature Biotechnology, 17:936-937). Greenspan et al. teach that as little as one substitution of an amino acid (e.g. alanine) in a sequence results in unpredictable changes in the 3-dimenstional structure of the new peptide sequence which, in turn, results in changes in the functional activity such as binding affinity of the peptide sequence (page 936, 1st column). Greenspan et al. teach that contribution of each residue (i.e. each amino acid) cannot be estimated with any confidence if the replacement affects the properties of the free form of the molecule (page 936, 3rd column).
Given not only the teachings of Skolnick et al., Lazar et al., Burgess et al., and Greenspan et al., but also the limitations and pitfalls of using computational sequence analysis and the unknown effects of alternative splicing, post translational modification and cellular context on protein function as taught by Bork, the claimed modified CXCL10 polypeptides could not be predicted based on sequence identity. Clearly, it could not be predicted that a polypeptide or a variant that shares only partial homology with a disclosed protein or that is a fragment of a given SEQ ID NO. will function in a given manner.
The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art-recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function (see MPEP 2163). A patent specification must set forth enough detail to allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand what is claimed and to recognize that the inventor invented what is claimed. In the case of polypeptides, an adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention (see Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1566 (quoting Fiers, 984 F.2d 15 1171 ). Because the specification does not describe the amino acid sequences nor any core structures for potentially numerous different antibody amino acid sequences which would have the recited dissociation constant, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus of all modified CXCL10 polypeptides.
A key role played by the written description requirement is to prevent “attempt[s] to preempt the future before it has arrived.” Ariad at 1353, (quoting Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d at 1171). Upholding a patent drawn to a genus of antibodies that includes members not previously characterized or described could negatively impact the future development of species within the claimed genus of antibodies.
While "examples explicitly covering the full scope of the claim language" typically will not be required, a sufficient number of representative species must be included to "demonstrate that the patentee possessed the full scope of the [claimed] invention." Lizard tech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1345, 76 USPQ2d 1724,1732 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
In the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus. One of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that the applicant was in possession of the claimed modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules. Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features (see, Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916,927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1895 (Fed. Cir. 2004); accord Ex Parte Kubin, 2007-0819, BPAI 31 May 2007, opinion at p. 16, paragraph 1). The specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116).
Without an adequate structural description of the claimed components and descriptive support on how to put them together, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised that Applicant was in possession of the genus of modified CXCL10 polypeptides or immunoglobulin molecules as claimed. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) Enablement
Claims 3, 5-9, 12, 25, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
MPEP § 2164.01 states:
The standard for determining whether the specification meets the enablement
requirement was cast in the Supreme Court decision of Minerals Separation Ltd. v. Hyde, 242 U.S.
261, 270 (1916) which postured the question: is the experimentation needed to practice the
invention undue or unreasonable? That standard is still the one to be applied. In re Wands, 858
F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Accordingly, even though the statute does
not use the term "undue experimentation," it has been interpreted to require that the claimed
invention be enabled so that any person skilled in the art can make and use the invention without
undue experimentation. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence
to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether
any necessary experimentation is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content
of the disclosure.
In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). The factors most relevant for this rejection are: (A) the breadth of the claims; (B) the nature of the invention; (E) the level of predictability in the art; (F) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) the existence of working examples; and (H) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
In regard to Wands factors (A) and (B), the breadth of the claims needed to enable the invention
is determined by whether the scope of enablement provided to one skilled in the art by the disclosure is
commensurate with the scope of protection sought in the claims. AK Steel Corp. v. Sollac, 344 F.3d 1234, 1244, 68 USPQ2d 1280, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2003); In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1236, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971). The propriety of a rejection based upon the scope of a claim relative to the scope of the enablement concerns (1) how broad the claim is with respect to the disclosure and (2) whether one
skilled in the art could make and use the entire scope of the claimed invention without undue
experimentation.
The nature of the invention is a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified CXCL10 polypeptide comprising an insertion of an additional amino acid at the N-terminus thereof after removal of the signal peptide, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Therefore, the nature of the invention is a biochemical case, where there is natural unpredictability in performance of certain species other than those specifically enumerated; see MPEP § 2163. Accordingly, it is the Office’s position that undue experimentation would be required to practice the functionality of the claimed method, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would not be predictable from the disclosure of any one particular species may or may not work; see MPEP § 2164.03.
In regard to Wands factors (C), (D), and (E), the state of the prior art is what one skilled in the art would have known, at the time the application was filed, about the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains and provides evidence for the degree of predictability in the art; see MPEP § 2164.05(a). The claims encompass treating any cancer with any modified CXCL10 polypeptide. Further, the nature of the invention is drawn to preventing symptoms associated with cancer (see [00053]). Cancers are highly heterogeneous at both the molecular and clinical level. Additionally, it is known in the art that cancer cells arising from different tissues differ in etiology and response to treatment. Heppner et al. (Cancer Metastasis Review 2:5-23; 1983) discuss the heterogeneity of tumors from different tissues, as well as the same tissue. A key point made by Heppner et al. is that tumor heterogeneity contributes greatly to the sensitivity of tumors to drugs. Heppner et al. teach that as a tumor progresses to a metastatic phenotype, the susceptibility to a particular treatment can differ, and as such, makes predicting the responsiveness to treatment difficult.
Additionally, Bally et al. (US Patent No. 5,595,756A, publication date: 01/21/1997) stated, "Despite enormous investments of financial and human resources, no cure exists for a variety of diseases. For example, cancer remains one of the major causes of death. A number of bioactive agents have been found, to varying degrees, to be effective against tumor cells. However, the clinical use of such antitumor agents has been highly compromised because of treatment limiting toxicities (See column 1).
Sporn et al. (Chemoprevention of Cancer, Carcinogenesis, Vol. 21 (2000), 525-530) teaches the magnitude of mortality of cancers and that mortalities are in fact still rising and that new approaches to a variety of different cancer are critically needed. Sporn et al. also teach that “given the genotype and phenotype heterogeneity of advanced malignant lesions as they occur in individual patients, one wonders just exactly what are the specific molecular and cellular targets for the putative cure.”
Furthermore, the art indicates the difficulties in going from in vitro to in vivo for drug development for treatment of cancers. Auerbach et al. (Cancer and Metastasis Reviews, 2000, 19: 167-172) indicate that one of the major problems in angiogenesis research has been the difficulty of finding suitable methods for assessing the angiogenic response. For example, the 96 well rapid screening assay for cytokinesis was developed in order to permit screening of hybridoma supernatants…In vitro tests in general have been limited by the availability of suitable sources for endothelial cells, while in vivo assays have proven difficult to quantitate, limited in feasibility, and the test sites are not typical of the in vivo reality (see p. 167, left column, 1st paragraph).
Gura T (Science, 1997, 278(5340): 1041-1042, encloses 1-5) indicates that “the fundamental problem in drug discovery for cancer is that the model systems are not predictive at all” (see p. 1, 2nd paragraph). Furthermore, Gura indicates that the results of xenograft screening turned out to be not much better than those obtained with the original models, mainly because the xenograft rumors don’t behave like naturally occurring tumors in humans—they don’t spread to other tissues, for example (see p. 2, 4th paragraph). Further, when patient’s tumor cells in Petri dishes or culture flasks and monitor the cells’ responses to various anticancer treatments, they don’t work because the cells simply fail to divide in culture, and the results cannot tell a researcher how anticancer drugs will act in the body (see p. 3, 7th paragraph).
Furthermore, Jain RK (Scientific American, July 1994,58-65) indicates that the existing pharmacopoeia has not markedly reduced the number of deaths caused by the most common solid tumors in adults, among them cancers of the lung, breast, colon, rectum, prostate and brain (see p. 58, left most column, 1st paragraph). Further, Jain indicates that to eradicate tumors, the therapeutic agents must then disperse throughout the growths in concentrations high enough to eliminate every deadly cell…solid cancers frequently impose formidable barriers to such dispersion (see p. 58, bottom of the left most column continuing onto the top of the middle column). Jain indicates that there are 3 critical tasks that drugs must do to attack malignant cells in a tumor: 1) it has to make its way into a microscopic blood vessel lying near malignant cells in the tumor, 2) exit from the vessel into the surrounding matrix, and 3) migrate through the matrix to the cells. Unfortunately, tumors often develop in ways that hinder each of these steps (see p. 58, bottom of right most column). Thus, the art recognizes that going from in vitro studies to in vivo studies for cancer drug developments are difficult to achieve.
Hait (Nature Reviews/Drug Discovery, 2010, 9, pages 253-254) states that “The past three decades have seen spectacular advances in our understanding of the molecular and cellular biology of cancer. However, with a few notable exceptions, such as the treatment of chronic myeloid leukemia with imatinib, these advances have so far not been translated into major increases in long-term survival for many cancers. Furthermore, data suggest that the overall success rate for oncology products in clinical development is -10%, and the cost of bringing a new drug to market is over US$1 billion.” (see page 253, left column, the 1st paragraph). Hait further teaches “The anticancer drug discovery process often begins with a promising target; however, there are several reasons why the eventual outcome for a particular cancer target may be disappointing. For example, the role of the target in the pathogenesis of specific human malignancies may be incompletely understood, leading to disappointing results”, “First, many targets lie within signal transduction pathways that are altered in cancer, but, owing to the complex nature of these pathways, upstream or downstream components may make modulating the target of little or no value”; “Second, target overexpression is often overrated. There are some instances in which overexpression predicts response to treatment.”; and “Another confounding factor is that cancer is more than a disease of cancer cells, as alterations in somatic or germline genomes, or both, create susceptibilities to transformational changes in cells and in the microenvironment that ultimately cooperate to form a malignant tissue. The putative role of cancer stem cells in limiting the efficacy of cancer therapeutics is also an area of intense interest. Therefore, effective treatments may require understanding and disrupting the dependencies among the multiple cellular components of malignant tissues. Single nucleotide polymorphisms in genes responsible for drug metabolism can further complicate the picture by affecting drug pharmacokinetics; for example, as with the topoisomerase inhibitor irinotecan.”, for example, page 253, Section “Understanding the target in context”. Hait also teaches “Drug effects in preclinical cancer models often do not predict clinical results, as traditional subcutaneous xenografting of human cancer cell lines onto immunocompromised mice produces ‘tumors’ that fail to recapitulate key aspects of human malignancies such as invasion and metastasis. Several improvements have been made, including orthotopic implantation and use of mice with humanized hematopoietic and immune systems. Newer genetic mouse models can also allow analyses of tumor progression from in situ through locally advanced and, in certain cases, widespread metastatic disease. However, whether or not these models will more accurately predict drug activity against human cancer remains to be determined. Other alternatives, including three-dimensional tissue culture or xenografts of fresh human biopsy specimens onto immunocompromised mice, have the potential advantage of including the human microenvironment. However, these approaches have yet to prove their value relative to their cost.”, for example, page 253, Section “Predictive models”. Furthermore, Hait teaches that “It is now widely thought that biomarkers will drive a personalized approach to cancer drug development. The aim is that they will cut costs, decrease time to approval, and limit the number of patients who are exposed to potential toxicities without a reasonable chance of benefit — as exemplified by the development of imatinib and trastuzumab. However, recent attempts at repeating these successes in other cancer types have been less successful.”, for example, page 254, Section “Stratified/personalized medicine”.
The challenges facing cancer drug development are further confirmed and discussed in Gravanis et al. (Chin Clin Oncol, 2014, 3, pages 1 -5). Gravanis et al. teach “The generic mechanism of action for cytotoxics made the prediction of which tumor types might respond to them very difficult, if not impossible, and necessitated a ‘trial and error’ approach against many different types of tumors.” and “The most prominent change in oncology drug development in the last 20 years has been the shift from classic cytotoxics to drugs that affect signaling pathways implicated in cancer, which belong to the so called ‘targeted therapies’.”, for example, page 1, Section “From cytotoxics to targeted therapies: how far are we from truly personalized medicine?”. Gravanis et al. further teach “Although constantly progressing, an understanding of cancer biology is far from complete. The ability to develop new compounds or generate biological data predictive of the clinical situation relies on good quality basic research data, although the complexity and constantly evolving biology of the tumor may be to blame for the frequent non-reproducibility of research results. Systemic biology approaches of the -omic type still generate largely incomprehensible, mostly due to their volume, analytical data, few pieces of which are currently actionable/drug-g-able. Finally, animal models of cancer are similarly unable to predict the clinical situation (for example, page 3, right column, the 2nd paragraph).
With respect to prevention, Beans (PNAS 2018; 115(50): 12539-12543) teaches that across cancer types, 90% of cancer deaths are caused not by the primary tumor but by metastasis. Beans teaches that although some drugs may shrink metastases along with primary tumors, no existing drugs treat or prevent metastasis directly (See page 12540). Beans states “Without a targeted approach, metastatic tumors often reemerge. “We shrink them, we send them back to their residual state, and they reenact those survival functions and retention of regenerative powers that made them metastasis-initiating cells in the first place” (See page 12540). Beans teaches that one of the major scientific challenges of studying metastatic disease is that different forms of cancer seem to metastasize through different mechanisms and the same form of cancer may metastasize differently in different subsets of patients (See page 12542). Of note, Beans states “It’s unlikely that one researcher is going to find one pathway that proves to be the key to metastasis” (See page 12542). Beans also teaches that translating many findings into therapies also presents unique hurdles in that it is difficult to measure the effectiveness of the therapy. Secondary tumors are often minuscule, and therefore, measuring success by tumor shrinkage may not work. Measuring the incidence of metastasis after treatment is also more difficult (See page 12542).
Given Bally et al. teaching of treatment-limiting toxicities in clinical use; Sporn's teaching that the cancer progression is heterogeneous as it progresses, both in genotype and phenotype; Auerbach et al. teaching that one of the major problems in angiogenesis research has been the difficulty of finding suitable methods for assessing the angiogenic response; Gura's teaching that the models are unpredictable; Jain's teaching that the existing pharmacopoeia has not markedly reduced the number of deaths caused by the most common solid tumors in adults, among them cancers of the lung, breast, colon, rectum, prostate and brain; both Hait and Gravanis et al teaching various challenges facing cancer drug development, such as an understanding of cancer biology is far from complete, drug effects in preclinical cancer models often do not predict clinical results and many others; and Beans teachings that the field is highly underdeveloped with regards to preventing and treating cancer metastasis; the cited references demonstrate that the treatment of cancer is highly unpredictable, if even possible for many cancers. In conclusion, the art provides evidence that heterogeneity in cancers can display unpredictability in response to the same treatment.
In regard to Wands factors (F), (G) and (H), the amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The "amount of guidance or direction" refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast, if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech
Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The claims are drawn to a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified CXCL10 polypeptide comprising an insertion of an additional amino acid at the N-terminus thereof after removal of the signal peptide, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
The working examples provided by Applicant do not demonstrate a method of treating any cancer comprising administering a modified CXCL10 polypeptide, with the exception of melanoma with CXCL10-Ig. The working examples disclose that in melanoma mice models, murine CXCL10 and CXCL10-Ig directly suppressed tumor growth (see Examples 1 and 2). Additionally, Example 3 discloses that CXCL10-Ig based therapy induced CD8+ T cells; however, a significant reduction in the activity of tumor infiltrating and spleen CD8+ T cells at the level of IFN-γ, Granzyme-B, and TNF-α in these cells (see Figure 6). Example 5 further discloses that CD8+ T cells from CXCL10-Ig treated mice display augmented ex-vivo cytotoxic activity. Lastly, Example 6 discloses that administration of CXCL10-Ig to CXCR3KO mice reconstituted with CXCR3+ CD8+ T cells, but not from CXCR3KO lacking reconstitution, suppressed the development of the primary tumor (ret melanoma) as determined by the kinetics of tumor growth (see Figure 8A), and tumor weight measured on day 20 when the experiment was terminated (see Figure 8B).
Because the specification only studied mouse models of one type of cancer, one cannot assume that the method of treating a vast variety of cancers will work similarly to the mouse models provided in the specification. In the absence of empirical determination, one skilled in the art would be subjected to undue experimentation to determine if the claimed method of treating any other type of cancer would result in therapeutic response as recited in the claims.
Applicant is reminded that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”. See Genentech, 108 F.3d 1361, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
In view of all of the above, one of skill in the art would be forced into undue experimentation to practice the claimed invention, and thus, the claimed invention does not satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 first paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3, 5-6, 8, 12, 25, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al (WO 2020116498A1, publication date: 06/11/2020; English translation – US20220017585A1 provided) as evidenced by Liu et al (ONCOLOGY LETTERS 2: 583-589, 2011).
With respect to instant claims 3, 5, 12, 25, and 35, Yamamoto et al disclose of a CXCR3 ligand having DPPIV resistance and CXCR3-expressing cell migration activity, and specifically relates to the N-terminal amino acid modification and the N-terminal amino acid sequence that are important for DPPIV resistance and CXCR3-expressing cell migration activity (see Abstract). Specifically, Yamamoto et al disclose that the N-terminal amino acid modification includes an insertion between the signal sequence and human CXCL10 sequence (see FIG. 1B; [0209]). Yamamoto et al disclose that the insertion can be alanine (A), phenylalanine (F), glycine (G), histidine (H), isoleucine (I), lysine (K), leucine (L), methionine (M), asparagine (N), proline (P), glutamine (Q), arginine (R), serine (S), threonine (T), valine (V), tryptophan (W), or tyrosine (Y) (see [0342]; Table 2-1). The signal sequence can be MNQTAILICCLIFLTLSGIQG (SEQ ID NO: 83) which shares 100% identity with the signal sequences in instant SEQ ID Nos: 1-4 (see [0382]; see alignment below). Additionally, Yamamoto et al disclose that the modified CXCL10 can be formulated into a pharmaceutical composition to be used for treatment of a disease (see [0412]-[0422]). While Yamamoto et al does not disclose what diseases can be treated, it is known in the art that CXCL10 is associated with various human cancers as evidenced of Liu et al (see Table I).
With respect to instant claims 6 and 8, Yamamoto et al disclose that fusion proteins comprising the modified CXCL10 can be made. Specifically, Yamamoto et al disclose that a fusion protein in which an antibody (including the full-length antibody and antibody fragments), an antibody Fc region, or another type of protein such as albumin is fused to the C-terminus of the CXCL10 (see [0365]). Additionally, Yamamoto et al disclose that the fusion partner can be fused via a linker (see [0366]).
As such, the teachings of Yamamoto et al anticipates the present invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DANAYA L MIDDLETON/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674