DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the compound of claim 20 are insufficient in print quality. The office strongly suggest applicant not merely adjust the font but replace each compound with a newly drawn structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeon (KR 2021133693 A).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 9-19, Yeon teaches an OLED containing an anode; cathode; a light emitting layer provided between the anode and the cathode; and an organic material layer provided between the cathode and the light emitting layer, wherein the light emitting layer includes a compound of Formula 1 below, and the organic layer includes a compound of Formula 2 (abstract, machine trans). Formula 2 can be represented by Y-pg 80 (page 80):
Y-pg 80 reads on applicants’ Formula 1 wherein n11 = 1; X11 = methyl (per claims 17-18); L11= substituted phenylene (3-1), a11 = 1; A11 and A12 = substituted pyridine (per claims 1, 9, 13, 15-16, 19). Molecular weight ~ 516 (per claim 10).
A11 and A12 = substituted pyridine reading on applicants’ 2-3 and 2-13 wherein X21 = N; X22-X24; C (R21-R24 = H); X25 = CR25, R25 = substituted phenyl (per claims 11-12).
L11= substituted phenylene (3-1); b31 = 2; R31 = methyl (per claims 13-14).
The device can emit a blue color (machine trans. paragraph 211) (per claim 2)
Regarding Claims 3-6, Yeon teaches an OLED comprising an anode (2), a hole injection layer (5), a hole transport layer (6), a hole control layer (10), a light-emitting layer (7), an electron control layer (8), a layer (9) that simultaneously transports and injects electrons, and a cathode (4) are sequentially laminated on a substrate (1) (machine trans. paragraph 216) (machine trans. paragraph 216) (per claim 3).
The electron control layer (electron transport layer) can contain Formula 2 (machine trans. paragraph 212) (Y-pg 80) (per claim 4).
The electron control layer material can be 8-hydroxyquinolinato lithium (machine trans. paragraph 229) (per claim 5).
The office notes that 8-hydroxyquinolinato lithium is identical to applicants’ ET-D1 (specification page 68). Therefore, the refractive index and wavelength requirements are inherently met (per claim 6).
Regarding Claim 7, Yeon teaches an OLED wherein the anode is made from a metal (machine trans. paragraph 217) such as indium tin oxide (ITO (machine trans. paragraph 218) (known in the art to be a reflective material). The cathode can be made from MgAg structure (machine trans. paragraph 455) (known in the art to be a transmissive material) (per claim 7).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeon (KR 2021133693 A) in view of Seki (US 2013/0105785).
Regarding Claim 8, Yeon teaches the OLED of claim 1, but fails to mention an electron apparatus.
Seki teaches an image display apparatus including an organic light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor (TFT) device wherein the anode or a cathode of the organic light-emitting device is connected to a drain electrode or a source electrode of the TFT device. The thin-film transistor device serves as a device configured to apply an electrical current to the organic light-emitting device (paragraph 52).
As both Yeon and Seki teaches organic light-emitting devices and Seki teaches an organic light-emitting device configured in an electronic apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Yeon in known application areas which would have included in an electronic apparatus as taught by Seki which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to show the compounds of claim 20.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786