DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed November 21, 2025 on has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Action mailed July 25, 2025. Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 14, and 16-18 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 14, and 16-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (TW Publication No. 202143598) in view of Steinke (US Publication No. 2017/0049009) and Dawes (US Publication No. 2011/0203779).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a power control system (Figures 1-3, power control system 100), wherein the power control system (100) receives output voltages of a rack power supply (first power supply 10) and a module power supply (second power supply 20), the power control system (100) comprising: a first control module (first power supply unit 30) and a second control module (second power supply unit 40) that are operating in parallel (see Figure 3); wherein, the first control module (30) comprises: a first switching unit (32) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); a first voltage power input terminal 34) electrically connected to the first switching unit (32), wherein the first voltage 34) receives one or two of output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), and outputs at least one first voltage for the electrical equipment (200); and a first monitoring unit (36) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10), the module power supply (20), the first switching unit (32), and the first voltage 34); wherein, the first monitoring unit (36) detects the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the first monitoring unit (36) controls the first switching unit (32) to enable the first voltage 34) to receive only one of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), or to enable the first voltage 34) to receive both of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20) (see pages 2-4); the second control module (40) comprises: a second switching unit (second switching unit 42) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); a second voltage power input terminal 44) electrically connected to the second switching unit (42), wherein the second voltage 44) receives one or two of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), and outputs the at least one first voltage (to electrical equipment 200); and a second monitoring unit (second control unit 46) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10), the module power supply (20), the second switching unit (42), and the second voltage 44); wherein, the second monitoring unit (46) detects the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the second monitoring unit (46) controls the second switching unit (42) to enable the second voltage 44) to receive only one of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), or to enable the second voltage 44) to receive both of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20) (see pages 2-4).
Chen does not disclose wherein the power control system is a power control system of a rack heat-dissipation system, wherein the heat-dissipation system comprises a water circulation system for heat dissipation, a fan module for heat exchange with the water circulation system, and a motor module for driving the water circulation system, wherein the first voltage converting unit outputs at least one first voltage for the fan module and/or the motor module of the heat-dissipation system.
However, Steinke teaches wherein a power control system (Figure 2, PSU 26) is a power control system of a rack heat-dissipation system (Figures 1-4, CDU 40 of rack 10), wherein the heat-dissipation system (40) comprises a water circulation system (Figures 3 and 5, coolant circuit 80) for heat dissipation (see Figure 3 and Paragraphs [0020],[0028]-[0032]), a fan module (fans 42) for heat exchange with the water circulation system (80; see Figures 3 and 5), and a motor module (pump 48) for driving the water circulation system (see Figures 3 and 5).
Because Chen suggests the power control system can be applied to a variety of electronic components, including server related components (see bottom of page 3), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the server component of Chen for the server rack and CDU component of Steinke, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of supplying power to a common load. Doing so would have also established a thermally efficient server rack system (see Paragraph [0008] in Steinke) with a stable, redundant power supply/controller (see page 2 in Chen).
Chen in view of Steinke does not explicitly teach wherein the first voltage unit and second voltage unit are first voltage converting units and second voltage converting units; wherein the first voltage converting unit outputs the at least one first voltage and the second voltage; and wherein the first and second voltage converting units output the first voltage to the fan module of the heat-dissipation system, and output a second voltage to the motor module of the heat-dissipation system.
However, Dawes teaches a similar power control system (see Figures 1-2), comprising a control module (power control system 101) comprising: a rack power supply (power from port 104) and a module power supply (power from port 106); a voltage converting unit (power circuit 102), wherein the voltage converting unit (102) receives one or two of output voltages of the rack power supply (104) and the module power supply (106), and outputs the first voltage (from inverter E) to the fan module (fan 112) of the heat-dissipation system (see Figures 1-2), and the voltage converting unit (102) further outputs a second voltage (from inverter C) to the motor module (compressor motor D1 of compressor 110) of the heat-dissipation system; and a monitoring unit (control circuit 108) electrically connected to the rack power supply (104), the module power supply (106), and the voltage converting unit (102).
Because Chen and Steinke also teach drawing power from a common power supply within the rack (see page 3 in Chen; see Paragraph [0028] in Steinke), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the voltage converting units of Dawes to the voltage units of Chen as modified by Steinke, such that the first and second voltage converting units output at least one first voltage for the fan module (fan 42 in Steinke) and a second voltage to the motor module (pump 48 in Steinke) of the heat-dissipation system (see Figure 3 in Steinke). Doing so would have allowed the converters to supply the heat dissipation components (i.e. motor and fans) with power suitable for the specific components (see Paragraphs [0036]-[0039] in Dawes).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (TW Publication No. 202143598), Steinke (US Publication No. 2017/0049009), Dawes (US Publication No. 2011/0203779), and in further view of Umezawa (US Publication No. 2019/0157903).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Steinke and Dawes teaches the power control system of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the first monitoring unit detects the first voltage outputted by the first voltage converting unit, the first monitoring unit controls the first switching unit to enable the first voltage converting unit to stop receiving the output voltages of the rack power supply and the module power supply, so that the first voltage converting unit stops outputting the first voltage; and wherein the second monitoring unit detects the first voltage outputted by the second voltage converting unit, the second monitoring unit controls the second switching unit to enable the second voltage converting unit to stop receiving the output voltages of the rack power supply and the module power supply, so that the second voltage converting unit stops outputting the first voltage.
However, Umezawa teaches a power control system (see Figure 1), wherein a first monitoring unit (first controller 22) detects the first voltage outputted by the first voltage converting unit (first power converter 11; see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]), the first monitoring unit (first 22) controls a first switching unit (first switch 13) to enable the first voltage converting unit (first 11) to stop receiving the output voltages of a power supply (power supply 301), so that the first voltage converting unit (first 11) stops outputting the first voltage (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]); and wherein a second monitoring unit (second controller 22) detects the first voltage outputted by the second voltage converting unit (second power supply 301; see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]), the second monitoring unit (second 22) controls a second switching unit (second switch 13) to enable the second voltage converting unit (second power converter 11) to stop receiving the output voltages of a power supply (power supply 301), so that the second voltage converting unit (second 11) stops outputting the first voltage (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the bypass switch of Umezawa to the switching unit and monitoring unit of Chen as modified by Steinke and Dawes. Doing so would have protected the components connected to the power supply by ensuring an unsafe/ineffective power level was not supplied to the components when an abnormality or failure occurred in the power converters (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063] in Umezawa).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (TW Publication No. 202143598), Steinke (US Publication No. 2017/0049009), Dawes (US Publication No. 2011/0203779), and in further view of Che (US Publication No. 2017/0108903).
Regrading claim 6, Chen in view of Steinke and Dawes teaches the power control system of claim 1, but does not teach wherein a heat-dissipation system further comprises a heat-dissipation system detection module electrically connected to the first monitoring unit, the second monitoring unit, the fan module and the motor module; and when the heat-dissipation system detection module detects the fan module and/or the motor module, the first monitoring unit and the second monitoring unit respectively control the first voltage converting unit and the second voltage converting unit to stop outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage.
However, Che teaches wherein a heat-dissipation system comprises a heat-dissipation system detection module (temperature monitor 430) electrically connected to a first monitoring unit (communication component 420 of power supply 210-1), a second monitoring unit (communication component 420 of power supply 210-2, via path 224; see Figures 2-5), and a fan module (fans 232); and the heat-dissipation system detection module (530) detects the fan module (via control path 226), the first monitoring unit (420 of 210-1) and the second monitoring unit (420 of 210-2) respectively control the first voltage converting unit (first conversion unit 212) and the second voltage converting unit (second conversion unit 212) to stop outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage (Paragraphs [0038]-[0043], communication components 420 controlling power output by communicating temperature measurements to monitor 530, which shuts down power to fan 232 via switch 233).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat-dissipation system detection module of Che between the fan and motor modules and the monitoring units of Chen as modified by Steinke and Dawes. Doing so would have allowed the system to turn off the fans and motor in the case of an extreme temperature signal/fire to prevent the spread (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0043] in Che).
Claims 7, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (TW Publication No. 202143598) in view of Steinke (US Publication No. 2017/0049009), Dawes (US Publication No. 2011/0203779), Klikic (US Publication No. 2017/0265325), and Wang (US Publication No. 2017/0047772).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses a power supply system comprising: a rack power supply (10) for outputting an output voltage; a module power supply (20) 30) and a second control module (40) see Figure 3); wherein, the first control module (30) comprises: a first switching unit (32) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); a first voltage 34) electrically connected to the first switching unit (32), wherein the first voltage 34) receives one or two of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); and a first monitoring unit (36) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the first switching unit (32) and the first voltage 34); wherein, the first monitoring unit (36) detects the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the first monitoring unit (36) controls the first switching unit (32) to enable the first voltage 34) to receive either the output voltage of the rack power supply (10) or the output voltages of the module power supply (20), or to enable the first voltage 34) to receive all of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); the second control module (40) comprises: a second switching unit (42) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); a second voltage 44) electrically connected to the second switching unit (42), wherein the second voltage 44) receives one or two of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); and a second monitoring unit (46) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the second switching unit (42) and the second voltage 44); wherein, the second monitoring unit (46) detects the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the second monitoring unit (46) controls the second switching unit (42) to enable the second voltage 44) to receive either the output voltage of the rack power supply (10) or the output voltages of and the module power supply (20), or to enable the second voltage 44) to receive all of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20);
Chen does not disclose a power supply system applied to a rack with a heat- dissipation system, wherein the heat-dissipation system comprises a water circulation system for heat dissipation, a fan module for heat exchange with the water circulation system, and a motor module for driving the water circulation system, and the water circulation system, the fan module and the motor module are installed in the rack.
However, Steinke teaches wherein a power supply system (Figure 2, PSU 26) applied to a rack with a heat-dissipation system (Figures 1-4, CDU 40 of rack 10), wherein the heat-dissipation system (40) comprises a water circulation system (Figures 3 and 5, coolant circuit 80) for heat dissipation (see Figure 3 and Paragraphs [0020],[0028]-[0032]), a fan module (fans 42) for heat exchange with the water circulation system (80; see Figures 3 and 5), and a motor module (pump 48) for driving the water circulation system (see Figures 3 and 5); and the water circulation system (see Figures 3 and 5), the fan module (42), and the motor module (48) are installed in the rack (10).
Because Chen suggests the power control system can be applied to a variety of electronic components, including server related components (see bottom of page 3), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the server component of Chen for the server rack and CDU component of Steinke, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of supplying power to a common load. Doing so would have also established a thermally efficient server rack system (see Paragraph [0008] in Steinke) with a stable, redundant power supply/controller (see page 2 in Chen).
Chen in view of Steinke does not explicitly teach wherein the first voltage unit and second voltage unit are first voltage converting units and second voltage converting units; wherein the first voltage converting unit outputs the at least one first voltage and the second voltage; and wherein the first and second voltage converting units output the first voltage to the fan module of the heat-dissipation system, and output a second voltage to the motor module of the heat-dissipation system.
However, Dawes teaches a similar power control system (see Figures 1-2), comprising a control module (power control system 101) comprising: a rack power supply (power from port 104) and a module power supply (power from port 106); a voltage converting unit (power circuit 102), wherein the voltage converting unit (102) receives one or two of output voltages of the rack power supply (104) and the module power supply (106), and outputs the first voltage (from inverter E) to the fan module (fan 112) of the heat-dissipation system (see Figures 1-2), and the voltage converting unit (102) further outputs a second voltage (from inverter C) to the motor module (compressor motor D1 of compressor 110) of the heat-dissipation system; and a monitoring unit (control circuit 108) electrically connected to the rack power supply (104), the module power supply (106), and the voltage converting unit (102).
Because Chen and Steinke also teach drawing power from a common power supply within the rack (see page 3 in Chen; see Paragraph [0028] in Steinke), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the voltage converting units of Dawes to the voltage units of Chen as modified by Steinke, such that the first and second voltage converting units output at least one first voltage for the fan module (fan 42 in Steinke) and a second voltage to the motor module (pump 48 in Steinke) of the heat-dissipation system (see Figure 3 in Steinke). Doing so would have allowed the converters to supply the heat dissipation components (i.e. motor and fans) with power suitable for the specific components (see Paragraphs [0036]-[0039] in Dawes).
Chen in view of Steinke and Dawes does not teach wherein the module power supply comprises a first power supply and a second power supply, and each of the first power supply and the second power supply outputs an output voltage identical to the output voltage of the rack power supply.
However, Klikic teaches a rack power supply (shelf 14, including power supply unit 18) for outputting an output voltage (12.5 VDC), and a module power supply (shelf 16), wherein the module power supply (16) comprises a first power supply (first BBU 20) and a second power supply (second BBU 20), and each of the first power supply (first BBU 20) and the second power supply (second BBU 20) outputs an output voltage identical to the output voltage of the rack power supply (see Figures 3-4 and Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the power supply units of Chen as modified by Steinke and Dawes for the power supply units of Klikic according to know methods to yield the predictable results of supplying redundant power to components within a rack module (see Figures 1-4 in Klikic).
Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, and Klikic does not explicitly teach module power supply installed in the rack by hot-swapping; and a first control module and a second control module that are installed in the rack by hot-swapping.
However, Wang teaches a power modules (power modules 310) being installed in installed in a rack (rack 108) by hot-swapping (see Paragraph [0054]), and control module (controller 116) are installed in the rack by hot-swapping (see Paragraph [0054]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the module power supply and the first and second power control modules of Chen as modified by Steinke, Dawes, and Klikic to be hot swappable as taught in Wang. Doing so would have allowed the module power supply and first and second controllers to be replaced or upgraded without having the shut down the server rack (see Paragraph [0054] in Wang).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses a power supply system comprising: a rack power supply (10) for outputting an output voltage; a module power supply (20) 30) and a second control module (40) see Figure 3); wherein, the first control module (30) comprises: a first switching unit (32) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); a first voltage 34) electrically connected to the first switching unit (32), wherein the first voltage 34) receives one or two of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); and a first monitoring unit (36) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the first switching unit (32) and the first voltage 34); wherein, the first monitoring unit (36) detects the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the first monitoring unit (36) controls the first switching unit (32) to enable the first voltage 34) to receive either the output voltage of the rack power supply (10) or the output voltages of the module power supply (20), or to enable the first voltage 34) to receive all of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); the second control module (40) comprises: a second switching unit (42) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); a second voltage 44) electrically connected to the second switching unit (42), wherein the second voltage 44) receives one or two of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20); and a second monitoring unit (46) electrically connected to the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the second switching unit (42) and the second voltage 44); wherein, the second monitoring unit (46) detects the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20), the second monitoring unit (46) controls the second switching unit (42) to enable the second voltage 44) to receive either the output voltage of the rack power supply (10) or the output voltages of and the module power supply (20), or to enable the second voltage 44) to receive all of the output voltages of the rack power supply (10) and the module power supply (20);
Chen does not disclose a rack with a heat dissipation system comprising: a rack body; the heat-dissipation system comprising a water circulation system for heat dissipation, a fan module for heat exchange with the water circulation system, and a motor module for driving the water circulation system, and the water circulation system, the fan module and the motor module are installed in the rack body.
However, Steinke teaches disclose a rack with a heat dissipation system comprising: a rack body (rack 10); and the heat-dissipation system (Figures 1-4, CDU 40 of rack 10) comprising a water circulation system (Figures 3 and 5, coolant circuit 80) for heat dissipation (see Figure 3 and Paragraphs [0020],[0028]-[0032]), a fan module (fans 42) for heat exchange with the water circulation system (80; see Figures 3 and 5), and a motor module (pump 48) for driving the water circulation system (see Figures 3 and 5); and the water circulation system (see Figures 3 and 5), the fan module (42), and the motor module (48) are installed in the rack body (10).
Because Chen suggests the power control system can be applied to a variety of electronic components, including server related components (see bottom of page 3), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the server component of Chen for the server rack and CDU component of Steinke, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of supplying power to a common load. Doing so would have also established a thermally efficient server rack system (see Paragraph [0008] in Steinke) with a stable, redundant power supply/controller (see page 2 in Chen).
Chen in view of Steinke does not explicitly teach wherein the first voltage unit and second voltage unit are first voltage converting units and second voltage converting units; wherein the second voltage converting unit outputs the at least one first voltage and the second voltage; and wherein the first and second voltage converting units output the first voltage to the fan module of the heat-dissipation system, and output a second voltage to the motor module of the heat-dissipation system.
However, Dawes teaches a similar power control system (see Figures 1-2), comprising a control module (power control system 101) comprising: a rack power supply (power from port 104) and a module power supply (power from port 106); a voltage converting unit (power circuit 102), wherein the voltage converting unit (102) receives one or two of output voltages of the rack power supply (104) and the module power supply (106), and outputs the first voltage (from inverter E) to the fan module (fan 112) of the heat-dissipation system (see Figures 1-2), and the voltage converting unit (102) further outputs a second voltage (from inverter C) to the motor module (compressor motor D1 of compressor 110) of the heat-dissipation system; and a monitoring unit (control circuit 108) electrically connected to the rack power supply (104), the module power supply (106), and the voltage converting unit (102).
Because Chen and Steinke also teach drawing power from a common power supply within the rack (see page 3 in Chen; see Paragraph [0028] in Steinke), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the voltage converting unit of Dawes to the voltage units of Chen as modified by Steinke, such that the first and second voltage converting units output at least one first voltage for the fan module (fan 42 in Steinke) and a second voltage to the motor module (pump 48 in Steinke) of the heat-dissipation system (see Figure 3 in Steinke). Doing so would have allowed the converters to supply the heat dissipation components (i.e. motor and fans) with power suitable for the specific components (see Paragraphs [0036]-[0039] in Dawes).
Chen in view of Steinke and Dawes does not teach wherein the module power supply comprises a first power supply and a second power supply, and each of the first power supply and the second power supply outputs an output voltage identical to the output voltage of the rack power supply.
However, Klikic teaches a rack power supply (shelf 14, including power supply unit 18) for outputting an output voltage (12.5 VDC), and a module power supply (shelf 16), wherein the module power supply (16) comprises a first power supply (first BBU 20) and a second power supply (second BBU 20), and each of the first power supply (first BBU 20) and the second power supply (second BBU 20) outputs an output voltage identical to the output voltage of the rack power supply (see Figures 3-4 and Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the power supply units of Chen as modified by Steinke and Dawes for the power supply units of Klikic according to know methods to yield the predictable results of supplying redundant power to components within a rack module (see Figures 1-4 in Klikic).
Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, and Klikic does not explicitly teach module power supply installed in the rack by hot-swapping; and a first control module and a second control module that are installed in the rack by hot-swapping.
However, Wang teaches a power modules (power modules 310) being installed in installed in a rack (rack 108) by hot-swapping (see Paragraph [0054]), and control module (controller 116) are installed in the rack by hot-swapping (see Paragraph [0054]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the module power supply and the first and second power control modules of Chen as modified by Steinke, Dawes, and Klikic to be hot swappable as taught in Wang. Doing so would have allowed the module power supply and first and second controllers to be replaced or upgraded without having the shut down the server rack (see Paragraph [0054] in Wang).
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang teaches the rack of claim 12, further comprising a connector interface (power interposer board 47 in Steinke); fixed in the rack body (10; see Figure 3) for electrically connecting the first voltage converting unit (first PSU in Steinke; corresponding to 30 in Chen and first power module 310 in Wang), the second voltage converting unit (second PSU in Steinke; corresponding to 40 in Chen and second power module 310 in Wang), the fan module (24 in Steinke) and the motor module (48 in Steinke).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the interposer board of Steinke to the rack of Chen as previously modified by Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang. Doing so would have provided a single substrate by which power and data could be transferred/communicated between the modular components within the rack (see Paragraphs [0031] in Steinke).
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (TW Publication No. 202143598), Steinke (US Publication No. 2017/0049009), Dawes (US Publication No. 2011/0203779), Klikic (US Publication No. 2017/0265325), Wang (US Publication No. 2017/0047772), and in further view of Umezawa (US Publication No. 2019/0157903).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang teaches the power supply system of claim 7, but does not teach wherein the first monitoring unit detects the first voltage and/or the second voltage outputted by the first voltage converting unit, the first monitoring unit controls the first switching unit to enable the first voltage converting unit to stop receiving the output voltages of the rack power supply and the module power supply, so that the first voltage converting unit stops outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage; and wherein the second monitoring unit detects the first voltage and/or the second voltage outputted by the second voltage converting unit, the second monitoring unit controls the second switching unit to enable the second voltage converting unit to stop receiving the output voltages of the rack power supply and the module power supply, so that the second voltage converting unit stops outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage.
However, Umezawa teaches a power control system (see Figure 1), wherein a first monitoring unit (first controller 22) detects the first voltage outputted by the first voltage converting unit (first power converter 11; see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]), the first monitoring unit (first 22) controls a first switching unit (first switch 13) to enable the first voltage converting unit (first 11) to stop receiving the output voltages of a power supply (power supply 301), so that the first voltage converting unit (first 11) stops outputting the first voltage (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]); and wherein a second monitoring unit (second controller 22) detects the first voltage outputted by the second voltage converting unit (second power supply 301; see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]), the second monitoring unit (second 22) controls a second switching unit (second switch 13) to enable the second voltage converting unit (second power converter 11) to stop receiving the output voltages of a power supply (power supply 301), so that the second voltage converting unit (second 11) stops outputting the abnormal first voltage (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the bypass switch of Umezawa to the switching unit and monitoring unit of Chen as modified by Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang. Doing so would have protected the components connected to the power supply by ensuring an unsafe/ineffective power level was not supplied to the components when an abnormality or failure occurred in the power converter (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063] in Umezawa).
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang teaches the rack of claim 12, but does not teach wherein the first monitoring unit detects the first voltage and/or the second voltage outputted by the first voltage converting unit, the first monitoring unit controls the first switching unit to enable the first voltage converting unit to stop receiving the output voltages of the rack power supply and the module power supply, so that the first voltage converting unit stops outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage; and wherein the second monitoring unit detects the first voltage and/or the second voltage outputted by the second voltage converting unit, the second monitoring unit controls the second switching unit to enable the second voltage converting unit to stop receiving the output voltages of the rack power supply and the module power supply, so that the second voltage converting unit stops outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage.
However, Umezawa teaches a power control system (see Figure 1), wherein a first monitoring unit (first controller 22) detects the first voltage outputted by the first voltage converting unit (first power converter 11; see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]), the first monitoring unit (first 22) controls a first switching unit (first switch 13) to enable the first voltage converting unit (first 11) to stop receiving the output voltages of a power supply (power supply 301), so that the first voltage converting unit (first 11) stops outputting the first voltage (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]); and wherein a second monitoring unit (second controller 22) detects the first voltage outputted by the second voltage converting unit (second power supply 301; see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]), the second monitoring unit (second 22) controls a second switching unit (second switch 13) to enable the second voltage converting unit (second power converter 11) to stop receiving the output voltages of a power supply (power supply 301), so that the second voltage converting unit (second 11) stops outputting the abnormal first voltage (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the bypass switch of Umezawa to the switching unit and monitoring unit of Chen as modified by Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang. Doing so would have protected the components connected to the power supply by ensuring an unsafe/ineffective power level was not supplied to the components when an abnormality or failure occurred in the power converter (see Paragraphs [0060]-[0063] in Umezawa).
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (TW Publication No. 202143598), Steinke (US Publication No. 2017/0049009), Dawes (US Publication No. 2011/0203779), Klikic (US Publication No. 2017/0265325), Wang (US Publication No. 2017/0047772), and in further view of Che (US Publication No. 2017/0108903).
Regrading claim 11, Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang teaches the power supply system of claim 7, but does not teach wherein a heat-dissipation system further comprises a heat-dissipation system detection module electrically connected to the first monitoring unit, the second monitoring unit, the fan module and the motor module; and when the heat-dissipation system detection module detects that the fan module and/or the motor module, the first monitoring unit and the second monitoring unit respectively control the first voltage converting unit and the second voltage converting unit to stop outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage.
However, Che teaches wherein the heat-dissipation system comprises a heat-dissipation system detection module (temperature monitor 430) electrically connected to a first monitoring unit (communication component 420 of power supply 210-1), a second monitoring unit (communication component 420 of power supply 210-2, via path 224; see Figures 2-5), a fan module (fans 232); and when the heat-dissipation system detection module (530) detects the fan module (via control path 226) and/or the motor module, the first monitoring unit (420 of 210-1) and the second monitoring unit (420 of 210-2) respectively control the first voltage converting unit (first conversion unit 212) and the second voltage converting unit (second conversion unit 212) to stop outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage (Paragraphs [0038]-[0043], communication components 420 controlling power output by communicating temperatures measurements to monitor 530, which shuts down power to fan 232 via switch 233).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat-dissipation system detection module of Che between the fan and motor modules and the monitoring units of Chen as modified by Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang. Doing so would have allowed the system to turn off the fans in the case of an extreme temperature signal/fire to prevent the spread (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0043] in Che).
Regrading claim 16, Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang teaches the rack of claim 12, but does not teach wherein a heat-dissipation system further comprises a heat-dissipation system detection module electrically connected to the first monitoring unit, the second monitoring unit, the fan module and the motor module; and when the heat-dissipation system detection module detects that the fan module and/or the motor module, the first monitoring unit and the second monitoring unit respectively control the first voltage converting unit and the second voltage converting unit to stop outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage.
However, Che teaches wherein the heat-dissipation system comprises a heat-dissipation system detection module (temperature monitor 530) electrically connected to a first monitoring unit (communication component 420 of power supply 210-1), a second monitoring unit (communication component 420 of power supply 210-2, via path 224; see Figures 2-5), a fan module (fans 232); and when the heat-dissipation system detection module (530) detects the fan module (via control path 226) and/or the motor module, the first monitoring unit (420 of 210-1) and the second monitoring unit (420 of 210-2) respectively control the first voltage converting unit (first conversion unit 212) and the second voltage converting unit (second conversion unit 212) to stop outputting the first voltage and/or the second voltage (Paragraphs [0038]-[0043], communication components 420 controlling power output by communicating temperatures measurements to monitor 530, which shuts down power to fan 232 via switch 233).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat-dissipation system detection module of Che between the fan and motor modules and the monitoring units of Chen as modified by Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, and Wang. Doing so would have allowed the system to turn off the fans in the case of an extreme temperature signal/fire to prevent the spread (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0043] in Che).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (TW Publication No. 202143598), Steinke (US Publication No. 2017/0049009), Dawes (US Publication No. 2011/0203779), Klikic (US Publication No. 2017/0265325), Wang (US Publication No. 2017/0047772), Che (US Publication No. 2017/0108903), and in further view of Ingalz (US Publication No. 2017/0339804).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, Wang, and Che teach the rack of claim 16, and further teaches (in Che) wherein the heat-dissipation system further comprises a heat-dissipation system control module (fan control 234) electrically connected to the heat-dissipation system detection module (temperatures monitor 530), the motor module (232 in Che, corresponding to 48 in Steinke) and the fan module (48 in Steinke); and further suggests when the heat-dissipation system detection module (530) detects that a temperature (temperatures 510, 520) in the rack body (chassis 110, corresponding to rack 10 in Steinke) is greater than a preset value, the heat-dissipation system control module (234) controls the fan module (232) and/or the motor module to increase a rotation speed of the fan module (232; see Paragraphs [0027]-[0028]) and/or a rotation speed of the motor module.
However, Ingalz explicitly teaches when a heat-dissipation system detection module (Paragraphs [0051] temperature sensor) detects that a temperature in the rack body (rack 100) is greater than a preset value, the heat-dissipation system control module (host 501) controls the fan module (fan motor 505) and/or the motor module to increase a rotation speed of the fan module (505; see Paragraphs [0051]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat-dissipation system control module of Chen in view of Steinke, Dawes, Klikic, Wang, and Che to increase the speed of the fan based on a temperature measurement as taught in Ingalz. Doing so would have increased the cooling efficiency of the heat dissipation system (see Paragraph [0051] in Ingalz).
Conclusion
/GAGE CRUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc