Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/20/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Patent Pub 20240047455 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US Patent Pub 20200343241 A1, hereafter referred to as Wu 241).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a top layer comprising a first top field effect transistor (FET) (Li, fig. 1, the top layer is the top half of the device comprising first top FET 104B (see annotated figure below));
a bottom layer disposed beneath the top layer, wherein the bottom layer comprises a first bottom TFET (Li, fig. 1, the bottom layer is the bottom half of the device comprising first bottom FET 106B (see annotated figure below));
a first backside contact that wires, through a local interconnect, a top source/drain (S/D) epitaxial (epi) of the first bottom FET to a backside interconnect (Li, fig. 1, a first backside contact 114(11)/136(2)/114(10) that wires, through a local interconnect 114(11), a left source/drain (S/D) epitaxial (epi) SD1-LB1 of the first bottom FET 106B to a backside interconnect 136(2)/114(10))
and a first frontside contact that wires, through a first backside contact and a first local interconnect, a bottom source/drain (S/D) epitaxial (epi) of the first bottom FET to a back end of line (BEOL) interconnect (Li, fig. 1, first frontside contact 114(12)/136(3)/114(8) that wires a bottom source/drain (s/D) epi SD1-LB2 of the first bottom FET 106B to a BEOL interconnect 120(6) through a first backside contact 136(3)/114(8) and a first local interconnect 114(12)).
Li fails to teach the semiconductor device comprising vertical-transport field effect transistors (VTFET) and instead the embodiments utilize a complimentary (CMOS) field-effect transistor (CFET) structure.
However, Wu 241 teaches a semiconductor device comprising stacked VTFETs (Wu 241, Fig. 12 and Abstract teach the semiconductor device is comprised of stacked VTFETs). The background of Li discloses a variety of transistors as being interchangeable in devices with a high level of performance (Li, paragraph 0002). Additionally, cited reference Wu 019 (US patent pub 20220393019 A1, referred to as Wu 019, paragraph 0028) teaches CMOS FETS can be interchangeable in semiconductor devices with VTFETS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu 241 into the method of Li by forming the semiconductor device with stacked VTFETs. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Li in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing the VTFETs to provide higher density scaling and allow for relaxed gate lengths to better control device electrostatics, without sacrificing the gate contact pitch size (Wu 241, paragraph 0002). Additionally, art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine the VTFETS of Wu 241 in place of other transistor arrangements for at least the purpose of providing higher density scaling as described above (see MPEP 2144.07).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as applied above.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) attached herewith.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899