DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 11 February 2026 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1, 14, and 17 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 11 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue in the fourth and fifth paragraphs of page 10 and with respect to claim 1 (and similarly with respect to independent claim 17) that Nakatani does not teach the newly-recited subject matter whereby “a second pair of adjacent first color filters in the first direction is connected to each other across a region adjacent in the second direction to one of the plurality of second dam patterns.” Specifically, Applicants argue that the light emitting areas illustrated by Nakatani’s Figs. 2A-2C “are not connected to one another in the finalized display panel.” Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. MPEP §2145(VI). As this principle applies to the present circumstance, claim 1 does not recite that the color filters (e.g., Nakatani’s light-emitting areas) are connected to one another in the finalized display panel. Regarding the newly-added subject matter of claim 1, Nakatani teaches in Figs. 8A-8D (which are applied in the current rejection of claim1, rather than Figs. 2A-2C) a second pair of adjacent first color filters (adjacent pair of 104Bs) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) is connected to each other across a region adjacent in the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A) to one of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) {Figs. 8A, 8D; ¶0155}.
Applicants argue in the second and penultimate paragraphs of page 11 and with respect to claim 14 that Nakatani does not teach the newly-recited subject matter whereby “each of the plurality of first dam patterns has a thickness in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction that is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of color filters.” Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. MPEP §2143.01. As this principle applies to the present circumstance, Nakatani teaches in Figs. 1A-1D that each of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C) has a thickness in a third direction (vertical in Figs. 1B-1D) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical of Fig. 1A) and the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 1A) that is greater than a thickness of each of a plurality of color filters (104s). The motivation for combining this teaching with those of Kim is identified below with respect to the rejection of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 12, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatani et al. (US20210167147A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakatani teaches in Figs. 8A-8D a display apparatus comprising:
a plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8B) extending in a first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A), the plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8B) spaced apart from each other in a second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A) that is different from the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) {¶0052};
a first pixel column (column of 104B) including a plurality of first pixel areas (pixel areas corresponding to 104Bs) between the plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8B), the plurality of first pixel areas (pixel areas corresponding to 104Bs) arranged along the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) between the plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8B) {¶0052};
a plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8Cs) between the plurality of first pixel areas (pixel areas corresponding to 104Bs), the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) extending in the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A); and
a plurality of first color filters (104Bs) between the plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8B) and the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C ) {¶0165, 0166; ¶0166, the [l]ight emitting device … made of the above material functions as a color conversion device; ¶0008, the photoluminescent material [104] is used as a color filter}, and
wherein a second pair of adjacent first color filters (adjacent pair of 104Bs) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) is connected to each other across a region adjacent in the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A) to one of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) {Figs. 8A, 8D; ¶0155}.
Nakatani does not teach in the embodiment illustrated by Figs. 8A-8D:
a plurality of first dam patterns between the plurality of first pixel areas, the plurality of first dam patterns extending in the second direction;
each of the plurality of second dam patterns having a length that is less than a length of each of the plurality of first dam patterns;
a plurality of first color filters between the plurality of first separation dams (103s) and the plurality of first dam patterns; and
each of the plurality of first dam patterns includes a first end that is in contact with one first separation dam from a pair of adjacent first separation dams in the second direction and a second end that is in contact with the other first separation dam from the pair of adjacent first separation dams, such that a first pair of adjacent first color filters in the first direction is separated by one of the plurality of first dam patterns.
In an embodiment illustrated by Figs. 9A-9C, Nakatani teaches:
a plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C) between a plurality of first pixel areas (pixel areas corresponding to 104Bs), the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C) extending in a second direction (horizontal of Fig. 9A) {Fig. 9A; ¶0079, 0159, 0160};
each of a plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C/9C) having a length that is less than a length of each of a plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C) {Fig. 9C; ¶0159, 0160};
a plurality of first color filters (104Bs) between the plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8B/9B) and the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C) {Figs. 9A, 9C; ¶0159, 0160}; and
each of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C) includes a first end that is in contact with one first separation dam (103 of Fig. 9B) from a pair of adjacent first separation dams (rightmost adjacent 103s of Fig. 9B) in the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 9A) and a second end that is in contact with the other first separation dam (103 of Fig. 9B) from the pair of adjacent first separation dams (rightmost adjacent 103s of Fig. 9B), such that a first pair of adjacent first color filters (104Bs) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 9A) is separated by one of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C) {¶0159, 0160}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakatani’s display apparatus based on the further teachings of Nakatani, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because Nakatani teaches in: (1) paragraph [0155] that the embodiment of Figs. 8A-8D may be limited to interconnecting fewer than all of the pixel areas (e.g., areas of first color filters) disposed in a column and (2) paragraph [0079] that a non-uniformity of ink thicknesses constituting the light-emitting layers (e.g., first color filters) results from a convection of ink solute during the drying of the ink that causes the ink solute to move between interconnected pixel areas (e.g., areas of first color filters) toward peripheral ones of the interconnected pixel areas (e.g., areas of first color filters). Accordingly, by reducing the number of interconnected pixel areas (e.g., areas of first color filters) to fewer than all within a column, as in the modification discussed above, a concomitant reduction in non-uniformity of ink thicknesses constituting the light-emitting layers (e.g., first color filters) is obtained.
Regarding claim 2, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, and Nakatani further teaches wherein an end portion of each of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) is between the plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 3, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, and Nakatani further teaches further comprising:
a plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 1) between the plurality of first pixel areas (pixel areas corresponding to 104Bs), each of the plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 1) having a length that is less than the length of each of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C within modified structure identified with respect to claim 1),
wherein an end portion of each of the plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 1) extends in a direction along the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A) that is opposite to a direction of extension of an end portion of each of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C identified with respect to claim 1) {the direction of extension may be chosen to start from different ends with respect to each of the second dam pattern and the third dam pattern}.
Regarding claim 4, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, and Nakatani further teaches wherein a third dam pattern (different 103 of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 1) from the plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 1) is between a first dam pattern (102 of Fig. 9C within modified structure identified with respect to claim 1) from the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C within modified structure identified with respect to claim 1) and a second dam pattern (103 of Fig. 8C identified with respect to claim 1) from the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C identified with respect to claim 1) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) {the modification of claim 1 was such that the first dam patterns were disposed near a periphery of a column; thus, some of the dam patterns within Fig. 8A disposed directly between vertically adjacent 104s may be characterized as second dam patterns and others may be characterized as third dam patterns, with the third dam patterns being those disposed between the first dam patterns and the second dam patterns}.
Regarding claim 5, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, and Nakatani further teaches wherein a length of each of the plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 1) in the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A) is a same as the length of each of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C identified with respect to claim 1) in the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 6, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, and Nakatani further teaches wherein a width of each of the plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 1) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) is a same as a width of each of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C identified with respect to claim 1) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 7, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, and Nakatani further teaches wherein the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C within modified structure identified with respect to claim 1), the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C identified with respect to claim 1), and the plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 1) are alternately arranged in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) {the modification of claim 1 was such that the first dam patterns were disposed near a periphery of a column; thus, some of the dam patterns within Fig. 8A disposed directly between vertically adjacent 104s may be characterized as second dam patterns and others may be characterized as third dam patterns, with the third dam patterns being those disposed between the first dam patterns and the second dam patterns; accordingly, the three groups of patterns are alternately arranged}.
Regarding claim 8, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, and Nakatani further teaches wherein the plurality of first pixel areas (pixels areas corresponding to 104Bs) display a same color (blue) {¶0027}.
Regarding claim 11, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, and Nakatani further teaches wherein a thickness of each of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) is less than a thickness of each of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C within modified structure identified with respect to claim 1) {see Examiner’s Note below}.
Examiner’s Note: Claim 11 recites “a thickness” for each of the first and second dam patterns, not the “maximum thickness.” Additionally, Nakatani’s first and second dam patterns each has inclined side surfaces. Thus, a particular thickness (e.g., height) of each Nakatani’s first and second dam patterns is determined by (e.g., as a function of) the location along the axis where it is measured. Accordingly, the location at which the height for each of Nakatani’s first and second dam patterns is measured may be selected such that a thickness of each of the plurality of second dam patterns is less than a thickness of each of the plurality of first dam patterns.
Regarding claim 12, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 11, and Nakatani further teaches wherein each of the plurality of first color filters (104Bs) has a thickness that is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) {see Examiner’s Note below}.
Examiner’s Note: the Examiner’s Note provided with respect to claim 11 applies similarly to the thicknesses of the color filters and dam patterns recited in claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, Nakatani teaches in Figs. 8A-8D a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (101) {¶0052};
a pair of first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8B) on the substrate (101), the pair of first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8B) extending in a first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) and spaced apart from each other in a second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A) that is different from the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) {¶0052};
a plurality of second separation dams (103s of Fig. 8C) between the pair of the first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8B), each of the plurality of second separation dams (103s of Fig. 8C) extending between the pair of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8C) {¶0079};
a plurality of pixel areas (areas of 104Bs) arranged in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) and configured to emit a same color of light (B), each pixel area (area of 104B) from the plurality of pixel areas (areas of 104Bs) between a corresponding portion of the pair of first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8B) and a pair of second separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8C) from the plurality of second separation dams (103s of Fig. 8C) {¶0079}; and
a plurality of color filters (104Bs) on the plurality of pixel areas (areas of 104Bs) {¶0052; ¶0166, the [l]ight emitting device … made of the above material functions as a color conversion device; ¶0008, the photoluminescent material [104] is used as a color filter},
wherein the plurality of second separation dams (103s of Fig. 8C) include:
a plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C), each second dam pattern (103 of Fig. 8C) from the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) including a first end (left end in Fig. 8A) that is connected to the one first separation dam (leftmost of adjacent 103s) from the pair of first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8B) and a second end (right end in Fig. 8A) that is not connected to the other first separation dam (rightmost of adjacent 103s) from the pair of first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8B), and
wherein each of the plurality of color filters (104Bs) is in contact with the pair of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 8B) and at least one second dam pattern (103 of Fig. 8C) from the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C);
wherein a second pair of adjacent first color filters (104Bs) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) is connected to each other across a region adjacent in the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A) to one of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C).
Nakatani does not teach in the embodiment illustrated by Figs. 8A-8D the plurality of second separation dams include: a plurality of first dam patterns, each first dam pattern from the plurality of first dam patterns including a first end that is connected to one first separation dam from the pair of adjacent first separation dams in the second direction and a second end that is connected to another first separation dam from the pair of adjacent first separation dams, such that a first pair of adjacent color filters in the first direction is separated by one of the plurality of first dam patterns; and each of the plurality of color filters is in contact with at least one first dam pattern from the plurality of first dam patterns.
In an embodiment illustrated by Figs. 9A-9C, Nakatani teaches:
a plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C), each first dam pattern (102 of Fig. 9C) from a plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C) including a first end that is connected to one first separation dam (103 of Fig. 9B) from a pair of adjacent first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 9B) in the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 9A) and a second end that is connected to another first separation dam (103 of Fig. 9B) from the pair of adjacent first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 9B), such that a first pair of adjacent color filters (104Bs) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 9A) is separated by one of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C); and each of a plurality of color filters (104Bs) is in contact with at least one first dam pattern (102 of Fig. 9C) from the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakatani’s display apparatus based on the further teachings of Nakatani, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because Nakatani teaches in: (1) paragraph [0155] that the embodiment of Figs. 8A-8D may be limited to interconnecting fewer than all of the pixel areas (e.g., areas of first color filters) disposed in a column and (2) paragraph [0079] that a non-uniformity of ink thicknesses constituting the light-emitting layers (e.g., first color filters) results from a convection of ink solute during the drying of the ink that causes the ink solute to move between interconnected pixel areas (e.g., areas of first color filters) toward peripheral ones of the interconnected pixel areas (e.g., areas of first color filters). Accordingly, by reducing the number of interconnected pixel areas (e.g., areas of first color filters) to fewer than all within a column, as in the modification discussed above, a concomitant reduction in non-uniformity of ink thicknesses constituting the light-emitting layers (e.g., first color filters) is obtained. For an instance of greater uniformity of ink thickness, the first dam patterns may be interleaved with some number N {N=1,2, 3, etc.) of second dam patterns. In this instance, the two color filters (e.g., plurality of color filters) on opposite sides of the first dam pattern in the vertical direction of Nakatani’s modified Fig. 8A would each be in contact with both a first dam pattern and a second dam pattern.
Regarding claim 19, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 17, and Nakatani further teaches wherein a width of each of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s of Fig. 9C within modified structure identified with respect to claim 17) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) is a same as a width of each of the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 8A) {see Examiner’s Note below}.
Examiner’s Note: Claim 19 recites “a width” for each of the first and second dam patterns, not the “maximum width.” Thus, a particular width of each Nakatani’s first and second dam patterns is determined by (e.g., as a function of) the location along the axis where it is measured. Accordingly, the location at which the width for each of Nakatani’s first and second dam patterns is measured may be selected such that a width of each of the plurality of second dam patterns is the same width of each of the plurality of first dam patterns.
Regarding claim 20, Nakatani teaches the display apparatus according to claim 17, and Nakatani further teaches wherein the plurality of second separation dams (103s of Fig. 8C) further include:
a plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 17) between the plurality of pixel areas (pixel areas corresponding to 104Bs), each third dam pattern (different 103 of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 17) from the plurality of third dam patterns (DP3s) (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 17) including a first end that is connected to one of the pair of first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8B) and a second end that is not connected to another one of the pair of first separation dams (adjacent 103s of Fig. 8B),
wherein the second end of each third dam pattern (different 103 of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 17) extends in a direction along the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 8A) that is opposite to a direction of extension of the second end of each second dam pattern (103 of Fig. 8C) {the direction of extension may be chosen to start from different ends with respect to each of the second dam pattern and the third dam pattern}}, and
wherein a length of a second dam pattern (103 of Fig. 8C) from the plurality of second dam patterns (103s of Fig. 8C) is different from a length of a third dam pattern (different 103 of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 17) from the plurality of third dam patterns (different 103s of Fig. 8C than the second dam patterns identified with respect to claim 17) {see Examiner’s Note}.
Examiner’s Note: Claim 20 recites “a length” for each of the second and third dam patterns, not the “maximum length.” Thus, a particular length of each Nakatani’s second and third dam patterns is determined by (e.g., as a function of) the location along the axis where it is measured. Accordingly, the location at which the length for each of Nakatani’s first and second dam patterns is measured may be selected such that a length of each of the plurality of second dam patterns is the same length width of each of the plurality of third dam patterns.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US20230263034A1) in view of Nakatani.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches in Fig. 4 a display apparatus comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting devices (ED1, ED2) on a device substrate (110) {¶0091, 0135};
an encapsulating layer (170) on the plurality of light-emitting devices (ED1, ED2) {¶0180};
a plurality of separating dams (310) on the encapsulating layer (170) {¶0192}; and
a plurality of color filters (340, 350) between the plurality of separating dams (310), the plurality of color filters (340, 350) overlapping the plurality of light-emitting devices (ED1, ED2) {¶0192}.
Kim does not teach:
the plurality of separating dams including a plurality of first separation dams extending in a first direction and a plurality of second separation dams extending in a second direction that is different from the first direction, the plurality of second separation dams between the plurality of first separation dams,
wherein each of a plurality of regions defined by the plurality of first separation dams and the plurality of second separation dams is filled by one of the plurality of color filters,
wherein the plurality of second separation dams include a plurality of first dam patterns and a plurality of second dam patterns between the plurality of first dam patterns in the first direction,
wherein each of the plurality of first dam patterns has a thickness in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction that is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of color filters, and each of the plurality of second dam patterns has a thickness that is less than the thickness of each of the plurality of first dam patterns.
In an analogous art, Nakatani teaches in Figs. 1A-1D:
a plurality of separating dams (102s, 103s) including a plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 1B) extending in a first direction (vertical of Fig. 1A) and a plurality of second separation dams (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C, 1D) extending in a second direction (horizontal of Fig. 1A) that is different from the first direction (vertical of Fig. 1A), the plurality of second separation dams (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C, 1D) between the plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 1B) {¶0078},
wherein each of a plurality of regions (regions of 104s) defined by the plurality of first separation dams (103s of Fig. 1B) and the plurality of second separation dams (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C, 1D) is filled by one of the plurality of color filters (104s),
wherein the plurality of second separation dams (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C, 1D) include a plurality of first dam patterns (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C) and a plurality of second dam patterns (102s of Fig. 1D) between the plurality of first dam patterns (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C) in the first direction (vertical of Fig. 1A) (¶0078; the second dam patterns may be selected so as to be disposed between first dam patterns in the vertical direction; also, see Examiner’s Note 1 below regarding “between”},
wherein each of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C) has a thickness in a third direction (vertical in Figs. 1B-1D) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical of Fig. 1A) and the second direction (horizontal of Fig. 1A) that is greater than a thickness of each of a plurality of color filters (104s), and each of the plurality of second dam patterns (102s of Fig. 1D) has a thickness that is less than the thickness of each of the plurality of first dam patterns (102s, 103s of Figs. 1C) {Figs. 1A-1C; and see Examiner’s Note 2 below; ¶0079, ¶0008, the photoluminescent material [104] is used as a color filter}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s display apparatus based on the teachings of Nakatani to achieve the above-identified features: (1) so that it is possible to apply ink in which the quantum dot material having high film thickness uniformity and high wettability is dispersed without causing color mixing and (2) to provide a display panel having excellent light emission characteristics. Nakatani ¶0146.
Examiner’s Note 1: The American Heritage Dictionary, fourth edition, defines the first sense (most common usage) of “between” as “[i]n or through the … interval separating.”
Examiner’s Note 2: “The Examiner is authorized to make a finding of relative dimensions that are, as here, clearly depicted in a drawing.” Ex parte Wright, 091818 USPTAB, 2017-001093 (Patent Trial and Appeal Board Decisions, 2018).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not teach, suggest or motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to have the recited subject matter of “a set of first dam patterns and a set of second dam patterns between the plurality of second pixel areas has a different arrangement from a set of first dam patterns and a set of second dam patterns between the plurality of first pixel areas” in combination with the other limitations of the claim. Claim 10 is allowable due to its dependence from intermediate claim 9.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US20160043150A1) teaches an OLED pixel defining structure includes a pixel defining layer, with a plurality of openings corresponding to sub-pixels of different colors being included in the pixel defining layer, each of the openings forming a sub-pixel defining zone of a corresponding color, wherein at least two sub-pixel defining zones of the same color are intercommunicated. But Wang does not teach the above-identified features of claim 9.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891