DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/15/2022 and the Amendment & Remark filed on 07/06/2026.
Status of Claims
Claim 21 is amended.
Claims 27-29 are canceled.
Claims 21-26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112(a) is withdrawn in view of the Amendment filed on 07/06/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
As an initial matter, the claims as a whole are to a process, which falls within one or more statutory categories. (Step 1: YES) The recitation of the claimed invention is then further analyzed as follow, in which the abstract elements are boldfaced.
Claim 21 recites:
A computer-implemented method executed by a server comprising one or more processors and a non-transitory memory, the server being communicatively coupled to a financial institution system and a cryptocurrency exchange system that maintain separate custodial accounts, the method comprising:
receiving, by the server, via a network interface a request for a banking transaction from a user application executed at one of an automated teller machine, teller terminal, or mobile device;
causing, by a back-end application programming interface executed by the server, the banking transaction to be cleared;
after that the banking transaction has cleared, communicating, via the back-end application programming interface, with the financial institution application programming interface to cause a first amount of fiat money to be credited to a first account of the user at the financial institution;
after that banking transaction has cleared, communicating, via the back-end application programming interface, with a cryptocurrency exchange application programming interface to cause conversion of a second amount of fiat money to an equivalent amount of cryptocurrency and crediting of the equivalent amount of cryptocurrency to a cryptocurrency account of the user at the cryptocurrency exchange;
coordinating completion of the banking transaction after completion of both the crediting of the first amount and the crediting of the equivalent amount of cryptocurrency and
outputting, via the user application, a transaction confirmation indicating completion of the banking transaction;
wherein the server executing the back-end application programming interface is provided by a third-party independent of both the financial institution and the cryptocurrency exchange.
Claim 22 recites:
wherein the banking transaction is a check deposit.
Claim 23 recites:
wherein the user application provides a slider interface allowing the user to select in one step the first amount in fiat money and the second amount in fiat money to be converted to cryptocurrency funds, wherein crediting of the first amount and the conversion of the second amount are performed by the server after confirmation that the banking transaction has cleared.
Claim 24 recites:
wherein the user application is executed at the automated teller machine and the banking transaction is a withdrawal performed via user application.
Claim 25 recites:
wherein the user application provides a slider interface allowing the user to select the first amount in fiat money and the second amount in fiat money to be converted to cryptocurrency funds, wherein the crediting of the first amount and the conversion of the second amount are performed by the server based on responses received from the financial institution application programming interface and the cryptocurrency exchange application programming interface.
Claim 26 recites:
wherein the server is cloud-based.
Based on the limitations above, the claims describe a process that covers conducting currency transaction and conversion. Conducting currency transaction and conversion are considered to be both a commercial interaction and fundamental economic practice, which fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, the claim(s) recite(s) a Judicial Exception. (Step 2A prong one: Yes)
This analysis then evaluates whether the claims as a whole integrates the recited Judicial Exception into a practical application of the exception. In particular, the claims recite the additional element(s) of “a server comprising one or more processors” as a mere tool to perform the steps of the Judicial Exception, which encompasses no more than Mere Instruction to Apply.
For example, the limitation “receiving, via a network interface a request for a banking transaction from a user application executed at one of an automated teller machine, teller terminal, or mobile device” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of requesting a request for a banking transaction from a user;
the limitation “causing, by a back-end application programming interface executed by the server, the banking transaction to be cleared” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of causing the transaction to be cleared;
the limitation “after that the banking transaction has cleared, communicating, via the back-end application programming interface, with the financial institution application programming interface to cause a first amount of fiat money to be credited to a first account of the user at the financial institution” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of communicating with a financial institution to cause the first amount of fiat to be credited to first account at the financial institution;
the limitation “after that banking transaction has cleared, communicating, via the back-end application programming interface, with a cryptocurrency exchange application programming interface to cause conversion of a second amount of fiat money to an equivalent amount of cryptocurrency and crediting of the equivalent amount of cryptocurrency to a cryptocurrency account of the user at the cryptocurrency exchange” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of communicating with a cryptocurrency exchange to cause the conversion and crediting the equivalent amount of cryptocurrency to a cryptocurrency account of the user;
the limitation “coordinating completion of the banking transaction after completion of both the crediting of the first amount and the crediting of the equivalent amount of cryptocurrency” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of coordinating completion of both transaction by confirming with the financial institution and cryptocurrency exchange;
the limitation “outputting, via the user application, a transaction confirmation indicating completion of the banking transaction” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of outputting the transaction confirmation indicating completion of the banking transaction;
the limitation “wherein the server executing the back-end application programming interface is provided by a third-party independent of both the financial institution and the cryptocurrency exchange” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of providing the transaction coordination as a third party;
the limitation “wherein the banking transaction is a check deposit” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of conducting a check deposit;
the limitation “wherein the user application provides a slider interface allowing the user to select in one step the first amount in fiat money and the second amount in fiat money to be converted to cryptocurrency funds, wherein crediting of the first amount and the conversion of the second amount are performed by the server after confirmation that the banking transaction has cleared” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of allowing user to select a portion of the check deposit in cryptocurrency funds;
the limitation “wherein the user application is executed at the automated teller machine and the banking transaction is a withdrawal performed via user application” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of conducting a withdrawal;
the limitation “wherein the user application provides a slider interface allowing the user to select the first amount in fiat money and the second amount in fiat money to be converted to cryptocurrency funds, wherein the crediting of the first amount and the conversion of the second amount are performed by the server based on responses received from the financial institution application programming interface and the cryptocurrency exchange application programming interface” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of allowing user to select a portion of the withdrawal in cryptocurrency funds;
the limitation “wherein the server is cloud-based” encompasses no more than generically invoking a processor to apply the Judicial Exception step of conducting the transaction remotely;
Other than being generally linked to the steps of the Judicial Exception, the additional elements in the above step(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality, without technological detail of how the particular steps are performed technologically.
The additional element(s) of “memory” and/or “non-transitory storage medium” are generically recited to store data and/or instructions of the Judicial Exception. The additional element(s) of “processor” are generically recited to perform communication steps such as receiving and transmitting.
The additional element(s) of “via a network interface”, “the server being communicatively coupled to” and “via a … application programming interface” are generically recited to perform communication steps such as receiving and transmitting data with transacting parties and is generically recited to perform input/output steps described only by a result-oriented solution with insufficient detail for how the interface accomplish it.
The additional element(s) of “user application is executed at one of an automated teller machine, teller terminal, or mobile device” and “a slider interface” are generically recited to perform communication steps such as receiving input from transacting parties and is generically recited to perform input/output steps described only by a result-oriented solution with insufficient detail for how the interface accomplish it.
The examiner further noted generic computer affixes such as “application programming interface” are appended to abstract elements such as “financial institution” and “cryptocurrency exchange”, but found that to be mere instructions to implement the Judicial Exception idea on a computer.
Indeed, the instant claims (1) attempted to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result; (2) used of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply added a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to the Judicial Exception and (3) generally applied the Judicial Exception to a generic computing environment without limitation indicative of practical application (See MPEP 2106.04(d)I). Thus, the claims are no more than Mere Instruction to Apply the Judicial Exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) or adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(g)), which do not integrate the cited Judicial Exception into practical application (Step 2A prong two: No) The claims are directed to a Judicial Exception.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to conduct currency transaction amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. No additional element currently recited in the claims amount the claims to be significantly more than the cited abstract idea. (Step 2B: No)
Therefore, claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomkins et al. (US 11176531)
As per claim 21, Tomkins discloses a method comprising:
receiving, via a network interface a request for a banking transaction from a user application executed at one of an automated teller machine, teller terminal, or mobile device; (See Tomkins Col. 11 Line 19-21 and Line 24-32)
causing, by a back-end application programming interface executed by the server, the banking transaction to be cleared; (See Tomkins Col. 4 Line 9- 27, completing the banking transaction is functionally equivalent as causing the transaction to be cleared.)
after that the banking transaction has cleared, communicating, via the back-end application programming interface, with the financial institution application programming interface to cause a first amount of fiat money to be credited to a first account of the user at the financial institution; (See Tomkins Col 5 Line 16-33, Col. 8 Line 28-42 and Col. 12 Line 10-33)
after that banking transaction has cleared, communicating, via the back-end application programming interface, with a cryptocurrency exchange application programming interface to cause conversion of a second amount of fiat money to an equivalent amount of cryptocurrency and crediting of the equivalent amount of cryptocurrency to a cryptocurrency account of the user at the cryptocurrency exchange; (See Tomkins Col 5 Line 16-33, Col. 8 Line 28-42 and Col. 12 Line 10-33)
coordinating completion of the banking transaction after completion of both the crediting of the first amount and the crediting of the equivalent amount of cryptocurrency; (See Tomkins Col 5 Line 16-33, Col. 8 Line 28-42, Col. 12 Line 10-33 and Col. 13 Line 15-32)
outputting, via the user application, a transaction confirmation indicating completion of the banking transaction (See Tomkins Col 5 Line 16-33, Col. 8 Line 28-42, Col. 12 Line 10-33 and Col. 13 Line 15-32)
wherein the server executing the back-end application programming interface is provided by a third-party independent of both the financial institution and the cryptocurrency exchange. (See Tomkins Col. 11 Line 19-21 and Line 24-32 indicate cryptocurrency network and bank as third party service providers, illustrated as 118 in Figure 1. Since Tomkins refers the cryptocurrency network and the bank as third party (emphasis added) to the disclosed payment processing servers, the disclosed payment processing servers are independent of the third party. Referring the cryptocurrency network and the bank as third party indicates that the payment processing system in Tomkins is independent to the cryptocurrency network and the bank.)
As per claim 22, Tomkins discloses:
wherein the banking transaction is a check deposit. (See Tomkins Col. 14 Line 25-33)
As per claim 23, Tomkins discloses:
wherein the user application provides a slider interface allowing the user to select in one step the first amount in fiat money and the second amount in fiat money to be converted to cryptocurrency funds, where a sum of the first amount in fiat money and the second amount in fiat money is equal to a total amount of the check deposit. (See Tomkins Col. 14 Line 25-33 and Col. 31 Line 30-52 and Col. 50 Line 26-48)
As per claim 24, Tomkins discloses:
wherein the user application is executed at the automated teller machine and the banking transaction is a withdrawal performed via user application.
As per claim 25, Tomkins discloses:
wherein the user application provides a slider interface allowing the user to select in one step the first amount in fiat money and the second amount in fiat money to be converted to cryptocurrency funds, where a sum of the first amount in fiat money and the second amount in fiat money is equal to a total amount of the withdrawal. (See Tomkins Col. 31 Line 30-52 and Col. 50 Line 26-48)
As per claim 26, Tomkins discloses:
wherein the server is cloud-based. (See Tomkins Col. 55 Line 56-67)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the claims integrate the Judicial Exception into practical application, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant contended that “the claimed invention integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application that employs a particular computer architecture to achieve interoperability between otherwise separate financial institution and cryptocurrency exchange computing systems”. However, the examiner noted that the placement of an independent third party intermediate in a banking-crypto transaction is merely additional detail of the transaction instead of anything technological, similar to how the intermediary shadow account in Alice Corp. is recited in a computing environment but did not result in eligible, the mere invoking of an API in place of the third party intermediary is no more than a Mere Instruction to Apply drafting effort. As such, the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHO YIU KWONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693