DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s selection of device claims 1-22 is noted. The species restriction dated 7/10/25 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-17, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US pub 20210366833).
With respect to claim 1, Huang et al. teach a semiconductor device, comprising (see figs. 1-6, particularly figs. 2E and 2H and associated text):
a premolded leadframe 260, comprising a main surface (bottom), at least one electrical contact 255 extending out of the main surface, and an opposite main surface (top) arranged opposite to the main surface; and
a semiconductor package 100 arranged on the main surface and laterally displaced to the at least one electrical contact of the premolded leadframe, wherein the semiconductor package comprises a semiconductor chip 100 and at least one electrical contact 130,
wherein surfaces of the at least one electrical contact of the premolded leadframe and the at least one electrical contact of the semiconductor package facing away from the main surface are flush.
With respect to claim 2, Huang et al. teach the premolded leadframe comprises a cavity (area between 255), the at least one electrical contact of the premolded leadframe forms at least a portion of a sidewall of the cavity, and the semiconductor package is arranged in the cavity. Figs. 2C and 2D and associated text.
With respect to claim 3, Huang et al. teach the electrical contacts of the premolded leadframe and the semiconductor package are configured to mechanically and electrically couple the semiconductor device to a printed circuit board P2. Figs. 2H and associated text.
With respect to claim 4, Huang et al. teach the semiconductor package comprises a laminate material and the semiconductor chip is encapsulated in the laminate material. Figs. 2E and associated text.
With respect to claim 5, Huang et al. teach the semiconductor package comprises a mold compound and the semiconductor chip is encapsulated in the mold compound. Figs. 2E and associated text.
With respect to claim 6, Huang et al. teach a further semiconductor chip P2, wherein the further semiconductor chip is encapsulated in the semiconductor package or in a further semiconductor package arranged on the main surface. Figs. 2H and associated text.
With respect to claim 11, Huang et al. teach the premolded leadframe comprises an electrical redistribution layer P1 arranged on the opposite main surface of the premolded leadframe. Figs. 2H and associated text.
With respect to claim 12, Huang et al. teach the electrical redistribution layer is configured for a routing of logical signals. Figs. 2H and associated text.
With respect to claim 13, Huang et al. teach a logic semiconductor chip 100 configured to drive and/or control at least the semiconductor chip 100. Figs. 2H and associated text.
With respect to claim 14, Huang et al. teach the logic semiconductor chip is arranged on the opposite main surface of the premolded leadframe. Figs. 2H and associated text.
With respect to claim 15, Huang et al. teach the logic semiconductor chip is encapsulated in the semiconductor package. Figs. 2H and associated text.
With respect to claim 16, Huang et al. teach at least one passive electronic component 250 arranged on the opposite main surface of the premolded leadframe. See para 0038.
With respect to claim 17, Huang et al. teach the at least one passive electronic component comprises an inductor. See para 0038.
With respect to claim 14, Huang et al. teach a filling material 260 at least partly filling the cavity and/or the gap. Figs. 2H and associated text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US pub 20210366833).
With respect claims 7-9 and 10, Huang et al. teach the semiconductor chips contain active and passive devices, but fail to teach the chips contain DC-DC converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to contain DC-DC converter in the chips to increase the integration of various devices to increase functionality.
With respect to claim 10, Huang et al. teach the premolded leadframe comprises a portion (right or left 255) extending in a lateral direction, wherein the portion is configured to carry an electric current output by at least one of the transistors
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below.
In response to the applicant’s arguments on pages 7 and 8 of the amendment dated 12/30/25, it is submitted that the claimed premolded or molded leaframe is defined as a conductive/metal structure having parts of it molded, fig. 2E of Huang et al. shows a leadframe comprises of metal contact 255 and metal circuit 230 that are molded by 260. Further it is submitted that the metal contact 255 carries the electrical signal of the metal circuit 230. Further, it is submitted that the metal contact 225 extending out from the main surface (top surface of the leadframe).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897