DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 25 recites, “..where a thickness of the -- flanged portion 122 -- can range..” in lines 2-3. Examiner believes that it should recite, “..where a thickness of the -- flanged portion -- can range..”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Prior rejection of Claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 22-23 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koduri et al. (US 2019/0109108 A1, newly cited).
Re Claim 1, Koduri teaches an electronic device (Fig. 5A) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (501, Fig. 5A, para [0058]);
a conductive structure (503, Fig. 5A, para [0058]) disposed over the semiconductor substrate (501);
an insulator layer (507, Fig. 5A, para [0058]) overlying the semiconductor substrate (501) with a tapered opening (see Fig. 5A) overlying a portion of the conductive structure (503); and
a single piece flanged conductive column (509, Fig. 5A, para [0059]) having a base portion (510, Fig. 5A, para [0059]) disposed in the tapered opening (tapered opening within 507, see Fig. 5A) and coupled to the portion of the conductive structure (503) and a flanged portion (511, Fig. 5A, para [0059]) being configured to be exposed to provide a conductive contact to the electronic device (see Fig. 5A).
Re Claim 2, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the flanged conductive column (509) comprises a solder coated (512, Fig. 5A, para [0059]) flanged copper column (copper column, para [0059]).
Re Claim 3, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein each of the base portion (510) and the flanged portion (511) of the solder coated flanged conductive column have a rectangular or square prism shape (510 and 511 have rectangular shapes, see Fig. 5A).
Re Claim 4, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor substrate (501) contains electronic circuitry and is formed from a portion of a semiconductor wafer (501 contains integrated circuits, para [0058]).
Re Claim 5, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the insulator layer (507, Fig. 5A, para [0058]) is formed from polyimide (PI) (protective layer 507 is similar to the protective layer 107, which can be a polyimide layer, para [0027]).
Re Claim 22, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the base portion and the flanged portion has a T-shaped cross-section (see Fig. 5A).
Re Claim 23, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the base portion of the flanged conductive column has width w and a depth d (510, marked “w1” and “d1” in annotated Fig. 5B below) that is less than a width W and a depth D of the flanged portion (511, marked “w2” and “d2” in annotated Fig. 5B below, where w1 and d1 are smaller than w2 and d2).
Re Claim 28, Koduri teaches An electronic device (Fig. 5A) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (501, Fig. 5A, para [0058]);
a conductive structure (503, Fig. 5A, para [0058]) disposed over the semiconductor substrate (501);
an insulator layer (507, Fig. 5A, para [0058]) overlying the semiconductor substrate (501) with a tapered opening (see Fig. 5A) overlying a portion of the conductive structure (503); and
a flanged conductive column of a same material (509, Fig. 5A, para [0059]) having a base portion (510, Fig. 5A, para [0059]) disposed in the tapered opening (tapered opening within 507, see Fig. 5A) and coupled to the portion of the conductive structure (503) and a flanged portion (511, Fig. 5A, para [0059]) being configured to be exposed to provide a conductive contact to the electronic device (see Fig. 5A).
Re Claim 29, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 28, wherein the flanged conductive column (509) comprises a solder coated (512, Fig. 5A, para [0059]) flanged copper column (copper column, para [0059]).
Re Claim 30, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 29, wherein each of the base portion (510) and the flanged portion (511) of the solder coated flanged conductive column have a rectangular or square prism shape (510 and 511 have rectangular shapes, see Fig. 5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koduri et al. (US 2019/0109108 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Mishra et al. (US 2020/0035633 A1, of record).
Re Claim 6, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but does not disclose an encapsulation material layer that overlies the insulator layer and encapsulates the flanged conductive column leaving a mounting surface of the flanged conductive column exposed and extending beyond the encapsulation material layer to provide a conductive contact to the electronic device.
However, related art, Mishra teaches encapsulation material layer (126, Fig. 1A, para [0017]) that overlies the insulator layer (106, Fig. 1A, para [0013], similar to the insulator layer 507, Fig. 5A of Koduri) and encapsulates the flanged conductive column (108+114+116, Fig. 1A, paras [0014] – [0016], similar to the conductive column 509, Fig. 5A of Koduri) leaving a mounting surface of the flanged conductive column exposed (top surface of 116 is exposed, Fig. 1A) and extending beyond the encapsulation material layer to provide a conductive contact to the electronic device (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to include the encapsulation layer into device of Koduri as shown by Mishra, because the encapsulation layer will provide mechanical support for the conductive column, improving reliability of the electronic device (para [0017], Mishra).
Re Claim 8, Koduri modified by Mishra teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the encapsulation material layer (126, Fig. 1A, Mishra) is a mold compound (126 can be an epoxy mold compound, para [0017], Mishra).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koduri et al. (US 2019/0109108 A1, newly cited) and Mishra et al. (US 2020/0035633 A1, of record), further in view of over Meyer-Berg et al. (US 2010/0127386 A1, of record).
Re Claim 7, Koduri modified by Mishra teaches the electronic device of claim 6, but does not disclose that the encapsulation material layer is a laminate.
However, in a related semiconductor art, Meyer-Berg teaches that the encapsulation material can be any thermosetting material or laminate and may contain filler materials, an may be deposited by molding, potting, dispensing, jetting or lamination (para [0021]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, that the encapsulation material layer of Mishra can be a laminate as disclosed by Meyer-Berg. The substitution of a known material for its known purpose to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. Also see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination as established in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), see MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 21 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koduri et al. (US 2019/0109108 A1, newly cited).
Re Claim 21, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein each of the base portion and the flanged portion of the solder coated flanged conductive column have a rectangular cross-section (see Fig. 5A) and does not show a circular cross-section.
However, in another embodiment in Fig. 1A, Koduri teaches that the base portion (110, Fig. 1A) and the flange portion (111, Fig. 1A) of the conductive column (109, Fig. 1A), can have a circular cross-section (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, that the cross-sectional shape of the base portion and the flange portion can be either rectangular (Fig. 5A) or circular (Fig. 1A), as taught by Koduri, both performing the same function of providing a bonding interconnection structure for the electronic device. The use of a known structure for its known purpose to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. Also see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Re Claim 31, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 29, wherein each of the base portion and the flanged portion of the solder coated flanged conductive column have a rectangular cross-section (see Fig. 5A) and does not show a circular cross-section.
However, in another embodiment in Fig. 1A, Koduri teaches that the base portion (110, Fig. 1A) and the flange portion (111, Fig. 1A) of the conductive column (109, Fig. 1A), can have a circular cross-section (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, that the cross-sectional shape of the base portion and the flange portion can be either rectangular (Fig. 5A) or circular (Fig. 1A), as taught by Koduri, both performing the same function of providing a bonding interconnection structure for the electronic device. The use of a known structure for its known purpose to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. Also see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 24-27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koduri et al. (US 2019/0109108 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Haba et al. (US 2012/0007232 A1, newly cited).
Re Claim 24, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but does not disclose that a width w and depth d of the base portion can range from 0.05 mm to 0.30 mm and a width W and depth D of the flanged portion can range from 0.10 mm to 0.40 mm.
In a related semiconductor art, Haba teaches a plurality of conductive posts (110, Fig. 1B, para [0071]) where the bases (126, Fig. 1B, equivalent to the base portion 510, Fig. 5A of Koduri) and the cap-portion (130, Fig. 1B, equivalent to the flange portion 511, Fig. 5A of Koduri) can have a diameter between 0.03 mm and 0.15 mm (paras [0071] – [0072]), overlapping the claimed ranges. Examiner notes that the widths and depths are equivalent to the diameter of a circular cross-section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to optimize the widths and depths of the base and the flange portions, depending on the design needs of the electronic device of Koduri and using the known dimensions from Haba, and arrive at the claimed ranges. With respect to the limitations of the claim, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The optimization of the claimed ranges of the widths and depths of the base and the flange portions of the conductive column would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Re Claim 25, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but does not disclose that the height of the flanged conductive column can range from 0.10 mm to 0.30 mm where a thickness of the flanged portion can range from 0.03 mm to 0.10 mm.
In a related semiconductor art, Haba teaches a plurality of conductive posts (110, Fig. 1B, para [0069]) where the height of the bases (H2, Fig. 1B, paras [0069] and [0073]) is over 0.05 mm (para [0069]) and can extend up to 0.3 mm (para [0062]). The height of the cap-portion, H3 can be between 0.025 mm and 0.08 mm (para [0072]), overlapping the claimed range of the thickness of the flanged portion. Thus, the total height H2+H3 can be in the range 0.075 mm and 0.38 mm, also overlapping the claimed range of the overall height.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to optimize the overall height of the column and the thickness of the flanged portion, depending on the design needs of the electronic device of Koduri and using the known dimensions from Haba, and arrive at the claimed ranges. With respect to the limitations of the claim, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The optimization of the claimed ranges of the overall height of the column and the thickness of the flanged portion would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Re Claim 26, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 21, but does not disclose that the diameter of the base portion can range from 0.05 mm to 0.30 mm and a diameter of the flanged portion can range from 0.10 mm to 0.40 mm.
In a related semiconductor art, Haba teaches a plurality of conductive posts (110, Fig. 1B, para [0071]) where the bases (126, Fig. 1B, equivalent to the base portion 510, Fig. 5A of Koduri) and the cap-portion (130, Fig. 1B, equivalent to the flange portion 511, Fig. 5A of Koduri) can have a diameter between 0.03 mm and 0.15 mm (paras [0071] – [0072]), overlapping the claimed ranges.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to optimize the diameter of the base and the flange portions, depending on the design needs of the electronic device of Koduri and using the known dimensions from Haba, and arrive at the claimed ranges. With respect to the limitations of the claim, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The optimization of the claimed ranges of the diameter of the base and the flange portions would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Re Claim 27, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 21, but does not disclose that the overall height of the flanged conductive column can range from 0.10 mm to 0.30 mm and the thickness of the flanged portion can range from 0.03 mm to 0.10 mm.
In a related semiconductor art, Haba teaches a plurality of conductive posts (110, Fig. 1B, para [0069]) where the height of the bases (H2, Fig. 1B, paras [0069] and [0073]) is over 0.05 mm (para [0069]) and can extend up to 0.3 mm (para [0062]). The height of the cap-portion, H3 can be between 0.025 mm and 0.08 mm (para [0072]), overlapping the claimed range of the thickness of the flanged portion. Thus, the total height H2+H3 can be in the range 0.075 mm and 0.38 mm, also overlapping the claimed range of the overall height.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to optimize the overall height of the column and the thickness of the flanged portion, depending on the design needs of the electronic device of Koduri and using the known dimensions from Haba, and arrive at the claimed ranges. With respect to the limitations of the claim, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The optimization of the claimed ranges of the overall height of the column and the thickness of the flanged portion would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Re Claim 32, Koduri teaches the electronic device of claim 28, but does not disclose that a width w and depth d of the base portion can range from 0.05 mm to 0.30 mm and a width W and depth D of the flanged portion can range from 0.10 mm to 0.40 mm.
In a related semiconductor art, Haba teaches a plurality of conductive posts (110, Fig. 1B, para [0071]) where the bases (126, Fig. 1B, equivalent to the base portion 510, Fig. 5A of Koduri) and the cap-portion (130, Fig. 1B, equivalent to the flange portion 511, Fig. 5A of Koduri) can have a diameter between 0.03 mm and 0.15 mm (paras [0071] – [0072]), overlapping the claimed ranges. Examiner notes that the widths and depths are equivalent to the diameter of a circular cross-section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to optimize the widths and depths of the base and the flange portions, depending on the design needs of the electronic device of Koduri and using the known dimensions from Haba, and arrive at the claimed ranges. With respect to the limitations of the claim, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The optimization of the claimed ranges of the widths and depths of the base and the flange portions of the conductive column would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898