DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 15 June 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Status of Rejections
The rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s Amendment filed 15 June 2026.
All other rejections are herein maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masao (JP 2016-164820 A with citations drawn to the translation provided via Espacenet from EPO for convenience).
As to claim 1, Masao discloses a plating method (Title “manufacturing method for a suspension substrate, Figs 14a-g) including:
preparing a laminate (Figs. 14a-d) made of stainless steel (layer #11 [0053] “The metal support layer 11 is made of stainless steel.”), and copper or a copper alloy (#12/16 which comprise wirings 13a-c [0035] “a wiring layer 12 provided on the other surface of the insulating layer 10 (the surface opposite the piezoelectric element 44) and having a plurality of wirings 13a, 13b, and 13c” , [0052] “Each of the wirings 13a, 13b, and 13c is configured as a conductor for transmitting an electrical signal, and the material of each of the wirings 13a, 13b, and 13c is not particularly limited as long as it has the desired conductivity, but it is preferable to use copper (Cu).”); and
forming plating underlayers made of nickel on a first plated portion provided at the stainless steel and a second plated portion provided at the copper or the copper alloy at a same time using a hydrochloric acid electrolytic solution (Fig. 14 d layers 33 and 83, [0081] “That is, it is preferable that the corresponding portion of the surface of the metal support layer 11 is first subjected to nickel strike plating using a hydrochloric acid-based plating solution to remove the passive film” [0077] “When the bonding nickel plating layer 83 is formed, the bonding nickel plating layer 33 is formed on the wiring connection portion 16 .” thus discloses the formation of layers 83 and 33 at the same time).
As to the limitation “by simultaneously placing the first plated portion and the second plated portion in a hydrochloric acid electrolytic solution”, Masao discloses the following relevant passages (emphasis added):
[0077] “When the bonding nickel plating layer 83 is formed, the wiring connection portion a connecting nickel plating layer 33 is formed on the surface 16”
[0081] “In order to further improve the adhesion between the metal supporting layer 11 and the gold-plating bonding layer 84, the nickel-plating bonding layer 83 may be formed as follows. That is, it is preferable that nickel strike plating using a hydrochloric acid-based plating solution is first performed on the corresponding portion of the surface of the metal supporting layer 11 in order to remove the passive film, and then nickel plating is performed by an electrolytic plating method to form the bonding nickel plating layer 83.”
In other words, Masao discloses that layers 33 and 83 are formed at the same time and Masao further goes on to discuss how layer 83 is formed, via initial formation of the nickel strike plating in a hydrochloric acid plating solution. Therefore, Masao discloses that layer 83 is formed via a nickel strike plating using a hydrochloric acid plating solution followed by a different electrolytic plating method. Based on the combined disclosure, the prior art discloses forming a nickel strike layer as a part of the process of forming layer 83 and that layer 33 is formed at the same time as forming layer 83, thus the nickel strike layer would necessarily be performed when forming the two layers and necessarily simultaneously placed in the electrolytic solution.
As to claims 2 and 3, Masao discloses wherein the nickel plating is an electrolytic nickel strike plating via application of a current value ([0081]) thus they are formed under the same plating conditions because they are formed at the same time at the same current density.
As to claim 6, Masao further discloses forming plating underlayers made of nickel on plating underlayers formed on the first plated portion and the second plated portion. ([0081] “…first subjected to nickel strike plating using a hydrochloric acid-based plating solution to remove the passive film, and then nickel plating is applied by an electrolytic plating method to form a bonding nickel plating layer 83.).
As to claim 7, Masao further discloses forming plating layers made of gold (Au) on plating underlayers formed on the first plated portion and the second plated portion. (Fig. 14f layers 84 and 24 [0078] “When the bonding gold plating layer 84 is formed, the bonding gold plating layer 34 is formed on the bonding nickel plating layer 33 At this time, the head terminal 5 and the tail terminal 6 (both see FIG. 1) are also gold plated, and the connection nickel plating layer 33 on the wiring connection portion 16 is also gold plated (i.e., an inspection gold plating layer 24 is formed).”).
As to claim 8, Masao further discloses wherein the laminate is a printed circuit board in which the stainless steel and a conductor layer made of copper or a copper alloy are laminated [0029] “preparing a laminate…” [0065]), the first plate portion is a first terminal portion provided at the stainless steel (#31 at #17 [0039]), and the second plated portion is a second terminal portion provided at the conductor layer (#16) [0038]).
As to claim 9, Masao further discloses a method of manufacturing a printed circuit board (Title “manufacturing method for a suspension substrate, Figs 14a-g) including:
preparing a laminate (Figs. 14a-d) including stainless steel (layer #11 [0053] “The metal support layer 11 is made of stainless steel.”) and a conductor layer made of copper or a copper alloy (#12/16 which comprise wirings 13a-c [0035] “a wiring layer 12 provided on the other surface of the insulating layer 10 (the surface opposite the piezoelectric element 44) and having a plurality of wirings 13a, 13b, and 13c” , [0052] “Each of the wirings 13a, 13b, and 13c is configured as a conductor for transmitting an electrical signal, and the material of each of the wirings 13a, 13b, and 13c is not particularly limited as long as it has the desired conductivity, but it is preferable to use copper (Cu).”);
forming a first connection terminal and a second connection terminal at the laminate at a same time (Fig. 14d [0077]);
forming the first connection terminal includes forming a plating underlayer made of nickel on a first terminal portion provided at the stainless steel using a hydrochloric acid electrolytic solution (Fig. 14 d layers 33 and 83, [0081] “That is, it is preferable that the corresponding portion of the surface of the metal support layer 11 is first subjected to nickel strike plating using a hydrochloric acid-based plating solution to remove the passive film”); and
forming the second connection terminal includes forming a plating underlayer made of nickel on a second terminal portion provided at the conductor layer using a hydrochloric acid electrolytic solution. ([0077] “When the bonding nickel plating layer 83 is formed, the bonding nickel plating layer 33 is formed on the wiring connection portion 16 .” thus discloses the formation of layers 83 and 33 at the same time using the hydrochloric acid solution).
As to the limitation “by simultaneously placing the first plated portion and the second plated portion in a hydrochloric acid electrolytic solution”, Masao discloses the following relevant passages (emphasis added):
[0077] “When the bonding nickel plating layer 83 is formed, the wiring connection portion a connecting nickel plating layer 33 is formed on the surface 16”
[0081] “In order to further improve the adhesion between the metal supporting layer 11 and the gold-plating bonding layer 84, the nickel-plating bonding layer 83 may be formed as follows. That is, it is preferable that nickel strike plating using a hydrochloric acid-based plating solution is first performed on the corresponding portion of the surface of the metal supporting layer 11 in order to remove the passive film, and then nickel plating is performed by an electrolytic plating method to form the bonding nickel plating layer 83.”
In other words, Masao discloses that layers 33 and 83 are formed at the same time and Masao further goes on to discuss how layer 83 is formed, via initial formation of the nickel strike plating in a hydrochloric acid plating solution. Therefore, Masao discloses that layer 83 is formed via a nickel strike plating using a hydrochloric acid plating solution followed by a different electrolytic plating method. Based on the combined disclosure, the prior art discloses forming a nickel strike layer as a part of the process of forming layer 83 and that layer 33 is formed at the same time as forming layer 83, thus the nickel strike layer would necessarily be performed when forming the two layers and necessarily simultaneously placed in the electrolytic solution.
As to claims 10 and 11, Masao discloses wherein the nickel plating is an electrolytic nickel strike plating via application of a current value ([0081]) thus they are formed under the same plating conditions because they are formed at the same time at the same current density.
As to claim 14, Masao further discloses wherein the forming the first connection terminal further includes forming a plating underlayer made of nickel on a plating underlayer formed on the first terminal portion, and the forming the second connection terminal further includes forming a plating underlayer made of nickel on a plating underlayer formed on the second terminal portion. ([0081] “…first subjected to nickel strike plating using a hydrochloric acid-based plating solution to remove the passive film, and then nickel plating is applied by an electrolytic plating method to form a bonding nickel plating layer 83.).
As to claim 15, Masao further discloses wherein the forming the first connection terminal includes forming a plating layer made of gold (Au) on a plating underlayer formed on the first terminal portion, and the forming the second connection terminal further includes forming a plating layer made of gold (Au) on a plating underlayer formed on the second terminal portion. (Fig. 14f layers 84 and 24 [0078] “When the bonding gold plating layer 84 is formed, the bonding gold plating layer 34 is formed on the bonding nickel plating layer 33 At this time, the head terminal 5 and the tail terminal 6 (both see FIG. 1) are also gold plated, and the connection nickel plating layer 33 on the wiring connection portion 16 is also gold plated (i.e., an inspection gold plating layer 24 is formed).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masao, as applied to claims 1 and 9, respectively, in view of Takakura (US 2014/0311776 A1).
As to claim 4, Masao fails to explicitly disclose wherein the forming plating underlayers includes applying a voltage to each of the first plated portion and the second plated portion using a common electrode.
Takakura discloses a plating apparatus (title) comprising common electrode (Fig. 1 and 2 #s 105), applying a voltage to plural sections of a plated portion ([0061], [0066], [0072]) to simultaneous plate portions of a stainless steel substrate with a copper conductor layer ([0078]) to plate nickel underlayers ([0060]). Takakura further discloses using a hydrochloric acid based plating solution ([0091]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was files to have used a common electrode and plating apparatus as disclosed in Takakura to plating the nickel underlayers because it enables a well formed plating layer at both the stainless steel support and the wiring trace made of copper (Takakura [0029]).
As to claim 12, Masao fails to explicitly disclose wherein the forming plating underlayers includes applying a voltage to each of the first plated portion and the second plated portion using a common electrode.
Takakura discloses a plating apparatus (title) comprising common electrode (Fig. 1 and 2 #s 105), applying a voltage to plural sections of a plated portion ([0061], [0066], [0072]) to simultaneous plate portions of a stainless steel substrate with a copper conductor layer ([0078]) to plate nickel underlayers ([0060]). Takakura further discloses using a hydrochloric acid based plating solution ([0091]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was files to have used a common electrode and plating apparatus as disclosed in Takakura to plating the nickel underlayers because it enables a well formed plating layer at both the stainless steel support and the wiring trace made of copper (Takakura [0029]).
Claims 5 and 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masao, as applied to claims 1 and 9, respectively, in view of Chung et al (US 2022/0372644 A1).
As to claim 5, Masao fails to explicitly disclose wherein a concentration of hydrochloric acid in an electrolytic solution is not less than 60 ml/L.
Chung discloses an appropriate amount of HCl for a nickel strike plating bath of 40-300 ml/L which overlaps the instantly claimed ranges ([0014]-[0015]), with a specific example of 80 ml/L (See Table 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was files to have used the appropriate amount of HCl with a nickel strike plating bath as taught by Chung in the method of Masao because the concentrations are suitable to both remove the passivation system of the steel base and prevent undesirable effects of the plating layer and prevention of equipment corrosion (Chung [0068] wherein the amount overlaps the instantly claimed range thus prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 13, Masao fails to explicitly disclose wherein a concentration of hydrochloric acid in an electrolytic solution is not less than 60 ml/L.
Chung discloses an appropriate amount of HCl for a nickel strike plating bath of 40-300 ml/L which overlaps the instantly claimed ranges ([0014]-[0015]), with a specific example of 80 ml/L (See Table 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was files to have used the appropriate amount of HCl with a nickel strike plating bath as taught by Chung in the method of Masao because the concentrations are suitable to both remove the passivation system of the steel base and prevent undesirable effects of the plating layer and prevention of equipment corrosion (Chung [0068] wherein the amount overlaps the instantly claimed range thus prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05 I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Masao does not explicitly state the copper wire layer 12 is placed in hydrochloric solution, this argument is no persuasive based on the implicit teaching of Masao that the layers 83 and 33 are formed at the same time as cited above. If the layers are formed together at the same time, i.e. simultaneously, then they must be both placed into a hydrochloric acid electrolyte solution at the same time. Wiring layer 12 comprises connecting portion 16 comprising copper of which layer 33 is formed thereon. Thus, while Masao may not explicitly state a benefit of using the hydrochloric nickel strike plating with a copper layer, Masao nevertheless recognized these layers are made concurrently. Masao does not provide any reasonable description as to how portion 16 may not be plated at the same time as the portions on 11. As explicitly seen in the Figures, hole 10 is formed in layer 10 before any plating is performed. Likewise, portions of layer 16 where layer 23 is formed is likewise exposed during the plating. While Masao explicitly discloses using a resist to limit where the plating layer 83 is formed on the stainless steel layer, Masao never recognizes either protecting/preventing deposition onto those portions, any masking techniques to isolate the portions of layer 83, or forming the through hole in 10 after forming layer 83. Thus, the sum of the prior art would necessarily require the simultaneous introduction of the copper layer and steel layer at the same time to enable the simultaneous plating of layer 33 and 83.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Takakura teaches away from using a hydrochloric acid electrolyte solutions, this argument is no persuasive because disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2123 II. The use of alternative solutions other than a HCl based solution are recited as preferable alternatives. The comparative example cited to by Applicant is noted, however it is noted the deposition performed is not identical any of the same plating of the identified Inventive examples. The closest example to Comparative Example 2 is Inventive Example 2 but CE2 does NOT use a reverse electrolytic process and the baths are significantly different (See [0085] and [0091] of Takakura). Thus, the general disclosure the prior art is clearly recognized in Takakura and the provided examples given in Takakura are not adequate to teach away from using a hydrochloric acid based electrolyte solution.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually towards Chung for features in which Chung is not cited for, i.e. copper layers etc, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asada (US 2021/0310144 A1) discloses subjecting a copper foil to a hydrochloric acid based Woods bath for to form a nickel strike layer on the foil ([0047]).
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795