DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The 01/05/2026 amendments of claims 1 and 21 have been noted and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 6-9, filed 01/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10, 21-25 and 27-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the newly added amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Leng, US 20220165993 A1 (Leng).
With respect to the Applicant’s request for the reconsideration of the Restriction/Election requirements as they pertain to claims 9 and 26, the arguments presented have been fully considered and found not persuasive in light of the newly added amendments. The newly added amendments fail to change the scope of the claims to belong to the elected species. Thus, claims 9 and 26 remain withdrawn. The following is an explanation of the reasons behind the withdrawal of claims 9 and 26:
Regarding claim 9; Claim 9 contains the following highlighted limitations: “wherein the first molding layer has a convex or concave upper surface” which are mutually exclusive with the limitation of the upper surface of the molding layer (950) and (130) being flat as can be seen in figures (20) and (23) of the instant application which correspond to the elected Species 9. Convex or concave upper surfaces of the molding layer (450) and (550) can be seen in figures (8) and (9) which correspond to nonelected Species 4 and 5, respectively.
Regarding claim 26; Claim 26 contains the following highlighted limitations: “wherein the first molding layer has a convex or concave upper surface” which are mutually exclusive with the limitation of the upper surface of the molding layer (950) and (130) being flat as can be seen in figures (20) and (23) of the instant application which correspond to the elected Species 9. Convex or concave upper surfaces of the molding layer (450) and (550) can be seen in figures (8) and (9) which correspond to nonelected Species 4 and 5, respectively.
New Grounds for Rejection
New grounds for rejection, prior art reference Leng, US 20220165993 A1 (Leng) appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 21-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al, US 20220069186 A1 (Iguchi) in view of Leng, US 20220165993 A1 (Leng).
Regarding claim 1; Iguchi teaches a light emitting module (220e) comprising: a circuit board (50); a plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) disposed on the circuit board (50); a first molding layer ((24)+(15c)) surrounding side surfaces of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) and a first electrode (30c); wherein each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) comprises a first semiconductor layer (13), a second semiconductor layer (11), and an active layer (12) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (13) and the second semiconductor layer (11), wherein a first surface (see Fig (8) of Iguchi reproduced below for convenience) of the first semiconductor layer (13) corresponds to a light exit surface of each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)), wherein the first electrode (30C) covers the first surface of each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) and a plurality of openings of the first molding layer ((24)+(15c)).
Iguchi does not teach a second molding layer disposed on the first molding layer, wherein the first molding layer is no higher than a portion of the first electrode covering the first surface of each of the plurality of light emitting devices, and wherein the second molding layer covers the first electrode.
However, Leng teaches a second molding layer (160) disposed on the first molding layer (170), wherein the first molding layer (170) is no higher than a portion of the first electrode (123) covering the first surface of each of the plurality of light emitting devices (120), and wherein the second molding layer (160) covers the first electrode (123). Iguchi and Leng are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Iguchi by incorporating a second molding layer such as disclosed in Leng to improve the protection of the device against external elements leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 2; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein each of the light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) comprises a second electrode (23N) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer (11), the first electrode (30C) and the second electrode (23N) being disposed to face the circuit board (50).
Regarding claim 3; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein the first electrode (30C) and the second electrode (23N) of each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) are electrically connected to the circuit board (50).
Regarding claim 4; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein the first electrode (30C) overlaps with an interface between the side surfaces of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) and the first molding layer ((24)+(15c)).
Regarding claim 5; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) comprises a second electrode (23N) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer (11), the second electrode (23N) being disposed to face the circuit board (50).
Regarding claim 8; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein the first molding layer((24)+(15c)) has an upper surface, having a periphery (upper surface of (15c)) flush with the first surface of the first semiconductor (13).
Regarding claim 21; Iguchi teaches a light emitting module (220e) comprising: a circuit board (50); a plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) disposed on the circuit board (50); a first molding layer (24)+(15c)) surrounding side surfaces of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)); and a first electrode (30c); wherein each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) comprises a first semiconductor layer (13), a second semiconductor layer (11), and an active layer (12) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (13) and the second semiconductor layer (11), wherein a first surface of the first semiconductor layer (13) corresponds to a light exit surface of the light emitting device (220e), wherein the first electrode (30c) contacts the first surface of each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) and the molding layer ((24)+(15c)).
Iguchi does not teach a second molding layer disposed on the first molding layer, wherein the first molding layer is no higher than a portion of the first electrode covering the first surface of each of the plurality of light emitting devices, and wherein the second molding layer covers the first electrode.
However, Leng teaches a second molding layer (160) disposed on the first molding layer (170), wherein the first molding layer (170) is no higher than a portion of the first electrode (123) covering the first surface of each of the plurality of light emitting devices (120), and wherein the second molding layer (160) covers the first electrode (123). Iguchi and Leng are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Iguchi by incorporating a second molding layer such as disclosed in Leng to improve the protection of the device against external elements leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 22; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) comprises a second electrode (23N) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer (11), the first electrode (30c) and the second electrode (23N) being disposed to face the circuit board (50).
Regarding claim 23; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 22.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein the first electrode (30c) and the second electrode (23N) of the light emitting device ((100B), (100R), (100G)) are electrically connected to the circuit board (50).
Regarding case 24; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein the first electrode (30c) overlaps with an interface between the side surfaces of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) and the first molding layer (24)+(15c)).
Regarding claim 25; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein each of the plurality of light emitting devices ((100B), (100R), (100G)) comprises a second electrode (23N) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer (11), the second electrode (23N) being disposed to face the circuit board (50).
Regarding claim 27; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Further, Iguchi teaches wherein the upper surface of the first molding layer ((24)+(15c)) includes a periphery (upper surface of (15c)) flush with the first surface of the first semiconductor layer (13).
Claims 10 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al, US 20220069186 A1 (Iguchi) in view of Leng, US 20220165993 A1 (Leng) in further view of Choe, US 20210074770 A1 (Choe).
Regarding claim 10; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Iguchi in view of Leng does not teach wherein the second molding layer includes a plurality of openings corresponding to the plurality of openings of the first molding layer.
Choe teaches wherein the second molding layer (MB3) includes a plurality of openings corresponding to the plurality of openings of the first molding layer (119). Iguchi in view of Leng and Choe are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Iguchi in view of Leng by using the openings in the second molding layer that correspond to the openings in the first molding layer as disclosed in Choe to improve the resolution of the device.
Regarding claim 28; Iguchi in view of Leng discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
However, Iguchi in view of Leng does not teach wherein the second molding layer includes a plurality of openings corresponding to the plurality of openings of the first molding layer.
Choe teaches wherein the second molding layer (MB3) includes a plurality of openings corresponding to the plurality of openings of the first molding layer (119). Iguchi in view of Leng and Choe are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Iguchi in view of Leng by using the openings in the second molding layer that correspond to the openings in the first molding layer as disclosed in Choe to improve the resolution of the device.
Conclusion
/MOATAZ KHALIFA/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815