DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 12/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-16 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim (US 20160087241 A1) and Lee et al. (US 20190165298 A1).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “roughness” in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 14, 15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20160087241 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a light emitting display device, comprising:
a transistor (130) disposed on a substrate (110); ([0038], Fig. 2)
a planarization layer (140) disposed on the transistor (130); ([0042], Fig. 2)
a light emitting diode (150) disposed on the planarization layer (140); (Fig. 4) the light emitting diode (150) including a first electrode (151), a light emitting layer (152) on the first electrode, and a second electrode (153) on the light emitting layer; ([0043], Fig. 2)
a bank layer (160) disposed in a non-emitting area (outside SP) to define an emitting area (SP) of the light emitting diode (150); ([0043], Fig. 2)
a hydrogen trapping layer (280) disposed in the non-emitting area (outside SP); ([0063], Fig. 2) and
an encapsulation layer (290) disposed on the bank layer (160) and the hydrogen trapping layer (280) (Fig. 2)
wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (280) is disposed between the second electrode (153) of the light emitting diode (150) and the encapsulation layer (280). (Fig. 2)
and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (280) is in direct contact with the second electrode (153). ([0064], Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (280) is formed of one of lithium, Li, sodium, Na, magnesium, Mg, potassium, K, calcium, Ca, scandium, Sc, titanium, Ti, vanadium, V, rubidium, Rb, strontium, Sr, yttrium, Y, zirconium, Zr, niobium, Nb, cesium, Cs, barium, Ba, lutetium, Lu, hafnium, Hf, tantalum, Ta, lanthanum, La, cerium, Ce, praseodymium, Pr, neodymium, Nd, samarium, Sm, gadolinium, Gd, terbium, Tb, dysprosium, Dy, holmium, Ho, erbium, Er, thulium, Tm, ytterbium, Yb, thorium, Th, protactinium, Pa, uranium, U, neptunium, Np, plutonium, Pu, and americium, Am or an alloy thereof. ([0016], Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (280) is (indirectly) on the bank layer (160). (Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the transistor (130) includes an oxide semiconductor material. ([0015], Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a light emitting display device comprising a plurality of pixels (PX), in each of which an emitting area (SP) and a non-emitting area (outside SP) are defined, wherein each pixel comprises:
a transistor (130) disposed on a substrate (110); ([0038], Fig. 2)
a planarization layer (140) disposed on the transistor (130); ([0042], Fig. 2)
a light emitting diode (150) disposed on the planarization layer (140); (Fig. 4) the light emitting diode (150) including a first electrode (151), a light emitting layer (152) on the first electrode, and a second electrode (153) on the light emitting layer; ([0043], Fig. 2)
a bank layer (160) disposed in a non-emitting area (outside SP) to define an emitting area (SP) of the light emitting diode (150); ([0043], Fig. 2)
a hydrogen trapping layer (280) disposed in the non-emitting area (outside SP); ([0063], Fig. 2) and
an encapsulation layer (290) disposed on the bank layer (160) and the hydrogen trapping layer (280) (Fig. 2)
wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (280) is disposed between the second electrode (153) of the light emitting diode (150) and the encapsulation layer (280). (Fig. 2)
and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (280) is in direct contact with the second electrode (153). ([0064], Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 14, wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (280) is formed of a material (inorganic material) which thermodynamically forms a stable bond with hydrogen. ([0052], Fig. 2)
Regarding claims 17-19, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claims 14, 8 and 1 (respectively), wherein the first electrode (151) is in direct contact with the planarization layer (140). (Fig. 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160087241 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20190198811 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 2. Kim does not disclose wherein the hydrogen trapping layer is formed by a soluble process.
However, Choi discloses
the hydrogen trapping layer (450 per [0092]) is formed by a soluble process (solution process disclosed in [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Choi for the hydrogen trapping layer is formed by a soluble process so that “hydrogen and moisture may be blocked or removed so as not to affect the light emitting layer 500 and the TFT.” (Choi, [0108])
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 1. Kim does not disclose wherein the bank layer defines a hole therethrough to expose an upper portion of the planarization layer, and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer is formed disposed in the hole.
However, Choi discloses
the bank layer (400) defines a hole (DH) therethrough to expose an upper portion of the planarization layer (400), and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (450 per [0092]) is formed in a hole (there would be a hole where 450 is before depositing 450), ([0090]-[0111], Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Choi for the bank layer defines a hole therethrough to expose an upper portion of the planarization layer, and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer is formed disposed in the hole so that “hydrogen and moisture may be blocked or removed so as not to affect the light emitting layer 500 and the TFT.” (Choi, [0108])
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 1. Kim does not disclose wherein the bank layer defines a hole therein, and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer is formed disposed in the hole, and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer has a thickness which that is half of a thickness of the bank layer.
However, Choi discloses
the bank layer (400) defines a hole (DH) therein, and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (450 per [0092]) is formed disposed in the hole, and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer (450 per [0092])
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Choi for the bank layer defines a hole therein, and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer is formed disposed in the hole, and wherein the hydrogen trapping layer has a thickness which that is half of a thickness of the bank layer so that “hydrogen and moisture may be blocked or removed so as not to affect the light emitting layer 500 and the TFT.” (Choi, [0108])
Choi does not disclose
has a thickness which is half a thickness of the bank layer.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Choi for the hole to have a thickness which is half a thickness of the bank layer with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990) as a means for “absorbing and removing a large amount of hydrogen and moisture.” (Choi, [0114])
Claims 8, 9, 12, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160087241 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20190165298 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a light emitting display device, comprising:
a transistor (130) disposed on a substrate (110); ([0038], Fig. 2)
a planarization layer (140) disposed on the transistor (130); ([0042], Fig. 2)
a light emitting diode (150) sequentially including a first electrode (151), a light emitting layer (152), and a second electrode (153) on the planarization layer (140); ([0043], Fig. 2)
a bank layer (160) disposed in a non-emitting area (outside SP) to define an emitting area (SP) of the light emitting diode (150); ([0043], Fig. 2)
a first hydrogen trapping layer (280) disposed in the non-emitting area (outside SP); ([0063], Fig. 2)
Kim does not disclose:
a second hydrogen trapping layer which is disposed on the first hydrogen trapping layer to overlap the first hydrogen trapping layer; and
an encapsulation layer disposed on the bank layer and the second hydrogen trapping layer.
wherein the hydrogen trapping layer disposed between the second electrode and the encapsulation layer.
And wherein the second hydrogen trapping layer is in direct contact with the second electrode.
However, Lee discloses:
a second hydrogen trapping layer (126) which is disposed on (from below) the first hydrogen trapping layer (114) to overlap the first hydrogen trapping layer (114); (Fig. 4) and
an encapsulation layer (140) disposed (indirectly) on the bank layer (138) and the second hydrogen trapping layer (126). (Fig. 4)
wherein the second hydrogen trapping layer (126) disposed between the second electrode (136) and the encapsulation layer (140). (Fig. 4)
And wherein the second hydrogen trapping layer (126) is in direct contact with the second electrode (136). (Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Lee for a second hydrogen trapping layer which is disposed on the first hydrogen trapping layer to overlap the first hydrogen trapping layer; and an encapsulation layer disposed on the bank layer and the second hydrogen trapping layer wherein the hydrogen trapping layer disposed between the second electrode and the encapsulation layer and wherein the second hydrogen trapping layer is in direct contact with the second electrode in order to “ to prevent damage to the organic layer 134 in the process of manufacturing the upper auxiliary electrode 126.” (Lee, [0030])
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 8, wherein
the first hydrogen trapping layer (280) includes a same material as the first electrode (151). ([0052])
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 8, wherein the second hydrogen trapping layer (126) is disposed (indirectly) on the bank layer (136) or is disposed in a hole defined in the bank layer. (Fig. 4) (the examiner is treating the statement after “or” as optional)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Lee to arrive at the claimed invention for similar reasons as mentioned in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 8, wherein the first hydrogen trapping layer (114) and the second hydrogen trapping layer (126) are disposed in a partial area of the non-emitting area (annotated below) or disposed to enclose the emitting area. (Fig. 4) (the examiner is treating the statement after “or” as optional)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Lee to arrive at the claimed invention for similar reasons as mentioned in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 14. Kim does not disclose wherein each pixel further comprises a hydrogen trapping assisting layer that overlaps with the hydrogen trapping layer, and wherein the hydrogen trapping assisting layer is formed on a same layer as the first electrode.
However, Lee discloses:
each pixel (per [0019], Fig. 1) further comprises a hydrogen trapping assisting layer (126) that overlaps with the hydrogen trapping layer (114), and wherein the hydrogen trapping assisting layer (126) is formed on a same layer as the first electrode (136). ([0029], [0030], Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Lee for each pixel further comprises a hydrogen trapping assisting layer that overlaps with the hydrogen trapping layer, and wherein the hydrogen trapping assisting layer is formed on a same layer as the first electrode in order to “ to prevent damage to the organic layer 134 in the process of manufacturing the upper auxiliary electrode 126.” (Lee, [0030])
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160087241 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Choi et al (US 20190198811 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 9. Kim does not disclose wherein a roughness of a surface of the first hydrogen trapping layer is larger than a roughness of a surface of the first electrode.
However, Choi discloses:
“[0090] The sacrificial layer 450 provided in the dummy area DA, according to the first embodiment of the present disclosure, may be provided on the planarization layer 270. The sacrificial layer 450 may be provided between adjacent banks 400 of a plurality of banks provided in the dummy area DA, and thus, may be disposed in a dummy emission area of the dummy area DA. When the sacrificial layer 450 is provided in an emission area of the active area AA, a roughness may increase and may affect the light emitting layer 500, and due to this, the image quality of the electroluminescence display apparatus may be degraded, accordingly the sacrificial layer 450 may not be provided in the active area AA.”
Meaning its inherent that the sacrificial layer 450 has a roughness to it and this is the reason why the authors placed it in a non-emitting area and the examiner assumes since the present application specification does not mention the value of roughness for the first electrode that is must be zero.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Lee for a roughness of a surface of the first hydrogen trapping layer is larger than a roughness of a surface of the first electrode in order to “protect a light emitting layer and a thin film transistor from hydrogen and moisture.” (Choi, [0017])
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 20190198811 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20220190286 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses the light emitting display device according to claim 10. Choi does not disclose wherein the first hydrogen trapping layer is selectively subjected to hydrogen plasma treatment
However, Lee discloses:
wherein the first hydrogen trapping layer (161) is selectively subjected to hydrogen plasma treatment (per [0070]). (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Lee for the first hydrogen trapping layer is selectively subjected to hydrogen plasma treatment in order to “reduce the number of dangling bonds of the inorganic layer.”(Lee [0028]) “Accordingly, sealing property and mechanical strength of the inorganic layer may be improved.” (Lee, [0028])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsuura et al. (US 20020001750 A1) discloses “When the layer of the hydrogen-absorbing alloy oxide is formed on the surface of the hydrogen-absorbing alloy powder, the reaction area on the surface of the hydrogen-absorbing alloy is increased due to the roughness of the layer. “ in [0014] and “When a layer of hydrogen-absorbing alloy oxide is termed on the surface of hydrogen-absorbing alloy, powder, the oxide layer has roughness and thereby results in a large reaction area on the alloy surface.” In [0015] therefore suggesting that the roughness of a surface of hydrogen absorbing materials is an effect of the plasma treatment. However, the prior art does not disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897