DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10, 16-20 in the reply filed on 06/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
It is noted that the claimed invention is directed to a method. The examiner suggests amending the abstract to reflect same.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
It is noted that the title recites a hybrid chemical and physical vapor deposition technique but said technique is not recited in the claims. The examiner suggests a title which reflects the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 16 line 5, from which claims 17-20 depend, the term “the source gas of chloride vapor” lacks antecedent basis. The same issue applies to “the source gas of elemental vapor of transition metal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sangle et al. (2021/0143319) in view of Ren et al. (CN 101817559) (see English Translation).
Sangle teaches a physical vapor deposition process of piezoelectric films (title) over large area semiconductor wafers (0015) using a gas source and a power source (0019). However, the reference fails to teach the claimed precursors.
Ren teaches a preparation method of piezoelectric thick film such as potassium sodium niobate (title) in which niobium chloride, ammonia gas, and sodium and potassium metal (0007). It would have been obvious to utilize the claimed precursors to form the piezoelectric film depending on the desired materials of said film in Sangle with the expectation of success because Ren teaches of using the precursors to form potassium sodium niobate piezoelectric film.
Regarding claim 2, Sangle teaches physical vapor deposition (title).
Regarding claim 6, Sangle teaches a 13 inch diameter target (0023).
Regarding claim 7, the applicant requires a specific thickness uniformity. It is noted that Sangle teaches thicknesses in the nm range (0030-0032). Since Sangle teaches a 13 inch diameter target (0023), 10% would be 1.3 inches. Given Sangle’s thickness range, one skilled in the art could safely assume that the uniformity of Sangle would be within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 8-9, Sangle teaches lead yttrium niobate lead titanate (claim 4).
Regarding claim 10, the applicant requires a specific material. Sangle teaches lead yttrium niobate lead titanate (claim 4). To utilize another Group 3 metal would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
In independent claim 16, the applicant requires zones. It is noted that Sangle teaches of introducing a gas 104 into the chamber 102 having a reaction zone (0019 and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Sangle teaches niobium chloride (0007).
Regarding claim 18, Sangle teaches sodium and potassium (0007).
Regarding claim 19, Sangle teaches ammonia (0007).
Regarding claim 20, Sangle teaches a heater (0019).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
It is well known to have a diffraction rocking curve of 2.4o FWHM as noted in Heiba et al. (2017/0098757) and a d33 more than 100 as noted in Benedict et al. (2019/0189904). However, the prior art references fail to the claimed characteristics.
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 07/29/2026