DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 1-22, received 19 May 2026. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 1-22 is as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2026, 03/12/2026, 04/29/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 8-13, 15-19, 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al (US 20210390004 A1, hereafter referred to as Kundu) in view of Prakash et al (US 20230087665 A1, hereafter referred to as Prakash) in view of Amento et al (US 20190340725 A1, hereafter referred to as Amento).
Regarding claim 1, Kundu teaches one or more processors comprising circuitry to, in response to receipt of an application programming interface (API) call, cause one or more accelerators (Kundu [0220, 0476] teaches an API that provides software functionalities to perform operations on 5G new radio operations on hardware accelerators, wherein the hardware accelerators include GPUs [0092, 0148) to: perform functions on one or more wireless data packets (wireless) data packets (Kundu [0100, 0101, 0095 and 0151]).
However, Kundu does not explicitly teach operations including generate one or more wireless data packets; and perform remote direct memory access to write the one or more wireless data packets directly to the memory of a network interface controller.
Prakash, in an analogous art, teaches operations including generate one or more wireless data packets (Prakash [0083,0074, 0098] discloses generating packet header information).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kundu in view of Prakash in order to configure the operations on the one or more wireless packets, as taught by Kundu, to include generating one or more wireless data packets, as taught by Prakash.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to offload the task of packet generation to an accelerator increasing the performance of the O-DU (Prakash 0064]).
However, Kundu-Prakash does not explicitly teach perform remote direct memory access to write the one or more wireless data packets directly to the memory of a network interface controller (Kundu [0201] teaches the hardware accelerator, performing a plurality of 5G new radio operations on data and providing a result to a network interface for transmission [0201, 0198 and 0095], however, Kundu is silent regarding the specifics thereof).
Amento, in an analogous art, teaches perform remote direct memory access to write the one or more wireless data packets directly to the memory of a network interface controller (Amento [0017] teaches using DMA transfers to move data packets directly from the GPU shared memory pool to the NIC bypassing the CPU).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kundu-Prakash in view of Amento in order to configure performing direct memory access to write the one or more wireless data packets directly to memory of the NIC, as taught by Amento.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to produce a substantial increase in transfer speed (Amento [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the one or more processors wherein to generate one or more wireless data packets include to generate header information of one or more wireless data packets (Prakash [0098, 0074] discloses an accelerator generating headers for messages that are not passthrough messages).
Regarding claim 3, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the one or more processors wherein the one or more accelerators are comprised in a distributed unit that is to operate in an inline acceleration mode (Kundu [0073, 0105], Likewise Prakash [0090]).
Regarding claim 4, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the one or more processors wherein the one or more accelerators are comprised in a distributed unit that is to operate in a lookaside acceleration mode (Kundu [0076, 0105, 0354]).
Regarding claim 5, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the one or more processors wherein the API is included in an acceleration abstraction layer (Kundu [0077] discloses an acceleration abstraction layer to receive API calls to perform wireless operations).
Regarding claim 6, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the one or more processors wherein the API is to be performed in an open radio access network (Kundu [0164]).
Regarding claims 8-11, they do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claims 1-4.
Therefore, claims 8-11 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 1-4.
Regarding claim 12, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the system wherein inputs of the API (Prakash [0070, 0066, 0076 and 0077] teaches an FAPI (functional application platform interface [0060]) wherein inputs are received from the application [0074 and 0083]) comprise one or more of:
an accelerator identification, a workload ID, and packaging information (Prakash [0086 and 0098] teaches transmitting, by the application via FAPI abstractions, information associated with message headers and parameters to be generated or interpretated by the accelerator wherein the accelerator generates message headers/parameters based on the FAPI abstractions or input received from the application [0098]).
Regarding claim 13, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the system wherein the API (Kundu [Abstract] teaches an API to perform 5G new radio operations. Likewise, Prakash [0070, 0066, 0076 and 0077] teaches a FAPI to receive input) is to cause one or more identified accelerators to receive packaging information (Prakash [0086 and 0098] teaches an accelerator receiving input from an application to assist the accelerator in generating second and header information for the message) for one or more specific workloads (Kundu [0197-0198] teaches the API call indicates one or more workloads to be performed on one or more hardware accelerators to perform 5G new radio operations/workloads [0138]) to generate the one or more wireless data packets (Prakash [0083, 0074, 0098] teaches generating header and second information for messages, wherein the messages are part of the 5G NR access technology [0025]).
Regarding claims 15-19 they do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claims 1-5.
Therefore, claims 15-19 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 1-5.
Regarding claim 21, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the one or more processors wherein: the API call includes packaging information (Prakash [0074, 0098] teaches generating header and section information for the message based on input from the application);
the one or more accelerators are to generate the one or more wireless data packets by generating both packet header information (Prakash [0074, 0098] teaches generating header and section information for the message based on input from the application) and packet payload contents using the packaging information (Prakash [0080] teaches embedding at the accelerator a payload of the first message).
Claim 7, 14, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al (US 20210390004 A1, hereafter referred to as Kundu) in view of Prakash et al (US 20230087665 A1, hereafter referred to as Prakash) in view of Amento et al (US 20190340725 A1, hereafter referred to as Amento) as applied above regarding claim 1, further in view of Shim et al (US 20210058925 A1, hereafter referred to as Shim).
Regarding claim 7, Kundu-Prakash-Amento teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
However, Kundu-Prakash-Amento does not explicitly teach the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors is to perform operations of a disaggregated distributed unit, wherein the disaggregated distributed unit comprises two or more logical nodes.
Shim, in an analogous art, teaches the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors is to perform operations of a disaggregated distributed unit, wherein the disaggregated distributed unit comprises two or more logical node (Shim [0063]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kundu-Prakash-Amento in view of Shim in order to configure the distributed unit, as taught by Kundu-Prakash-Amento, to include a disaggregated distributed unit comprising two or more logical nodes, as taught by Shim.
KSR rationale B, simple substitution of one known element (a distributed unit with one logical node, as taught by Kundu-Prakash-Amento) for another known element (a distributed unit comprised of multiple logical nodes, as taught by Shim) in order to yield predictable results (providing service(s) to terminals).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, they do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 7.
Therefore, claims 14 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446