DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to amendment for Application 18/083547 filed on 6/4/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18 and 20-22 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Examiner statements in the mailed final with respect to obvious limitations including common knowledge or well-known in the art are taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the Examiner’s assertion, see MPEP 2144.03 C.
4. Applicant’s arguments in the amendment filed on 6/4/2026 regarding claim rejection under double patenting have been considered and found persuasive. Thus, Examiner will hold this rejection in abeyance.
5. Applicant’s arguments in the amendment filed on 6/4/2026 regarding claim rejection under 35 USC § 103 is moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/083545 in view of Kundu et al. (hereinafter Kundu) US 2021/0390004 A1.
The claims are obvious variation of each other for example, instant claim 1 recites “load” information instead of “generate …packaging information” of copending claim 1. However, this is an obvious variation of each other because the GPU once load the information it automatically generates it.
Current application does not expressly teach “packaging information.” However, Kundu teaches 5g-NR packaging information signals and data packets e.g., packets ingress or egress are performed and accelerate on physical interface. See in ¶0073 & ¶0089-¶0090. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kundu into the system of copending application in order to perform fifth generation (5G) new radio operations where an application programming interface (API) is utilized to perform 5G new radio operations on one or more hardware accelerators through an API call (abstract).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 of copending Application No. 18/083546. The claims are obvious variation of each other. For example, instant claims 1-2 are obvious variation of copending claims 1-2. Thus, the claims are rejected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/083544. The claims are obvious variation of each other. For example, instant claims 1-2 renders obvious copending claim 1. Similar rationale applies to claims 8 and 15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/083548 in view of Kundu. The claims are obvious variation of each other. For example, instant claims 1-2 renders obvious copending claim 1. However, instant claims do not expressly teach “…write 5g-NR information to storage” Kundu teaches that GPU write information to memory where the information includes 5g-NR, see ¶0161-¶0164 & ¶0381, ¶0421-¶0422. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kundu into the system of copending application in order to perform fifth generation (5G) new radio operations where an application programming interface (API) is utilized to perform 5G new radio operations on one or more hardware accelerators through an API call (abstract).
Similar rationale applies to claims 8 and 15. Also same rationale applies to copending application 18/083549.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 14-16, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marolia et al. (hereinafter Marolia) US 2021/0042254 A1 in view of Raduchel et al. (hereinafter Raduchel) US 2018/0063555 A1 in view of Kundu.
Regarding Claim 1, Marolia teaches one or more processors (¶0052-¶0057 & Fig. 7b; DMA Read flow) comprising: circuitry to in response to receipt of an application programming interface (API) call cause one or more graphics processing units (GPUs) to:
perform a remote direct memory access (RDMA) read operation to obtain synchronization information directly from memory of a network interface controller (NIC) external to the one or more GPUs (¶0057-¶0059 & Figs. 7a &b; FIG. 7b shows an RDMA Read flow, under which data is read from the remote host (depicted as the passive target). The initiator specifies the remote virtual address as well as local memory address to be copied to. The remote target is passive because the remote host does not participate the operation (i.e., CPU 610b is not involved). Rather remote RNIC 706 performs a DMA write to the specified remote virtual address.
For the purposes of this discussion assume the user has queued the RDMA READ WQE to SQ 710a. Operations for performing an RDMA Read are as follows. During first operations 1a and 1b, RNIC 704 at the initiator fetches the descriptor (or WQE) from SQ 710a and sends the request over to the RNIC 706 at the target. During second operations 2a and 2b RNIC 706 performs access permission checks for the remote address, fetches the data from GPU memory (data buffer 716b in HBM 616b) and returns it back to the initiator RNIC 704. RNIC 704 then writes the data to the GPU memory (data buffer 716a in HBM 616a), as depicted by operation 3. After the full buffer is read, RNIC 704 posts a completion to CQ 714a, as depicted by operation 4.
Note that Similar flows are possible with SSDs and other PCIe devices, and common to these flows is the ability for the GPU-IIO (ACH) to route and manage traffic from the downstream PCIe device (RNIC in this example) and determine which flows should to/from host memory on the host processor, vs. which flows are destined for a GPU. For instance, this is performed by the GPU core in the RDMA Send and RDMA Read flow examples, and often on to GPU high-bandwidth memory. In this fashion the ACH may be thought of as a complex and integral component to enable this system architecture);
Marolia does not expressly teach “an application programming interface (API) call,” “synchronization information” & “transmit the synchronization information to a central processing unit (CPU).”
Raduchel teaches “an application programming interface (API) call” (¶0079-¶0092 & Fig. 3A; API enable host CPU 300 to command the GPU chip 310 through a peripheral interconnect 302A0 to render one or more video frames to a portion of the graphics memory 320, e.g., within the graphics framebuffer. ¶0084; the GPU chip 310 is capable of establishing direct communications with the host NIC 350, e.g., using the peripheral interconnects 302A and 302B, to potentially reduce buffering and copying overheads discussed throughout. Note that host NIC 350 can be configured to access the host memory 340 using a DMA operation. For example, the host NIC 350 can be configured to retrieve the encoded video data 301 from the host memory 340 once the encoding module 314 accesses and writes to the host memory 340, see ¶0082. Also note that GPUs is external to the NIC, see ¶0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Raduchel into the system of Marolina in order to provide real-time synchronization, built-in data validation, and targeted granularity instead of moving whole files (common knowledge).
Marolia in view of Raduchel does not expressly teach “synchronization information” & “transmit the synchronization information to a central processing unit (CPU).”
Kundu on the other hand is analogous art because Kundu is directed to GPU. See ¶0100-¶0101, ¶0095, ¶0151 & Fig. 2 & ¶0092.
Kundu also teaches GPUs in ¶0315 & ¶0346. For example, Kundu teaches two or more of GPUs 2510-2513 are interconnected over high-speed links 2529-2530, which may be implemented using same or different protocols/links than those used for high-speed links 2540-2543. Similarly, two or more of multi-core processors 2505-2506 may be connected over high-speed link 2528 which may be symmetric multi-processor (SMP) buses operating at 20 GB/s, 30 GB/s, 120 GB/s or higher. Alternatively, all communication between various system components shown in FIG. 25A may be accomplished using same protocols/links (e.g., over a common interconnection fabric).
Kundu further teaches “synchronization information” (¶0191; data that is utilized by a UE to obtain uplink synchronization. See also Fig. 16A & ¶0161-¶0164; a downlink pipeline/ PHY pipeline …diagram 1600A depicts one or more operations and/or processes of a 5.sup.th generation cellular network that can be performed on one or more hardware accelerators through an acceleration abstraction layer (AAL) interface such those described in connection with FIGS. 1-15…downlink comprises various processes in which data is processed and transmitted through a network interface such as a fronthaul (FH) interface. ¶0176; a PSS sequence and SSS sequence are downlink synchronization signals which are utilized by a UE to obtain cell identity and frame timing. ¶0157; each instance of a PHY object is associated with slot configuration for a specific PHY channel (e.g., uplink or downlink) over a single transmission time interval (TTI), or multiple TTIs spanning over one slot or multiple slots.
Also note that Fig. 16A & ¶061-¶0164; downlink comprises various processes in which data is processed and transmitted through a network interface such as a fronthaul (FH) interface. Also, note that Kundu teaches that “in uplink data packets received” which means that information is received/read/loaded from a network e.g., open radio access network (O-RAN) front haul (FH) 1604, also referred to as fronthaul interface, network interface, and/or variations thereof, is an interface that enables transmission and reception of data which includes 5G-NR information that is generated and received from O-RAN FH 1604 or network interface (storage)).
Kundu further teaches “transmit the synchronization information to a central processing unit (CPU)” (see Fig. 20 D that illustrate eight GPUs that communicate with each other using synchronization information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Kundu into the system of Marolia in view of Raduchel in order to perform 5G new radio operations on one or more hardware accelerators through an API call (abstract). Utilizing such teachings enable the system to prevent a bottleneck since the GPU rendered and/or encoded data must first be copied to the main PC or device memory, and then gets transferred to the network card for the image data to be sent out.
Regarding Claim 2, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the processor of claim 1, Kundu further teaches wherein the synchronization information includes one or more time stamps of one or more fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) data packets received by one or more radio units (¶0161-¶0164; one or more processes and/or operations of downlink pipelines are referred to as physical layer functions, 5G new radio operations, and/or variations thereof.
As to the time stamps, the claim merely calls for the GPU to load the sync info that includes timestamps and no further processing on the sync information is done. Here, Kudu still teaches that each instance of a PHY object is associated with slot configuration for a specific PHY channel (e.g., uplink or downlink) over a single transmission time interval (TTI), or multiple TTIs spanning over one slot or multiple slots. In at least one embodiment, for one-to-many mapping between a single cell and multiple instances of a PHY object, different object instances can be used for processing an associated single cell across different time slots, see ¶0157).
Regarding Claim 7, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the processor of claim 1, Kundu further teaches wherein the synchronization information is generated by a distributed unit that comprises two or more logical nodes (¶0164; O-DU e.g., O-RAN distributed unit (O-DU) and supports both an O-RAN radio unit (O-RU) that implements digital beam forming (BF) and various functions and an O-RU that implements digital BF and various functions in combination with precoding. In at least one embodiment, for uplink, split option 7-2x implements resource mapping and higher functions in O-DU and digital BF and lower functions in O-RU).
Regarding Claim 16, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the method of claim 15, Kundu further teaches the method further comprising: reading one or more time stamps of one or more data packets received by one or more radio units (¶0161-¶0164; “interface that enables transmission and reception of data” which means that packets are received/read from a network interface. As to the time stamps, the claim merely calls for the GPU to load the sync info that includes timestamps and no further processing on the sync information is done. Here, Kudu still teaches that each instance of a PHY object is associated with slot configuration for a specific PHY channel (e.g., uplink or downlink) over a single transmission time interval (TTI), or multiple TTIs spanning over one slot or multiple slots. In at least one embodiment, for one-to-many mapping between a single cell and multiple instances of a PHY object, different object instances can be used for processing an associated single cell across different time slots, see ¶0157).
Claims 8-9, 14-15 and 20 are substantially similar to the above claims, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 22, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the system of claim 8, Kundu further teaches wherein the API further causes the one or more GPUs to provide the synchronization information to one or more central processing units (¶0394 & ¶0523 and obvious from Fig. 20D for GPUs to work).
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu and further in view of Chung et al. (hereinafter Chung) US 2020/0327019 A1.
Regarding Claim 3, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the processor of claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the synchronization information includes information to indicate whether a device is a primary or secondary device. Marolina teaches host-mastered flow in ¶0060 which suggests the above limitation. However, Examiner still cites to Chung to support the above teachings.
Chung provides for an application programming interface (“API”) and a computing system for synchronizing an application kernel execution on multiple GPUs, synchronizing GPU execution, obtaining state of the kernel and application data to create a checkpoint, persisting a checkpoint to non-volatile storage like SSD efficiently, and/or recovering GPU application execution from the checkpoint, see ¶0017.
Chung also teaches wherein the synchronization information includes information to indicate whether a device is a primary or secondary device (¶0019, ¶0022-¶0035; master/slave information. Also note that the GPUs may synchronize with each other using a semaphore in unified memory if the GPUs are in one node. If the GPUs are distributed across multiple nodes, after each slave block in each GPU has reached the local barrier (step 5 above), the CPUs managing the GPUs must synchronize with a distributed barrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Chung into the system of Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu in order to provides for checkpointing GPU application data and GPU kernel execution state (¶0020). Utilizing such teachings enable the system to provide persistent checkpoints, and leveraging bandwidth between non-volatile memory and a GPU for checkpointing and recovery (¶0019). Also, enables application kernels to no longer require modifications, but any modification may be inserted by a compiler. Id. moreover provides for debugging a GPU execution and allow for execution migration. Id.
Regarding Claim 4, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the processor of claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the synchronization information includes information that indicates clock offset of one or more processors.
Chung teaches wherein the synchronization information includes information that indicates clock offset of one or more processors (¶0017; provides for an application programming interface (“API”) and a computing system for synchronizing an application kernel execution on multiple GPUs, synchronizing GPU execution, obtaining state of the kernel and application data to create a checkpoint, persisting a checkpoint to non-volatile storage like SSD efficiently, and/or recovering GPU application execution from the checkpoint. The offset is in ¶0028; the present invention provides for recovering checkpointed GPU application data and kernel execution state. In step 1), a “restore_checkpoint API” call may be provided and used when application starts to restore GPU application data and kernel execution state. In step 2), a log file may be scanned to find the latest complete checkpoint and the file offset in the checkpoint file for the latest checkpoint. Any incomplete checkpoint data in the file is discarded. In step 3), from the most recent/latest checkpoint, data for registered data structures may be copied the checkpoint file on non-volatile memory (e.g., SSD) to pre-allocated GPU memory using DMA between the non-volatile memory (e.g., SSD) and GPU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Chung into the system of Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu in order to provides for checkpointing GPU application data and GPU kernel execution state (¶0020). Utilizing such teachings enable the system to provide persistent checkpoints, and leveraging bandwidth between non-volatile memory and a GPU for checkpointing and recovery (¶0019). Also, enables application kernels to no longer require modifications, but any modification may be inserted by a compiler. Id. moreover provides for debugging a GPU execution and allow for execution migration. Id.
Claims 10-11 and 17-18 are substantially similar to the above claims, thus the same rationale applies.
Claims 3-5, 10-12, 17-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu and further in view of Chang et a.; NPL titled “5G programmable Infrastructure Converging…” IDS entry 1 under Non-Patent Literature Documents filed 4/22/2024 (hereinafter Chang).
Regarding Claim 3, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the processor of claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the synchronization information includes information to indicate whether a device is a primary or secondary device.
Chang teaches wherein the synchronization information includes information to indicate whether a device is a primary or secondary device (section 5.1.2: “master/slave”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Chang into the system of Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu in order to allow for precise synchronization of clocks across a network. Utilizing such teachings enable application to have accurate timing where the master clock provides sync messages that slaves use to adjust their local clocks accounting or network delays and ensuring all clocks in the network share the same reference time (common knowledge).
Regarding Claim 4, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the processor of claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the synchronization information includes information that indicates clock offset of one or more processors.
Chang teaches wherein the synchronization information includes information that indicates clock offset of one or more processors (section 5.2.1.1: “clock offset”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Chang into the system of Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu in order to allow for precise synchronization of clocks across a network. Utilizing such teachings enable application to have accurate timing where the master clock provides sync messages that slaves use to adjust their local clocks accounting or network delays and ensuring all clocks in the network share the same reference time (common knowledge).
Regarding Claim 5, Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu teaches the processor of claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the synchronization information includes information that indicates precision time protocol information.
Chang teaches wherein the synchronization information includes information that indicates precision time protocol information (section 5.1.2: “PTP”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Chang into the system of Marolia in view of Raduchel in view of Kundu in order to allow for precise synchronization of clocks across a network. Utilizing such teachings enable application to have accurate timing where the master clock provides sync messages that slaves use to adjust their local clocks accounting or network delays and ensuring all clocks in the network share the same reference time (common knowledge).
Claims 10-12, 17-18 and 21 are substantially similar to the above claims, thus the same rationale applies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455