DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
The existing objections to claims 1, 5, and 16 are overcome by amendment.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s first argument is that Jung makes the entire illumination area a bright field area or dark field area rather than having both in different parts of the illumination area at the same time, however, this argument is moot, as the present action relies on Hashiguchi rather than Jung to teach the limitations regarding splitting the area being inspected into both bright field area and dark field area.
Applicant also argues that Sasaki fails to cure the deficiencies of Jung with respect to claim 1, however, this argument is moot, as the present action does not rely on Sasaki to do so.
Since claim 1 is not allowable, the other claims are not allowable for similar reasons nor due to depending on claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 16-17 objected to because of the following informalities:
As amended, the last limitation in claims 1 and 16 is “(c) inspect an entirety of the die within the field of view by repeatedly inspecting the bright field area by moving the bright field area at a predetermined pitch and imaging [of] the die on the die within the field of view”, but the phrase “on the die” seems out of place, perhaps intended to modify “the field of view”, “the bright field area”, or “at a predetermined pitch” rather than where it is currently placed in the quoted passage. Those three words (“on the die”) do not seem to affect claim interpretation much in its current location or the (Claim 1 has an “of” not found in claim 16, but that is fine either way.)
Claim 11 has a status indicator of “(Currently Amended)”, but appears to not be amended in the filing of 2/26/2026 relative to the previous filing on 9/5/2025, so the status indicator should be “(Previously Presented)”, as the claim had been amended by that previous filing.
In claim 17, The word “device” appears at the end of line 5 and then again at the beginning of line 6, likely an unintended repetition. In line 10, “the step” should likely be “steps”, as there is more than one step listed and to fix the antecedent basis issue described below. The verbs “detect” and “inspect” that start steps (b) and (c) would fit better grammatically in the gerund form “detecting” and “inspecting”. Finally, claim 17 includes a potentially misplaced “on the die” in the final paragraph, similar to claims 1 and 16, described above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the step" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In this case, “the step” is interpreted as “steps”, as there are several steps listed, not just one.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the distance" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim element is interpreted as “a distance”
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the diameter" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim element is interpreted as “a diameter”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US patent publication 20050168729) in view of Hashiguchi (foreign patent document JP 2020094877).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprising:
an imaging device (FIG. 6, camera 4) that images a die (FIG. 6, wafer 6);
a lighting device having a light source (FIG. 6, illumination device 2’, including light source 11’ and light guide or light guiding bundle 12’) that is a point light source or a line light source (paragraph 40, note that the end of an optical fiber is approximately a point source), the light source illuminates a single area on the die within a field of view of the imaging device (FIG. 6, incident illumination device 2’ lights a single area on the surface 32 of wafer 6, in view of the camera 4); and
a controller (FIG. 6, computer 14),
wherein the area is a bright field area (paragraph 41) in which a recess formed on surface of the die is observed as a dark area and surface of the die other than the recess is observed as a bright area, by the imaging device (see paragraph 41. Note that light would still be scattered from defects, such as a recess in the die, in directions other than would be predicted from specular reflection from an unrecessed surface while using the bright-field configuration just as in the dark-field configuration, but that, since the specularly reflected light is directed to the camera in the bright-field configuration, light scattered elsewhere would not be detected by the camera, so would be missing light would be darker than if all the light were reflected as expected),
wherein the controller is configured to:
(a) apply a light beam to the die by the light source to form the bright field area and the dark field area on the die, and acquire image data by imaging the die using the imaging device (paragraph 8 describes taking both bright-field images and dark-field images);
(b) detect the dark area as a flaw, if the dark area is recognized within the bright field area by image processing the image data (paragraph 48, last sentence); and
(c) inspect an entirety of the die within the field of view (paragraph 20 describes taking images of an area slightly larger than the die to ensure that the entire die is imaged, even taking into account tolerances) by repeatedly inspecting the bright field area by moving the bright field area at a predetermined pitch and imaging of the die on the die within the field of view (FIG. 1 shows a way to do this for both bright-field and dark-field illumination).
Jung does not explicitly teach using a bright field area smaller than the die.
In the same field of endeavor of optical inspection combining bright-field and dark-field illumination, Hashiguchi does teach using a bright field area smaller than the die (FIG. 3 shows a lighting unit in which LEDs 1014a-1014h are arranged, as well as a procedure of lighting them one at a time (steps S18 to S20, described in paragraphs 49-53) that produces a single bright-field region and a dark-field region in the captured image). By having separate illumination from each of a number of separate light sources, Hashiguchi is able to capture an image with both bright-field and dark-field illumination (paragraph 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inspection apparatus of Jung with the smaller area of bright field of Hashiguchi to achieve the predictable result of capturing both bright-field data and dark-field data in a single image.
Regarding claim 2, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
While Jung does teach that the controller is configured to move the bright field area by moving a light-emitting direction of the light source (paragraph 71), Jung does not explicitly teach that the controller is configured to move the bright field area by moving a light-emitting position of the light source.
In the same field of endeavor of optical inspection combining bright-field and dark-field illumination, Hashiguchi does teach that the controller is configured to move the bright field area by moving a light-emitting position of the light source (steps S18 to S20 involve capturing images by switching which LED is on at a given time, changing the position of illumination by changing which portion is producing the illumination. Also, lighting unit 101 is attached to movable mechanism 103, which can move the light-emitting position when desired, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified when the movable mechanism is used in service of combining the lighting unit of Hashiguchi with the inspection apparatus of Jung). By moving the light-emitting position of the lighting unit, Hashiguchi is able to move the bright-field area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inspection apparatus of Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, to move the bright-field region in the manner of Hashiguchi, by either switching which light source is active or physically moving the lighting unit to provide a means of moving the bright-field region.
Regarding claim 3, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that the controller is configured to move the bright field area by moving the die (paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 5, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that when the controller is configured to repeat moving the bright field area such that the areas to which the bright field areas are moved overlap (paragraph 20). By overlapping the bright-field images, Jung is able to image the entire area using bright-field illumination without uninspected gaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have retained the feature of overlapping bright-field images while designing the inspection apparatus of Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, in order to retain the predictable benefit of inspecting the entire die with bright-field illumination.
Regarding claim 6, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that the controller is configured to image the die the using the imaging device (paragraphs 11-12), and to perform bright field inspection to detect the dark area in the bright field area (FIG. 6, using illumination from illumination device 2’) and perform dark-field inspection to detect the bright area in a dark field area (FIG. 6, using illumination from illumination device 2) adjacent to the bright field area (paragraph 22 allows for one bright field image to be taken at the same time as a dark field image, separated in wavelength rather than time. When this is combined with imaging adjacent regions in successive images (paragraph 20), the bright field area for one image is adjacent to the dark field area for the next.).
Regarding claim 7, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that the controller is configured to, after transfer of image data of first bright field area by the imaging device (paragraphs 18 and 48), perform an image process and a determination process of the first bright field area in parallel with transfer of image data of a subsequent bright field area by the imaging device (paragraphs 38 and 48 mention that the image data conveyed to the computer may be temporarily stored or further processed. Choosing to further process the data instead of temporarily storing it would mean performing the processing in parallel with the ongoing image acquisition).
Regarding claim 8, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that a half mirror disposed between the imaging device and the die is further provided (FIG. 6, beam splitter mirror 50); and
the light source is configured illuminate the die using the half mirror (FIG. 6, illumination device 2’ shines on region 8 using beam splitter mirror 50).
Regarding claim 16, Jung teaches an inspection apparatus comprising:
an imaging device (FIG. 6, camera 4) that images a die (FIG. 6, wafer 6);
a lighting device having a light source (FIG. 6, illumination device 2’, including light source 11’ and light guide or light guiding bundle 12’) that is a point light source or a line light source (paragraph 40, note that the end of an optical fiber is approximately a point source), the light source illuminating a single area on the die within a field of view of the imaging device (FIG. 6, incident illumination device 2’ lights a single area on the surface 32 of wafer 6, in view of the camera 4); and
a controller (FIG. 6, computer 14),
wherein the area is a bright field area (paragraph 41) in which a recess formed on surface of the die is observed as a dark area and surface of the die other than the recess is observed as a bright area, by the imaging device (see paragraph 41. Note that light would still be scattered from defects, such as a recess in the die, in directions other than would be predicted from specular reflection from an unrecessed surface while using the bright-field configuration just as in the dark-field configuration, but that, since the specularly reflected light is directed to the camera in the bright-field configuration, light scattered elsewhere would not be detected by the camera, so would be missing light would be darker than if all the light were reflected as expected),
wherein a surface of the die other than the area is a dark field area that is observed by the imaging device as a dark area (paragraph 8 describes taking both bright-field images and dark-field images),
wherein the controller is configured to:
(a) apply a light beam to the die by the light source to form the bright field area and the dark field area on the die, and acquire image data by imaging the die using the imaging device (paragraph 8 describes taking both bright-field images and dark-field images);
(b) detect the dark area as a flaw, if the dark area is recognized within the bright field area by image processing the image data (paragraph 48, last sentence); and
(c) inspect an entirety of the die within the field of view by repeatedly inspecting the bright field area by moving the bright field area at a predetermined pitch and imaging the die on the die within the field of view.
Jung does not explicitly teach using a bright field area smaller than the die.
In the same field of endeavor of optical inspection combining bright-field and dark-field illumination, Hashiguchi does teach using a bright field area smaller than the die (FIG. 3 shows a lighting unit in which LEDs 1014a-1014h are arranged, as well as a procedure of lighting them one at a time (steps S18 to S20, described in paragraphs 49-53) that produces a single bright-field region and a dark-field region in the captured image). By having separate illumination from each of a number of separate light sources, Hashiguchi is able to capture an image with both bright-field and dark-field illumination (paragraph 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inspection apparatus of Jung with the smaller area of bright field of Hashiguchi to achieve the predictable result of capturing both bright-field data and dark-field data in a single image.
Regarding claim 17, Jung teaches a manufacturing method for a semiconductor devicethat images a die (FIG. 6, wafer 6), and a lighting device having a light source (FIG. 6, illumination device 2’, including light source 11’ and light guide or light guiding bundle 12’) that is a point light source or a line light source (paragraph 40, note that the end of an optical fiber is approximately a point source), the light source illuminates a single area on the die within a field of view of the imaging device (FIG. 6, incident illumination device 2’ lights a single area on the surface 32 of wafer 6, in view of the camera 4); device, the area is a bright field area in which a recess formed on a surface of the die is observed as a dark area and a surface of the die other than the recess is observed as a bright area, by the imaging device (paragraph 40, note that the end of an optical fiber is approximately a point source), the light source illuminates a single area on the die within a field of view of the imaging device (FIG. 6, incident illumination device 2’ lights a single area on the surface 32 of wafer 6, in view of the camera 4), and a surface of the die other than the area is a dark field area that is observed by the imaging device as a dark area (paragraph 8 describes taking both bright-field images and dark-field images), the method comprising the step of:
(a) applying a light beam to the die by the light source to form the bright field area and the dark field area on the die and acquire image data by imaging the die using the imaging device (paragraph 8 describes taking both bright-field images and dark-field images);
(b) detect the dark area as a flaw, if the dark area is recognized within the bright field area by image processing the image data (paragraph 48, last sentence); and
(c) inspect an entirety of the die within the field of view (paragraph 20 describes taking images of an area slightly larger than the die to ensure that the entire die is imaged, even taking into account tolerances) by repeatedly inspecting the bright field area by moving the bright field area at a predetermined pitch and imaging the die on the die within the field of view (FIG. 1 shows a way to do this for both bright-field and dark-field illumination).
Jung does not explicitly teach using a bright field area smaller than the die.
In the same field of endeavor of optical inspection combining bright-field and dark-field illumination, Hashiguchi does teach using a bright field area smaller than the die (FIG. 3 shows a lighting unit in which LEDs 1014a-1014h are arranged, as well as a procedure of lighting them one at a time (steps S18 to S20, described in paragraphs 49-53) that produces a single bright-field region and a dark-field region in the captured image). By having separate illumination from each of a number of separate light sources, Hashiguchi is able to capture an image with both bright-field and dark-field illumination (paragraph 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inspection method of Jung with the smaller area of bright field of Hashiguchi to achieve the predictable result of capturing both bright-field data and dark-field data in a single image.
Regarding claim 18, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that the light source is a point light source (paragraph 40, note that the end of an optical fiber is approximately a point source), and the bright field area formed on the die is a circular shape (the reflection of a point source on a flat surface is typically a circular shape).
Regarding claim 19, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that the predetermined pitch is the distance at which the adjacent bright field regions contact or overlap each other (paragraph 20, which describes overlapping the areas imaged in a bright-field configuration).
Regarding claim 20, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that the imaging device is equipped with a macro lens having a field of view wider than the diameter of the lens itself (FIG. 6. Note that the field of view from objective 5 widens downward toward the illuminated region 8, indicating a widening field of view).
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US patent publication 20050168729) in view of Hashiguchi (foreign patent document JP 2020094877), further in view of Sasaki (US patent publication 20180347970).
Regarding claim 9, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches or renders obvious the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung further teaches that the lighting device is disposed between the imaging device and the die, and the lighting device includes a half mirror (FIG. 6, beam splitter mirror 50, disposed between camera 4 and wafer 6);
Jung does not explicitly teach that the lighting device includes a surface emitting illuminator;
the surface emitting illuminator includes a plurality of LEDs disposed flat in a matrix configuration, and the LEDs are operable to individually turn on and turn off; and
the controller is configured to light some of the plurality of LEDs to form the point light source or the line light source.
In the same field of endeavor of optical inspection of semiconductor wafers, Sasaki teaches that the lighting device includes a surface emitting illuminator (FIG. 5A, pattern light illuminating section 2, shown in detail in FIG. 3);
the surface emitting illuminator includes a plurality of LEDs disposed flat in a matrix configuration, and the LEDs are operable to individually turn on and turn off (FIG. 3, LEDs 20 and 21, shown in FIG. 5A as not all being equally active); and
the controller is configured to light some of the plurality of LEDs to form the point light source or the line light source (FIG. 5A shows patterns of LEDs acting as point light sources, combining to make particular patterns of illumination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor inspection device of Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, with the light emitting surface of Sasaki as a particular way to implement the point or line illumination, with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi and Sasaki, teaches the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 9 (as described above).
Jung does not explicitly teach that the controller is configured to change a lighting site of the LED to move the point light source or the line light source.
Hashiguchi does explicitly teach that the controller is configured to change a lighting site of the LED to move the point light source or the line light source (FIG. 4, steps S18 to S20, described in paragraphs 49-53) as a way to scan the bright-field region across the wafer under test.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor inspection device of Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi and Sasaki, to change a lighting site of the LED as the particular way of scanning the surface of the wafer under test, as taught by Hashiguchi.
Regarding claim 11, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi and Sasaki, teaches or renders obvious teaches the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 10 (as described above).
While neither Jung nor Sasaki explicitly teaches that the controller is configured to light all the plurality of LEDs at a time of alignment, Sasaki does teach turning all the LEDs in pattern light illuminating section 2 to increase the light emission (paragraph 95). Depending on the nature of the alignment, increasing illumination may be helpful during a time of alignment, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have turned on all the LEDs of Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi and Sasaki, during a time of alignment.
Regarding claim 12, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi and Sasaki, teaches the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 11 (as described above).
Jung does not explicitly teach that the lighting device further comprises: a diffuser provided between the surface emitting illuminator and the half mirror; and a side plate provided between the surface emitting illuminator and the diffuser.
Sasaki does teach that the lighting device further comprises: a diffuser provided between the surface emitting illuminator and the half mirror (FIG. 5A, diffusing member 24); and a side plate provided between the surface emitting illuminator and the diffuser (FIG. 5A, the walls of pattern light illuminating section 2 that distance diffusing member 24 from LEDs 20 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wafer inspection apparatus of Jung, as modified by Sasaki with the diffusing member and side plates of Sasaki to implement a bright field and dark field defect detection system in the manner of Sasaki.
Regarding claim 13, Jung, as modified by Sasaki, teaches the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 11 (as described above).
Jung does not explicitly teach that the lighting device further includes a liquid crystal panel provided between the surface emitting illuminator and the half mirror.
Sasaki does teach that the lighting device further includes a liquid crystal panel provided between the surface emitting illuminator and the half mirror (paragraph 83). This is one of the ways that Sasaki teaches for controlling the pattern light illuminating section 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor inspection device of Jung, as modified by Sasaki, with the liquid crystal panel of Sasaki as a means to control the light emitting surface.
Regarding claim 14, Jung, as modified by Sasaki, teaches the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 10 (as described above).
Neither Jung nor Sasaki explicitly teaches a second lighting device disposed between the imaging device and the die, the second lighting device including a surface emitting illuminator, a half mirror, and a diffuser provided between the surface emitting illuminator and the half mirror, however mere duplication of parts does not generally patentably distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung, as modified by Sasaki, further via the mere duplication of parts to provide a second lighting device with the same parts present in the first lighting device.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US patent publication 20050168729) in view of Hashiguchi (foreign patent document JP 2020094877), further in view of Kobashi (Foreign Patent Document JP2018195735A).
Regarding claim 4, Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, teaches the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1 (as described above).
Jung does not explicitly teach that the controller is configured to move the bright field area by moving the imaging device.
In the same field of endeavor of optical inspection of semiconductor wafers, Kobashi teaches that the controller is configured to move the bright field area by moving the imaging device (paragraph 60, option e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor inspection device of Jung, as modified by Hashiguchi, by moving the imaging device in the manner of Kobashi, in order to induce the 90° phase shifts of Sasaki and scan the surface of the semiconductor wafer.
Conclusion
/PAUL SCHNASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877