DETAILED ACTION
1. The Amendment filed 07/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8 & 10-17 in the application remain pending. Claims 1, 10, 13 & 17 were amended. Claims 18-20 were cancelled.
Claim Objections
4. Claim objections on claim 17 are rendered moot per amendments.
Claim Rejections
5. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Han et al. (US 20150044930 A1) of claim 9 are withdrawn per cancellation of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5, 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 20150044930 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Han et al teach a mask comprised of a stage 201 (mask frame) with a hollow portion 204 (opening) [fig 1-3; para 65-70]. Han shows different perspective views of apparatus in fig 8, 15 and 16. Fig 8 is plan view of mask with stage (frame) which also includes groove 203 (accommodation structure). Mask sheet 723 as shown in fig 15 is capable of being disposed on top of stage as shown in figure 8. In this case, the openings of mask sheet 723 overlaps in alignment with the stage and grooves 203 which is partially shown in fig 16. The stage 201 has an accommodation groove 203 (accommodation structure) and the portion of stage 201 that has the accommodation groove 203 corresponds to the claimed 'accommodation space'. [fig 3; para 71]. A displacement sensor 300 (sensor) is accommodated in the accommodation groove 203 [para 71].
Regarding Claim 2: Han teaches sensor 300 accommodated in the accommodation groove 203 is a displacement sensor [para 71, 75-77]
Regarding Claim 3: Han teaches sensor 300 can be an optical displacement sensor (camera) [para 75].
Regarding Claim 4 and 5: Han teaches a controller 500 (communication transceiver and driving circuit) that has an input and output unit to obtain information from sensor 300 which suggests the controller is connected to the sensor. [para65; 81-82]
Regarding Claim 10: Han shows different perspective views of apparatus in fig 8, 15 and 16. Fig 8 is plan view of mask with stage (frame) which also includes groove 203 (accommodation structure). Mask sheet 723 as shown in fig 15 is capable of being disposed on top of stage as shown in figure 8. In this case, the openings of mask sheet 723 overlaps in alignment with the stage and grooves 203 which is partially shown in fig 16.
Regarding Claim 11 and 12: Han teaches a mask frame 710 (cover) connected to stage 200 which covers the groove 203. The overlapping space between stage and frame (cover) corresponds to the claimed 'accommodation space'[fig 11]. Han teaches the mask is inside a chamber 100 and chamber can be connected to outside which is has atmospheric pressure [para 66].
Regarding Claim 13: Han et al teach a mask comprised of a stage 201 (frame) with a hollow portion 204 (opening) [fig 1-3; para 65-70]. The stage 201 has an accommodation groove 203 (accommodation structure) and the portion of stage 201 that has the accommodation groove 203 corresponds to the claimed 'accommodation space'. [fig 3; para 71]. A displacement sensor 300 (sensor) is accommodated in the accommodation groove 203 [para 71]. Han shows different perspective views of apparatus in fig 8, 15 and 16. Fig 8 is plan view of mask with stage (frame) which also includes groove 203 (accommodation structure). Mask sheet 723 as shown in fig 15 is capable of being disposed on top of stage as shown in figure 8. In this case, the openings of mask sheet 723 overlaps in alignment with the stage and grooves 203 which is partially shown in fig 16. The limitations regarding carrier substrate are shown below.
A mask frame 710 will be placed between stage 200 and mask 730 sheet which corresponds to the claimed 'substrate' [fig 11; para 133-136]
Regarding Claim 14: Han teaches sensor 301 accommodated in the accommodation groove 203 is a displacement sensor [para 71, 75-77, 103]
Regarding Claim 15: Han teaches a structure corresponds to the carrier substrate as shown in claim 13. The structure has a sensor 300, which can be an optical displacement sensor (camera) [para 75].
Regarding Claim 16: The limitation is shown below
Also, Han teaches the mask is inside a chamber 100 and chamber can be connected to outside which is has atmospheric pressure [para 66].
Regarding Claim 17: The limitation is shown below:
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 6 would be allowable because Han et al. fail to disclose or suggest a driving circuit being disposed on an accommodation structure that is separate from the accommodation structure where a first sensor is disposed. Claims 7 and 8 are dependent on claim 6.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
(a) Han fails to disclose the elements of claim 1. The seat portion 201 of the stage 200 in Han cannot correspond to the claimed mask frame. The Office Action maps Han's stage/seat portion 200/201 to the claimed frame, but Han expressly identifies element 200 as a "stage" arranged in chamber 100, with seat portion 201 supporting a measurement target 700. Han's displacement sensor 300 is likewise arranged on the stage 200 or seat portion 201 to measure a distance between the stage 200 and the measurement target 700. Thus, Han's element 200 is a support stage of the apparatus, not a mask frame of a mask. Thus, Han does not disclose an accommodation structure disposed on the mask frame and defining an accommodation space in which the sensor is disposed.
(b) For at least the above reasons, claims 1-5, 10-12 are patentable over Han. Claims 13-17 are patentable over Han for similar reasons.
9. In response to applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments.
(a) Merriam-Webster defines frame as follows: something composed of parts fitted together and united; the underlying constructional system or structure that gives shape or strength.
As already discussed above in detail in regards to claim 1, Han teaches a mask comprised of a stage 201 (mask frame) with a hollow portion 204 (opening) [fig 1-3; para 65-70]. Han shows different perspective views of apparatus in fig 8, 15 and 16. Fig 8 is plan view of mask with stage (frame) which also includes groove 203 (accommodation structure). Mask sheet 723 as shown in fig 15 is capable of being disposed on top of stage as shown in figure 8. In this case, the openings of mask sheet 723 overlaps in alignment with the stage and grooves 203 which is partially shown in fig 16. The stage 201 has an accommodation groove 203 (accommodation structure) and the portion of stage 201 that has the accommodation groove 203 corresponds to the claimed 'accommodation space'. [fig 3; para 71]. A displacement sensor 300 (sensor) is accommodated in the accommodation groove 203 [para 71].
That is, stage 201 (mask frame) with a hollow portion 204 (opening) with an accommodation groove 203 (accommodation structure) for displacement sensor 300 (sensor) would indeed qualify as parts fitted together and united wherein the underlying structure gives shape or strength. This is further exemplified by fig. 1-3, 8 & 15-16 which clearly show the claimed configuration and structure.
Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP § 2125.
Further, Applicants arguments are not commensurate with the breadth of the currently amended claims. Applicant is reminded that the transition phase “comprising” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP 2111.03. Thus, the apparatuses of Han can contain additional elements such as 710 and any other additional unrecited elements or structural features.
(b) In view of the foregoing, Examiner respectfully contends the limitations of claim 1 are indeed satisfied. Claims 1-5, 10-12 are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1, as well as for their own rejections on the merits, respectively. Claims 13-17 are rejected over Han for similar reasons.
Conclusion
10. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717