DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US 2021/0098421 A1 in view of Deng et al. US 2020/0083153 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4-10, Wu discloses:
An electronic package (Fig. 12 in view of Figs. 1-11), comprising:
a package substrate (T1C);
a first die and second die (330Cs from left to right 1st, 3rd or 5th) embedded in the package substrate; and
a third die (200D, 200F or 200H) over the package substrate.
Wu does not disclose:
wherein the first die and the second die are entirely within a footprint of the third die from a plan view perspective.
Deng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
a first die (210A) and a second die (210B) are entirely within a footprint of a third die (210C) from a plan view perspective (Fig .2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the package configuration of Deng with the semiconductor package of Wu to determine a smaller footprint package structure with high density interconnections incorporating trace interconnections between embedded die as required by design choice.
(claim 2) Wu: para 0030.
(claim 4) Wu: a pad (112); and an adhesive layer (438).
(claims 5 and 6) Wu: para 0052; fiberglass resin core.
(claim 7) Wu: a third die (200E or 200G); or a fourth die (330Cs from left to right 2nd or 4th).
(claim 8) Wu: 330s shown with the same thickness.
(claim 9) Wu: paras 0030 and 0098; function as bridge dies.
(claim 10) Wu: para 0107; 300 coupled to a substrate board.
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses:
A computing system (Fig. 12 in view of Figs. 1-11), comprising:
a board (para 0107; 300 coupled to a substrate board);
an electronic package coupled to the board (90), wherein the electronic package comprises:
a package substrate (T1C);
a first die and a second die (330Cs from left to right 1st, 3rd or 5th) embedded in the package substrate; and
a third die (200D, 200F or 200H) over the package substrate.
Wu does not disclose:
wherein the first die is a first memory die and the second die is a second memory die; and
wherein the first die and the second die are entirely within a footprint of the third die from a plan view perspective.
Deng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
wherein the first die is a first memory die and the second die is a second memory die (paras 0049-0052); and
a first die (210A) and a second die (210B) are entirely within a footprint of a third die (210C) from a plan view perspective (Fig .2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the package configuration of Deng with the semiconductor package of Wu to determine a smaller footprint package structure with high density interconnections incorporating trace interconnections between embedded die as required by design choice.
Regarding claims 3, 19 and 20, although Wu does not specifically disclose ”(claim 3) wherein the memory die is an L3 memory cache; (claim 19) a display coupled to the second die; and (claim 20) wherein the computing system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile”, Wu provides ample evidence, in paras 0002, 0030, 0038 and 0040, that various components, die types and device packages can be used to perform a variety of functions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed die, connections and directives, based on the citations of Wu, since the provided
specification is geared towards increasing integration density and miniaturization of semiconductor packages in general.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to teach or clearly suggest the limitations of claim 11 stating “a third die embedded in the package substrate, wherein the third die is entirely within a footprint of the first die from a plan view perspective; a fourth die embedded in the package substrate, wherein the fourth die is within the footprint of the first die and within a footprint of the second die; and a fifth die embedded in the package substrate, wherein the fifth die is entirely within the footprint of the first die from the plan view perspective”. In light of these limitations, the prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERROL V FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, AU 2893