DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on February 10th 2023, April 7th 2023, and November 6th 2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“wherein the the second plurality of voltage measurements” should read “wherein the second plurality of voltage measurements”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the at least one first voltage measurement comprises a plurality of voltage measurements obtained at intervals of approximately 16 milliseconds during the first recovery period”.
The interval of 16 milliseconds is not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Podrazhansky et al. (WO 9707582 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Podrazhansky teaches a battery monitor (40, see Fig. 4) coupled to a battery (82) comprising at least one cell, the at least one cell including a first cell ([Page 8 Lines 23-24] “These values are, therefore, entered into the program as well as the particular battery type and the number of cells in the battery”), the battery monitor comprising:
a voltage sensor ([Page 11 Lines 22-23]“An A/D converter is used between the analog voltages being measured and the processor 38”) electrically coupled to the battery (82);
a processor (38);
and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (see instructions flowchart in Fig. 2) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
cause discharge of current from the battery over a sequence of discharge periods (16.1, 16.2 see Fig. 1), each discharge period followed by a recovery period (18.1, 18.3, 18.4) ([Page 3 Lines 15-18] “In one technique for charging a battery in accordance with the invention the charging current is applied in a pulse to a battery and the charge pulse is followed by a depolarizing pulse and then a first rest period which is followed by a depolarizing pulse followed by a second rest period”);
obtain, using the voltage sensor, a first plurality voltage measurements of the first cell during recovery periods that follow respective discharge periods, the obtaining comprising ([Page 4 Lines 10-11] “By sensing the battery open circuit voltage during a second or later extended rest period…”):
obtaining, using the voltage sensor, at least one first voltage measurement of the first plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell during a first recovery period after a first discharge ([Page 8 Lines 3-4] “During each extended second rest period of a charge cycle 10 the open circuit voltage is measured as suggested with arrows 34”, see arrow 34 circled below); and
obtaining, using the voltage sensor, at least one second voltage measurement of the first plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell during a second recovery period after a second discharge period (see [Page 8 Lines 3-4] quoted above, and see arrow 34.1 circled above),
wherein the second recovery period is subsequent to the first recovery period (see Fig. 1);
wherein the first plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell indicate at least a portion of a first characterization of the first cell ([Pages 9-10, Lines 25-26 and 1] “After the open circuit voltage is measured and stored in a suitable memory at 52 a test is made at 54 whether the open circuit voltage is in a desired range, for the particular type of battery being charged, to indicate an overcharge condition”).
Regarding Claim 7, Podrazhansky teaches the battery monitor of claim 1.
Podrazhansky further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to generate:
a first indication that the battery was in recovery during the at least one first voltage measurement ([Page 10 Lines 8-11] “a test is made at 58 whether two consecutive open circuit voltage measurements have been made. If not the program is returned to step 46 with a setting of an interval timer at 59 until the test at 58 yields a positive response”, see block 58 in Fig. 2: “Are there consecutive Voc measurements during extended rest periods?”);
Regarding Claim 8, Podrazhansky teaches the battery monitor of claim 1.
Podrazhansky further teaches wherein obtaining, using the voltage sensor, the first plurality of measurements of the first cell during the plurality of recovery periods further comprises
obtaining, using the voltage sensor, at least one third voltage measurement (34.2) of the first plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell during a third recovery period (18.4) after a third discharge period (3rd 16.2), wherein the third discharge period is subsequent to the second recovery period (see Fig. 1);
Regarding Claim 11, Podrazhansky teaches a method performed by a battery monitor (40) coupled to a battery (82) comprising at least one cell, the at least one cell including a first cell ([Page 8 Lines 23-24] “These values are, therefore, entered into the program as well as the particular battery type and the number of cells in the battery”), the method comprising:
discharging current from the battery over a sequence of discharge periods (16.1, 16.2 see Fig. 1), each discharge period followed by a recovery period (18.1, 18.3, 18.4) ([Page 3 Lines 15-18] “In one technique for charging a battery in accordance with the invention the charging current is applied in a pulse to a battery and the charge pulse is followed by a depolarizing pulse and then a first rest period which is followed by a depolarizing pulse followed by a second rest period”);
obtaining, using a voltage sensor, a first plurality voltage measurements of the first cell during recovery periods that follow respective discharge periods ([Page 4 Lines 10-11] “By sensing the battery open circuit voltage during a second or later extended rest period…”), the obtaining comprising:
obtaining, using the voltage sensor, at least one first voltage measurement of the first plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell during a first recovery period after a first discharge period ([Page 8 Lines 3-4] “During each extended second rest period of a charge cycle 10 the open circuit voltage is measured as suggested with arrows 34”, see arrow 34 circled below);
and obtaining, using the voltage sensor, at least one second voltage measurement of the plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell during a second recovery period after a second discharge period, wherein the second recovery period is subsequent to the first recovery period (see [Page 8 Lines 3-4] quoted above, and see arrow 34.1 circled above),;
wherein the first plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell indicate at least a portion of a first characterization of the first cell ([Pages 9-10, Lines 25-26 and 1] “After the open circuit voltage is measured and stored in a suitable memory at 52 a test is made at 54 whether the open circuit voltage is in a desired range, for the particular type of battery being charged, to indicate an overcharge condition”).
Regarding Claim 15, Podrazhansky teaches a system comprising:
a processor (38);
and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
receive a plurality of voltage measurements (34, 34.1) of a first cell of a battery obtained during recovery periods (18.2, 18.3, 18.4), each of the recovery periods following a respective discharge period (16.2), the plurality of voltage measurements including:
at least one first voltage measurement (34) obtained in a first recovery period (18.2) after a first discharge period (1st 16.2); and
at least one second voltage measurement (34.1) obtained in a second recovery period (18.3) after a second discharge period (2nd 16.2),
wherein the second recovery period is subsequent to the first recovery period (see Fig. 1);
generate a first characterization for the first cell using the plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell ([Pages 9-10, Lines 25-26 and 1] “After the open circuit voltage is measured and stored in a suitable memory at 52 a test is made at 54 whether the open circuit voltage is in a desired range, for the particular type of battery being charged, to indicate an overcharge condition”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podrazhansky et al. (WO 9707582 A1) in view of Arai et al. (US 6201373 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, Podrazhansky teaches the battery monitor of claim 1.
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one first voltage measurement comprises a plurality of voltage measurements and the instructions further cause the processor to determine a median or mean of the plurality of voltage measurements.
Arai teaches wherein the at least one first voltage measurement comprises a plurality of voltage measurements and the instructions further cause the processor to determine a median or mean of the plurality of voltage measurements ([Col 5 Lines 26-30] “When the sampling counter N1 counts eight units in step S211, each average value of eight current values and eight voltage values are obtained (S213). In this example, the average current is Y and the average voltage is X, and then, each average is obtained based on the equation (1)”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Arai to provide wherein the at least one first voltage measurement comprises a plurality of voltage measurements and the instructions further cause the processor to determine a median or mean of the plurality of voltage measurements in order to get a more accurate voltage measurement.
Regarding Claim 3, Podrazhansky teaches the battery monitor of claim 1,
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one first voltage measurement comprises a plurality of voltage measurements obtained at intervals of approximately 16 milliseconds during the first recovery period.
Arai teaches wherein the at least one first voltage measurement comprises a plurality of voltage measurements ([Col 5 Lines 26-30] “When the sampling counter N1 counts eight units in step S211, each average value of eight current values and eight voltage values are obtained (S213). In this example, the average current is Y and the average voltage is X, and then, each average is obtained based on the equation (1)”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Arai to provide wherein the at least one first voltage measurement comprises a plurality of voltage measurements in order to get a more accurate voltage measurement.
Podrazhansky in view of Arai does not explicitly teach that the voltage measurements are obtained at intervals of approximately 16 milliseconds during the first recovery period, however, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the voltage can be measured at different intervals.
Regarding Claim 4, Podrazhansky teaches the battery monitor of claim 1.
Podrazhansky further teaches a discharge circuit (86) electrically coupled to the battery (see Fig. 4, [Page 11 Lines 16-17] “A battery 82 is shown having its positive terminal 83 connected to a charging circuit 84 and a depolarization or discharge circuit 86”).
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: obtain, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell during the sequence of discharge periods;
Arai teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: obtain, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell ([Col 5 Lines 26-30] “When the sampling counter N1 counts eight units in step S211, each average value of eight current values and eight voltage values are obtained (S213). In this example, the average current is Y and the average voltage is X, and then, each average is obtained based on the equation (1)”, the voltage sampling forms a second plurality of measurements).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Arai to provide wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: obtain, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell in order get a more accurate final voltage measurement.
The combination of Podrazhansky and Arai further teaches wherein the second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell indicate at least a portion of the first characterization of the first cell ([Podrazhansky Pages 9-10, Lines 25-26 and 1] “After the open circuit voltage is measured and stored in a suitable memory at 52 a test is made at 54 whether the open circuit voltage is in a desired range, for the particular type of battery being charged, to indicate an overcharge condition”).
Regarding Claim 12, Podrazhansky teaches the method of claim 11.
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach obtaining, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell during the sequence of discharge periods,
Arai teaches obtaining, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell ([Col 5 Lines 26-30] “When the sampling counter N1 counts eight units in step S211, each average value of eight current values and eight voltage values are obtained (S213). In this example, the average current is Y and the average voltage is X, and then, each average is obtained based on the equation (1)”, the voltage sampling forms a second plurality of measurements).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Arai to provide obtaining, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell in order get a more accurate final voltage measurement.
The combination of Podrazhansky and Arai further teaches wherein the second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell indicate at least a portion of the first characterization of the first cell ([Podrazhansky Pages 9-10, Lines 25-26 and 1] “After the open circuit voltage is measured and stored in a suitable memory at 52 a test is made at 54 whether the open circuit voltage is in a desired range, for the particular type of battery being charged, to indicate an overcharge condition”).
Regarding Claim 13, Podrazhansky in view of Arai teaches the method of claim 12.
Podrazhansky further teaches obtaining, using the voltage sensor, at least one third voltage measurement (34.2) of the first plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell during a third recovery period (18.4) after a third discharge period (3rd 16.2 in Fig. 1), wherein the third recovery period is subsequent to the second recovery period (see Fig. 1);
Regarding Claim 19, Podrazhansky teaches the system of claim 15.
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:
receive a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell obtained during the sequence of discharge periods;
Arai teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: receive a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell ([Col 5 Lines 26-30] “When the sampling counter N1 counts eight units in step S211, each average value of eight current values and eight voltage values are obtained (S213). In this example, the average current is Y and the average voltage is X, and then, each average is obtained based on the equation (1)”, the voltage sampling forms a second plurality of measurements).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Arai to provide wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: receive a second plurality of voltage measurements of the first cell in order get a more accurate final voltage measurement.
The combination of Podrazhansky and Arai further teaches to generate the first characterization for the first cell using the second plurality of voltage measurements ([Podrazhansky Pages 9-10, Lines 25-26 and 1] “After the open circuit voltage is measured and stored in a suitable memory at 52 a test is made at 54 whether the open circuit voltage is in a desired range, for the particular type of battery being charged, to indicate an overcharge condition”).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podrazhansky et al. (WO 9707582 A1) in view of Arai et al. (US 6201373 B1) and further in view of Lammeren (US 20120310562 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Podrazhansky in view of Arai teaches the battery monitor of claim 4.
Podrazhansky in view of Arai does not teach wherein the discharge circuit comprises a bleed resistor of the battery.
Lammeren teaches wherein the discharge circuit comprises a bleed resistor (154) of the battery (¶[26] “Manners in which current may be injected include, for example, coupling a resistor circuit across the battery cell to passively bleed current from the battery cell”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky in view of Arai to incorporate the teachings of Lammeren to provide wherein the discharge circuit comprises a bleed resistor of the battery in order to selectively discharge specific battery cells.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podrazhansky et al. (WO 9707582 A1) in view of Ghantous et al. (US 20110316548 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Podrazhansky teaches the battery monitor of claim 1.
Podrazhansky does not teach wherein a length of the first recovery period is approximately equal to a length of the first discharge period.
Ghantous teaches wherein a length of the first recovery period is approximately equal to a length of the first discharge period (¶[29] “some or all of the characteristics of the charge and discharge pulses are programmable and/or controllable via charging circuitry … the duration and/or timing of the rest periods may vary within the packet (and are programmable and/or controllable) and/or, in addition, such pulses may be equally or unequally spaced within the packet; … all combination or permutations of pulse, pulse characteristics, periods, packets and signal characteristics and configurations are intended to fall within the scope of the present inventions”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Ghantous to provide wherein a length of the first recovery period is approximately equal to a length of the first discharge period in order to achieve the desired relaxation of the battery.
Regarding Claim 9, Podrazhansky teaches the battery monitor of claim 1.
Podrazhansky does not teach wherein the second recovery period is shorter than the first recovery period.
Ghantous teaches wherein the second recovery period is shorter than the first recovery period (¶[143] “In addition thereto, or in lieu thereof, in one embodiment, control circuitry 16 may adjust the characteristics of the packet (for example, amplitude and/or duration of the charge pulses and/or discharge pulses and/or the duration of the rest period) to control or adjust (i) the relaxation time of the battery/cell and (ii) the rate, shape and/or characteristics of the decay of the terminal voltage of the battery/cell”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Ghantous to provide wherein the second recovery period is shorter than the first recovery period in order to reach the desired relaxation of the battery.
Regarding Claim 17, Podrazhansky teaches the system of claim 15.
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach wherein generating the first characterization for the first cell using the at least one first voltage measurement comprises determining an impedance of the first cell as the first characterization using the at least one first voltage measurement.
Ghantous teaches wherein generating the first characterization for the first cell using the at least one first voltage measurement comprises determining an impedance of the first cell as the first characterization using the at least one first voltage measurement (¶[165] “the impedance of the battery/cell may be measured, determined, calculated and/or estimated by applying a current (for example, a current pulse) to the terminals of the battery and measuring, detecting and/or determining the terminal voltage of the battery/cell within an initial predetermined period”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Ghantous to provide wherein generating the first characterization for the first cell using the at least one first voltage measurement comprises determining an impedance of the first cell as the first characterization using the at least one first voltage measurement.
Regarding Claim 20, Podrazhansky teaches the system of claim 15.
Podrazhansky does not teach wherein the second recovery period is shorter than the first recovery period.
Ghantous teaches wherein the second recovery period is shorter than the first recovery period (¶[143] “In addition thereto, or in lieu thereof, in one embodiment, control circuitry 16 may adjust the characteristics of the packet (for example, amplitude and/or duration of the charge pulses and/or discharge pulses and/or the duration of the rest period) to control or adjust (i) the relaxation time of the battery/cell and (ii) the rate, shape and/or characteristics of the decay of the terminal voltage of the battery/cell”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Ghantous to provide wherein the second recovery period is shorter than the first recovery period in order to reach the desired relaxation of the battery.
Claim(s) 10, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podrazhansky et al. (WO 9707582 A1) in view of Lammeren (US 20120310562 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Podrazhansky teaches the battery monitor of claim 1.
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one cell includes a second cell, and the instructions further cause the processor to:
obtain, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the second cell during the plurality of recovery periods;
wherein the second plurality of voltage measurements indicate at least a portion of a second characterization of the second cell.
Lammeren teaches wherein the at least one cell includes a second cell (121, see Fig. 1, ¶[43] “Current can be driven through each battery cell individually, thus mitigating power draw as may be relevant to passing current through an entire battery pack”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified to incorporate the teachings of Lammeren to provide wherein the at least one cell includes a second cell in order to utilize a larger battery pack with a higher capacity.
The combination further teaches the instructions further cause the processor to:
obtain, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the second cell during the plurality of recovery periods;
wherein the second plurality of voltage measurements indicate at least a portion of a second characterization of the second cell.
Regarding Claim 14, Podrazhansky teaches the method of claim 11.
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one cell includes a second cell, and the method further comprises: obtaining, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the second cell during the plurality of recovery periods;
wherein the second plurality of voltage measurements indicate at least a portion of a second characterization of the second cell.
Lammeren teaches wherein the at least one cell includes a second cell (121, see Fig. 1, ¶[43] “Current can be driven through each battery cell individually, thus mitigating power draw as may be relevant to passing current through an entire battery pack”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified to incorporate the teachings of Lammeren to provide wherein the at least one cell includes a second cell in order to utilize a larger battery pack with a higher capacity.
The combination further teaches obtaining, using the voltage sensor, a second plurality of voltage measurements of the second cell during the plurality of recovery periods;
wherein the second plurality of voltage measurements indicate at least a portion of a second characterization of the second cell.
Regarding Claim 16, Podrazhansky teaches the system of claim 15.
Podrazhansky does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions further cause the processor to match the first cell of the first battery to a second cell of a second battery using the first characterization for the first cell.
Lammeren teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to match the first cell of the first battery to a second cell of a second battery using the first characterization for the first cell (¶[22-23] “In another example embodiment an energy storage cell includes a plurality of battery cells, a current injection circuit, an impedance-detection circuit and a data extraction circuit that is coupled to the impedance-detection circuit” … “The data extraction circuit receives impedance data regarding the detected impedance characteristic from the impedance-detection circuit, and separates low-frequency components of the impedance data. The low frequency components can be processed internally, or sent to an external circuit for evaluation (e.g., and use for SoC estimation and cell balancing operations)”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Lammeren to provide wherein the instructions further cause the processor to match the first cell of the first battery to a second cell of a second battery using the first characterization for the first cell in order to balance the battery pack to achieve better performance.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podrazhansky et al. (WO 9707582 A1) in view of Rich et al. (US 20130069661 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Podrazhansky teaches the system of claim 15,
Podrazhansky does not teach wherein the instructions further cause the processor to verify an identity of the first cell using the first characterization of the first cell.
Rich teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to verify an identity of the first cell using the first characterization of the first cell (¶[33] “As an alternative, or in addition to cryptographic authentication processes, the mobile device processor may make diagnostic use of various physical and electrical parameters of a battery pack to enhance battery authentication and security. Due to different physical geometries and fabrication processes, different battery packs will generally exhibit different characteristic responses during certain parts of the charging cycle, discharging cycle or both, as well as in response to different current demands”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Podrazhansky to incorporate the teachings of Rich to provide wherein the instructions further cause the processor to verify an identity of the first cell using the first characterization of the first cell in order to prevent damage from inauthentic battery packs.
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859