DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 05/27/2026 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. In response to Office Action mailed on 02/27/2026, Applicant has amended claims 1, 20, 12, 13, 19 and 20.
Status of the Rejections
Due to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 20, 12, 13, 19 and 20, all rejections from the Office Action mailed on 02/27/2026 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0126465 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Kim discloses a light emitting element (organic light emitting device 10, fig. 1) ([0092-0210]) comprising:
a first electrode (110, fig. 1 and [0092]);
a second electrode (190, fig. 1 and [0092]) on the first electrode (110); and
at least one functional layer (organic layer 150, fig. 1 and [0092], that includes a hole transport layer) which is between the first electrode (110) and the second electrode (110) and comprises an amine compound represented by the following formula 1 ([0120] and claims 11-15).
Kim further discloses the compound of generic formula 1 can be represented by compounds 1-199 (see [0057]). Each of compounds 152, 143 and 154 read on instant claimed formula 1. For example, compound 152 read on instant claimed formula 1 (see annotated compound 152) with L1 and L2 being direct bond, L3 being represented by formula 2-2 (see annotated compound 152), Ar2 and Ar3 being represented by claimed formula 3 (see annotated compound 152) with x being O. Compound 152 is not represented by claimed formula 4-3 (see annotated compound 152).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses that at least one functional layer (150) comprises an emission layer ([0097]), a hole transport region between the first electrode (150) and the emission layer (190) ([0098]), and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode (190) ([0099]), and the hole transport region comprises the amine compound ([0120]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses that the hole transport region ([0098]) comprises a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer ([0101]), and the hole transport layer comprises the amine compound ([0120]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kim discloses the compound can be represented by compound 152 (see above) in R1 and R2 being hydrogen.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kim further discloses that in compound 152, R3 is represented by claimed
with R3a being substituted ring.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 16-17, Kim further discloses that in compound 152, formula 3 is represented by formula 3-a (see Ar2 or Ar1 in annotated compound 152).
Regarding claim 8, Kim further discloses that in compound 152, L1 and L2 is directed bond and L3 is represented by formula S2-11.
Regarding claim 9-10 and 18-19, Kim further discloses that in compound 152 is represented by claimed formula 4-1 with X1 or X2 being O.
Regarding claim 11, Kim further discloses the emission layer comprises a host ([0127]) represented by formula 301A ([0151])
Regarding claim 12 and 20, Kim further discloses that the compound is formula 152, which reads on instant claimed compound. Kim further discloses the host compound can be H8
([0153]), which reads on instant claimed formula E-1 with R31-R39 each being hydrogen and R40 being a C10 aryl ring (naphthalene ring).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
Applicant argues that Sim fails to disclose as required by claimed formula 1, in which the compound is not represented by formula 4-3.
This argument is directed to the claims as amended and is moot in view of new ground of rejection as presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721