DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donovan et al., US 20190302246 A1 (“Donovan”).
Regarding claim 1, Donovan discloses a time multiplexing flash light detection and ranging (LiDAR) apparatus, comprising: a light transmitter, configured to emit pulse light (Fig. 6, transmitter 604, Paragraph [0056]); a beam steering unit, optically coupled to the light transmitter and comprising a plurality of beam steering components (Fig. 6, adaptive mirror 602, Paragraph [0057]; Fig. 7A, adaptive shutter/mirror 712 connected to transmit electronics 704 through receive electronics 708, Paragraph [0061]), wherein the plurality of beam steering components are activated sequentially to multiplex reflected pulse light from a plurality of field of views (FOV) (Fig. 6, adaptive mirror 602, Paragraph [0057]-[0058]; See also Fig. 8 and Paragraphs [0070]-[0071] for illumination pattern creating plurality of FOVs), and the reflected pulse light represents the pulse light reflected by at least one object (Fig. 6, object 610, Paragraph [0056]); and a light receiver, optically coupled to the light transmitter and configured to capture a portion of the reflected pulse light from one of the plurality of FOVs at a time (Fig. 6, detector 614, Paragraph [0056], Fig. 7A, transmit electronics 704, receive electronics 708, Paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 2, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least a first beam steering component of the plurality of beam steering components is configured to steer the reflected pulse light within a first FOV of the plurality of FOVs toward the light receiver at a first time slot (Fig. 6, adaptive mirror 602, Paragraph [0057]-[0058]; Fig. 8, steps 806-808, Paragraph [0070]-[0071]), the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus generates a first point cloud data corresponding to the first FOV at the first time slot (Fig. 8, step 816-818, Paragraph [0074]), at least a second beam steering component of the plurality of beam steering components is configured to steer the reflected pulse light within a second FOV of the plurality of FOVs toward the light receiver at a second time slot (Fig. 6, adaptive mirror 602, Paragraph [0057]-[0058]; Fig. 8, steps 806-808, Paragraph [0070]-[0071]; See also Fig. 8 step 820, Paragraph [0074]), and the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus generates a second point cloud data corresponding to the second FOV at the second time slot (Fig. 8, step 816-818, Paragraph [0074]; See also Fig. 8 step 820, Paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein an entirety of point cloud data corresponding to an entirety of the plurality of FOVs is formed by integrating at least a plurality of point cloud data corresponding to the plurality of FOV at a plurality of time slots (Fig. 8, step 816-818, Paragraph [0074]; See also Fig. 8 step 820, Paragraph [0074]; See also paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 5, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light transmitter comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig. 6, transmitter 604, Paragraph [0056]), the plurality of light sources are divided into a plurality of groups, each of the plurality of groups is corresponding to one of the plurality of FOVs (Fig. 8, step 806, Paragraph [0071]), and the plurality of groups are activated sequentially to emit the pulse light according to how the plurality of beam steering components are activated (Fig. 8, step 808-812, Paragraph [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 6, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light transmitter comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig. 6, transmitter 604, Paragraph [0056]), the plurality of light sources are divided into a plurality of groups (Fig. 8, step 806, Paragraph [0071]), a first group of the plurality of groups is configured to emit the pulse light flashing at a first time slot within one of the plurality of FOVs (Fig. 8, step 810, Paragraph [0070], [0072]), and a second group of the plurality of groups is configured to emit the pulse light flashing at a second time slot within another of the plurality of FOVs (Fig. 8, step 810, Paragraph [0070], [0072], [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light transmitter comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig. 6, transmitter 604, Paragraph [0056]), the plurality of light sources are divided into a plurality of groups (Fig. 8, step 806, Paragraph [0071]), the plurality of groups are arranged in a first array (Fig. 8, step 806, Paragraph [0070]-[0071]), the plurality of beam steering components are arranged in a second array (Fig. 6, adaptive mirror 602, Paragraph [0057]), the first array is similar to or coincide with the second array, and the first array and the second array are two-dimensional arrays or one-dimensional arrays (Fig. 8, steps 806 – 812, Paragraph [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 8, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of beam steering components comprises a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) micro-mirror (Fig. 6, adaptive mirror 602, Paragraph [0057], [0060])or a MEMS based resonant mirror driven by electrostatic mechanism, electromagnetic mechanism, thermal mechanism, or piezoelectric mechanism, a mechanical driven mirror, a mechanical driven prism, or a lens, the mechanical driven mirror is a polygon mirror, and the mechanical driven prism is a Risley prism.
Regarding claim 9, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a transmitter deflector, configured to deflect the pulse light (Fig. 6, transmit optics 608, Paragraph [0056]); a receiver deflector, configured to deflect the reflected pulse light (Fig. 6, receive optics 612, Paragraph [0056]); or an intermediate deflector, configured to deflect the reflected pulse light.
Regarding claim 10, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pulse light incident on the at least one object and the reflected pulse light coming back from the at least one object are non-coaxial (Fig. 6, adaptive FOV LIDAR system 600, Paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pulse light is non-visible, and a wavelength of the pulse light is 840nm, 905nm (Paragraph [0041]), 940nm, 1330nm, or 1550nm.
Regarding claim 14, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light transmitter comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig. 6, transmitter 604, Paragraph [0056]), and the plurality of light sources is individually activated, able to be individually activated, or illuminates homogeneously (Fig. 8, step 806, Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein a distance between the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus and one of the at least one object is calculated by measuring a time delay between the pulse light and the reflected pulse light (Fig. 8, step 812, Paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 16, Donovan discloses The time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light receiver comprises a plurality of light detectors (Fig. 6, detector 614, Paragraph [0056]), the plurality of light detectors are arranged in a two-dimensional array or a one-dimensional array (Fig. 6, detector 614, Paragraph [0056]; See also Fig. 1B), wherein each of the plurality of light detectors is individually activated, able to be individually activated to receive the reflected pulse light individually or homogeneously (Fig. 8, step 812, Paragraph [0072]).
Claim 17 is a method claim corresponding to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donovan in view of Finkelstein et al., US 20230393245 A1 (“Finkelstein”).
Regarding claim 4, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light transmitter comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig. 6, transmitter 604, Paragraph [0056]).
Donovan does not teach: and all the plurality of light sources emit the pulse light flashing simultaneously within an entirety of the plurality of FOVs.
However, Finkelstein teaches a VCSEL array where the entire VCSEL array may be activated when operating in a short-range imaging mode(Fig. 4, emitter module 400, emitters 402, 404, Paragraph [0072]-[0074]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Donovan’s transmitter by activating all emitters in the array, which is disclosed by Finkelstein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “to achieve the desired short-range performance”, as suggested by Finkelstein (Paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 11, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1.
Donovan does not teach: wherein the light transmitter is an edge-emitting laser source transmitter, a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) source transmitter emitting the pulse light, a fiber laser, or a photonic crystal surface emitting laser (PCSEL) source transmitter.
However, Finkelstein teaches an emitter array where emitter elements may be VCSELs (Fig. 1, emitter array 115, emitters 115e, Paragraph [0052]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substituted Donovan’s transmitter for Finkelstein’s VCSEL array. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one transmitter array for another and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 12, Donovan discloses the time multiplexing flash LiDAR apparatus of claim 1.
Donovan does not teach: wherein the light receiver is a Geiger mode avalanche photodiode receiver comprising a plurality of light detectors.
However, Finkelstein teaches a detector array where detector elements may be SPADs (Fig. 1, detector array 110, detectors 110d, Paragraph [0059]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substituted Donovan’s detector for Finkelstein’s SPAD detector array. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one detector array for another and the results would have been predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al., US 20210382148 A1 discloses a LIDAR system that uses a DMD array to direct light to the receiver.
Singer et al., US 20190094345 A1 discloses a LIDAR module with MOEMs mirrors that direct light to the receiver.
/RACHEL NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645