DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the semiconductor layer" in lines 9-10. Prior to "the semiconductor layer" there is no antecedent limitation of "a semiconductor layer". As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent to the rejected base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 2020/0135811 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Jung’).
With respect to claim 1, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, a display device comprising: an insulating substrate (110) (see Par.[0046]-[0047] wherein the first substrate 110 may be a transparent glass substrate mainly including SiO.sub.2); a plurality of light emitting elements (230) mounted on the insulating substrate (110) (see Par.[0098] wherein the light source substrate 200 is a self-emissive substrate and may include a diode 230); a plurality of lines (231) connected to the plurality of light emitting elements (230) (see Par.[0101]-[0103] wherein the first electrode 231 may be an island shaped electrode arranged in each of the first to third regions A1, A2, and A3; the first electrode 231 is a reflective electrode and may include a reflective layer including silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chrome (Cr), or a compound thereof); and a planarization film (100) provided between the light emitting elements (230) and the insulating substrate (110), wherein each of the plurality of light emitting elements (230) comprises a first electrode (254) and a second electrode (256), the first electrode (254) and the second electrode (256) are arranged on a first surface/(lower surface) of the semiconductor layer (253) and are connected/(at least electrically connected) to the lines (231), the planarization film (100) is arranged on the insulating substrate (110), a transparent adhesive layer (260) is arranged on the planarization film (100), a second surface/(upper surface) of the semiconductor layer (253) where is opposite to the first surface/(lower surface) is contact with the transparent adhesive layer (260), the plurality of lines (231) contacts with the planarization film (see Par.[0118]-120 wherein he emission layer 250 may include a first semiconductor layer 251, a second semiconductor layer 253, and an intermediate layer 252 disposed between the first and second semiconductor layers 251 and 253; see Par.[0123], [0129] wherein the protective layer 260 may be an adhesive layer; for example, the protective layer 260 may include an inorganic insulating material and/or an organic insulating material (e.g.; epoxy or organic resin) having an adhesive force, and in this case may connect the optical filter substrate 100 to the light source substrate 200′; wiring 231 are in contact of planarization 100 through PDL, adhesive and overcoat), the planarization film (100) includes a recess portion that penetrate the planarization film, around each of the light emitting elements (230), and a reflective portion (140, 130, 160) formed of a reflective material is provided on a side surface of the recess portion (see Par.[0075]-[0076] wherein the black matrix 180 is formed by the inkjet method, there is no need to perform an additional mask process and/or photolithography process; see Par.[0047] wherein the first substrate 110 may be a transparent glass substrate mainly including SiO.sub.2. the first substrate 110 may include a polymer resin; The transparent polymer resin may include a polyether sulfone (PES), polyarylate(PAR), polyetherimide (PEI), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyphynylene sulfide (PPS), polyimide (Pl), polycarbonate (PC), cellulose triacetate (TAC), cellulose acetate propionate (CAP), etc., and the polymer resin may be transparent; see Par.[0122] wherein the emission layer 250 may be connected to the first electrode 231 via a first electrode pad 254 and may be connected to the second electrode 233 via a second electrode pad 256; see Par.[0051]-[0052], [0069] wherein a first refractive index layer 140 may be formed on the first barrier layer 130 and regarding this, FIG. 4 shows that the second barrier layer 160 contacts the first refractive index layer 140 disposed between the first and second regions A1 and A2 and disposed between the second and third regions A2 and A3).
With respect to claim 2, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, the display device, wherein a filling material (151-153) is provided inside the recess portion, and the filling material is acrylic, epoxy or silicon resin (see Par.[0062]-[0064] wherein the photosensitive material M3 may include resin, for example an acrylic based material).
With respect to claim 3, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, the display device, wherein the inside of the recess portion is hollow (see, for example, Fig.13).
With respect to claim 4, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, the display device, wherein the planarization film (100) is acrylic, epoxy or silicon resin (see Par.[0047] wherein the first substrate 110 may be a transparent glass substrate mainly including SiO.sub.2. As another embodiment, the first substrate 110 may include a polymer resin; the transparent polymer resin may include a polyether sulfone (PES), polyarylate(PAR), polyetherimide (PEI), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyphynylene sulfide (PPS), polyimide (PI), polycarbonate (PC), cellulose triacetate (TAC), cellulose acetate propionate (CAP), etc., and the polymer resin may be transparent).
With respect to claim 5, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, the display device, wherein a thickness of the planarization film is 1 um or more and 100 um or less (see Fig.14, wherein black matrix 180 is thicker than overcoat 190; see Par.[0081] wherein the overcoat layer 190 may cover steps (or irregularity) that may occur between the first surface 180A of the black matrix 180 and first to third coating elements 171, 172, and 173. A first surface 190A of the overcoat layer 190 may substantially be flat. As an embodiment, the overcoat layer 190 may have a thickness of about 1 um to about 4 um).
With respect to claim 6, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, the display device, wherein the recess portion and the reflective portion are formed in an annular or rectangular shape to surround an outer shape of the light emitting element, in planar view.
With respect to claim 7, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, the display device, wherein the light emitting element is bonded to the planarization film by the transparent adhesive layer (260) (see Par.[0111] wherein an adhesive layer may be arranged between the upper surface of the encapsulation layer 240 and the overcoat layer 190 for connecting the encapsulation layer 240 and the overcoat layer 190; see Par.[0123] wherein the protective layer 260 may be an adhesive layer; for example, the protective layer 260 may include an inorganic insulating material and/or an organic insulating material having an adhesive force, and in this case may connect the optical filter substrate 100 to the light source substrate).
With respect to claim 8, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, the display device, wherein the transparent adhesive layer (260) is formed to be larger than the recess portion formed in the annular or rectangular shape in planar view, and the line and the reflective portion are insulated from each other by the transparent adhesive layer.
With respect to claim 9, Jung discloses, in Figs.1-14, the display device, further comprising: a metal layer (233) covering the light emitting elements and the lines.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818