DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending
Claims 1 and 11 are amended
Claims 11-18 have been previously withdrawn
New claim 20 has been added
Status of Amendments
The amendment filed 31 October 2025 has been fully considered, but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
This action has been made final.
Status of Objections and Rejections of the Office Action from 29 August 2025
The 103 rejections over Kim, over Kim in view of Park, and over Kim in view of Du are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment. However, a new grounds of rejection over Kim in view of Park, further in view of Du and further in view of Park ‘221, and over Kim in view of Seo has been set forth, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20200343553 A1), hereinafter Kim, in view of Park et al. (KR 20190116063 A, using US 20210005874 A1 as the English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a positive-electrode active material [0009], comprising:
a positive-electrode active material matrix, in this case a lithium complex transition metal oxide; and
a coating layer, in this case a composite coating portion; wherein:
the coating layer coats a surface of the positive-electrode active material matrix [0019], and
the positive-electrode active material matrix is Li1+a[NixCoyMnzMb]O2, wherein 0<x<1, 0≤y<0.3, 0≤z<0.3, 0<a<0.2, 0<b<0.2, x+y+z+b=1,and M is selected from more than one of Mg, Ca, Sb, Ce, Ti, Zr, Al, Zn, and B, in this case LipNi1-(x1+y1+z1)Cox1May1Mbz1Mcq1O2 [Formula 1], wherein 0.9≤p≤1.5, 0<x1≤0.2, 0<y1≤0.2, 0≤z≤0.1, 0≤q≤0.1, and 0<x1+y1+z1≤0.35, Ma can be Mn, Mb can be Mg, Ce, Ti, Zr, or Al, and Mc can be Mg, Ti, Zr, or Al [0022], and
the coating layer contains a cobalt-containing compound, an aluminum-containing compound, and a boron-containing compound [0010].
Kim is silent as to a weight ratio of an element aluminum and an element boron in the coating layer being 0.5-1.2:1. However, Park teaches a coating raw material that may include B as a first coating element and Al as a second coating element [0065] in a weight ratio of 30:70-70:30 [0066]. This equates to a weight ratio of 0.43-2.33:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Kim and Park are both considered to be equivalent to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of lithium composite transition metal oxide coating elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weight ratio of an element aluminum and an element boron in the coating of Kim to be 0.43-2.33:1, as taught by Park. Doing so would have improved the ability of the coating to protect the surface and improve structural stability of the active material [Park 0066].
Regarding claims 3-6, modified Kim teaches the positive-electrode active material according to claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein:
with respect to the total weight of the positive-electrode active material matrix, a weight proportion of a coating amount of the element cobalt in the coating layer is 1,000-8,000 ppm [0032] or specifically 5,000 ppm in example 3 [0080], which lies within the 1,000-20,000 ppm as required by claim 4, a coating amount of the element boron in the coating layer is 50-700 ppm [0033] or specifically 200 ppm in example 3 [0080], which lies within the 100-2,000 ppm as required by claim 6, a weight proportion of a coating amount of the element aluminum in the coating layer is 1,000-8,000 ppm [0034], which overlaps with the 100-3,000 ppm as required by claim 5, and a weight proportion of a total coating amount of element cobalt, element aluminum, and element boron in the coating layer are 2,050-16,700 ppm [0032-0034], when adding up all the ranges, or specifically 10,200 ppm in example 3 [0080], which lies within the 1,000-22,000 ppm as required by claim 3. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teaches the positive-electrode active material according to claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein a thickness of the coating layer is 0.1-0.3 µm [0037], which lies within the claimed 0.01 µm-2 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim teaches the positive-electrode active material according to claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein:
the cobalt-containing compound is selected from more than one of cobalt oxide, cobalt salt, cobalt hydroxide, and cobalt oxyhydroxide [0041]; or
the aluminum-containing compound is selected from more than one of aluminum oxide, aluminum hydroxide, aluminum salt, and aluminum halide [0043]; or
the boron-containing compound is selected from more than one of boron oxide, boron halide, boric acid, borate, and organoboron compound [0042].
Regarding claim 19, modified Kim teaches the positive-electrode material according to claim 1. Kim further teaches a secondary battery, comprising the positive-electrode material according to claim 1 [0019].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park, as applied above, further in view of Park et al. (US 2017/ 0222221 A1), hereinafter Park ‘221.
Modified Kim teaches the positive-electrode active material according to claim 1. Modified Kim is silent as to the particles in the positive-electrode active material being secondary particles formed by agglomeration of primary particles. However, Park ‘221 teaches a positive-electrode active material similar to Kim [Park ‘221 Formula 1, 0031] wherein the particles in the positive-electrode active material are secondary particles formed by agglomeration of primary particles [0018]. Park ‘221 further teaches an average particle size of the primary particles in the secondary particles being 0.01-5 µm [0098], which overlaps with the claimed 100-1000 nm, and a median particle size by volume D50 of the positive-electrode active material is 0.2-10 µm [0098], which overlaps with the claimed 2-15 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Kim and Park ‘221 are both considered to be equivalent to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of lithium complex metal oxide positive-electrode active materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positive-electrode active material of Kim with the active material taught by Park ‘221. Doing so would have produced a secondary battery with excellent discharge capacity, output property, and capacity retention rate [Park ‘221 0184].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park, as applied above, further in view of Du et al. (WO 2020135767 A1, using US 20220077464 A1 as the English translation), hereinafter Du.
Modified Kim teaches the positive-electrode active material according to claim 1. Modified Kim is silent as to the particles in the positive-electrode active material being monocrystalline particles. However, Du teaches a positive-electrode active material similar to Kim [Du 0006] wherein the particles in the positive-electrode active material are single crystal particles [0006]. Du further teaches the positive-electrode active material having a median particle size by volume D50 of 1-6 µm [0052], which lies within the claimed 1-8 µm, and a specific surface area of 0.5-1.5 m2/g [0051], which lies within the claimed 0.4 -2 m2/g.
Kim and Du are both considered to be equivalent to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of lithium complex metal oxide positive-electrode active materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positive-electrode active material of Kim with the active material taught by Du. Doing so would have accelerated a migration rate of lithium ions during the charging and discharging process and prevented the deterioration of the cycle performance and rate performance of the electrochemical energy storage apparatus [0035].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view Seo et al. (KR 102144056 B1, using US 20220411284 A1 as the English translation), hereinafter Seo.
Kim teaches a positive-electrode active material [0009], comprising:
a positive-electrode active material matrix, in this case a lithium complex transition metal oxide; and
a coating layer, in this case a composite coating portion; wherein:
the coating layer coats a surface of the positive-electrode active material matrix [0019], and
the positive-electrode active material matrix is Li1+a[NixCoyMnzMb]O2, wherein 0<x<1, 0≤y<0.3, 0≤z<0.3, 0<a<0.2, 0<b<0.2, x+y+z+b=1,and M is selected from more than one of Mg, Ca, Sb, Ce, Ti, Zr, Al, Zn, and B, in this case LipNi1-(x1+y1+z1)Cox1May1Mbz1Mcq1O2 [Formula 1], wherein 0.9≤p≤1.5, 0<x1≤0.2, 0<y1≤0.2, 0≤z≤0.1, 0≤q≤0.1, and 0<x1+y1+z1≤0.35, Ma can be Mn, Mb can be Mg, Ce, Ti, Zr, or Al, and Mc can be Mg, Ti, Zr, or Al [0022], and
the coating layer contains a cobalt-containing compound, an aluminum-containing compound, and a boron-containing compound [0010].
Kim is silent as to a weight proportion of a coating amount of element cobalt in the coating layer being 13000 ppm-20000 ppm with respect to a total weight of the positive-electrode active material matrix. However, Seo teaches a cobalt-containing coating layer that may also include aluminum and boron [0090] that increases the Co ratio of the active material by 1.6 mol% [0191]. This is considered to be equivalent to a weight proportion of a coating amount of element cobalt in the coating layer being 16000 ppm.
Kim and Seo are both considered to be equivalent to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of lithium composite transition metal oxide coating elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cobalt, aluminum, and boron containing coating layer of Kim with that of Seo. Doing so would have suppressed the formation of cracks in the particles during the charge/discharge process, stabilized unstable Ni ions present in the lithium transition metal oxide, increased the capacity per volume, and improved the lifespan stability [0015].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN VAN KIRK/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722