DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/22/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0027355 A1 [Kim] in view of Guise, Nicholas D., et al. "In-vacuum active electronics for microfabricated ion traps." Review of Scientific Instruments 85.6 (2014) [hereinafter Guise] and further in view of US 9,201,404 B2 [Harasaka].
Regarding Claim 1:
Kim teaches a vacuum cell (abstract), comprising:
a vacuum chamber (para 13);
a first bond configured to affix a first portion of the vacuum cell to a second portion of the vacuum cell (Fig. 2 (216-1), para 55); and
a second bond configured to affix a third portion of the vacuum cell to a fourth portion of the vacuum cell (Fig. 2 (216-2), para 55).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach that:
at least of one the first bond and the second bond is in the vacuum chamber,
the first bond having a first bonding temperature and a first debonding temperature greater than the first bonding temperature, or
the second bond having a second bonding temperature and a second debonding temperature, the second bonding temperature being less than the first debonding temperature.
Instead, Kim just teaches multiple bonds extending between a vacuum chamber and an exterior surface of the vacuum cell that use Gold-Tin eutectic bonds (para 55).
Guise teaches a vacuum cell of an ion trap (abstract) wherein electrical boards are placed in the vacuum chamber so as to reduce the number of vacuum feedthroughs. Summary and Conclusion. These boards in the vacuum chamber must be adapted for UHV conditions, so they include eutectic bonds attaching electrical components to the boards in the vacuum chamber. Section II-C, first paragraph.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the internal electrical boards, and their eutectic bonds, of Guise to Kim. One would have been motivated to do so since this would reduce the number of feedthroughs necessary for ion trapping.
Harasaka also teaches bonding surfaces of a vacuum cell (abstract) using a particular composition of Gold-Tin alloy bonds, 80:20 Au-Sn. 10:11-32. This composition is the same as that specified in the instant specification as having a debonding temperature that is “ least ten to thirty degrees or more higher” that its bonding temperature. By using this prior art alloy of Harasaka as the alloy of Kim and Guise, one would inherently arrive at an arrangement wherein the bonds would have the same bonding temperatures, and the same debonding temperatures, and thus both bonds would have a bonding temperature that is less than their debonding temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the 80:20 Au-Sn alloy of Harasaka as the alloy in Kim and Guise. One would have been motivated to do so since Harasaka demonstrates that such an alloy provides an effective bond and seal for a vacuum cell. 10:11-32.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches the vacuum cell of claim 1, wherein the first bond and the second bond are each a metal alloy bond. Kim Para 55. Harasaka 10:11-32.
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the vacuum cell of claim 1, wherein the first debonding temperature is at least ten is degrees Celsius greater than the first bonding temperature. The Au:Sn composition of Harasaka is the same as that specified in the instant specification as having a debonding temperature that is “ least ten to thirty degrees or more higher” that its bonding temperature.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the vacuum cell of claim 1, wherein the first bond and the second bond are each selected from a gold-tin alloy bond, a gold-germanium alloy bond, a tin-silver alloy bond, and a tin-copper alloy bond. Alloys shown in Kim Para 55 and Harasaka 10:11-32 and Guise Section II-C, first paragraph.
Regarding Claim 6:
The above modified invention teaches the vacuum cell of claim 1, wherein the first bond is in the vacuum chamber (Guise Section II-C, first paragraph) and the second bond extends between the vacuum chamber and an exterior surface of the vacuum cell, the exterior surface being configured to be exposed to an ambient environment external to the vacuum chamber. Kim fig. 2 demonstrates such a second bond. Further, all surfaces are “configured to be exposed to an ambient environment external to the vacuum chamber” since they have the ability to be so exposed.
Regarding Claim 7:
The above modified invention teaches the vacuum cell of claim 1, wherein an ion trap assembly in the vacuum chamber includes the first portion of the vacuum cell and the second portion of the vacuum cell. Kim Fig. 2 (206).
Regarding Claim 10:
The above modified invention teaches the vacuum cell of claim 1, wherein the first bonding temperature and the second bonding temperature do not exceed four hundred degrees Celsius. Harasaka 10:11-32.
Regarding Claim 11:
Kim teaches the vacuum cell of claim 1 (abstract), wherein:
a plurality of walls defining the vacuum chamber therein (Fig. 2); and
a plurality of bonds, including the first bond and the second bond, are each in the vacuum chamber (Guise Section II-C, first paragraph), affix two walls of the plurality of walls to each other, or extend between the vacuum chamber and an exterior surface of the vacuum cell (Kim fig. 2 demonstrates such a bond),
where each of the plurality of bonds being a is metal alloy bond (Kim Fig. 2 (216-1, 216-2), para 55).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach that the metal alloy bond has a bonding temperature and a debonding temperature greater than the bonding temperature. Instead, Kim just teaches using Gold-Tin eutectic bonds (para 55).
Harasaka also teaches bonding surfaces of a vacuum cell (abstract) using a particular composition of Gold-Tin alloy bonds, 80:20 Au-Sn. 10:11-32. This composition is the same as that specified in the instant specification as having a debonding temperature that is “ least ten to thirty degrees or more higher” that its bonding temperature. By using this prior art alloy of Harasaka as the alloy of Kim, one would inherently arrive at an arrangement wherein the bonds would have the same bonding temperatures, and the same debonding temperatures, and thus both bonds would have a bonding temperature that is less than their debonding temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the 80:20 Au-Sn alloy of Harasaka as the alloy in Kim and Guise. One would have been motivated to do so since Harasaka demonstrates that such an alloy provides an effective bond and seal for a vacuum cell. 10:11-32.
Regarding Claim 12:
The above modified invention teaches the vacuum cell of claim 11, but fails to teach the device further comprising:
at least one of the plurality of bonds affixes a first wall of the plurality of walls to a second wall of the plurality of walls, the at least one bond having an additional bonding temperature less than the bonding temperature.
However, Harasaka teaches bonding surfaces of a vacuum cell (abstract) using a particular composition of Au:Ge alloy bonds, 87.5:12.5. 10:33-48. This composition has a different bonding temperature than the bond. By using this prior art alloy of Harasaka as for one of the bonds in Kim and Guise, one would arrive at an arrangement wherein at least one bond affixing a first wall of the plurality of walls to a second wall of the plurality of walls, the at least one having an additional bonding temperature less than the bonding temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the Au:Ge alloy of Harasaka as one of the bonds in Kim and Guise. One would have been motivated to do so since Harasaka demonstrates that such an alloy provides an effective seal for a vacuum cell (10:33-48) and since Kim teaches that alternative bonding alloys may be used (Kim para 55).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0027355 A1 [Kim] in view of Guise, Nicholas D., et al. "In-vacuum active electronics for microfabricated ion traps." Review of Scientific Instruments 85.6 (2014) [hereinafter Guise] and US 9,201,404 B2 [Harasaka] as applied above, and further in view of US 2020/0386581 A1 [Hoyt].
Regarding Claims 9 and 13:
The above modified invention teaches the vacuum cell of claims 1/11, but fails to teach that the third portion of the vacuum cell includes a photonic integrated circuit forming a wall of the vacuum cell.
Hoyt teaches photonic integrated circuits (PIC) bonded to walls of vacuum chamber of an atomic sensor, i.e., they become part of the walls. Abstract, paras 16-17, Fig. 1 (110, 112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to place a PIC of Hoyt in the chamber walls to apply lasers to the trapped particle of Kim. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow for the application of lasers to the trapped ions of Kim in a robust fashion and without the need for additional windows and optics. Hoyt paras 15, 34.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0137281 A1 [Favier] in view Guise, Nicholas D., et al. "In-vacuum active electronics for microfabricated ion traps." Review of Scientific Instruments 85.6 (2014) [hereinafter Guise] and further in view of US 9,201,404 B2 [Harasaka]
Regarding Claim 1:
Favier teaches a vacuum cell (abstract), comprising:
a vacuum chamber (Fig. 3 (42));
a first bond configured to affix a first portion of the vacuum cell to a second portion of the vacuum cell (Fig. 2 (54), para 83); and
a second bond configured to affix a third portion of the vacuum cell to a fourth portion of the vacuum cell (Fig. 2 (54), para 83).
However, Favier does not explicitly teach that
the first bond having a first bonding temperature and a first debonding temperature greater than the first bonding temperature, or that
the second bond having a second bonding temperature and a second debonding temperature, the second bonding temperature being less than the first debonding temperature.
Instead, Favier just teaches using Gold-Tin eutectic bonds (para 83).
Guise teaches a vacuum cell (abstract) wherein electrical boards are placed in the vacuum chamber so as to reduce the number of vacuum feedthroughs. Summary and Conclusion. These boards in the vacuum chamber must be adapted for UHV conditions, so they include eutectic bonds attaching electrical components to the boards in the vacuum chamber. Section II-C, first paragraph.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the internal electrical boards, and their eutectic bonds, of Guise to Favier. One would have been motivated to do so since this would reduce the number of feedthroughs necessary for the using the internal microelectronic chips.
Harasaka also teaches bonding surfaces of a vacuum cell (abstract) using a particular composition of Gold-Tin alloy bonds, 80:20 Au-Sn. 10:11-32. This composition is the same as that specified in the instant specification as having a debonding temperature that is “ least ten to thirty degrees or more higher” that its bonding temperature. By using this prior art alloy of Harasaka as the alloy of the above modified invention, one would inherently arrive at an arrangement wherein the bonds would have the same bonding temperatures, and the same debonding temperatures, and thus both bonds would have a bonding temperature that is less than their debonding temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the 80:20 Au-Sn alloy of Harasaka as the alloy in Favier and Guise. One would have been motivated to do so since Harasaka demonstrates that such an alloy provides an effective seal for a vacuum cell. 10:11-32.
Regarding Claim 8:
The above modified invention of Favier teaches the vacuum cell of claim 1, wherein the third portion of the vacuum cell includes a metal and the fourth portion of the vacuum cell includes glass such that the second bond is a glass-to-metal bond. Favier paras 56, 82, 84.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 5/19/26, with respect to the obviousness rejections of all of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, since using eutectic bonds inside of vacuum cells is a well-established practice, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Guise.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881