DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that primary reference PARK is nonanalogous art (see page 10 of remarks), it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, primary reference PARK is in the same field of endeavor, and discloses the structure and operation of the claimed battery system and method. It is therefore maintained that PARK as modified by ZHANG teaches the battery system of claim 1, the control device of claim 15, and the control method of claim 16 within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the intentional, charging vs. discharging steady-state differentiation of connected units”, and “charging and discharging rate controls to achieve electrochemical preservation of the battery cells”, see page 10 of remarks) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/27/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK (US 2012/0268070; cited in previous office action) in view of ZHANG (US 2016/0240896; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, PARK discloses a battery system comprising:
a plurality of battery units (100, 200, 300, Fig. 2; A, B, C, D, E, Figs. 3A-3C) arranged so as to be connected to each other in parallel (¶ 0012: it is an object of the present invention to provide an apparatus and method for controlling the connection of a plurality of battery packs when connecting the battery packs in parallel or connecting an additional battery pack to parallel-connected batteries in parallel) and including at least one battery cell (¶ 0038: As shown in FIG. 2, at least one battery cell 10 is included in one battery pack);
a plurality of switches (130, Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) provided for each of the plurality of battery units that can switch between a first state in which the battery unit is connected to a charging pathway or a discharge pathway, and a second state in which the battery unit is not connected to the charging pathway or the discharge pathway (¶ 0035: the switching unit 130 is included in each of first, second, and third battery packs 100, 200, and 300 to selectively open and close a charge/discharge path of each battery pack; ¶ 0036: the switching unit 130 may be a charging/discharging switch provided on a charge/discharge path of a battery pack);
a charge control unit (part of 120, Fig. 2) that performs charging control on the plurality of battery units by controlling switching of the plurality of switches (¶ 0049: Although this embodiment shows that the second control unit 120 controls the first control unit 110 of each battery pack to open and close the switching unit 130 of each battery pack, the second control unit 120 may be connected to the switching unit 130 of each battery pack to directly control the switching unit 130; ¶ 0050: After the battery packs in the selected group are initially connected in parallel, the second control unit 120 charges or discharges the connected battery packs so that a difference in SOC between the connected battery packs and the non-connected battery pack falls within a predetermined range); and
a discharge control unit (part of 120, Fig. 2) that performs discharge control of the plurality of battery units by controlling switching of the plurality of switches (¶ 0049-0050: see above),
wherein the charge control unit includes a first switch control unit (part of 120, Fig. 2) that simultaneously sets “a” (where “a” is an integer equal to or greater than 2) selected switches to the first state and sets the plurality of switches except the “a” switches to the second state (¶ 0063: the second control unit 120 charges the battery packs A, B, C, and E connected in parallel… as indicated by the arrow in FIG. 3C; in this case, “a” is equal to four), and
the discharge control unit includes a second switch control unit (part of 120, Fig. 2) that simultaneously sets “b” (where b<a) selected switches to the first state and sets the plurality of switches except the “b” switches to the second state (¶ 0062: as shown in FIG. 3B, the second control unit 120 connects the selected battery packs A, B, and E in parallel via the switching unit 130 of each battery pack. Then, the second control unit 120 discharges the battery packs A, B, and E; in this case, “b” is equal to three).
PARK fails to disclose the at least one battery cell has a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material.
ZHANG discloses at least one battery cell has a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material (¶ 0048: this battery contains no active anode material and can be referred to as an anode-free rechargeable battery; ¶ 0052: the anode current collector is metal or another conductive material that will not react with the ions or form an alloy with the ions used in the anode-free battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the negative electrode free of a negative electrode active material of ZHANG into the battery system of PARK to produce an expected result of a suitable battery cell for the plurality of battery units. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce battery weight and volume, and increase energy density of the battery (ZHANG, ¶ 0051).
Regarding claim 12, PARK discloses the number of the plurality of battery units is 3 or more (¶ 0032, 0060).
Regarding claim 14, PARK as modified by ZHANG teaches the battery system as applied to claim 1, but PARK fails to disclose the ratio of the discharge rate for each battery cell during discharge control to the charge rate for each battery cell during charging control is 2 or more.
ZHANG further discloses the ratio of the discharge rate for each battery cell during discharge control to the charge rate for each battery cell during charging control is 2 or more (¶ 0091, 0093).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the ratio of the discharge rate to the charge rate of ZHANG into the battery system of PARK to produce an expected result of a suitable battery charging protocol for the plurality of battery units. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide high coulombic efficiency (ZHANG, ¶ 0034, 0061, 0091).
Regarding claim 15, PARK discloses a control device for a battery system comprising:
a plurality of battery units (100, 200, 300, Fig. 2; A, B, C, D, E, Figs. 3A-3C) arranged so as to be connected to each other in parallel (¶ 0012: it is an object of the present invention to provide an apparatus and method for controlling the connection of a plurality of battery packs when connecting the battery packs in parallel or connecting an additional battery pack to parallel-connected batteries in parallel) and including at least one battery cell (¶ 0038: As shown in FIG. 2, at least one battery cell 10 is included in one battery pack);
a plurality of switches (130, Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) provided for each of the plurality of battery units that can switch between a first state in which the battery unit is connected to a charging pathway or a discharge pathway, and a second state in which the battery unit is not connected to the charging pathway or the discharge pathway (¶ 0035: the switching unit 130 is included in each of first, second, and third battery packs 100, 200, and 300 to selectively open and close a charge/discharge path of each battery pack; ¶ 0036: the switching unit 130 may be a charging/discharging switch provided on a charge/discharge path of a battery pack);
wherein the control device comprises:
a charge control unit (part of 120, Fig. 2) that performs charging control on the plurality of battery units by controlling switching of the plurality of switches (¶ 0049: Although this embodiment shows that the second control unit 120 controls the first control unit 110 of each battery pack to open and close the switching unit 130 of each battery pack, the second control unit 120 may be connected to the switching unit 130 of each battery pack to directly control the switching unit 130; ¶ 0050: After the battery packs in the selected group are initially connected in parallel, the second control unit 120 charges or discharges the connected battery packs so that a difference in SOC between the connected battery packs and the non-connected battery pack falls within a predetermined range); and
a discharge control unit (part of 120, Fig. 2) that performs discharge control of the plurality of battery units by controlling switching of the plurality of switches (¶ 0049-0050: see above),
the charge control unit includes a first switch control unit (part of 120, Fig. 2) that simultaneously sets “a” (where “a” is an integer equal to or greater than 2) selected switches to the first state and sets the plurality of switches except the “a” switches to the second state (¶ 0063: the second control unit 120 charges the battery packs A, B, C, and E connected in parallel… as indicated by the arrow in FIG. 3C; in this case, “a” is equal to four), and
the discharge control unit includes a second switch control unit (part of 120, Fig. 2) that simultaneously sets “b” (where “b” is an integer less than “a”) selected switches to the first state and sets the plurality of switches except the “b” switches to the second state (¶ 0062: as shown in FIG. 3B, the second control unit 120 connects the selected battery packs A, B, and E in parallel via the switching unit 130 of each battery pack. Then, the second control unit 120 discharges the battery packs A, B, and E; in this case, “b” is equal to three).
PARK fails to disclose the at least one battery cell has a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material.
ZHANG discloses at least one battery cell has a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material (¶ 0048: this battery contains no active anode material and can be referred to as an anode-free rechargeable battery; ¶ 0052: the anode current collector is metal or another conductive material that will not react with the ions or form an alloy with the ions used in the anode-free battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the negative electrode free of a negative electrode active material of ZHANG into the battery system of PARK to produce an expected result of a suitable battery cell for the plurality of battery units. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce battery weight and volume, and increase energy density of the battery (ZHANG, ¶ 0051).
Regarding claim 16, PARK discloses a control method for a battery system comprising:
a plurality of battery units (100, 200, 300, Fig. 2; A, B, C, D, E, Figs. 3A-3C) arranged so as to be connected to each other in parallel (¶ 0012: it is an object of the present invention to provide an apparatus and method for controlling the connection of a plurality of battery packs when connecting the battery packs in parallel or connecting an additional battery pack to parallel-connected batteries in parallel) and including at least one battery cell (¶ 0038: As shown in FIG. 2, at least one battery cell 10 is included in one battery pack);
a plurality of switches (130, Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) provided for each of the plurality of battery units that can switch between a first state in which the battery unit is connected to a charging pathway or a discharge pathway, and a second state in which the battery unit is not connected to the charging pathway or the discharge pathway (¶ 0035: the switching unit 130 is included in each of first, second, and third battery packs 100, 200, and 300 to selectively open and close a charge/discharge path of each battery pack; ¶ 0036: the switching unit 130 may be a charging/discharging switch provided on a charge/discharge path of a battery pack);
wherein the control method comprises the steps of:
executing charge controls on the plurality of battery units by controlling the switching of the plurality of switches (¶ 0049: Although this embodiment shows that the second control unit 120 controls the first control unit 110 of each battery pack to open and close the switching unit 130 of each battery pack, the second control unit 120 may be connected to the switching unit 130 of each battery pack to directly control the switching unit 130; ¶ 0050: After the battery packs in the selected group are initially connected in parallel, the second control unit 120 charges or discharges the connected battery packs so that a difference in SOC between the connected battery packs and the non-connected battery pack falls within a predetermined range); and
executing discharge controls on the plurality of battery units by controlling the switching of the plurality of switches (¶ 0049-0050: see above), and
wherein the charge control step includes a first switch control step that simultaneously sets “a” (where “a” is an integer equal to or greater than 2) selected switches to the first state and sets the plurality of switches except the “a” switches to the second state (¶ 0063: the second control unit 120 charges the battery packs A, B, C, and E connected in parallel… as indicated by the arrow in FIG. 3C; in this case, “a” is equal to four), and
the discharge control step includes a second switch control step that simultaneously sets “b” (where “b” is an integer less than “a”) selected switches to the first state and sets the plurality of switches except the “b” switches to the second state (¶ 0062: as shown in FIG. 3B, the second control unit 120 connects the selected battery packs A, B, and E in parallel via the switching unit 130 of each battery pack. Then, the second control unit 120 discharges the battery packs A, B, and E; in this case, “b” is equal to three).
PARK fails to disclose the at least one battery cell has a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material.
ZHANG discloses at least one battery cell has a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material (¶ 0048: this battery contains no active anode material and can be referred to as an anode-free rechargeable battery; ¶ 0052: the anode current collector is metal or another conductive material that will not react with the ions or form an alloy with the ions used in the anode-free battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the negative electrode free of a negative electrode active material of ZHANG into the battery system of PARK to produce an expected result of a suitable battery cell for the plurality of battery units. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce battery weight and volume, and increase energy density of the battery (ZHANG, ¶ 0051).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of ZHANG as applied to claims 1, 12, and 14-16 above, and further in view of SEPE, JR. (US 2018/0166892; hereinafter referred to as SEPE; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 2, PARK as modified by ZHANG teaches the battery system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose a buffer capacitor connected in series with the plurality of battery units, and a buffer capacitor control unit that controls the buffer capacitor to reduce a current supplied to the plurality of battery units by absorbing at least some of the supplied current when a current supplied from a charger connected to the plurality of battery units is equal to or greater than a first threshold.
SEPE discloses a buffer capacitor connected in series with the plurality of battery units, and a buffer capacitor control unit that controls the buffer capacitor to reduce a current supplied to the plurality of battery units by absorbing at least some of the supplied current when a current supplied from a charger connected to the plurality of battery units is equal to or greater than a first threshold (¶ 0007: wherein integration of the battery management system, the super-capacitor management, and the load management system with the hybrid controller routes bidirectional power and energy such that battery stress is reduced (the battery stress is reduced by keeping the charging and the discharging current within optimal range of the battery; the current levels are not necessarily the same for charging and discharging); ¶ 0075: the super-capacitor can not only supply pulsed power, but it now can also absorb pulsed power from the load while keeping the battery current constant such that the incoming pulsed power does not stress the battery; ¶ 0080: Harvest states collect energy through the hybrid system from an external source or charger; the disclosure of “keeping the charging current.. within optimal range” implies a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the buffer capacitor of SEPE into the battery system of PARK as modified by ZHANG to produce an expected result of a battery system including a buffer capacitor. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce battery stress (SEPE, abstract, ¶ 0007).
Regarding claim 3, PARK as modified by ZHANG and SEPE teaches the buffer capacitor reduces the supplied current to the first threshold (SEPE, ¶ 0007, 0075, 0080).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of ZHANG as applied to claims 1, 12, and 14-16 above, and further in view of FUJII (US 6,160,377; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 4, PARK as modified by ZHANG teaches the battery system as applied to claim 1 but fails to teach the first switch control unit switches one switch selected from among the “a” switches in the first state from the first state to the second state and switches one switch selected from among the switches other than the “a” switches in the second state to the first state when a predetermined first switching condition is satisfied.
FUJII discloses the first switch control unit switches one switch selected from among the “a” switches in the first state from the first state to the second state and switches one switch selected from among the switches other than the “a” switches in the second state to the first state when a predetermined first switching condition is satisfied (col 11, ll. 52 – col 12, ll. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the switching based on a predetermined first switching condition being satisfied of FUJII into the battery system of PARK as modified by ZHANG to produce an expected result of a battery system with a modified switching condition. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce the total charging time (FUJII, col 7, ll. 13-21).
Regarding claim 5, PARK as modified by ZHANG and FUJII teaches the predetermined first switching condition includes the state-of-charge of at least one of the battery units associated with the “a” switches in the first state becoming equal to or greater than a second threshold (FUJII, col 11, ll. 52 – col 12, ll. 34).
Regarding claim 6, PARK as modified by ZHANG and FUJII teaches the predetermined first switching condition includes a predetermined time having passed since any of the “a” switches in the first state were switched from the second state to the first state (FUJII, col 6, ll. 59-67: According to the present invention, the time necessary to charge the battery pack up to 90% is defined as a reference time. A plurality of battery packs are selected one by one and are then subjected to charge until the reference time. When all the battery packs have been charged up to 90% of the fully charged level, these battery packs are charged in parallel. Since all the battery packs have been charged up to 90%, the remaining 10% charge is a top-off charge (supplemental charge); col 7, ll. 25-31: the reference time can be selected by taking into consideration various conditions such as the capacity of the battery pack, the relationship between the time and the charged capacity and the magnitude of a load driven by the battery or batteries; the “reference time” is interpreted as the predetermined time).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of ZHANG as applied to claims 1, 12, and 14-16 above, and further in view of CHIUEH (US 2017/0133865; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 7, PARK as modified by ZHANG teaches the battery system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose a converter connected in series with the plurality of battery units, and a converter control unit that controls the converter to reduce a discharge current from the plurality of battery units and supply the current to a load by stepping down a voltage on the plurality of battery units side and applying the voltage to a load side when the current required by the load connected to the plurality of battery units is less than or equal to a third threshold.
CHIUEH discloses a converter (130, Fig. 1) connected in series with the plurality of battery units (120, Fig. 1), and a converter control unit (110, Fig. 1) that controls the converter to reduce a discharge current from the plurality of battery units and supply the current to a load (50, Fig. 1) by stepping down a voltage on the plurality of battery units side (¶ 0041, 0046-0047: buck mode) and applying the voltage to a load side when the current required by the load connected to the plurality of battery units is less than or equal to a third threshold (¶ 0020, 0042-0044, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the converter and converter control unit of CHIUEH into the battery system of PARK as modified by ZHANG to produce an expected result of a battery system including a converter. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to match and stabilize voltage levels between the battery units and the load, ensuring safe and efficient power transfer.
Regarding claim 8, PARK as modified by ZHANG and CHIUEH teaches the converter steps down the voltage on the plurality of battery units side so that the discharge current from the plurality of battery units reaches the third threshold value, and then applies the voltage to the load side (CHIUEH, ¶ 0020, 0042-0044, 0047).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of ZHANG as applied to claims 1, 12, and 14-16 above, and further in view of ISHIBASHI (US 2012/0161714; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 9, PARK as modified by ZHANG teaches the battery system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the second switch control unit switches one switch selected from among the “b” switches in the first state from the first state to the second state and switches one switch selected from among the switches other than the “b” switches in the second state to the first state when a predetermined second switching condition is satisfied.
ISHIBASHI discloses the second switch control unit switches one switch selected from among the “b” switches in the first state from the first state to the second state and switches one switch selected from among the switches other than the “b” switches in the second state to the first state when a predetermined second switching condition is satisfied (¶ 0089-0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the switching based on a predetermined second switching condition being satisfied of ISHIBASHI into the battery system of PARK as modified by ZHANG to produce an expected result of a battery system with a modified switching condition. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide discharging power without stopping power supply when two or more battery modules discharge (ISHIBASHI, ¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 10, PARK as modified by ZHANG and ISHIBASHI teaches the predetermined second switching condition includes the state-of-charge of at least one of the battery units associated with the “b” switches in the first state becoming less than or equal to a fourth threshold (ISHIBASHI, ¶ 0089-0102).
Regarding claim 13, PARK as modified by ZHANG teaches the battery system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose each of the plurality of battery units includes three battery cells connected in parallel to each other.
ISHIBASHI discloses each of the plurality of battery units includes two or more battery cells connected in parallel to each other (¶ 0071). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery units each having three parallel cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the plurality of battery units including battery cells connected in parallel of ISHIBASHI into the battery system of PARK as modified by ZHANG to produce an expected result of a battery system with battery units comprised of battery cells connected in parallel. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to achieve a desired amp-hour (Ah) capacity and total energy storage while maintaining a specific voltage.
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of ZHANG as applied to claims 1, 12, and 14-16 above, and further in view of SKIPPER (US 2014/0217986; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 9, PARK as modified by ZHANG teaches the battery system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the second switch control unit switches one switch selected from among the “b” switches in the first state from the first state to the second state and switches one switch selected from among the switches other than the “b” switches in the second state to the first state when a predetermined second switching condition is satisfied.
SKIPPER discloses the second switch control unit switches one switch selected from among the “b” switches in the first state from the first state to the second state and switches one switch selected from among the switches other than the “b” switches in the second state to the first state when a predetermined second switching condition is satisfied (¶ 0031-0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the switching based on a predetermined second switching condition being satisfied of SKIPPER into the battery system of PARK as modified by ZHANG to produce an expected result of a battery system with a modified switching condition. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to extend the lifetime of the battery system (¶ 0007, 0027).
Regarding claim 11, PARK as modified by ZHANG and SKIPPER teaches the predetermined second switching condition includes a predetermined time having passed since any of the “b” switches in the first state were switched from the second state to the first state (¶ 0031-0032).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 4/19/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836