DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 2016/0121666) on view of Fairgrieve (US 2015/02031155)
As to claim 1 Chan discloses a control device for a human-powered vehicle, the control device comprising:
an electronic controller configured to control an air pressure of a tire provided to a human-powered vehicle based on at least one of a roughness of a road surface on which the human-powered vehicle is traveling or will travel, a slope state related to an advancing direction of the human-powered vehicle, a wet state of the road surface, a traveling state of the human-powered vehicle, and a state of a component mounted on the human-powered vehicle(Paragraph 45 “As an example, road sensor 24 may detect wet or icy conditions along road 34 (see FIGS. 4-5) and provide road data indicating such conditions to controller 20. Controller 20, in turn, controls operation of pressure regulator 22 to vary the air pressure of tires 14 accordingly.”, Paragraph 48 “Referring now to FIG. 7, method 80 of controlling air pressure within one or more tires is shown according to one embodiment. A tire pressure is received (82). In one embodiment, the tire pressure is received as tire data from one or more tire sensors such as tire sensor 26. Road data is received (84). In one embodiment, road data regarding road conditions, etc. at an advanced location is received from one or more road sensors such as road sensor 24. A target pressure is determined (86). Based on the received tire pressure and road data, a target pressure for one or more tires may be determined by, for example, controller 20. The tire pressure of one or more tires is adjusted (e.g., maintained, increased, or decreased) based on the target pressure (88)”).
Chan does not explicitly disclose the electronic controller configured to determine whether the first state is a predetermined state, and further configured to determine whether the air pressure is a first air pressure having a first air pressure range or a second air pressure having a second air pressure range,
Fairgrieve teaches the electronic controller configured to determine whether the first state is a predetermined state, and further configured to determine whether the air pressure is a first air pressure having a first air pressure range or a second air pressure having a second air pressure range (Paragraph 55 “For example, if the actual tyre pressure may be 10 psi (approximately 69 kPa) higher than the tyre pressure determined to be the optimum or benchmark for a given terrain or operating condition, it may be determined that the tyre pressure needs to be reduced by 10 psi (69 kPa)”),
the electronic controller configured to perform a first operation that causes an air pressure adjusting device to stop a motor or change to a non-connection state when the air pressure is the first air pressure and the first state is not the predetermined state(Paragraph 18 “As such, chassis management subsystem 12.sub.2 may monitor the tyre pressure and, if necessary, and if the vehicle is so configured, to automatically make, or cause to be made, adjustments to the pressure using an air compressor onboard the vehicle.”),
a second operation that causes the air pressure adjusting device to increase the air pressure when the air pressure is not the first air pressure and the first state is not the predetermined state(Paragraph 18 “As such, chassis management subsystem 12.sub.2 may monitor the tyre pressure and, if necessary, and if the vehicle is so configured, to automatically make, or cause to be made, adjustments to the pressure using an air compressor onboard the vehicle.”),, and
a third operation that causes the air pressure adjusting device to reduce the air pressure when the air pressure is not the second air pressure and the first state is the predetermined state(Paragraph 55 “For example, if the actual tyre pressure may be 10 psi (approximately 69 kPa) higher than the tyre pressure determined to be the optimum or benchmark for a given terrain or operating condition, it may be determined that the tyre pressure needs to be reduced by 10 psi (69 kPa)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Chan to include the teachings of determining the different air pressures of the tire for the purpose of controlling the vehicle based on the nature of the upcoming terrain.
As to claim 2 Chan discloses a control device wherein the electronic controller is further configured to control the air pressure of the tire based on a detection result of a road-surface-roughness detecting unit configured to detect the roughness of the road surface on which the human-powered vehicle is traveling or will travel (Paragraph 25).
As to claim 13 Chan discloses a control device wherein the electronic controller is further configured to:
calculate an adjustment value of the air pressure of the tire by using an estimation model based on at least one of the roughness of a road surface on which the human-powered vehicle is traveling or will travel, the slope state related to an advancing direction of the human-powered vehicle, the wet state of the road surface, the traveling state of the human-powered vehicle, and the state of the component mounted on the human-powered vehicle; and control the air pressure of the tire based on the calculated adjustment value(Paragraph 25,45,48).
As to claim 15 Chan discloses a control system comprising the control device the control system further comprising:
an air-pressure adjusting device configured to adjust the air pressure of the tire, in a state where the human-powered vehicle is not traveling, the electronic controller being further configured to:
acquire information related to at least one of the state of the road surface on which the human-powered vehicle will travel, the traveling state of the human-powered vehicle, and the state of the component mounted on the human-powered vehicle(Paragraph 45 “As an example, road sensor 24 may detect wet or icy conditions along road 34 (see FIGS. 4-5) and provide road data indicating such conditions to controller 20. Controller 20, in turn, controls operation of pressure regulator 22 to vary the air pressure of tires 14 accordingly.”,;
calculate an adjustment value of the air pressure of the tire; and adjust the air pressure of the tire (Paragraph 48 “Referring now to FIG. 7, method 80 of controlling air pressure within one or more tires is shown according to one embodiment. A tire pressure is received (82). In one embodiment, the tire pressure is received as tire data from one or more tire sensors such as tire sensor 26. Road data is received (84). In one embodiment, road data regarding road conditions, etc. at an advanced location is received from one or more road sensors such as road sensor 24. A target pressure is determined (86). Based on the received tire pressure and road data, a target pressure for one or more tires may be determined by, for example, controller 20. The tire pressure of one or more tires is adjusted (e.g., maintained, increased, or decreased) based on the target pressure (88)”).
Claims 16,18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 2016/0121666) in view of Root (US 2020/0130437)
As to claim 16 Chan discloses an air-pressure adjusting device that is configured to adjust an air pressure of a tire of a human-powered vehicle, the air-pressure adjusting device comprising:
a control device configured to control the air pressure of the tire,
in a state where the human-powered vehicle is not traveling, the control device is configured to:
acquire locational information related to at least one of a state of a road surface on which the human-powered vehicle will travel, a traveling state of the human-powered vehicle, and a state of a component mounted on the human-powered vehicle(Paragraph 45 “As an example, road sensor 24 may detect wet or icy conditions along road 34 (see FIGS. 4-5) and provide road data indicating such conditions to controller 20. Controller 20, in turn, controls operation of pressure regulator 22 to vary the air pressure of tires 14 accordingly.”, Paragraph 48 “Referring now to FIG. 7, method 80 of controlling air pressure within one or more tires is shown according to one embodiment. A tire pressure is received (82). In one embodiment, the tire pressure is received as tire data from one or more tire sensors such as tire sensor 26. Road data is received (84). In one embodiment, road data regarding road conditions, etc. at an advanced location is received from one or more road sensors such as road sensor 24. A target pressure is determined (86).”);
calculate an adjustment value of the air pressure of the tire (Paragraph 48 “A target pressure is determined (86). Based on the received tire pressure and road data, a target pressure for one or more tires may be determined by, for example, controller 20. The tire pressure of one or more tires is adjusted (e.g., maintained, increased, or decreased) based on the target pressure (88)”) based on locational information and positional information of the human-powered vehicle in relation to the locational information (Paragraph 44 “In one embodiment, the road data includes location data for an advanced location of road conditions, such that based on a the advanced location, the current location of the vehicle, and the speed/direction of travel of the vehicle, controller 20 can determine a point in time at which vehicle 10 will arrive at the advanced location, and control operation of pressure regulator 22 such that the air pressure within tires 14 is adjusted for road conditions at an advanced location by the time vehicle 10 arrives at the advanced location, thereby anticipating road conditions and adjusting tire pressure in real time to accommodate such conditions.”) and
Chan teaches adjust the air pressure of the tire before traveling of the human-powered vehicle (Paragraph 44 “In one embodiment, the road data includes location data for an advanced location of road conditions, such that based on a the advanced location, the current location of the vehicle, and the speed/direction of travel of the vehicle, controller 20 can determine a point in time at which vehicle 10 will arrive at the advanced location, and control operation of pressure regulator 22 such that the air pressure within tires 14 is adjusted for road conditions at an advanced location by the time vehicle 10 arrives at the advanced location, thereby anticipating road conditions and adjusting tire pressure in real time to accommodate such conditions. Anticipating road conditions in this manner may provide enhanced tire pressure control relative to other techniques that rely on adjusting tire pressure based primarily or solely on road conditions directly beneath the vehicle and/or on data from off-board sources.”)
The system of Chan discloses that the tire pressure can be adjusted in advance which could also include the vehicle being in a stopped state. However as a further clarification the examiner would like to introduce a new reference.
Root teaches that the tire pressure can be adjusted in a stopped or moving condition (Paragraph 112 “he ports 22, in turn, may be connected to controls or sensors within the system 10 that may monitor and/or adjust the air pressure of the system 10 if the system controls detect parameter values outside of targeted value ranges. In example embodiments in accordance with principles of inventive concepts, the tire health monitoring and parameter-altering may be carried out while the vehicle is in motion and does not require the vehicle to be brought to a stop for either the monitoring or the parameter adjustment to occur.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Chan to include the teachings of adjusting the tire pressure while the vehicle is in a stopped condition of or the purpose of adjusting the tire pressure to the target pressure.
As to claim 18 Chan discloses an air-pressure adjusting device wherein the control device is further configured to:
calculate the adjustment value of the air pressure of the tire by using an estimation model based on the locational information and positional information (Paragraph 47-48); and
control the air pressure of the tire based on the adjustment value that was calculated (Paragraph 47-48).
As to claim 19 Chan discloses a an air-pressure adjusting device wherein
The location information map includes map information (Paragraph 44), and
In the state where the human-powered vehicle is not traveling, the control device is configured to calculate the adjustment value of the air pressure of the tire based on the map information and the positional information of the human-powered vehicle in relation to the map information (Paragraph 44).
As to claim 20 Chan discloses an air-pressure adjusting device wherein the control device is configured to adjust the air pressure of the tire on a bicycle that is driven by at least one human power using pedals that rotate via a crank (Paragraph 19).
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 2016/0121666) in view of Root (US 2020/0130437) as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Kobler (US 2020/0148177)
As to claim 17 Kobler teaches an air-pressure adjusting device wherein the air-pressure adjusting device is configured to be detachably provided to the human-powered vehicle (Paragraph 90). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Chan to include the teachings of a portable pressure adjusting device for the purpose of adjusting the tire pressure of the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the applicants arguments applicants argue that Fairgrieve does not disclose the first, second and third operations.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant arguments. Fairgrieve teaches a first operation a first operation that causes an air pressure adjusting device to stop a motor or change to a non-connection state when the air pressure is the first air pressure and the first state is not the predetermined state(Paragraph 18 “As such, chassis management subsystem 12.sub.2 may monitor the tyre pressure and, if necessary, and if the vehicle is so configured, to automatically make, or cause to be made, adjustments to the pressure using an air compressor onboard the vehicle.”). Here the first operation is adjusting the pressure using an air compressor onboard the vehicle in order to achieve the target pressure. Clearly once the pressure is achieved then the compressor will be in an off state.
Fairgrieve teaches a second operation that causes the air pressure adjusting device to increase the air pressure when the air pressure is not the first air pressure and the first state is not the predetermined state(Paragraph 18 “As such, chassis management subsystem 12.sub.2 may monitor the tyre pressure and, if necessary, and if the vehicle is so configured, to automatically make, or cause to be made, adjustments to the pressure using an air compressor onboard the vehicle.”). Here the first operation is adjusting the pressure using an air compressor onboard the vehicle in order to achieve the target pressure. Clearly once the pressure is achieved then the compressor will be in an off state.
Fairgrieve teaches a third operation that causes the air pressure adjusting device to reduce the air pressure when the air pressure is not the second air pressure and the first state is the predetermined state(Paragraph 55 “For example, if the actual tyre pressure may be 10 psi (approximately 69 kPa) higher than the tyre pressure determined to be the optimum or benchmark for a given terrain or operating condition, it may be determined that the tyre pressure needs to be reduced by 10 psi (69 kPa)”). In this example while the vehicle is in motion and the vehicle is in a predetermined state[vehicle will travel on a certain terrain] and the system determines an optimal pressure for the terrain the system reduces the pressure of the tire to the target pressure.
On page 8 of the applicants arguments with regards to claim 16 see examiners arguments and office action above.
On page 9 of the applicants arguments with regards to claims 2, 13, 15, 17, 18 see examiners arguments and office action above.
On page 10 of the applicants arguments with regards to claim 19, 20 see examiners arguments and office action above.
Conclusion
IMRAN K. MUSTAFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/IMRAN K MUSTAFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668
7/29/2026