DETAILED ACTION
Applicant has amended the claims to include a limitation not previously considered in the context of the claimed method. Support for the new limitation is found in the original filing. No new matter is presented.
The remarks in conjunction with the amendments filed 1/26/2026 do not overcome the previously cited prior art for the reasons below set forth.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/10/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2016/0355436) alternatively as evidenced by Devenney et al (WO 2013/165600A1)
Regarding claims 7-20
Chen et al (US 2016/0355436) discloses a product of aragonite building material with a water repellant in a cement composition [0005] Reactive vaterite is in a solution containing water [0006] and is transformed to aragonite to set harden and form cement [0007]
The aragonite may be needle shaped [0042][0131] (i.e. acicular thereby necessarily interlocking of instant claim 18) (meeting claim 7).
Fig 2 shows transition from vaterite to aragonite [0012] vaterite is contacted with water to form aragonite [0018] the activation of vaterite may control the aragonite formation and crystal growth [0020] the vaterite composition comprises a water repellant [0029] (meeting claim 10 for water repellant)
The vaterite composition may also comprise amorphous calcium, calcite, hydraulic cement, supplementary cement material [0016] (meeting claim 11 for supplementary cement material for example)
The composition may comprise magnesium carbonate [0034] (meeting claims 9) and magnesium silicate [0106] (meeting claim 9)
The composition may comprise clinker of Portland cement [0108] (meeting claim 11) Portland cement clinker supplementary cement and combinations may be combined before combining the composition with an aqueous medium [0235]
In some embodiments, the composition provided herein is a particulate composition with an average particle size of 0.1-100 microns. The average particle size may be determined using any conventional particle size determination method, such as, but is not limited to, multi-detector laser scattering or sieving (i.e. <38 microns). In certain embodiments, unimodal or multimodal, e.g., bimodal or other, distributions are present. [0093] (meeting claim 8)
The product may comprise pores [0046] [0048] The product has reduced capillary forces in the pores and reduced water absorption in the pores of the aragonitic product [0045] (meeting claim 17 and overlapping or rendering obvious claim 20 for pore distribution esp. given the broadly claimed range thereof) The product may be coated with a water repellent to improve hydrophobicity [00047] (further overlapping claim 20
The composition is formed into aggregates [0015] (meeting claim 7)
The vaterite may be dried precipitate (i.e. particles) before mixing with water to form aragonite [0202] The vaterite is activated and combined with water and rinsed followed by dewatering to form a precipitate [0206]
The particles may be a collection of larger particles and smaller particles there may be one or two or three or four or five different sized particles [0207] (meeting claim 8)
The composition may be used in aggregates for concrete [0209]
A vaterite composition may be further activated by adding aragonite seed for admixtures and aggregate and supplementary cement compositions to produce a final composition which may be ground milled etc.to obtain a desired physical property and size [0210] (meeting claim 14)
The composition may be processed in a station for preparing building material such as cement to produce aggregates [0226] (meeting claims 1 and 7 rendering obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention depositing layers of agglomerated material)
The composition may be cured [0007][0210] such as at high temperature 40-100 °C in high humidity such as 30-60 % humidity [0243][0252 0253] (meeting claim 15 overlapping claim 16 for temperature and/or humidity) The temperature including boiling point of water will evaporate the water as in instant claim 17)
The composition may be dried by air drying spray drying vacuum drying and oven drying at temperatures up to 120 °C drying may occur at 150-250° C [0206] (further meeting claim 17 for evaporation and meeting claim 13 for dry spraying) (spraying will inherently be intermittent or constant of claim 12)_
The bulk density is 75-80 lb/ft3 [0096] (overlapping the range of claim 20 )
The composition is formed into aggregates [0231]
The composition will be allowed to set and harden into a cement product [0232]
The composition will harden and the vaterite transforms to aragonite [0233]
The composition may form in a mold [0234] and the composition may be extruded pelleted or crushed [0235] (giving the claims the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification pelletizing and extrusion meet the limitation for depositing layers of instant claim 7 – see instant specification at [0012][0015][0087][0109][0236-0238])
The composition will form an aggregate which may be refined [0236]
The processing of the product is done at suitable conditions such as temperature pressure including above atmospheric time for setting aqueous medium ratio etc. [0239] (overlapping claim 16)
Vaterite in the metastable carbonate may be present in monodisperse or agglomerated form, and may be in spherical, ellipsoidal, plate like shape, or hexagonal system. Vaterite typically has a hexagonal crystal structure and forms polycrystalline spherical particles upon growth. Calcite, if present, may be cubic, spindle, or crystals of hexagonal system. [0042] rending obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention that the product of the method resulting in at least some product which possesses the hexagonal system (i.e. honeycomb) esp. where the vaterite which is treated is a hexagonal/honeycomb system.
The composition in the powder form or after setting and hardening will possess a bulk density of between 90 lb./f3-110 lb/ft or 75-80 lb/ft3 [0096] (within the range taught for the product of the instant application at [0004] as corelating to formation of interlocking acicular shaped aragonite [0008] and the spec which recognizes the honeycomb structure reduces bulk density instant spec. [0034] – the reference teaching the claimed bulk density corresponds to the claimed honeycomb structure)
The aragonite having been formed by the claimed process will necessarily possess the claimed properties and structural affect in ranges which meet and or overlap the instantly claimed ranges. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir.1990) “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
See MPEP 2144.05(I): "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)"
The examiner maintains that the hexagonal structure of the prior art meets the limitations for “honeycomb”
Alternatively, as further evidenced by (WO 2013/165600) teaches that reactive vaterite will form clusters and the resulting form of aragonite made therefore which may be needle shaped will also cluster (i.e. agglomerate) [0032-0034] one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would expect at least some of the composition to agglomerate forming aggregates in Chen as taught by WO 2013/165600) WO: The vaterite or reactive vaterite may be monodisperse or agglomerated and may possess a hexagonal system vaterite typically has a hexagonal crystal structure [0033]
Further: While applicant does not expressly claim the curing conditions, but merely recites: “in a way”, the examiner notes: The curing conditions of the reference are similar to those of the instant application. The curing is at 60° C., 95% RH [0252] Curing at 50ºC-100ºC and 30% humidity or 60% humidity [0243] See reference at [0239] and pressure may be atmospheric [0249] Instant specification curing: pressure heat and/or humidity to transform the reactive vaterite cement in aggregates with interlocking acicular shape In some embodiments, the pressure during curing is between about 10-10,000 psi; heat is between about 20-150°C; and/or humidity is between about 40-100% relative humidity (RH). These ranges may vary depending on the constitution of the aggregate including its water content or the desired bulk density. [0091] As such the product of the reference is being cured in a way that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would expect to encompass at least some of the instantly claimed honeycomb structure with a reasonable degree of success. The examiner notes that the prior art teaches all of the limitations of the claims. The reference also teaches curing conditions (while not expressly recited in the claims) which are similar to those of the instant specification. As such the examiner maintains the reference renders obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention the limitations for “curing the aggregates to transform the reactive vaterite cement into interlocking acicular shaped aragonite to form aggregates, in a way that interlocking acicular shaped aragonite particle form a honeycomb structure thereby surrounding one or more voids.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the new limitation for “in a way that interlocking acicular shaped aragonite particle form a honeycomb structure thereby surrounding one or more voids” the examiner notes that the applicant does not recite what conditions “in a way” are required. The examiner notes that the prior art teaches all of the limitations of the claims. The reference also teaches curing conditions (while not expressly recited in the claims) which are similar to those of the instant specification. As such the examiner maintains the reference renders obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention the limitations for “curing the aggregates to transform the reactive vaterite cement into interlocking acicular shaped aragonite to form aggregates, in a way that interlocking acicular shaped aragonite particle form a honeycomb structure thereby surrounding one or more voids.”
Vaterite in the metastable carbonate may be present in monodisperse or agglomerated form, and may be in spherical, ellipsoidal, plate like shape, or hexagonal system. Vaterite typically has a hexagonal crystal structure and forms polycrystalline spherical particles upon growth. Calcite, if present, may be cubic, spindle, or crystals of hexagonal system. [0042] rending obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention that the product of the method resulting in at least some product which possesses the hexagonal system (i.e. honeycomb) esp. where the vaterite which is treated is a hexagonal/honeycomb system.
The composition in the powder form or after setting and hardening will possess a bulk density of between 90 lb./f3-110 lb/ft or 75-80 lb/ft3 [0096] (within the range taught for the product of the instant application at [0004] as corelating to formation of interlocking acicular shaped aragonite [0008] and the spec which recognizes the honeycomb structure reduces bulk density instant spec. [0034] – the reference teaching the claimed bulk density corresponds to the claimed honeycomb structure)
The aragonite having been formed by the claimed process will necessarily possess the claimed properties and structural affect in ranges which meet and or overlap the instantly claimed ranges. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir.1990) “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) See MPEP 2144.05(I): "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)"
Alternatively, as further evidenced by (WO 2013/165600) teaches that reactive vaterite will form clusters and the resulting form of aragonite made therefore which may be needle shaped will also cluster (i.e. agglomerate) [0032-0034] one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would expect at least some of the composition to agglomerate forming aggregates in Chen as taught by WO 2013/165600) The vaterite or reactive vaterite may be monodisperse or agglomerated and may possess a hexagonal system vaterite typically has a hexagonal crystal structure [0033]
While applicant does not expressly claim the curing conditions, but merely recites: “in a way”, the examiner notes: The curing conditions of the reference are similar to those of the instant application. The vaterite is cured at 60° C., 95% RH [0252] Curing at 50ºC-100ºC and 30% humidity or 60% humidity [0243] See reference at [0239] and pressure may be atmospheric [0249] Instant specification curing: pressure heat and/or humidity to transform the reactive vaterite cement in aggregates with interlocking acicular shape In some embodiments, the pressure during curing is between about 10-10,000 psi; heat is between about 20-150°C; and/or humidity is between about 40-100% relative humidity (RH). These ranges may vary depending on the constitution of the aggregate including its water content or the desired bulk density. [0091] As such the product of the reference is being cured in a way that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would expect to encompass at least some of the instantly claimed honeycomb structure with a reasonable degree of success.
As above cited the prior art teaches embodiments, unimodal or multimodal, e.g., bimodal or other, distributions are present meeting amended claim 8.
For the above reasons the rejections are maintained and made final.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA H WEISS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732