DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 11/28/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 12-14, and 18 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 limitation recites “receiving a reject message and, in response, treating the NAS procedure as rejected responsive to all TAIs broadcast for the chosen PLMN are rejected.” The action of “treating the NAS procedure as rejected” is indefinite as to what is required of the apparatus in a UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Edge et al. (US 20230052177 A1, hereinafter “Edge”).
RE Claim 1, Edge discloses:
A method, comprising:
Initiating (UE may indicate, initiating, a preference for a TAI of TAIs broadcast via an RRC message. ¶0095) , by a processor of a user equipment (UE) (¶0147; Fig. 10: 1000, 1004), a non-access stratum (NAS) procedure with a satellite-accessing cell of a network (UE access a satellite also referred to as a space vehicle, SV, for a non-terrestrial network, satellite cell. ¶¶0011, 0040-0041; Fig. 1: 100); and
constructing, by the processor, a tracking area identifier (TAI) of the cell or a plurality of TAIs, as a list of TAIs (UE determines a tracking area, TA, based on cell broadcast information of one or more TAC or TAI per PLMN in a radio cell, constructing a list. ¶0087; A UE selects a TAI from TAIs broadcast, a list of TAIs, in the serving radio cell for a serving PLMN and may give preference to a TAI in the registration area. ¶0095), of the cell depending on whether the cell broadcasts one or more than one tracking area codes (TACs) per public land mobile network (PLMN) (Satellite vehicle broadcasts for cell 1 a SIB that includes TAIs or TACs for Tracking Area 4, TA4, and surrounding TAs.¶0083, Fig. 6; A tracking area code, TAC, indicates a tracking area, TA, in a known PLMN where an MCC and MNC identifying the PLMN are known. A Tracking Area Indicator, TAI, comprises a MCC, MNC, and a TAC thereby indicating both a PLMN and a TA in that PLMN via the TAC. When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088); and
either:
receiving, by the processor, an accept message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure (UE is allowed to access the satellite radio network based on the TAI(s). Network sends a NAS accept message to the UE. ¶0011; ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11); or
receiving, by the processor, a reject message responsive to initiating the procedure (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; With a rule 3, for a UE 105 receiving a NAS Reject message, if the Reject indicates the current TAI is forbidden (e.g. as described above for rule 2), the UE 105 treats all broadcast TAIs for the current serving radio cell that are not in the current RA and not in an allowed TAI list as forbidden TAIs.”, RA is Registration Area, ¶0130. Edge discloses a forbidden tracking area reject message to the UE. Based on that rejection, the UE will place all TAIs in a forbidden TAI list except those TAIs in current registration area and TAIs in the allowed TAI list. Allowed TAI list for allowed access satellite radio cells including nearby TAs," ¶¶0011-0012, 0102.),
wherein the accept message indicates that the network accepts registration to one or more, but not all, TAIs for a chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; AMF sends UE a NAS accept message for a Registration or Attach accept. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11; Accept message is based on allowed TAIs list of the UE. Forbidden TAIs list of the UE are rejected, therefore a conditional acceptance and not all TAIs. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11),
wherein the accept message comprises an accepted list of TAIs listing one or more accepted TAIs (Registration accept message includes allowed TAI(s) and non-allowed TAIs, rejected, for the UE. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11, 12;),
wherein the reject message comprises a rejected list of TAIs listing one or more rejected TAIs each associated with an information indicating a cause for rejection (NAS reject message, sent by AMF to the UE, indicate TAIs that are forbidden. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9; The NAS reject message includes the TAI(s) that are forbidden and a cause value indicating the reason for rejection and indicating the UE to include the TAI(s) in a list of forbidden TAI(s) for the UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 10), and
wherein the network rejects the NAS procedure responsive to the network rejecting all TAIs broadcast for the chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; With a rule 3, for a UE 105 receiving a NAS Reject message, if the Reject indicates the current TAI is forbidden (e.g. as described above for rule 2), the UE 105 treats all broadcast TAIs for the current serving radio cell that are not in the current RA and not in an allowed TAI list as forbidden TAIs.”, RA is Registration Area, ¶0130. Edge discloses a forbidden tracking area reject message to the UE. Based on that rejection, the UE will place all TAIs in a forbidden TAI list except those TAIs in current registration area and TAIs in the allowed TAI list. Allowed TAI list for allowed access satellite radio cells including nearby TAs," ¶¶0011-0012, 0102.).
RE Claim 2, Edge discloses:
The method, wherein the constructing comprises constructing the TAI of the cell based on a PLMN identifier (ID) of the chosen PLMN and a TAC received for the PLMN ID on broadcast system information from the cell in response to the cell not broadcasting more than one TACs for the chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; The broadcast of one, not more than one, TAC or TAI per PLMN in a radio cell via a System Information Block type 1, SIB1, may be referred to as a “hard TAC” or “hard TAI” for tracking area update. ¶0087).
RE Claim 3, Edge discloses:
The method, wherein the constructing comprises constructing the plurality of TAIs of the cell based on a PLMN identifier (ID) of the chosen PLMN and a plurality of TACs received for the PLMN ID on broadcast system information from the cell in response to the cell broadcasting more than one TACs for the chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088) .
RE Claim 4, Edge discloses:
The method, wherein the procedure comprises a REGISTRATION procedure, a TRACKING AREA UPDATE procedure, an ATTACH procedure, or a SERVICE REQUEST procedure (The broadcast of one, not more than one, TAC or TAI per PLMN in a radio cell via a System Information Block type 1, SIB1, may be referred to as a “hard TAC” or “hard TAI” for tracking area update. ¶0087; Satellite access procedure that supports TAI, tracking area, updates. ¶0133: Fig. 9; UE NAS procedures via RRC include Registration, Attach, Service Request ¶0138, Fig. 9).
RE Claim 5, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
storing, by the processor, the one or more rejected TAIs in a forbidden list (UE is to include the forbidden TAIs in a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE. ¶0143, Fig. 9: Step 10),
wherein the reject message contains a list of one or more rejected TAIs (NAS reject message indicate TAIs that are forbidden. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9).
RE Claim 6, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
receiving(AMF sends NAS message to UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), by the processor, a reject message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure; and
storing, by the processor, the list of TAIs, which are associated with all TACs broadcasted by the cell for a public land mobile network (PLMN), in a forbidden list (If TAI information is not received, the UE transfers into the list of forbidden TAIs all TAIs being broadcast in a serving radio cell. ¶00143),
wherein the reject message does not contain information of any rejected TAI (UE receives an indication that a TAI is forbidden but does not receive a TAI or list of TAIs. ¶¶0142-0143, Fig. 9).
RE Claim 7, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
determining, by the processor, that one or more TAIs are rejected (NAS reject message, sent by AMF to the UE, indicate TAIs that are forbidden. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9);
adding, by the processor, the one or more rejected TAIs in a forbidden list corresponding to a cause of rejection (The NAS reject message includes the TAI(s) that are forbidden and a cause value indicating the reason for rejection and indicating the UE to include the TAI(s) in a list of forbidden TAI(s) for the UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 10).
RE Claim 9, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
Receiving (AMF sends NAS message to UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), by the processor, a reject message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure (AMF sends UE a reject message. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9);
associating, by the processor, a plurality of TACs to the chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088); and
storing, by the processor, a current list of TAIs constructed for the procedure in a corresponding forbidden list (UE is to include the forbidden TAIs in a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE. ¶0143, Fig. 9: Step 10),
wherein the plurality of TACs are indicated in system information broadcasted by the cell for the chosen PLMN (Satellite vehicle broadcasts for cell 1 a SIB that includes TAIs or TACs for Tracking Area 4, TA4, and surrounding TAs.¶0083, Fig. 6; A tracking area code, TAC, indicates a tracking area, TA, in a known PLMN where an MCC and MNC identifying the PLMN are known. ¶0088).
RE Claim 12, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
Receiving (AMF sends NAS message to UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), by the processor, a reject message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure (AMF sends UE a reject message. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9),
Wherein, responsive to receiving the reject message from the network (AMF sends UE a reject message. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), the network rejects the procedure in an event that the network rejects all TAIs broadcast for the PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; If all TAI(s) broadcast in the radio cell are not allowed for the UE, the AMF determines access by UE is not unconditionally allowed. ¶0141; If the TAI(s) are not allowed, the AMF sends to the UE a NAS reject message including all the TAI(s) that are forbidden. ¶0142).
RE Claim 13, Edge discloses:
The method, further,
wherein, responsive to receiving the accept message from the network (UE is allowed to access the satellite radio network based on the TAI(s). Network sends a NAS accept message to the UE. ¶0011; ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), the network accepts the procedure in an event that the network accepts a subset of all TAIs broadcast for the chosen PLMN while the network rejects one or more remaining TAIs (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; A Registration accept message includes allowed TAI(s) and non-allowed TAIs, rejected, for the UE. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11, 12;).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge, in view of Park et al. (US 20200137552 A1, hereinafter “Park”).
RE Claim 8, Edge discloses:
The method,
wherein the accept message indicates that the network accepts registration to one or more (AMF sends UE a NAS accept message for a Registration or Attach accept. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), but not all, TACs for the PLMN (Accept message is based on allowed TAIs list of the UE. Forbidden TAIs list of the UE are rejected, therefore a conditional acceptance and not all TAIs. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), and
wherein the accept message includes an Evolved Packet System (EPS) Mobility Management (EMM) information element (IE) (EPS access for UE, ¶0054; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. AMF uses the ULI IE to assign TAIs to UE. ¶0092; MME used in place of AMF in EMM. ¶0133; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. ¶0092) or a 5th Generation Mobility Management (5GMM) IE (UE starts off in a 5GMM system. ¶0134; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. AMF uses the ULI IE to assign TAIs to UE. ¶0092).
Edge does not explicitly disclose:
the accept message that indicates a cause of rejection and includes a list of one or more rejected TAIs,
However, Park discloses:
that indicates a cause of rejection and includes a list of one or more rejected TAIs (If at least one of the S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI is rejected by the AMF, the registration accept message may include the reason for refusal of the rejected S-NSSAI along with the rejected S-NSSAI. In this case, the reason for refusal may be configured to indicate that the rejected S-NSSAI is not available in the PLMN and/or the current registration area, non-allowed or rejected TAIs. ¶0636, Fig. 19),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, condition acceptance of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Park, inclusion of the cause of rejection and a rejection in an acceptance NAS message.
The motivation in doing so would be to include a rejection and reason for rejection within a NAS accept message for improvements which reduce additional signaling of a rejection in a subsequent rejection message.
RE Claim 14, Edge discloses:
An apparatus implementable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0147, Fig. 10: 1000), comprising:
a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly with a network (Satellite, Wireless, WLAN transceivers. ¶0147, Fig. 10: 1003, 1002, 1006); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations (¶0147, Fig. 10: 1004, 1014) comprising:
initiating, via the transceiver (Satellite transceiver. ¶0147, Fig. 10:1003), a procedure with a satellite- accessing cell of the network (UE access a satellite also referred to as a space vehicle, SV, for a non-terrestrial network, satellite cell. ¶¶0040-0041; Fig. 1: 100);
constructing a tracking area identifier (TAI) of the cell based on a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier (ID) of the chosen PLMN and a TAC received for the PLMN ID on a broadcast system information from the cell in response to determining the cell broadcasts one tracking area code (TAC) per PLMN or constructing a plurality of TAIs, as a list of TAIs, of the cell based on a PLMN ID of the chosen PLMN and a TAC received for the PLMN ID on a broadcast system information from the cell in response to determining the cell broadcasts more than one tracking area codes (TACs) per PLMN (UE determines a tracking area, TA, based on cell broadcast information of one or more TAC or TAI per PLMN in a radio cell, constructing a list. ¶0087; A UE selects a TAI from TAIs broadcast, a list of TAIs, in the serving radio cell for a serving PLMN and may give preference to a TAI in the registration area. ¶0095; Satellite vehicle broadcasts for cell 1 a SIB that includes TAIs or TACs for Tracking Area 4, TA4, and surrounding TAs.¶0083, Fig. 6; A tracking area code, TAC, indicates a tracking area, TA, in a known PLMN where an MCC and MNC identifying the PLMN are known. A Tracking Area Indicator, TAI, comprises a MCC, MNC, and a TAC thereby indicating both a PLMN and a TA in that PLMN via the TAC. When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088);
receiving a reject message and, in response, treating the NAS procedure as rejected responsive to all TAIs broadcast for the chosen PLMN are rejected (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; With a rule 3, for a UE 105 receiving a NAS Reject message, if the Reject indicates the current TAI is forbidden (e.g. as described above for rule 2), the UE 105 treats all broadcast TAIs for the current serving radio cell that are not in the current RA and not in an allowed TAI list as forbidden TAIs.”, RA is Registration Area, ¶0130. Edge discloses a forbidden tracking area reject message to the UE. Based on that rejection, the UE will place all TAIs in a forbidden TAI list except those TAIs in current registration area and TAIs in the allowed TAI list. Allowed TAI list for allowed access satellite radio cells including nearby TAs," ¶¶0011-0012, 0102.).
Edge does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, via the transceiver, an accept message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure, the accept message comprising an accepted list of TAIs and a rejected list of TAIs with an information indicating a cause for rejection, the accept message indicating acceptance to one or more, but not all, TAIs for the chosen PLMN; and
However, Park discloses:
receiving, via the transceiver, an accept message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure (Terminal receives an accept message. ¶0636, Fig. 19), the accept message comprising an accepted list of TAIs and a rejected list of TAIs with an information indicating a cause for rejection (Accept message includes the allowed NSSAIs for the PLMN. If at least one of the NSSAI is rejected by the AMF, the accept message includes the reason for refusal of the rejected NSSAI and the rejected NSSAI of the PLMN. ¶0636, Fig. 19, the accept message indicating acceptance to one or more, but not all, TAIs for the chosen PLMN (Accept message includes the allowed NSSAIs for the PLMN. ¶0636, Fig. 19);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, condition acceptance of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Park, inclusion of the cause of rejection and a rejection in an acceptance NAS message.
The motivation in doing so would be to include a rejection and reason for rejection within a NAS accept message for improvements which reduce additional signaling of a rejection in a subsequent rejection message. (Edge: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0006-0008, 0036, 0065, Fig. 6; Park: Abstract, ¶¶0010-0024)
RE Claim 15, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
storing the one or more rejected TAIs in a corresponding forbidden list (UE is to include the forbidden TAIs in a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE. ¶0143, Fig. 9: Step 10).
RE Claim 16, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
determining that one or more TAIs are rejected (NAS reject message, sent by AMF to the UE, indicate TAIs that are forbidden. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9); and
adding the one or more rejected TAIs in a forbidden list corresponding to a cause of rejection (The NAS reject message includes the TAI(s) that are forbidden and a cause value indicating the reason for rejection and indicating the UE to include the TAI(s) in a list of forbidden TAI(s) for the UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 10).
RE Claim 17, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, responsive to receiving the accept message (UE is allowed to access the satellite radio network based on the TAI(s). Network sends a NAS accept message to the UE. ¶0011; ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11):
the accept message indicates that the network accepts registration to one or more (AMF sends UE a NAS accept message for a Registration or Attach accept. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), but not all, TACs for the PLMN (Accept message is based on allowed TAIs list of the UE. Forbidden TAIs list of the UE are rejected, therefore a conditional acceptance and not all TAIs. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11),
the accept message includes a list of one or more rejected TAIs (Registration accept message includes allowed TAI(s) and non-allowed TAIs, rejected, for the UE. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11, 12;), and
the accept message further includes a new TAI list including one or more TAIs for which registration is successful (UE receives a new Registration Area, RA, during registration acceptance. UE may remove from a list of forbidden TAIs and forbidden TAIs that are now included in the RA, updating TAI lists. ¶0145, Fig. 9: Step 12).
RE Claim 18, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, responsive to receiving the accept message (AMF sends NAS message to UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9; UE is allowed to access the satellite radio network based on the TAI(s). Network sends a NAS accept message to the UE. ¶0011; ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), the accept message indicates that the network accepts registration to one or more (AMF sends UE a NAS accept message for a Registration or Attach accept. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), but not all, TACs for the chosen PLMN (Accept message is based on allowed TAIs list of the UE. Forbidden TAIs list of the UE are rejected, therefore a conditional acceptance and not all TAIs. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), and wherein the accept message includes an Evolved Packet System (EPS) Mobility Management (EMM) information element (IE) (EPS access for UE, ¶0054; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. AMF uses the ULI IE to assign TAIs to UE. ¶0092; MME used in place of AMF in EMM. ¶0133; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. ¶0092) or a 5th Generation Mobility Management (5GMM) IE (UE starts off in a 5GMM system. ¶0134; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. AMF uses the ULI IE to assign TAIs to UE. ¶0092), that indicates a cause of rejection.
Edge does not explicitly disclose:
the accept message that indicates a cause of rejection.
However, Park discloses:
that indicates a cause of rejection. (If at least one of the S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI is rejected by the AMF, the registration accept message may include the reason for refusal of the rejected S-NSSAI along with the rejected S-NSSAI. In this case, the reason for refusal may be configured to indicate that the rejected S-NSSAI is not available in the PLMN and/or the current registration area, non-allowed or rejected TAIs. ¶0636, Fig. 19
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, condition acceptance of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Park, inclusion of the cause of rejection and a rejection in an acceptance NAS message.
The motivation in doing so would be to include a rejection and reason for rejection within a NAS accept message for improvements which reduce additional signaling of a rejection in a subsequent rejection message.
RE Claim 19, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, responsive to receiving the reject message (AMF sends UE a reject message. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
associating a plurality of TACs to the PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088); and
storing a current list of TAIs constructed for the procedure in a corresponding forbidden list (UE is to include the forbidden TAIs in a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE. ¶0143, Fig. 9: Step 10),
wherein the plurality of TACs are indicated in system information broadcasted by the cell for the chosen PLMN (Satellite vehicle broadcasts for cell 1 a SIB that includes TAIs or TACs for Tracking Area 4, TA4, and surrounding TAs.¶0083, Fig. 6; A tracking area code, TAC, indicates a tracking area, TA, in a known PLMN where an MCC and MNC identifying the PLMN are known. ¶0088).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge, in view of Niemi et al. (US 20200275506 A1, hereinafter “Niemi”)
RE Claim 10, Edge does not explicitly disclose:
The method, further comprising:
memorizing, by the processor, that the current list of TAIs is stored in the corresponding forbidden list for a non-integrity protected non-access stratum (NAS) reject message in an event that the reject message is not integrity protected.
However, Niemi discloses:
The method, further comprising:
memorizing, by the processor, that the current list of TAIs is stored in the corresponding forbidden list for a non-integrity protected non-access stratum (NAS) reject message in an event that the reject message is not integrity protected. (UE stores the current TAI in the list of “EPS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, memorizes the current TAI was stored in the list of “EPS forbidden tracking areas for roaming” for non-integrity protected NAS reject message. ¶0060, Fig. 3A, 3B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, method to manage a list of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Niemi, obtaining a list of TAIs and forbidden TAIs from a NAS reject message that is not integrity protected.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide improvement to network signaling with a method for a UE to receive a non-integrity protected NAS reject message with TAI information that would otherwise be discarded.
RE Claim 11, Edge discloses:
The method, wherein the reject message comprises a TRACKING AREA UPDATE REJECT message, an ATTACH REJECT message, a REGISTRATION REJECT message, or a SERVICE REJECT message (NAS reject message may be a counterpart to a NAS Request. NAS Reject message includes Registration Reject, Service Reject, Attach Reject. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9; A Tracking Area Update request by a UE is a NAS message and its counterpart a Tracking Area reject message).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge, in view of Park, in view of Niemi et al. (US 20200275506 A1, hereinafter “Niemi”)
RE Claim 20, Edge does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
memorizing that the current list of TAIs is stored in the corresponding forbidden list for a non-integrity protected non-access stratum (NAS) reject message in an event that the reject message is not integrity protected.
However, Niemi discloses:
The apparatus, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
memorizing that the current list of TAIs is stored in the corresponding forbidden list for a non-integrity protected non-access stratum (NAS) reject message in an event that the reject message is not integrity protected. (UE stores the current TAI in the list of “EPS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, memorizes the current TAI was stored in the list of “EPS forbidden tracking areas for roaming” for non-integrity protected NAS reject message. ¶0060, Fig. 3A, 3B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, method to manage a list of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Niemi, obtaining a list of TAIs and forbidden TAIs from a NAS reject message that is not integrity protected.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide improvement to network signaling with a method for a UE to receive a non-integrity protected NAS reject message with TAI information that would otherwise be discarded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is “According to Edge, if the core network (e.g., AMF) sends a NAS reject message without explicitly listing forbidden TAI(s), Edge mandates that the UE must blacklist all TAIs broadcast by the cell.” In addition, “That is, according to Edge, the UE would blacklist all broadcast TAIs when the rejection message omits a list, and this could force the UE to perform cell reselection, thereby leaving a cell that might actually have valid TAIs.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant does not specifically cite a location in Edge but may be referring to ¶0154. The complete text is “In another example, the NAS request message may include a NAS Registration Request and the NAS response message may include a NAS Registration Reject message or the NAS request message may include a NAS Attach Request and the NAS response message may include a NAS Attach Reject message, wherein the NAS response message indicates a forbidden tracking area and does not include a list of TAIs, and the one or more processors 1004 may be configured to add each TAI in the plurality of TAIs to a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE.”, emphasis added, ¶0154. Edge discloses at least one forbidden tracking area.
In addition, Edge discloses “With a rule 3, for a UE 105 receiving a NAS Reject message, if the Reject indicates the current TAI is forbidden (e.g. as described above for rule 2), the UE 105 treats all broadcast TAIs for the current serving radio cell that are not in the current RA and not in an allowed TAI list as forbidden TAIs.”, RA is Registration Area, ¶0130. Edge discloses a forbidden tracking area reject message to the UE. Based on that rejection, the UE will place all TAIs in a forbidden TAI list except those TAIs in current registration area and TAIs in the allowed TAI list. Allowed TAI list for allowed access satellite radio cells including nearby TAs," ¶¶0011-0012, 0102. Therefore, Edge does not delete all TAIs.
Applicant’s second argument is “Conversely, as recited by each of amended Claims 1 and 14, a UE would only disable the TAI(s) actually used in the NAS procedure, or a specific subset based on the rejection cause. This can be considered as "targeted forbidding", as the UE retains the availability of other non-disabled TAIs from the broadcast list, thereby allowing the UE to immediately attempt re-registration with the same cell (and this can be seen as "optimized retry"). Moreover, the network communicates both accepted and rejected lists (with an information indicating a cause for rejection i.e., reason for TAI(s) being forbidden) simultaneously. This may enforce the rule that a full reject is issued only when all options are invalid (i.e., all TAI(s) are forbidden).” Applicant submits that Edge does not disclose this feature. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Edge discloses the following “At stage 10, if the UE 902 receives a TAI or list of TAIs and an indication that the TAI(s) is(are) forbidden, the UE 902 adds the received TAI(s) to a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE 902. If the UE 902 receives an indication that a TAI is forbidden but does not receive a TAI or a list of TAIs, the UE 902 may follow rule 3 as described previously and transfers into the list of forbidden TAIs all TAIs being broadcast in the serving radio cell. However, the UE 902 may not transfer into the forbidden TAI list any TAIs being broadcast that are either part of the current UE 902 RA or are included in an allowed TAI list for the UE 902.”, ¶0142, Fig 9:10. Edge discloses a method where TAIs indicated as forbidden are added to a forbidden list while TAIs part of the current RA or in the allowed list may not be transferred. Allowed TAI list for allowed access satellite radio cells including nearby TAs, ¶¶0011-0012, 0102. Therefore, Edge discloses a method to specifically forbid TAIs while maintaining allowed, satellite cells, as part of the valid TAI list.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20220022155 A1 Wang et al.
US 20230045527 A1 Pudney et al.
US 20230413213 A1 Chen et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of satellite mobile networks and tracking area methods.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419