DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 04/28/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1 and 14 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (US 20230052177 A1, hereinafter “Edge”), in view of Baek et al. (WO 2014069878 A1, hereinafter “Baek”).
RE Claim 1, Edge discloses:
A method, comprising:
Initiating (UE may indicate, initiating, a preference for a TAI of TAIs broadcast via an RRC message. ¶0095) , by a processor of a user equipment (UE) (¶0147; Fig. 10: 1000, 1004), a non-access stratum (NAS) procedure with a satellite-accessing cell of a network (UE access a satellite also referred to as a space vehicle, SV, for a non-terrestrial network, satellite cell. ¶¶0011, 0040-0041; Fig. 1: 100); and
constructing, by the processor, a tracking area identifier (TAI) of the cell or a plurality of TAIs, as a list of TAIs (UE determines a tracking area, TA, based on cell broadcast information of one or more TAC or TAI per PLMN in a radio cell, constructing a list. ¶0087; A UE selects a TAI from TAIs broadcast, a list of TAIs, in the serving radio cell for a serving PLMN and may give preference to a TAI in the registration area. ¶0095), of the cell depending on whether the cell broadcasts one or more than one tracking area codes (TACs) per public land mobile network (PLMN) (Satellite vehicle broadcasts for cell 1 a SIB that includes TAIs or TACs for Tracking Area 4, TA4, and surrounding TAs.¶0083, Fig. 6; A tracking area code, TAC, indicates a tracking area, TA, in a known PLMN where an MCC and MNC identifying the PLMN are known. A Tracking Area Indicator, TAI, comprises a MCC, MNC, and a TAC thereby indicating both a PLMN and a TA in that PLMN via the TAC. When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088); and
either:
receiving, by the processor, an accept message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure (UE is allowed to access the satellite radio network based on the TAI(s). Network sends a NAS accept message to the UE. ¶0011; ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11); or
receiving, by the processor, a reject message responsive to initiating the procedure (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; With a rule 3, for a UE 105 receiving a NAS Reject message, if the Reject indicates the current TAI is forbidden (e.g. as described above for rule 2), the UE 105 treats all broadcast TAIs for the current serving radio cell that are not in the current RA and not in an allowed TAI list as forbidden TAIs.”, RA is Registration Area, ¶0130. Edge discloses a forbidden tracking area reject message to the UE. Based on that rejection, the UE will place all TAIs in a forbidden TAI list except those TAIs in current registration area and TAIs in the allowed TAI list. Allowed TAI list for allowed access satellite radio cells including nearby TAs," ¶¶0011-0012, 0102.),
wherein the accept message indicates that the network accepts registration to one or more, but not all, TAIs for a chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; AMF sends UE a NAS accept message for a Registration or Attach accept. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11; Accept message is based on allowed TAIs list of the UE. Forbidden TAIs list of the UE are rejected, therefore a conditional acceptance and not all TAIs. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11),
wherein the accept message comprises an accepted list of TAIs listing one or more accepted TAIs (Registration accept message includes allowed TAI(s) and non-allowed TAIs, rejected, for the UE. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11, 12;),
wherein the reject message comprises the rejected list of TAIs listing the one or more rejected TAIs each associated with the information indicating the cause for rejection (NAS reject message, sent by AMF to the UE, indicate TAIs that are forbidden. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9; The NAS reject message includes the TAI(s) that are forbidden and a cause value indicating the reason for rejection and indicating the UE to include the TAI(s) in a list of forbidden TAI(s) for the UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 10),
wherein the network rejects the NAS procedure responsive to the network rejecting all TAIs broadcast for the chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; With a rule 3, for a UE 105 receiving a NAS Reject message, if the Reject indicates the current TAI is forbidden (e.g. as described above for rule 2), the UE 105 treats all broadcast TAIs for the current serving radio cell that are not in the current RA and not in an allowed TAI list as forbidden TAIs.”, RA is Registration Area, ¶0130. Edge discloses a forbidden tracking area reject message to the UE. Based on that rejection, the UE will place all TAIs in a forbidden TAI list except those TAIs in current registration area and TAIs in the allowed TAI list. Allowed TAI list for allowed access satellite radio cells including nearby TAs," ¶¶0011-0012, 0102. ¶0128, 0129, 0156?).
wherein the processor stores all of the constructed TAIs of the cell for the chosen PLMN in a forbidden list responsive to receiving the reject message. (User Equipment 1000 includes a list update module implemented by one or more processors configured to store the TAs, Tracking Areas, into a list of forbidden TAs. NAS request message response includes a NAS reject message indicating a forbidden tracking area and a list of TAIs for the UE. ¶¶0147, 0154, Fig. 10:1000, 1026, 1004, 1016)
Edge does not explicitly disclose, however Baek discloses:
wherein the accept message further comprises a rejected list of TAIs listing on or more rejected TAIs each associated with an information indicating a cause for rejection. (Process of receiving the reason for rejection via a TAU accept message and updating the Forbidden TA list. ¶0076, Fig. 5; The TAU accept message includes an EMM cause value IE indicating the reason for rejection, e.g. reject causes #13 (No suitable cell in TA). ¶0079, Fig. 5, Tables 1, 2; Terminal that receives the TAU accept message adds the rejected TA1 to the forbidden list based on the rejection reason included in the EMM value IE. ¶0080)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, condition acceptance of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Baek, including rejected TAs and reasons for rejection in a TAU accept message.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce unnecessary control messages for TA updates and connection delays when terminals move to unserviceable TAs to improve user experience of service. (Edge: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0005, 0006-0008, 0036, 0065, Fig. 6; Baek: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0002-0004, 0007, 0011-0012, 0015)
RE Claim 2, Edge discloses:
The method, wherein the constructing comprises constructing the TAI of the cell based on a PLMN identifier (ID) of the chosen PLMN and a TAC received for the PLMN ID on broadcast system information from the cell in response to the cell not broadcasting more than one TACs for the chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; The broadcast of one, not more than one, TAC or TAI per PLMN in a radio cell via a System Information Block type 1, SIB1, may be referred to as a “hard TAC” or “hard TAI” for tracking area update. ¶0087).
RE Claim 3, Edge discloses:
The method, wherein the constructing comprises constructing the plurality of TAIs of the cell based on a PLMN identifier (ID) of the chosen PLMN and a plurality of TACs received for the PLMN ID on broadcast system information from the cell in response to the cell broadcasting more than one TACs for the chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088) .
RE Claim 4, Edge discloses:
The method, wherein the procedure comprises a REGISTRATION procedure, a TRACKING AREA UPDATE procedure, an ATTACH procedure, or a SERVICE REQUEST procedure (The broadcast of one, not more than one, TAC or TAI per PLMN in a radio cell via a System Information Block type 1, SIB1, may be referred to as a “hard TAC” or “hard TAI” for tracking area update. ¶0087; Satellite access procedure that supports TAI, tracking area, updates. ¶0133: Fig. 9; UE NAS procedures via RRC include Registration, Attach, Service Request ¶0138, Fig. 9).
RE Claim 5, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
storing, by the processor, the one or more rejected TAIs in a forbidden list (UE is to include the forbidden TAIs in a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE. ¶0143, Fig. 9: Step 10),
wherein the reject message contains a list of one or more rejected TAIs (NAS reject message indicate TAIs that are forbidden. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9).
RE Claim 6, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
receiving(AMF sends NAS message to UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), by the processor, a reject message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure; and
storing, by the processor, the list of TAIs, which are associated with all TACs broadcasted by the cell for a public land mobile network (PLMN), in a forbidden list (If TAI information is not received, the UE transfers into the list of forbidden TAIs all TAIs being broadcast in a serving radio cell. ¶00143),
wherein the reject message does not contain information of any rejected TAI (UE receives an indication that a TAI is forbidden but does not receive a TAI or list of TAIs. ¶¶0142-0143, Fig. 9).
RE Claim 7, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
determining, by the processor, that one or more TAIs are rejected (NAS reject message, sent by AMF to the UE, indicate TAIs that are forbidden. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9);
adding, by the processor, the one or more rejected TAIs in a forbidden list corresponding to a cause of rejection (The NAS reject message includes the TAI(s) that are forbidden and a cause value indicating the reason for rejection and indicating the UE to include the TAI(s) in a list of forbidden TAI(s) for the UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 10).
RE Claim 9, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
Receiving (AMF sends NAS message to UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), by the processor, a reject message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure (AMF sends UE a reject message. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9);
associating, by the processor, a plurality of TACs to the chosen PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088); and
storing, by the processor, a current list of TAIs constructed for the procedure in a corresponding forbidden list (UE is to include the forbidden TAIs in a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE. ¶0143, Fig. 9: Step 10),
wherein the plurality of TACs are indicated in system information broadcasted by the cell for the chosen PLMN (Satellite vehicle broadcasts for cell 1 a SIB that includes TAIs or TACs for Tracking Area 4, TA4, and surrounding TAs.¶0083, Fig. 6; A tracking area code, TAC, indicates a tracking area, TA, in a known PLMN where an MCC and MNC identifying the PLMN are known. ¶0088).
RE Claim 12, Edge discloses:
The method, further comprising:
Receiving (AMF sends NAS message to UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), by the processor, a reject message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure (AMF sends UE a reject message. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9),
Wherein, responsive to receiving the reject message from the network (AMF sends UE a reject message. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), the network rejects the procedure in an event that the network rejects all TAIs broadcast for the PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; If all TAI(s) broadcast in the radio cell are not allowed for the UE, the AMF determines access by UE is not unconditionally allowed. ¶0141; If the TAI(s) are not allowed, the AMF sends to the UE a NAS reject message including all the TAI(s) that are forbidden. ¶0142).
RE Claim 13, Edge discloses:
The method, further,
wherein, responsive to receiving the accept message from the network (UE is allowed to access the satellite radio network based on the TAI(s). Network sends a NAS accept message to the UE. ¶0011; ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), the network accepts the procedure in an event that the network accepts a subset of all TAIs broadcast for the chosen PLMN while the network rejects one or more remaining TAIs (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; A Registration accept message includes allowed TAI(s) and non-allowed TAIs, rejected, for the UE. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11, 12;).
Claims 8 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge, in view of Baek, in view of Park et al. (US 20200137552 A1, hereinafter “Park”).
RE Claim 8, Edge discloses:
The method,
wherein the accept message indicates that the network accepts registration to one or more (AMF sends UE a NAS accept message for a Registration or Attach accept. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), but not all, TACs for the PLMN (Accept message is based on allowed TAIs list of the UE. Forbidden TAIs list of the UE are rejected, therefore a conditional acceptance and not all TAIs. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), and
wherein the accept message includes an Evolved Packet System (EPS) Mobility Management (EMM) information element (IE) (EPS access for UE, ¶0054; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. AMF uses the ULI IE to assign TAIs to UE. ¶0092; MME used in place of AMF in EMM. ¶0133; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. ¶0092) or a 5th Generation Mobility Management (5GMM) IE (UE starts off in a 5GMM system. ¶0134; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. AMF uses the ULI IE to assign TAIs to UE. ¶0092).
Edge does not explicitly disclose:
the accept message that indicates a cause of rejection and includes a list of one or more rejected TAIs,
However, Park discloses:
that indicates a cause of rejection and includes a list of one or more rejected TAIs (If at least one of the S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI is rejected by the AMF, the registration accept message may include the reason for refusal of the rejected S-NSSAI along with the rejected S-NSSAI. In this case, the reason for refusal may be configured to indicate that the rejected S-NSSAI is not available in the PLMN and/or the current registration area, non-allowed or rejected TAIs. ¶0636, Fig. 19),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, condition acceptance of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Park, inclusion of the cause of rejection and a rejection in an acceptance NAS message.
The motivation in doing so would be to include a rejection and reason for rejection within a NAS accept message for improvements which reduce additional signaling of a rejection in a subsequent rejection message.
RE Claim 14, Edge discloses:
An apparatus implementable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0147, Fig. 10: 1000), comprising:
a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly with a network (Satellite, Wireless, WLAN transceivers. ¶0147, Fig. 10: 1003, 1002, 1006); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations (¶0147, Fig. 10: 1004, 1014) comprising:
initiating, via the transceiver (Satellite transceiver. ¶0147, Fig. 10:1003), a procedure with a satellite- accessing cell of the network (UE access a satellite also referred to as a space vehicle, SV, for a non-terrestrial network, satellite cell. ¶¶0040-0041; Fig. 1: 100);
constructing a tracking area identifier (TAI) of the cell based on a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier (ID) of the chosen PLMN and a TAC received for the PLMN ID on a broadcast system information from the cell in response to determining the cell broadcasts one tracking area code (TAC) per PLMN or constructing a plurality of TAIs, as a list of TAIs, of the cell based on a PLMN ID of the chosen PLMN and a TAC received for the PLMN ID on a broadcast system information from the cell in response to determining the cell broadcasts more than one tracking area codes (TACs) per PLMN (UE determines a tracking area, TA, based on cell broadcast information of one or more TAC or TAI per PLMN in a radio cell, constructing a list. ¶0087; A UE selects a TAI from TAIs broadcast, a list of TAIs, in the serving radio cell for a serving PLMN and may give preference to a TAI in the registration area. ¶0095; Satellite vehicle broadcasts for cell 1 a SIB that includes TAIs or TACs for Tracking Area 4, TA4, and surrounding TAs.¶0083, Fig. 6; A tracking area code, TAC, indicates a tracking area, TA, in a known PLMN where an MCC and MNC identifying the PLMN are known. A Tracking Area Indicator, TAI, comprises a MCC, MNC, and a TAC thereby indicating both a PLMN and a TA in that PLMN via the TAC. When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088);
receiving a reject message and, in response, treating the NAS procedure as rejected responsive to all TAIs broadcast for the chosen PLMN are rejected (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; With a rule 3, for a UE 105 receiving a NAS Reject message, if the Reject indicates the current TAI is forbidden (e.g. as described above for rule 2), the UE 105 treats all broadcast TAIs for the current serving radio cell that are not in the current RA and not in an allowed TAI list as forbidden TAIs.”, RA is Registration Area, ¶0130. Edge discloses a forbidden tracking area reject message to the UE. Based on that rejection, the UE will place all TAIs in a forbidden TAI list except those TAIs in current registration area and TAIs in the allowed TAI list. Allowed TAI list for allowed access satellite radio cells including nearby TAs," ¶¶0011-0012, 0102.),
wherein the processor stores all of the constructed TAIs of the cell for the chosen PLMN in a forbidden list responsive to receiving the reject message. (User Equipment 1000 includes a list update module implemented by one or more processors configured to store the TAs, Tracking Areas, into a list of forbidden TAs. NAS request message response includes a NAS reject message indicating a forbidden tracking area and a list of TAIs for the UE. ¶¶0147, 0154, Fig. 10:1000, 1026, 1004, 1016)
Edge does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, via the transceiver, an accept message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure, the accept message comprising an accepted list of TAIs and a rejected list of TAIs listing one or more rejected TAIs each associated with an information indicating a cause for rejection, the accept message indicating acceptance to one or more, but not all, TAIs for the chosen PLMN; and
However, Park discloses:
receiving, via the transceiver, an accept message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure (Terminal receives an accept message. ¶0636, Fig. 19), the accept message indicating acceptance to one or more, but not all, TAIs for the chosen PLMN (Accept message includes the allowed NSSAIs for the PLMN. ¶0636, Fig. 19);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, condition acceptance of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Park, inclusion of the cause of rejection and a rejection in an acceptance NAS message.
The motivation in doing so would be to include a rejection and reason for rejection within a NAS accept message for improvements which reduce additional signaling of a rejection in a subsequent rejection message. (Edge: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0006-0008, 0036, 0065, Fig. 6; Park: Abstract, ¶¶0010-0024)
Edge and Park do not explicitly disclose, however Baek discloses:
the accept message comprising an accepted list of TAIs and a rejected list of TAIs listing one or more rejected TAIs each associated with an information indicating a cause for rejection, (Process of receiving the reason for rejection via a TAU accept message and updating the Forbidden TA list. ¶0076, Fig. 5; The TAU accept message includes an EMM cause value IE indicating the reason for rejection, e.g. reject causes #13 (No suitable cell in TA). ¶0079, Fig. 5, Tables 1, 2; Terminal that receives the TAU accept message adds the rejected TA1 to the forbidden list based on the rejection reason included in the EMM value IE. ¶0080)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, condition acceptance of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Park, inclusion of the cause of rejection and a rejection in an acceptance NAS message, with the teachings of Baek, including rejected TAs and reasons for rejection in a TAU accept message.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce unnecessary control messages for TA updates and connection delays when terminals move to unserviceable TAs to improve user experience of service. (Edge: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0005, 0006-0008, 0036, 0065, Fig. 6; Park: Abstract, ¶¶0010-0024, 0599-0603; Baek: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0002-0004, 0007, 0011-0012, 0015)
RE Claim 15, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
storing the one or more rejected TAIs in a corresponding forbidden list (UE is to include the forbidden TAIs in a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE. ¶0143, Fig. 9: Step 10).
RE Claim 16, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
determining that one or more TAIs are rejected (NAS reject message, sent by AMF to the UE, indicate TAIs that are forbidden. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9); and
adding the one or more rejected TAIs in a forbidden list corresponding to a cause of rejection (The NAS reject message includes the TAI(s) that are forbidden and a cause value indicating the reason for rejection and indicating the UE to include the TAI(s) in a list of forbidden TAI(s) for the UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 10).
RE Claim 17, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, responsive to receiving the accept message (UE is allowed to access the satellite radio network based on the TAI(s). Network sends a NAS accept message to the UE. ¶0011; ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11):
the accept message indicates that the network accepts registration to one or more (AMF sends UE a NAS accept message for a Registration or Attach accept. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), but not all, TACs for the PLMN (Accept message is based on allowed TAIs list of the UE. Forbidden TAIs list of the UE are rejected, therefore a conditional acceptance and not all TAIs. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11),
the accept message includes a list of one or more rejected TAIs (Registration accept message includes allowed TAI(s) and non-allowed TAIs, rejected, for the UE. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11, 12;), and
the accept message further includes a new TAI list including one or more TAIs for which registration is successful (UE receives a new Registration Area, RA, during registration acceptance. UE may remove from a list of forbidden TAIs and forbidden TAIs that are now included in the RA, updating TAI lists. ¶0145, Fig. 9: Step 12).
RE Claim 18, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, responsive to receiving the accept message (AMF sends NAS message to UE. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9; UE is allowed to access the satellite radio network based on the TAI(s). Network sends a NAS accept message to the UE. ¶0011; ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), the accept message indicates that the network accepts registration to one or more (AMF sends UE a NAS accept message for a Registration or Attach accept. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), but not all, TACs for the chosen PLMN (Accept message is based on allowed TAIs list of the UE. Forbidden TAIs list of the UE are rejected, therefore a conditional acceptance and not all TAIs. ¶0144, Fig. 9: Step 11), and wherein the accept message includes an Evolved Packet System (EPS) Mobility Management (EMM) information element (IE) (EPS access for UE, ¶0054; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. AMF uses the ULI IE to assign TAIs to UE. ¶0092; MME used in place of AMF in EMM. ¶0133; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. ¶0092) or a 5th Generation Mobility Management (5GMM) IE (UE starts off in a 5GMM system. ¶0134; TAIs are included in a parameter, an information element IE, known as a User Location Information, ULI. AMF uses the ULI IE to assign TAIs to UE. ¶0092), that indicates a cause of rejection.
Edge does not explicitly disclose:
the accept message that indicates a cause of rejection.
However, Park discloses:
that indicates a cause of rejection. (If at least one of the S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI is rejected by the AMF, the registration accept message may include the reason for refusal of the rejected S-NSSAI along with the rejected S-NSSAI. In this case, the reason for refusal may be configured to indicate that the rejected S-NSSAI is not available in the PLMN and/or the current registration area, non-allowed or rejected TAIs. ¶0636, Fig. 19
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, condition acceptance of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Park, inclusion of the cause of rejection and a rejection in an acceptance NAS message.
The motivation in doing so would be to include a rejection and reason for rejection within a NAS accept message for improvements which reduce additional signaling of a rejection in a subsequent rejection message.
RE Claim 19, Edge discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, responsive to receiving the reject message (AMF sends UE a reject message. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9), the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
associating a plurality of TACs to the PLMN (TAI is constructed from a TAC in a known PLMN. ¶0088; When TACs, one or more, are broadcast in a cell, one or more PLMNs are also indicated for these TACs which also indicate the TAIs from association with the PLMNs. Therefore a cell can broadcast both TACs and TAIs. ¶0088); and
storing a current list of TAIs constructed for the procedure in a corresponding forbidden list (UE is to include the forbidden TAIs in a list of forbidden TAIs for the UE. ¶0143, Fig. 9: Step 10),
wherein the plurality of TACs are indicated in system information broadcasted by the cell for the chosen PLMN (Satellite vehicle broadcasts for cell 1 a SIB that includes TAIs or TACs for Tracking Area 4, TA4, and surrounding TAs.¶0083, Fig. 6; A tracking area code, TAC, indicates a tracking area, TA, in a known PLMN where an MCC and MNC identifying the PLMN are known. ¶0088).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge, in view of Baek, in view of Niemi et al. (US 20200275506 A1, hereinafter “Niemi”)
RE Claim 10, Edge does not explicitly disclose:
The method, further comprising:
memorizing, by the processor, that the current list of TAIs is stored in the corresponding forbidden list for a non-integrity protected non-access stratum (NAS) reject message in an event that the reject message is not integrity protected.
However, Niemi discloses:
The method, further comprising:
memorizing, by the processor, that the current list of TAIs is stored in the corresponding forbidden list for a non-integrity protected non-access stratum (NAS) reject message in an event that the reject message is not integrity protected. (UE stores the current TAI in the list of “EPS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, memorizes the current TAI was stored in the list of “EPS forbidden tracking areas for roaming” for non-integrity protected NAS reject message. ¶0060, Fig. 3A, 3B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, method to manage a list of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Niemi, obtaining a list of TAIs and forbidden TAIs from a NAS reject message that is not integrity protected.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide improvement to network signaling with a method for a UE to receive a non-integrity protected NAS reject message with TAI information that would otherwise be discarded.
RE Claim 11, Edge discloses:
The method, wherein the reject message comprises a TRACKING AREA UPDATE REJECT message, an ATTACH REJECT message, a REGISTRATION REJECT message, or a SERVICE REJECT message (NAS reject message may be a counterpart to a NAS Request. NAS Reject message includes Registration Reject, Service Reject, Attach Reject. ¶0142, Fig. 9: Step 9; A Tracking Area Update request by a UE is a NAS message and its counterpart a Tracking Area reject message).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge, in view of Park, in view of Baek, in view of Niemi et al. (US 20200275506 A1, hereinafter “Niemi”)
RE Claim 20, Edge does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
memorizing that the current list of TAIs is stored in the corresponding forbidden list for a non-integrity protected non-access stratum (NAS) reject message in an event that the reject message is not integrity protected.
However, Niemi discloses:
The apparatus, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
memorizing that the current list of TAIs is stored in the corresponding forbidden list for a non-integrity protected non-access stratum (NAS) reject message in an event that the reject message is not integrity protected. (UE stores the current TAI in the list of “EPS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, memorizes the current TAI was stored in the list of “EPS forbidden tracking areas for roaming” for non-integrity protected NAS reject message. ¶0060, Fig. 3A, 3B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Edge, method to manage a list of TAIs and corresponding NAS messaging, with the teachings of Niemi, obtaining a list of TAIs and forbidden TAIs from a NAS reject message that is not integrity protected.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide improvement to network signaling with a method for a UE to receive a non-integrity protected NAS reject message with TAI information that would otherwise be discarded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s first argument is directed to 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection and to the amended limitations, claim 1, that ‘requires that an accept message comprises both an accepted list of TAIs and a rejected list of TAIs, wherein each rejected TAI is associated with information indicating a cause for rejection’. Applicant submits that Edge does not disclose the elements of the limitation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended limitations of claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s second argument is directed to 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection and to claims 1 and 14 that recite ‘the network rejects the NAS procedure responsive to rejecting all TAIs broadcast for the chosen PLMN’. Applicant’ submits that Edge describes a UE-side behavior upon receiving a reject message.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Edge discloses the subject matter. “With a rule 1, UE 105 access to a satellite radio cell can be allowed if at least one broadcast TAI is not in a non-allowed TAI list or forbidden TAI list for the UE 105. For example, the at least one broadcast TAI can be part of a current RA for the UE 105 and/or part of an allowed TAI list for the UE 105. Otherwise, the UE 105 follows the existing TN rules for a forbidden TAI if all broadcast TAIs in the radio cell are forbidden TAIs, or follows the rules for a non-allowed TAI otherwise which may allow a UE 105 to at least send a NAS Registration Request.”, ¶0128. Edge further discloses “As a compliment to rule 1, and in a rule 2, an AMF 122 can allow a UE 105 access to a radio cell if at least one broadcast TAI for the radio cell is not in a non-allowed or forbidden list for the UE 105. An AMF 122 can then accept a request for a NAS procedure by the UE 105 (e.g. a NAS Registration Request or a NAS Service Request). If, however, all TAIs broadcast in the radio cell are part of a forbidden TAI list for the UE 105, an AMF 122 can reject a request for a NAS procedure by the UE 105 (e.g. a NAS Registration Request or a NAS Service Request) by a sending a NAS Reject message (e.g. a NAS Registration Reject or a NAS Service Reject) and include a cause indicating that the broadcast TAIs are forbidden for the UE 105.”, ¶0129. Edge discloses a set of rules used to support service areas and forbidden areas for satellite access, ¶0127.
Applicant’s third argument is directed to 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection based on Edge in view of Park and/or Niemi. Applicant submits that ‘there is no motivation to combine Edge’s TAI-based mobility mechanism with Park’s NSSAI-based slice management’.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims in question, claims 8, 14, 18, recite the limitation ‘a cause of rejection’. Park discloses a reason for rejection of a desired NSSAI is that the NSSAI is not available in the PLMN and/or current registration area, ¶0010. Park further discloses determination whether to allow NSSAIs is based on location of the terminal such as serving location or current registration area. The restriction may be based on specific slice in a specific location/area/region, ¶0599. Given the area restriction, the network rejects the NSSAI for a specific location/area/region. The reason for refusal including/indicating the information such as the NSSAI is not allowed/available in the current registration area. ¶0600. Network transmits refusal information through a field/information element, IE. ¶0601. Terminal writes/stores a list that includes reason for refusal/restriction such as registration area/local and descriptor/identity information of the registration area ID corresponding to the rejected NSSAI. ¶¶0602-0603. A person of ordinary skill at the time of the invention would understand that a ‘registration area’ comprises a list of TAIs. Examiner interprets an NSSAI request as a service request procedure by the terminal which the network responds with an Accept or Reject.
Applicant’s fourth argument is directed to 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection based on Niemi ‘to handling non-integrity-protected reject messages and focuses on UE behavior’. Applicant submits that Niemi does not disclose or suggest ‘the claimed dual-list signaling structure, mandatory inclusion of rejected TAIs with causes, or the rule that rejection occurs only when all broadcast TAIs are rejected.’ In addition, ‘Furthermore, Niemi addresses post-rejection recovery behavior rather than TAI-based access decision logic.’
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations of claim 10 and claim 20, as written, do not recite ‘mandatory inclusion of rejected TAIs with causes’ or ‘the rule that rejection occurs only when all broadcast TAIs are rejected.’ as stated by the applicant.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s fifth argument is directed to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection and ‘Edge teaches away from claimed invention’ and ‘Edge emphasizes preserving access by maintaining allowed TAIs and registration areas and enabling conditional acceptance.’ Applicant submits that Edge contrasts with ‘each of claims 1 and 14 defines a clear rejection condition only when all TAIs are invalid’.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. See response to applicant’s second argument under prior response #13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20230413213 A1 Chen et al.
METHOD FOR PROCESSING A NON-ACCESS STRATUM REQUEST, AND NETWORK DEVICES
“A method for processing a Non-access stratum request and network devices are provided. The method includes: receiving the NAS request of a terminal device and at least two tracking area identities for the terminal device from a second network device and accepting the NAS request.”
US 20240224215 A1 Kumar et al.
METHOD AND USER EQUIPMENT FOR HANDLING COMMUNICATION IN SATELLITE COMMUNICATION NETWORK
“The present disclosure relates to a pre-5.sup.th-Generation (5G) or 5G communication system to be provided for supporting higher data rates Beyond 4.sup.th-Generation (4G) communication system such as Long Term Evolution (LTE). A method for handling communication in a wireless network by a user equipment (UE) is provided. The method includes receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) message indicating that the UE is not permitted to access a first public land mobile network (PLMN) over a satellite communication along with geographical indication or a timer indication from the first PLMN. Further, the method includes determining a geographical area based on the received geographical indication or a timer value based on the timer indication. Further, the method includes starting a timer with the timer value. Further, the method includes determining that the UE is not allowed to access the first PLMN in the determined geographical area or the expiry of the timer. Further, the method includes performing a PLMN selection and registration procedure on a second PLMN based on the determination.”
US 20240171267 A1 Edge et al.
SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR SUPPORTING LOCATION BASED MOBILITY FOR 5G SATELLITE ACCESS TO A WIRELESS NETWORK
“A Registration Area (RA) supporting UE satellite access to a serving PLMN may correspond to a geodetic area (e.g. a circle) and may be determined by a network node (e.g. AMF) based on a current geodetic location of the UE. The UE may access a radio cell supported by a satellite for a serving PLMN. The UE may determine whether the radio cell provides coverage for the RA, e.g., based on whether an updated geodetic location of the UE is inside the RA or based on whether a geodetic coverage area of the radio cell covers at least part of the RA. The UE may perform a Registration with the serving PLMN via the radio cell when the radio cell is determined to not provide coverage for the RA. The serving PLMN may page the UE, when idle, using radio cells whose coverage includes at least part of the RA.“
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419