Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
10 and 11 of Figs. 1 & 2 do not contain clear text or symbols to make it clear what they are from the drawings
20 and 30 of Figs. 3 & 4 contain clear text or symbols to make it clear what they are from the drawings
The elements besides 31 are unclear from Fig. 4 as to what they represent. Include clear symbols, labels, or legends
The text and some of the elements of Figs. 2 and 4 are blurry
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10, 12, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cao et al (USPGPN 20210036544)
Independent Claim 1, Cao discloses a charging and discharging system (Figs. [1-6, esp. 1 & 2] element 1), comprising:
a plurality of battery packs, connected in parallel (3A-3N); and
one or more voltage equalization modules (4A-4N & 13A-13N), wherein
each of a subset of the battery packs is connected in series with a voltage equalization module of the one or more voltage equalization modules (see at least Figs. [1 & 2]); and
the voltage equalization module is configured to adjust, to a target voltage, an output voltage of a corresponding battery pack and the voltage equalization module that are connected in series (abstract, ¶’s [14-16, 26, 27, 29, 37, esp 26, 37], balancing of the packs serves to adjust their output to a target voltage, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands).
Independent Claim 12, Cao discloses an energy storage system comprising a charging and discharging system, wherein the charging and discharging system (Figs. [1-6, esp. 1 & 2] element 1) comprises:
a plurality of battery packs, connected in parallel (3A-3N); and
one or more voltage equalization modules (4A-4N & 13A-13N), wherein
each of a subset of the battery packs is connected in series with a voltage equalization module of the one or more voltage equalization modules (see at least Figs. [1 & 2]); and
the voltage equalization module is configured to adjust, to a target voltage, an output voltage of a corresponding battery pack connected to the voltage equalization module in series (abstract, ¶’s [14-16, 26, 27, 29, 37, esp 26, 37], balancing of the packs serves to adjust their output to a target voltage, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands).
Dependent Claims 2 and 13, Cao discloses the voltage equalization module is a boost-buck equalization module (¶[22, 37]); and
the boost-buck equalization module is connected in series with the corresponding battery pack, and is configured to increase or decrease, to the target voltage, the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack and the boost-buck equalization module that are connected in series (inherent to buck-boost converters).
Dependent Claims 4 and 15, Cao discloses the voltage equalization module is a boost equalization module (¶[22, 37]); and
the boost equalization module is connected in series with the corresponding battery pack, and is configured to increase, to the target voltage, the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack and the boost equalization module that are connected in series (inherent to buck-boost converters).
Dependent Claims 5 and 16, Cao discloses the voltage equalization module is a buck equalization module (¶’s [22, 37]); and
the buck equalization module is connected in series with the corresponding battery pack, and is configured to decrease, to the target voltage, the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack and the buck equalization module that are connected in series (inherent to buck-boost converters).
Dependent Claims 6 and 17, Cao discloses comprising at least one external power supply module (950 in Fig. 6), wherein the at least one external power supply module is connected with the voltage equalization module, and is configured to provide a DC supply signal for the voltage equalization module (¶’s [38, 40, 41, 45, esp. 38, 45]).
Dependent Claim 10, Cao discloses the voltage equalization module comprises:
a voltage regulation unit (4A-4N), which is a boost-buck regulation unit, a boost regulation unit, or a buck regulation unit (¶[22]);
a communication unit, connected with battery management units of the plurality of battery packs and configured to acquire battery parameters of the battery packs (see communications shown in Figs. 1 & 2);
a current detection unit, configured to detect an output current of the voltage equalization unit (Ipack & Ibus detections shown in Fig. 1);
a voltage detection unit, configured to detect an output voltage of the voltage equalization unit (vbus & vpack detections shown in Fig. 1, where output is based on bidirectional operations of Cao); and
a control unit connected with the communication unit, the current detection unit, and the voltage detection unit and configured to control the voltage regulation unit according to the battery parameters, the output current, and the output voltage, so that the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack and the voltage equalization module that are connected in series is equal to the target voltage (5, it is noted that the applicant has only required one or more equalization modules, and 5 can be considered to be part of any one of them, while Vpack at least seems to come from measuring the voltage of the pack, as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 12, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hilligoss et al (USPGPN 20210028503; hereinafter Hilli; provisional application has same subject matter as non-provisional application)
Independent Claim 1, Hilli discloses a charging and discharging system (Figs. [1 & 4, esp. 4] element 10), comprising:
a plurality of battery packs, connected in parallel (12A-12D); and
one or more voltage equalization modules (130A-130D), wherein
each of a subset of the battery packs is connected in series with a voltage equalization module of the one or more voltage equalization modules (see Fig. 4); and
the voltage equalization module is configured to adjust, to a target voltage, an output voltage of a corresponding battery pack and the voltage equalization module that are connected in series (Fig. 6 & ¶’s [40-49, esp. 45 & 49]).
Independent Claim 12, Hilli discloses an energy storage system comprising a charging and discharging system, wherein the charging and discharging system (Figs. [1 & 4, esp. 4] element 10) comprises:
a plurality of battery packs, connected in parallel (12A-12D); and
one or more voltage equalization modules (130A-130D), wherein
each of a subset of the battery packs is connected in series with a voltage equalization module of the one or more voltage equalization modules (see Fig. 4); and
the voltage equalization module is configured to adjust, to a target voltage, an output voltage of a corresponding battery pack connected to the voltage equalization module in series (Fig. 6 & ¶’s [40-49, esp. 45 & 49]).
Dependent Claims 2 and 13, Hilli discloses the voltage equalization module is a boost-buck equalization module (¶’s [06, 08, 28, 42]); and
the boost-buck equalization module is connected in series with the corresponding battery pack, and is configured to increase or decrease, to the target voltage, the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack and the boost-buck equalization module that are connected in series (see Fig. 4, abstract).
Dependent Claims 4 and 15, Hilli discloses the voltage equalization module is a boost equalization module (¶’s [06, 08, 28, 42]); and
the boost equalization module is connected in series with the corresponding battery pack, and is configured to increase, to the target voltage, the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack and the boost equalization module that are connected in series (inherent to buck-boost converters).
Dependent Claims 5 and 16, Hilli discloses the voltage equalization module is a buck equalization module (¶’s [06, 08, 28, 42]); and
the buck equalization module is connected in series with the corresponding battery pack, and is configured to decrease, to the target voltage, the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack and the buck equalization module that are connected in series (inherent to buck-boost converters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (USPGPN 20210036544) in view of Huang et al (USPGPN 20210044210)
Dependent Claims 3 and 14, Cao teaches the buck-boost converter and the functions of “the boost-buck equalization module comprises a boost-buck regulation unit; and the boost-buck regulation unit comprises:
a first converter, configured to convert a direct current (DC) supply signal to an alternating current (AC) signal;
a transformer, comprising a primary side coil and a secondary side coil, wherein the primary side coil of the transformer is connected with an output terminal of the first converter, and is configured to transmit the AC signal;
a second converter, wherein an input terminal of the second converter is connected with the secondary side coil of the transformer, and the second converter is configured to convert the AC signal to a first DC signal; and a voltage value of the first DC signal is equal to an absolute value of a voltage difference between the target voltage and the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack; and
a third converter, wherein an input terminal of the third converter is connected with an output terminal of the second converter; the third converter is configured to convert the first DC signal to a second DC signal; an output terminal of the third converter outputs the second DC signal; and a voltage value of the second DC signal is equal to a voltage value of the first DC signal or a negative value of the voltage value of the first DC signal”.
Cao is silent to the structure of the boost-buck equalization module comprises a boost-buck regulation unit; and the boost-buck regulation unit comprises:
a first converter, configured to convert a direct current (DC) supply signal to an alternating current (AC) signal;
a transformer, comprising a primary side coil and a secondary side coil, wherein the primary side coil of the transformer is connected with an output terminal of the first converter, and is configured to transmit the AC signal;
a second converter, wherein an input terminal of the second converter is connected with the secondary side coil of the transformer, and the second converter is configured to convert the AC signal to a first DC signal; and a voltage value of the first DC signal is equal to an absolute value of a voltage difference between the target voltage and the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack; and
a third converter, wherein an input terminal of the third converter is connected with an output terminal of the second converter; the third converter is configured to convert the first DC signal to a second DC signal; an output terminal of the third converter outputs the second DC signal; and a voltage value of the second DC signal is equal to a voltage value of the first DC signal or a negative value of the voltage value of the first DC signal
Huang teaches the boost-buck equalization module (Figs. 1A-1C) comprises a boost-buck regulation unit; and the boost-buck regulation unit (¶[41]) comprises:
a first converter, configured to convert a direct current (DC) supply signal to an alternating current (AC) signal (Fig. 1B, element 131);
a transformer, comprising a primary side coil and a secondary side coil, wherein the primary side coil of the transformer is connected with an output terminal of the first converter, and is configured to transmit the AC signal (133);
a second converter, wherein an input terminal of the second converter is connected with the secondary side coil of the transformer, and the second converter is configured to convert the AC signal to a first DC signal; and a voltage value of the first DC signal is equal to an absolute value of a voltage difference between the target voltage and the output voltage of the corresponding battery pack (132; function demonstrated by Cao, but function of transformer converter is known to perform these steps); and
a third converter, wherein an input terminal of the third converter is connected with an output terminal of the second converter; the third converter is configured to convert the first DC signal to a second DC signal; an output terminal of the third converter outputs the second DC signal; and a voltage value of the second DC signal is equal to a voltage value of the first DC signal or a negative value of the voltage value of the first DC signal (15). Huang teaches this conversion topology for battery charging/discharging [title] serves to provide improved stability, efficiency, and costs (¶’s [09, 29, 40, 43-48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cao with Huang to provide improved costs, efficiency, and stability.
Claims 7, 8, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (USPGPN 20210036544) in view of Yao (USPGPN 20170244258)
Dependent Claims 7 and 18, Cao is silent to the corresponding battery pack is connected in parallel with a busbar.
Yao teaches the corresponding battery pack is connected in parallel with a busbar (Figs. 1 & 2 shows battery modules/packs where battery-string [B-K to B-1] includes a capacitor-busbar in parallel ¶[14] with each battery-string which are both in series with balancing converter 200, shown to be a converter in Figs. [3, 5, 6]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that capacitor/busbar would serve to improve the protection of the circuit by preventing the batteries from being subject to transients/spikes due to the operation of the converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cao with Yao to provide improved safety.
Dependent Claims 8 and 19, the combination of Cao and Yao teaches a quantity of the battery packs is N; a quantity of the voltage equalization modules is N (see Fig. 1 of Yao, Figs. 1 & 2 of Yao, respectively);
each battery pack of the N battery packs is connected in series with a voltage equalization module of the N voltage equalization modules in a one-to-one correspondence, an output voltage of each of the N battery packs and each of the voltage equalization modules that are connected in series is equal to the target voltage; and
the target voltage is a busbar voltage (being in parallel with a capacitor means the voltage output from the converter causes the voltage of the capacitor to match that of the battery, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands; ¶’s [37, 29, 26] of Cao; Fig. 4 & ¶[05] of Yao).
Dependent Claim 11, Cao is silent to a plurality of switch modules, connected in series with the voltage equalization modules in a one-to-one correspondence.
Yao teaches a plurality of switch modules, connected in series with the voltage equalization modules in a one-to-one correspondence (201). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that having switches in series with something improves the safety and controllability of the system, which allows for easier ability to switch off circuits without only having to use the converter’s switches [a redundancy of which can help to reduce the wear on the converter, for instance, but also can help to prevent damage to the internal converter’s switches by creating an open circuit/bypass circuit around it].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cao with Yao to provide improved controllability, longevity, and safety.
Claims 7, 9, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilligoss et al (USPGPN 20210028503; hereinafter Hilli; provisional application has same subject matter as non-provisional application) in view of Yao (USPGPN 20170244258)
Dependent Claims 7 and 18, Hilli is silent to the corresponding battery pack is connected in parallel with a busbar.
Yao teaches the corresponding battery pack is connected in parallel with a busbar (Figs. 1 & 2 shows battery modules/packs where battery-string [B-K to B-1] includes a capacitor-busbar in parallel ¶[14] with each battery-string which are both in series with balancing converter 200, shown to be a converter in Figs. [3, 5, 6]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that capacitor/busbar would serve to improve the protection of the circuit by preventing the batteries from being subject to transients/spikes due to the operation of the converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hilli with Yao to provide improved safety.
Dependent Claims 9 and 20, the combination of Hilli and Yao teaches a quantity of the battery packs is N; a quantity of the voltage equalization modules is N−1;
each battery pack of N−1 battery packs is connected in series with a voltage equalization modules of the N−1 voltage equalization modules in a one-to-one correspondence, an output voltage of each of the battery packs and a corresponding one of the voltage equalization modules that are connected in series is equal to the target voltage; and
the target voltage is equal to an output voltage of the battery pack that is not connected in series with the voltage equalization modules (Yao Fig. 1 has N-1 equalization modules if N includes 110; Hilli teaches this feature in ¶’s [11, 45-50, esp. 11 & 45]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tyagi et al (USPGPN 20220021221). Independent Claim 1, Tyagi discloses a charging and discharging system (Figs. [1-7, esp. 2 & 3B])
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859