DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim Foreign priority to Application No. (CN202111651880.5) filed on the December 20, 2021.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 3 show a graph that does not have the axes labeled and it is unclear what the x-axis is determining in terms of the temperature. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regrading Claim 4, line 3, “an inhalation” should read as –the inhalation—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the cumulative" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The specification fails to describe the claimed subject matter in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Para. 0117, 0037, and 0059, all speak on the limitation however, Examiner is unsure which limitation of either “cumulative” or “accumulative” the claim is directed to. For the purpose of the Office Action, Examiner is interpreting the claim to read “where the accumulative temperature obtained by the processor..”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 and its dependencies were considered for a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention could be directed to an abstract idea in the limitation of “wherein the processor is configured to calculate an accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer based on timing information of the timer and a vaporization temperature change curve stored in the memory” in independent claim 1. Examiner’s interpretation as a claim of whole determined that since the processor is configured to control the battery to provide energy would encompass the subject-matter eligible.
For step 2B prong, the independent claim(s) Claim 1 does include the element of the battery and the processor configured to control the battery to provide energy to allow the calculation to occur which that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because it does amount to more than simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using a computer to carry out the steps that define the abstract idea. This renders the claims as being eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 111246764 A) in view of Takahashi (JP 2016109545 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Li discloses a main unit (Fig. 1-3; 10; Pg. 4 para. 9-10, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 8, 11) connected to a vaporizer (Fig. 1-3; 180, 130; Pg. 4 para. 9-12, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 7-12) and controlling operation of the vaporizer, the main unit (Pg. 4 para. 9-10, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 8, 11) comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12); and
a battery (Fig. 1-3; 120; Pg. 4 para. 12, Pg. 5 para. 1, 4-5, 7), a timer (Pg. 10; para. 5), and a memory (Fig. 5; 170; Pg. 8 para. 3-4, 10) that are connected to the processor (Pg. 8; para. 10),
wherein the processor is configured to control the battery to provide energy for the vaporizer to allow the vaporizer to vaporize an aerosol-generating substrate (Pg. 8; para. 3-12; Examiner notes: this limitation is functional),
wherein the processor is configured to calculate an accumulative temperature (Fig. 10; 1050) during vaporization of the vaporizer based on timing information of the timer (Fig. 10, 17-19; Pg. 20 para. 7- Pg. 21 para. 6; Examiner notes: this limitation is functional processor could find accumulative temperature using timer information; pg. 4 para. 9- pg. 13 para. 2).
Li does not specifically teach the accumulative temperature is based on timing information and vaporization temperature change curve that is already stored in the memory.
However, Takahashi teaches system that has accumulating unit (21; para. 0013) that measures and stores accumulative value of temperature and processor (31, 32, 33; Para. 0025-0029) that can determine accumulative temperature is based on vaporization temperature change curve by using data that is stored before in memory (Examiner notes: 31 receives data, 32 determines temperatures change within a certain time, 33 storages data and if the has been increase of heat it adds that amount to stored data calculating the “accumulative” temperature; Fig. 2; reference profile 2P; para. 0020-0021, 0025-28, and 0060-0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the processor for vaporization of Li to be able to calculate accumulative temperature based on temperature change curve that already stored in the memory as taught by Takahashi for the purpose of grasping the fluctuation of the heat consumption based on the stored integrated heat (para. 0063).
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Li the main unit of claim 1,
wherein a plurality of vaporization temperature change curves are stored in the memory (Fig. 5; 170; Pg. 8 para. 10, Pg. 14 para. 5-7) , and wherein the processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12; para. 0025-0029; Takahashi) is configured to obtain a parameter of the vaporizer (Fig. 1-3; 180, 130; Pg. 4 para. 9-12, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 7-12) and obtain the vaporization temperature change curve (temperature profile) corresponding to the vaporizer based on the parameter of the vaporizer (Pg. 8 para. 10; Examiner notes: this limitation is functional; the processor is able to store different parameters and obtain those parameters based on vaporization).
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Li the main unit of claim 1,
Modified Li does not specifically teach that the message is sent when the accumulative temperature during vaporization is higher than a threshold temperature.
However, Li teaches a prompter (Fig. 5; 150; Pg. 8 para, 8) connected to the processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12), wherein the processor is configured to control the prompter (Examiner note: this limitation is functional) to send a first prompt message in response parameter or an alarm during vaporization of the vaporizer (Fig. 1-3; 180, 130; Pg. 4 para. 9-12, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 7-12) (Pg. 8; para. 8; Examiner notes: display is able to display alarm messages when there is an issue).
Therefore, Li is considered to be in field of vaporizers. Due to an absence of the limitations of processor being configured to control the prompter to send a first prompt message in response to the accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer being higher than a preset temperature, the claimed feature is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation to encompass Li’s disclosure of processor sending a message in response to an error condition and/or when temperature is too high because it might destroy the device of overheat the device. Li already teaches the concept of monitoring a parameter and generating a message when needed, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to apply the same functionality to alternative forms of monitored data od accumulative temperature that is calculated from Takahashi, as such variation represents predictable and routine modifications. Additionally, the limitation of the processor controlling the display to send a first message when value exceeds a predetermined threshold would have been reasonably encompassed by Li.
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Li the main unit of claim 7, wherein the processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12; para. 0025-0029; Takahashi) is configured to control the prompter to send the first prompt message (with Fig. 5; 150) and control the battery (Fig. 1-3; 120; Pg. 4 para. 12, Pg. 5 para. 1, 4-5, 7) to stop providing energy for the vaporizer (Fig. 1-3; 180, 130; Pg. 4 para. 9-12, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 7-12) ; (Pg. 8; para. 8; Examiner notes: this limitation is functional the control unit sends a messages and shuts off the device so it does not over heat).
Modified Li does not teach the battery is control to stop providing energy at the same time as the message.
Due to an absence of the limitations of processor being configured to control the battery to stop providing energy for the vaporizer at the same time, the claimed feature is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation to encompass controlling the battery in response to a threshold condition. Li teaches that a processor sends a message when error condition and/or a temperature threshold is reached, thereby recognizing a condition requires some type of action. It would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to further configure the processor to stop the battery from supplying energy when such a preset condition is met and a message is sent, as disabling power in response to an error or unsafe condition is a well-known and routine safety measure. Such modification represents a predictable use of the prior art elements according to their established function. One would want the battery to stop providing energy at the same time as the message so the device does not get destroyed or overheats to dangerous temperatures (Pg. 8 para. 8).
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Li the main unit of claim 7, processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Li; para. 0025-0029; Takahashi).
Modified Li does not specifically teach further comprising: a detector connected to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to control the prompter to stop sending the first prompt message in response to detecting a reset signal of the main unit by the detector.
However, Li teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 1-3; 110) is configured to control the prompter to send the first prompt message (with Fig. 5; 150) when a threshold is reached.
Therefore, Li is considered to be in field of vaporizers. Due to an absence of the limitations of the a detector connected to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to control the prompter to stop sending the first prompt message in response to detecting a reset signal of the main unit by the detector, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, assuming the broadest interpretation of both the prior art and the instant claim, that “detector” would reasonably encompass the absent limitation of because detectors are commonly understood as components of monitor system conditions and provide signals to a processor based on these conditions. In system of timers, it routine for processor rely on such signals to control downstream actions including whether to send a prompter message on the display. Given that the stopping message transition is upon timer reset is predictable response tied to the triggering condition, one would be motivated to stop the message from being sent after detecting a restart of timer. Meaning configuring the detector to identify the timer rest and instruct the processor not to send the message would be an obvious design choice.
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Li an electronic vaporization device comprising: a vaporizer (Fig. 1-3; 180, 130; Pg. 4 para. 9-12, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 7-12); and the main unit (Pg. 4 para. 9-10, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 8, 11) of claim 1.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Takahashi, applied to claim 1, in view of Alelov (US 20190191773 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Li discloses the main unit of claim 1, further comprising: an airflow sensor (Pg. 6 para. 7; Li).
Modified Li does not specifically disclose, wherein the processor is connected to the airflow sensor and the timer to obtain a start time and an end time for each inhalation of the vaporizer.
However, Alelov teaches an airflow sensor (Fig. 2; 240), wherein the processor (224) is connected to the airflow sensor and the timer (248) to obtain a start time and an end time for each inhalation of the vaporizer (para. 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the main unit of Li to include the airflow sensor and processor is connected to the airflow sensor and the timer to obtain a start time and an end time for each inhalation of the vaporize as taught by Alelov for the purpose of measuring the duration of the airflow and the time for duration can be accumulated in a given period to activate a limit feature according to a substance distribution limit set in the control logic and monitor the usage along with counter can provide a more accurate estimate of the measurement of the total airflow (para. 0039-0040).
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Li discloses the main unit of claim 2, the vaporization (Pg. 8; para. 3-12; Li) temperature change curve (data storage of the temperature change 21, 31, 32, 33, in Takahashi; para. 0025-0029); wherein the processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12) is configured to calculate the accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer based on the vaporization temperature change curve (Takahashi; para. 0025-0029).
Modified Li does not specifically teach that the temperature change curve is comprises a temperature change curve for one inhalation of the vaporizer, and the accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer is based on the vaporization temperature change curve and start time and the end time for each inhalation of the vaporizer.
However, Alelov teaches a temperature change curve for one inhalation of the vaporizer (para. 0029, 0037) and start time and the end time for each inhalation of the vaporizer (para. 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of calculating accumulative temperature of Modified Li to include that the temperature change curve comprises a temperature change curve for one inhalation of the vaporizer and being able to determine start time and the end time for each inhalation of the vaporizer as taught by Alelov for the purpose of measuring the duration of the airflow and the time for duration can be accumulated in a given period to activate a limit feature according to a substance distribution limit set in the control logic and monitor the usage along with counter can provide a more accurate estimate of the measurement of the total airflow (para. 0039-0040).
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Li the main unit of claim 3,
wherein the accumulative temperature (see 112b rejection above) obtained by the processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12; Li; para. 0025-0029; Takahashi) during vaporization of the vaporizer (Fig. 1-3; 180, 130; Pg. 4 para. 9-12, Pg. 5 para. 1-5, 7-12) comprises an accumulative increased temperature based on the vaporization temperature change curve during an inhalation and an accumulative decreased temperature based on the vaporization temperature change curve during an inhalation interval (Pg. 20 para. 9-11; Examiner notes: Li teaches that the accumulated value of temperature of the heater has a positive difference it will increase and if it has a negative value it will be reduced; Li; Fig. 17).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Takahashi, Alelov, applied to claim 2, in view of Capuano (CN 103415222 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Li the main unit of claim 2, processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12; Li; para. 0025-0029; Takahashi).
Modified Li does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to obtain an interval duration between two adjacent inhalations of the vaporizer through the airflow sensor and the timer, wherein the processor is configured to control the timer to reset in response to the interval duration being longer than a first preset duration, and restart a calculation of the accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer.
However, Capuano teaches the processor is configured to obtain an interval duration between two adjacent inhalations of the vaporizer through the airflow sensor and the timer, (para. 0020-0027; Capuano teaches one airflow sensor feedback in an electronic circuit to the control program, the airflow sensor be activated based on inhalation by a user and timer is able to measure the pause between the two inhalations; this limitation is functional); wherein the processor is configured to control the timer to reset in response to the interval duration being longer than a first preset duration, and restart a calculation of the accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer (para. 0019; Examiner notes: Capuano teaches different modes that are predetermined and if user a long pause time between the suction, then preferably self-starting mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the processor of Modified Li to be able to obtain an interval duration between two adjacent inhalations of the vaporizer through the airflow sensor and the timer and control the timer to reset in response to the interval duration being longer than a first preset duration, and restart a calculation of the accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer as taught by Capuano for purpose of improving the accuracy of the detecting the times of the different inhalation and power supplied is insufficient to cause excessive heat accumulation and/or components of the electronic cigarette of temperature rise (para. 0020).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Takahashi, applied to claim 7, in view of Xiang (US 20140305450 A1)
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Li the main unit of claim 7, processor(Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12; Li; para. 0025-0029; Takahashi).
Modified Li does not disclose specifically wherein the processor is configured to control the battery to stop providing energy for the vaporizer in response to a duration of the first prompt message sent by the prompter being longer than a second preset duration, and to control the prompter to send a second prompt message.
However, Xiang teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 1; 10) is configured to control the battery to stop providing energy for the vaporizer (para. 0020, 0077) in response to a duration of the first prompt message (Fig. 5; S12) sent by the prompter being longer than a second preset duration (S13), and to control the prompter to send a second prompt message (para. 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the processor of Modified Li to include the to control the battery to stop providing energy for the vaporizer in response to a duration of the first prompt message sent by the prompter being longer than a second preset duration, and to control the prompter to send a second prompt message as taught by Xiang for the purpose of the number for smoking can be controlled to make the users use the electronic cigarette properly (para. 0078).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Takahashi, applied to claim 1, in view of Kieckbusch (US 20140299137 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Li the main unit of claim 1,
wherein the processor (Fig. 1-3; 110; Pg. 4; para. 9, 12; Li; para. 0025-0029; Takahashi) is configured to control the timer (Pg. 10; para. 5; Pg. 14 para. 8- Pg. 15 para 1),
Modified Li does not specifically disclose to reset the timer in response to the accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer being not higher than a room temperature, and to restart a calculation of the accumulative temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer.
However, Kieckbusch discloses to reset the timer in response to the temperature during vaporization of the vaporizer being not higher than a temperature (Fig. 7; para. 0057, 0068, 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the processor of Modified Li to able to control the timer and restart the calculation of temperature after the restart as taught by Kieckbusch for the purpose of controlling the vaporizer and to prevent overheating or under-heating (para. 0168).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references. Other prior art of particular note include: Hong et al. (US-20190380389-A1), Talon et al. (US-20150230521-A1), and Bowen et al. (US-20160157524-A1).
/MAAP ELLABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785