DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0006160, hereinafter referred to as Lin).
As to claim 1, Lin teaches 1. An integrated circuit comprising: a semiconductor device having a semiconductor region extending in a first direction from a source or drain region, and a gate structure extending in a second direction over the semiconductor region [see 204, 206 and 210 in Fig. 2]; and a conductive contact on at least a top surface of the source or drain region, wherein the conductive contact has a first section directly above the source or drain region and a second section extending away from the source or drain region such that the source or drain region is not below the second section, and wherein the first section has a first thickness and the second section has a second thickness, the first thickness being greater than the second thickness by 5 nm or more. [see 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 2, Lin teaches 2. The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor region comprises a plurality of semiconductor nanoribbons. [¶0013]
As to claim 3, Lin teaches 3. The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the first section of the conductive contact is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the second section of the conductive contact, and a bottom surface of the first section of the conductive contact is not coplanar with a bottom surface of the second section of the conductive contact due to the first thickness being greater than the second thickness. [see 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 4, Lin teaches 4. The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the source or drain region is a first source or drain region and the second section of the conductive contact extends over a second source or drain region of an adjacent semiconductor device. [see 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 5, Lin teaches 5. The integrated circuit of claim 4, wherein the first source or drain region has a different dopant type (n or p) than the second source or drain region. [see 214, 216 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 6, Lin teaches 6. The integrated circuit of claim 1, further comprising a conductive via that contacts a top surface of the second section of the conductive contact. [see 256 in Fig. 12]
As to claim 7, Lin teaches 7. The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein both the first and second sections of the conductive contact comprise a continuous conductive liner and a continuous and monolithic body of conductive fill. [see 252, 250, 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 8, Lin teaches 8. A printed circuit board comprising the integrated circuit of claim 1. [¶0002, 0015]
As to claim 9, Lin teaches 9. An electronic device, comprising: a chip package comprising one or more dies, at least one of the one or more dies comprising a semiconductor device having a semiconductor region extending in a first direction from a source or drain region, and a gate structure extending in a second direction over the semiconductor region; and a conductive contact on at least a top surface of the source or drain region, wherein the conductive contact has a first section directly above the source or drain region and a second section extending away from the source or drain region such that the source or drain region is not below the second section, and wherein the first section has a first thickness and the second section has a second thickness, the first thickness being at least 10 nm greater than the second thickness. [see 204, 206 and 210 in Fig. 2; see 256 in Fig. 13; ¶0002; ¶0015]
As to claim 10, Lin teaches 10. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein a top surface of the first section of the conductive contact is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the second section of the conductive contact. [see 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 11, Lin teaches 11. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the source or drain region is a first source or drain region and the second section of the conductive contact extends over a second source or drain region from an adjacent semiconductor device. [see 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 12, Lin teaches 12. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the at least one of the one or more dies further comprises a conductive via that contacts a top surface of the second section of the conductive contact. [see 292 and 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 13, Lin teaches 13. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the first thickness is at least two times greater than the second thickness. [see 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 14, Lin teaches 14. The electronic device of claim 9, further comprising a printed circuit board, wherein the chip package is coupled to the printed circuit board. [¶0002; ¶0015]
As to claim 15, Lin teaches 15. An integrated circuit comprising: a first semiconductor device having a first semiconductor region extending in a first direction from a first source or drain region; a second semiconductor device having a second semiconductor region extending in the first direction from a second source or drain region, the second source or drain region being adjacent to the first source or drain region along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction; and a conductive contact on at least a top surface of the first source or drain region, wherein the conductive contact has a first section directly above the first source or drain region and a second section extending away from the source or drain region and over, but not contacting, the second source or drain region, and wherein the first section has a first thickness and the second section has a second thickness, the first thickness being at least 5 nm greater than the second thickness. [see rejections claim 1 and 9 above]
As to claim 16, Lin teaches 16. The integrated circuit of claim 15, wherein a top surface of the first section of the conductive contact is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the second section of the conductive contact. [see 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 17, Lin teaches 17. The integrated circuit of claim 15, wherein the first source or drain region has a different dopant type (n or p) than the second source or drain region. [see 214, 216 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 18, Lin teaches 18. The integrated circuit of claim 15, further comprising a conductive via that contacts a top surface of the second section of the conductive contact. [see 292, 256 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 19, Lin teaches 19. The integrated circuit of claim 15, wherein both the first and second sections of the conductive contact comprise a conductive liner and a conductive fill. [see 252 in Fig. 13]
As to claim 20, Lin teaches 20. The integrated circuit of claim 15, wherein the first thickness is at least two times greater than the second thickness. [see 256 in Fig. 13]
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899