DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 15 was amended to recited “the molding layer” which creates a lack of clarity given “the first molding layer” and “the second molding layer” are introduced and used throughout claim 15. Claims 16-20 depend from claim 15 and so are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0014234 A1 to Weber (hereinafter “Weber” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 1, Weber discloses a light emitting module, comprising:
a circuit board (display monitor having motherboard 24; Fig. 1D; paragraph [0033]);
a plurality of unit pixels arranged on the circuit board (LEDs 18 adjacent pixel cavities 20 on substrate 16; Fig. 1C; paragraph [0032]);
a molding layer covering the plurality of unit pixels (layer containing molded reflector frame 14 and lower portion of encapsulation epoxy 22 in pixel cavities 20 covering LEDs 18, where lower portion is defined as being underneath horizontal line running through pixel cavities 20 as shown in annotated Fig. 1C below; Figs. 1C-1D; paragraphs [0032]-[0033]); and
an anti-glare layer disposed on the molding layer (upper portion of encapsulation epoxy 22 having diffusants therein and disposed over layer containing lower portion of encapsulation epoxy 22; Figs. 1C-1D; paragraphs [0032]-[0033]), wherein the molding layer includes a diffuser containing molding layer disposed horizontally above the plurality of unit pixels and having a number of light diffusing particles and being configured to make brightness of light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels uniform by blending the light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels through the anti-glare layer (layer containing portion of molded reflector frame 14, which produces diffused reflection from LEDs 18, and lower portion of encapsulation epoxy 22, which contains diffusant particles mixed therein, collectively diffuse light emitted from LEDs 18 which is capable of creating uniformity across the blended light emitted therefrom through upper portion of epoxy 22, where the layer is horizontally disposed above the LEDs 18; Figs. 1C-1D; paragraphs [0032]-[0033]).
Weber fails to explicitly disclose the anti-glare layer comprising a material that is different from a material of the molding layer.
However, Weber already discloses diffusants being a different material from the epoxy material, but it discloses the diffusants being dispersed within the molding layer instead of being contained within a separate layer to serve the same function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weber in this manner to utilize an alternate manufacturing process well-known in the art to serve the same functional purpose in a manner that only requires a mere rearrangement of parts already disclosed by Weber.
Claims 1, 4-13 and 15--20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0183837 A1 to Shin et al. (hereinafter “Shin” – previously cited reference) in further view of Weber.
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses a light emitting module, comprising:
a circuit board (light emitting display panel 20 comprising a plurality of display modules 30A-30P each having a substrate 40; abstract; Figs. 1, 3 and 6; paragraphs [0052], [0054]-[0055], [0064]);
a plurality of unit pixels arranged on the circuit board (plurality of pixels arranged on substrate 40; paragraph [0086]); a molding layer covering the plurality of unit pixels (molding member comprising in part molding and front cover disposed over pixels; Fig. 3; paragraph [0106]); and
an anti-glare layer disposed on the molding layer (anti-glare layer disposed over molding member; Fig. 6; paragraphs [0157], [0162]), the anti-glare layer comprising a material that is different from a material of the molding layer (molding member and anti-glare layer comprise different materials; Fig. 6).
Shin fails to disclose wherein the molding layer includes a diffuser containing molding layer disposed horizontally above the plurality of unit pixels and having a number of light diffusing particles and being configured to make brightness of light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels uniform by blending the light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels through the anti-glare layer.
However, Weber discloses wherein the molding layer includes a diffuser containing molding layer disposed horizontally above the plurality of unit pixels and having a number of light diffusing particles and being configured to make brightness of light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels uniform by blending the light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels through the anti-glare layer (layer containing portion of molded reflector frame 14, which produces diffused reflection from LEDs 18, and lower portion of encapsulation epoxy 22, which contains diffusant particles mixed therein, collectively diffuse light emitted from LEDs 18 which is capable of creating uniformity across the blended light emitted therefrom through upper portion of epoxy 22, where the layer is horizontally disposed above the LEDs 18; Figs. 1C-1D; paragraphs [0032]-[0033]).
Shin and Weber are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display modules utilizing diffusion elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the teachings of Weber to at least provide improved light uniformity, reduced glare and enhanced viewing comfort, and wider viewing angles.
Regarding claim 4, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 1. Shin further discloses wherein: the molding member includes a first molding member covering the unit pixels and a second molding member disposed on the first molding member (molding member may comprise first portion including molding 100 and front cover 300 covering pixels and a second portion including light absorbing pattern 110 covering molding 100; Fig. 9; paragraph [0305]-[0306]), the first molding member is a diffuser containing molding member, and the second molding member is a black molding member (first portion includes front cover 300 having anti-reflect layer scattering incident light via internal reflection and second portion includes light absorbing pattern 110 made from same material as black matrix 80; Fig. 9; paragraphs [0305]-[0306]).
Regarding claim 5, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 4. Shin further discloses wherein thicknesses of the first molding member measured at the four corners of the circuit board are within a range of ±10% of an average value thereof (molding member has a constant thickness dimension across the display panel 20; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 1. Shin further discloses wherein: the molding member includes a first molding member having a height lower than those of the unit pixels (molding member may comprise first portion including layer 210 and black matrix 80 layer having a height lower than the pixels as shown in Fig. 6; paragraph [0126]) and a second molding member covering the first molding member and the unit pixels (molding member may comprise second portion including layer 220 covering black matrix 80 layer and pixels as shown in Fig. 6; paragraph [0126]), and the first molding member is a diffuser containing molding member (first portion including layer 210 having anti-reflect layer scattering incident light via internal reflection; Fig. 6; paragraphs [0260]-[0263]).
Regarding claim 7, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 1. Shin further discloses further comprising: a side seal covering side surfaces of the circuit board and the molding member (outer mounting surface on sides 45 of substrate 40 and molding member which form air gap therebetween; Fig. 6; paragraphs [0126]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 8, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 7. Shin further discloses wherein the side seal is formed of a material different from that of the molding member (mounting surface on sides 45 of substrate 40 are materially separate from molding member; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 1. Shin further discloses wherein an upper surface profile of the molding member is substantially same as an upper surface profile of the circuit board (substrate 40 and molding member both have planar upper surfaces; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 1. Shin further discloses wherein: the molding member includes a first molding member and a second molding member covering the first molding member (molding member having molding 100 covered by front cover 200; Fig. 6), the first molding member is a diffuser-free molding member, and has a flat upper surface (molding 100 has a planar upper surface and does not contain a diffuser structure; Fig. 6; paragraphs [0203]-[0204]), and the second molding member is a diffuser containing molding member (front cover 200 of molding member scatters light incident thereupon via internal reflection; paragraphs [0260]-[0263]).
Regarding claim 11, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 10. Shin further discloses wherein thicknesses of the second molding member measured at the four corners of the circuit board are within a range of ±10% of an average value thereof (molding member has a constant thickness dimension across the display panel 20; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 1. Shin further discloses wherein the anti-glare layer includes an anti-glare film, the anti-glare film, including: a base; an anti-glare hard coating layer coated on the base; a low reflection coating layer coated on the anti-glare hard coating layer; and an adhesive disposed under the base (anti-glare layer 210 may comprise an anti-glare material protecting against external force disposed upon layer 220, an anti-reflective layer disposed in a stack upon anti-glare material, and an adhesive layer 230 disposed under the layer 220; Fig. 6; paragraphs [0157], [0260]).
Regarding claim 13, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 12. Shin fails to disclose wherein at least one of the base and the adhesive includes a black dye.
However, Shin discloses wherein a layer adjacent at least one of the base and the adhesive includes a black dye (light absorption pattern 110 having black ink and disposed adjacent front cover 300; Fig. 9; paragraphs [0305]-[0310]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin in this manner to at least provide enhanced contrast, reduced light leakage, suppression of ambient light reflections, and improved black level uniformity.
Regarding claim 15, Shin discloses a display apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of light emitting modules, each including a circuit board having a black solder resist configured to reduce a difference in brightness between regions in the plurality of light emitting modules (light emitting display panel 20 comprising a plurality of display modules 30A-30P each having a substrate 40 with black matrix 80 capable of reducing a difference in brightness between regions of the plurality of display modules 30A-30P; abstract; Figs. 1, 3 and 6; paragraphs [0052], [0054]-[0055], [0064], [0089]-[0095]),
a plurality of unit pixels arranged on the circuit board (plurality of pixels arranged on substrate 40; paragraph [0086]), and
a first molding layer covering the unit pixels (molding 100 covering pixels; Fig. 3; paragraph [0106]);
a second molding layer having a second substantially flat unbroken upper surface covering the plurality of light emitting modules (front cover 200 having flat upper surface and covering each of display modules 30A-30P; Fig. 7); and
an anti-glare layer covering the second molding layer (anti-glare layer 210 covering front cover 200; Fig. 6), the anti-glare layer comprising a material that is different from a material of the molding layer (molding member and anti-glare layer comprise different materials; Fig. 6).
Shin fails to disclose wherein the first molding layer and the second molding layer include a diffuser containing molding layer disposed horizontally above the plurality of unit pixels and having a number of light diffusing particles and being configured to make brightness of light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels uniform by blending the light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels through the anti-glare layer.
However, Weber discloses wherein the first molding layer and the second molding layer include a diffuser containing molding layer disposed horizontally above the plurality of unit pixels and having a number of light diffusing particles and being configured to make brightness of light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels uniform by blending the light emitted from the plurality of unit pixels through the anti-glare layer (layer containing portion of molded reflector frame 14, which produces diffused reflection from LEDs 18, and lower portion of encapsulation epoxy 22, which contains diffusant particles mixed therein, collectively diffuse light emitted from LEDs 18 which is capable of creating uniformity across the blended light emitted therefrom through upper portion of epoxy 22, where the layer is horizontally disposed above the LEDs 18; Figs. 1C-1D; paragraphs [0032]-[0033]).
Shin and Weber are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display modules utilizing diffusion elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the teachings of Weber to at least provide improved light uniformity, reduced glare and enhanced viewing comfort, and wider viewing angles.
Regarding claim 16, Shin in view of Weber discloses the display apparatus of claim 15. Shin further discloses wherein the thicknesses of the diffuser containing molding layer of the first molding layer measured at four corners of the circuit board of each of the light emitting modules are within a range of ±10% of an average value thereof (molding member has a constant thickness dimension across the display panel 20; Fig. 4).
Shin fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the molding layer is less than five times a height of the unit pixels.
However, Weber discloses wherein the thicknesses of the diffuser containing molding layer of the first molding layer measured at four corners of the circuit board of each of the light emitting modules are within a range of ±10% of an average value thereof (thickness of first and second iterations of layer containing molded reflector frame 14 and lower portion of encapsulation epoxy 22 is constant across the pixel array package 10; Figs. 1C-1D; paragraph [0051]), and wherein a thickness of the molding layer is less than five times a height of the unit pixels (layer containing molded reflector frame 14 and lower portion of encapsulation epoxy 22 in pixel cavities 20 covering LEDs 18 are less than five times the height of the LEDs 18 as shown in Fig. 1C).
Shin and Weber are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display modules utilizing diffusion elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the specific design choice proportion of height dimensions of the molding layer and unit pixels of Weber to potentially provide improved light brightness uniformity, improved image quality, and a thin compact overall structural profile.
Regarding claim 17, Shin in view of Weber discloses the display apparatus of claim 15. Shin further discloses wherein: adjacent light emitting modules are spaced apart with a gap G (gap G disposed between adjacent display modules; Fig. 6), a distance W2 between unit pixels in one light emitting module is smaller than or equal to a distance W1 between unit pixels between adjacent light emitting modules (distance between pixels in display module 30A is different than distance between pixels in display module 30E; Fig. 5), and a width W3 of the gap G between the light emitting modules is smaller than the distance W2 between unit pixels in one light emitting module (gap G is smaller than distance between pixels in display modules 30A, 30E; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Shin in view of Weber discloses the display apparatus of claim 17. Shin further discloses wherein the second molding member is partially disposed within the gap G between the light emitting modules (front cover 200 is partially disposed within gap G between display modules 30A, 30E; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 19, Shin in view of Weber discloses the display apparatus of claim 15. Shin further discloses wherein: each of the light emitting modules includes a side seal covering side surfaces thereof, and the light emitting modules are arranged such that the side seals are in close contact with one another (outer mounting surface on sides 45 of substrate 40 of each display module 30A, 30E such that they are in close contact with one another; Fig. 6; paragraphs [0126]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 20, Shin in view of Weber discloses the display apparatus of claim 15. Shin further discloses wherein the anti-glare layer includes an anti-glare film or anti-glare glass (anti-glare layer of layer 210 may comprise an anti-glare material formed in a thin layer stack; paragraph [0260]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber in further view of US 2017/0244064 A1 to Kamiya et al. (hereinafter “Kamiya” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 2, Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 1, wherein the molding layer further includes a matting agent disposed on a surface of the molding layer (powdered aluminum oxide or calcium carbonate may be disposed in epoxy 22 at surface of layer; Figs. 1C-1D; paragraphs [0032]-[0033]); wherein the molding layer is formed using a curable resin (epoxy 22 may be formed via curable epoxy; paragraph [0033]), wherein a thickness of the molding layer is less than five times a height of the unit pixels (layer containing molded reflector frame 14 and lower portion of encapsulation epoxy 22 in pixel cavities 20 covering LEDs 18 are less than five times the height of the LEDs 18 as shown in Fig. 1C), and wherein a thickness of the diffuser containing molding layer measured at four corners of the circuit board are within a range of ±10% of an average value thereof (thickness of layer is constant across the pixel array package 10; Figs. 1C-1D; paragraph [0051]).
Weber fails to disclose an ultraviolet curable resin.
However, Kamiya discloses wherein the molding layer is formed using an ultraviolet curable resin (flattening layer 15 may be made from UV curable epoxy resin; Fig. 2; paragraph [0026]).
Weber and Kamiya are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of light emitting elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weber to incorporate the teachings of Kamiya to at least provide a molding member having rapid curing and higher production throughput, room-temperature processing, and enhanced thickness and uniformity control.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in further view of Weber and US 2021/0318576 A1 to Zhao et al. (hereinafter “Zhao” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 3, Shin discloses the light emitting module of claim 1. Shin fails to disclose wherein the diffuser includes silica.
However, Zhao discloses wherein the diffuser includes silica (silica gel layer as a diffuser for LED chips; abstract).
Shin and Zhao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor memory devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the teachings of Zhao to at least provide improved light uniformity and reduced hotspots, high light transmittance and controlled diffusion, and improved viewing experience.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in further view of Weber and US 2021/0347149 A1 to Shibata et al. (hereinafter “Shibata” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 14, Shin in view of Weber discloses the light emitting module of claim 12. Shin fails to disclose wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive.
However, Shibata discloses wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (image display device utilizing pressure sensitive adhesive; abstract).
Shin and Shibata are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor memory devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the teachings of Shibata to at least provide optical clarity and performance, flexibility and conformability for flexible displays, and vibration and shock absorption.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant presents substantive amendments to claims 1 and 15 and corresponding arguments. Specifically, Applicant first asserts with regard to claim 1 that Weber does not disclose the diffuser containing molding layer disposed horizontally above the plurality of unit pixels, but Examiner notes that the ‘layer’ can be defined in an arbitrary manner such that only a portion of the frame 14 is considered to be within the layer and, therefore, the layer can be considered to be disposed horizontally above the plurality of unit pixels. Applicant next asserts that the structure of Weber is not capable of blending light emitted from the pixels through the anti-glare layer, but Examiner maintains that light emitted from LEDs 18 is reflected and diffuses through the epoxy diffusant layer in a manner that would allow it to blend together in a uniform manner. Applicant next asserts that Weber does not disclose the anti-glare layer having a material that is different from a material of the molding layer. While Examiner agrees that Weber does not explicitly this limitation, Weber does disclose an epoxy material containing a different material defining the diffusants dispersed therein, which renders obvious the limitation requiring the two materials to be in separate layers. Applicant reiterates the above assertions with regard to claim 15 and further disagrees with the rejections of claims 2, 3 and 14 but does not provide any substantive rebuttal of these rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818